Dominant Gateway to China

The growth and gradual opening-up of China offer unmissable opportunities.  China is now the world's second largest economy and is expected to make up 20% of the world economy by 2030*. International investment in China is still low but rising.  Meanwhile, the "going out" of Chinese firms and Chinese investors' demand for overseas investment will bring new opportunities.

With its strengths as an international financial centre and its unique advantage of having close links with Mainland China, Hong Kong has been the dominant gateway to Mainland China and the global hub for offshore renminbi business.  It is the best place to capture China opportunities.  

* According to PwC estimates

Dominant Gateway to and from China

Hong Kong originates and intermediates two-thirds of China’s inward foreign direct investment (FDI) and outward direct investment (ODI) as well as most financial investments.

China's FDI & ODI
RQFII quotas approved
Unique Access Channels to and from China

New channels have been opened to enhance connectivity between Hong Kong and Mainland China.  Cases in point are Qualified Foreign Institutional Investor (QFII), Renminbi Qualified Foreign Institutional Investor (RQFII), Mutual Recognition of Funds, Shanghai-Hong Kong Stock Connect, Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect and Bond Connect.Unique Access Channels to and from China

Largest Offshore Renminbi Centre

Thanks to its deep pool of liquidity, efficient financial infrastructure and multitude of cross-border portfolio flow channels, Hong Kong is the largest and most important global offshore renminbi (RMB) business hub, offering a wide range of RMB financial services, including clearing and settlement, financing, asset management, risk management, etc.

The highly efficient and robust market infrastructure in Hong Kong, including the RMB Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) system, allows market participants from all over the world to handle RMB transactions with Mainland China and among offshore markets.

 

Deepest RMB Liquidity Pool

Hong Kong has the world’s deepest RMB liquidity pool outside Mainland China of over RMB600 billion, supporting the vibrant offshore RMB business.

Most Important Offshore RMB Clearing Hub

Over 70% of the world’s RMB payments settled through Hong Kong, according to SWIFT statistics. Our RMB RTGS system facilitates banks from all over the world to make RMB payments and plays a critical role in facilitating RMB cross-border payments.

Major RMB FX Centre

Hong Kong has the highest turnover of RMB FX and derivatives trading among offshore markets.*

Largest Offshore RMB Bond Market

Hong Kong is an important RMB financing centre, hosting the largest offshore RMB bond market with issuers ranging from the Chinese Ministry of Finance to financial institutions and corporates from different parts of the world.

Unparalleled Access to the Mainland Markets

Hong Kong enjoys unique access channels for cross-border portfolio investment flows to and from China, including Stock Connect, Bond Connect and the Mutual Recognition of Funds arrangement. These channels enable overseas investors to access the Mainland capital markets through connections established between the Mainland and Hong Kong markets.

Hong Kong also holds the largest quota for the RQFII, underscoring its important role as an intermediary to facilitate overseas investors’ participation in the Mainland financial markets.

*Triennial survey by the Bank for International Settlements published in 2016.

Other Topics about Hong Kong as an International Financial Centre
Last revision date : 02 December 2019

中國業務的主要樞紐

中國内地的增長前景及逐步開放政策,締造不可錯失的良機。中國目前是世界第二大經濟體,預計到2030年將佔全球經濟總量的20%*。國際投資者在內地的投資規模目前不大,但正在增長。同時,中國企業「走出去」和中國投資者投資海外的需求,均可帶來新機遇。

憑藉其作為國際金融中心和其背靠內地的獨有優勢,香港向來是通往內地的橋樑,並是全球最大的離岸人民幣業務中心,是捕捉中國機遇的最理想地點。

* 根據PwC估算

通往內地的橋樑

中國三分之二的對內和對外直接投資,以及大部分金融投資,都是通過香港進行。

中國的外商直接投資及對外直接投資
獲批人民幣合格境外投資者額度
通往內地的獨有渠道

香港和內地不斷開拓新渠道,以加強互聯互通。範例包括合格境外機構投資者計劃(QFII)、人民幣合格境外機構投資者計劃 (RQFII)、基金互認安排、滬港通、深港通及債券通。通往內地的獨有渠道

全球最大的離岸人民幣業務中心

憑藉龐大的資金池、高效的金融基建,以及多個跨境資金流通渠道,香港是全球最大和最重要的離岸人民幣業務中心,提供全面的人民幣計價金融服務,包括清算、結算、融資、資產管理和風險管理等。

香港擁有高效和穩健的金融基建,當中人民幣即時支付結算系統,為不同地方市場參與者處理與中國內地和在離岸市場之間的人民幣交易提供便利。

最龐大的
離岸人民幣資金池

香港擁有中國內地以外最龐大的人民幣資金池,規模超過6,000億元人民幣,支持蓬勃的離岸人民幣業務。

最重要的
離岸人民幣清算中心

根據SWIFT的統計數字,全球70%以上的人民幣支付通過香港進行結算。我們的人民幣即時支付結算系統便利世界各地銀行進行人民幣支付,並在人民幣跨境支付方面發揮關鍵作用。

主要的
人民幣外幣中心

香港的人民幣外匯和衍生品交易量,在全球離岸市場居首位*。

最大的
離岸人民幣債券市場

香港是重要的人民幣融資中心,擁有全球最大的離岸人民幣債券市場。債券發行人包括財政部,以及來自世界各地的金融機構和企業。

進入內地市場的
獨特渠道

香港擁有進出內地資本市場的獨有渠道,包括滬港通、深港通、債券通,以及內地與香港基金互認安排等。這些渠道讓海外投資者可以通過內地與香港市場之間的連接進入內地資本市場。 

香港亦是全球擁有最大RQFII額度的地區,凸顯香港作為國際投資者參與內地金融市場的重要中介角色。

*根據2016年國際結算銀行發布的三年一度調查

修訂日期 : 2019年10月08日