History

The Exchange Fund was established by the Currency Ordinance of 1935 (later renamed the Exchange Fund Ordinance) to provide backing to the issuance of banknotes.  In 1976, the role of the Exchange Fund was expanded to include the management of the official reserves, when the assets of the Coinage Security Fund and the majority of foreign currency assets held in the Government’s General Revenue Account were transferred to the Exchange Fund. During the same year, the Government also began to transfer its fiscal reserves to the Exchange Fund. In order to better manage risks and enhance returns, the Exchange Fund has been diversifying its investments into a wider variety of asset classes in a prudent and incremental manner since 2008. Over the years, the size of the Exchange Fund has expanded considerably. The below chart illustrates the growth in the total assets of the Fund:

Total Assets of the Exchange Fund

Total Assets of the Exchange Fund

Exchange Fund Milestones

Expand All
Collapse All
  • 1935
    Establishment of the Exchange Fund

    Hong Kong's Exchange Fund was established by the Currency Ordinance of 1935 (later renamed the Exchange Fund Ordinance). Since its inception, the Exchange Fund has held the backing to the note issuance of Hong Kong.

  • 1976
    Expansion of the Exchange Fund

    In 1976, the role of the Exchange Fund was expanded. The assets of the Coinage Security Fund (which held the backing for coins issued by the Government) as well as the majority of foreign currency assets held in the Government's General Revenue Account were transferred to the Exchange Fund.

  • 1976
    Transfer of fiscal reserves to the Exchange Fund

    In 1976, the Government began to transfer its fiscal reserves to the Exchange Fund. This arrangement was introduced to reduce the exchange risks that the fiscal reserves would have to bear from investments in foreign currency assets and to centralise the management of the Government's financial assets. The fiscal reserves are not permanently appropriated for the use of the Exchange Fund, but are repaid to the General Revenue Account when they are required to meet the obligations of the general revenue.

  • 1978
    Merger of the Coinage Security Fund with the Exchange Fund

    On 31 December 1978, the Coinage Security Fund was merged with the Exchange Fund.

  • 1993
    Investment in foreign equities

    The Exchange Fund started holding foreign equities by investing in US equities in the first half of 1993.

  • 1998
    Active management of the fiscal reserves

    Prior to 1 April 1998, fiscal reserves were placed with the Exchange Fund as Hong Kong dollar deposits to minimise market risk. Since the official reserves had grown dramatically over the years, it was decided that the fiscal reserves placed with the Exchange Fund should be more actively managed to achieve a higher long-term real rate of return. From 1 April 1998, the fiscal reserves previously placed as Hong Kong dollar deposits with the Exchange Fund became actively managed and the return of these official reserves was linked to the performance of the overall Exchange Fund.

  • 1998
    Re-organisation of the Exchange Fund portfolio composition

    In early September 1998, the Monetary Base was re-defined to include Exchange Fund Bills and Notes in addition to Certificates of Indebtedness, coins in circulation and the aggregate clearing balance maintained by banks with the HKMA. It was also decided to increase the transparency of the operation of the Currency Board arrangements by designating certain asset and liability items in the Exchange Fund’s balance sheets as those relating to the Currency Board operations. This led to the establishment of a Backing Portfolio to hold short-term, highly liquid US dollar denominated securities to fully back the Monetary Base. Accordingly, the portfolio composition of the Exchange Fund was re-organised into a Backing Portfolio and an Investment Portfolio.

  • 1998
    Merger of Land Fund Reserves into the Exchange Fund

    On 1 November 1998, the assets of the Land Fund, amounting to about HK$211.4 billion were placed with the Exchange Fund and managed in the same way as other fiscal reserves placed with the Exchange Fund.

  • 1998
    Acquisition of the Hong Kong Equity Portfolio

    As a result of the Government’s operations in the local stock market in August 1998, the Exchange Fund acquired a substantial portfolio of Hong Kong equities. The Exchange Fund Investment Limited (EFIL) was established on 14 October 1998 to manage and subsequently return to private sector hands (other than a long-term investment portfolio) the Hong Kong equity portfolio purchased in August 1998 and to manage the Hong Kong equities transferred from the Land Fund.

    In April 1999, EFIL developed a disposal programme which began with a unit trust replicating the Hang Seng Index named the Tracker Fund of Hong Kong (TraHK). Since then, TraHK has become an actively traded security on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange.

    With effect from January 2003, the management of the Hong Kong equity portfolio was transferred to the HKMA from EFIL. The HKMA currently manages this portfolio exclusively through external fund managers.

  • 2007
    Fee arrangement with the Government

    Since 1 April 2007, the Financial Secretary introduced a new fee arrangement on the fiscal reserves placed with the Exchange Fund.  The fee is based on a fixed rate for the year determined every January. The rate is the average annual investment return of the Exchange Fund's Investment Portfolio for the past six years, or the average annual yield of three-year Exchange Fund Notes (replaced by three-year Government Bond from 1 January 2016) for the previous year subject to a minimum of 0%, whichever is the higher.

  • 2008 - Present
    Enhancement in portfolio diversification

    To better manage risks and enhance returns in the medium and long term, the HKMA has been diversifying part of the Exchange Fund’s investments, in a prudent and incremental manner, into a wider variety of asset classes, including emerging market and Mainland bonds and equities, private equity, and overseas real estate. Emerging market and Mainland bonds and equities are held under the Investment Portfolio, while private equity and overseas real estate investments are held under the Long-Term Growth Portfolio.

  • 2009
    Acceptance of placements by Government funds and statutory bodies

    The Exchange Fund started accepting placements by Government funds and statutory bodies. The interest rate is generally linked to the performance of the Investment Portfolio.

  • 2016
    Establishment of the Future Fund

    The Future Fund, established on 1 January 2016, was placed with the Exchange Fund over a ten-year period.  Placements by the Future Fund comprise an initial endowment from the balance of the Land Fund and periodic top-ups from the General Revenue Account as directed by the Financial Secretary.  These placements are divided into two portions with one linked to the performance of the Investment Portfolio and another linked to the performance of the Long-Term Growth Portfolio (LTGP).  Interest income on the Future Fund placement is determined annually based on a composite rate calculated on a weighted average basis with reference to the rate under the 2007 fee arrangement and the annual rate of return linked with the performance of the LTGP.

  • 2018
    Establishment of the Exchange Fund Investment Office (EFIO)

    In order to support the continued expansion in the scale, diversity and complexity of Exchange Fund’s investments, the HKMA established EFIO on 1 August 2018 to house the Exchange Fund’s investment and related risk management functions.  EFIO is an integral part of the HKMA.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

歷史

外匯基金在1935年根據《貨幣條例》(後易名為《外匯基金條例》)成立,以支持香港銀行紙幣的發行。到了1976年,由於硬幣發行基金的資產和政府一般收入帳目的大部分外幣資產均轉撥到外匯基金,外匯基金的作用擴大至官方儲備的管理。同年,政府亦開始將財政儲備轉撥到外匯基金。為能更妥善管理風險及提高回報,外匯基金自2008年以審慎及循序漸進方式將其資產分散投資至較多元化的資產類別。在數十年間,外匯基金的規模日漸擴大。下圖顯示外匯基金總資產的增長情況:

外匯基金總資產

外匯基金的里程碑

 

展開全部
全部收起
  • 1935
    外匯基金成立

    香港的外匯基金是根據1935年《貨幣條例》(後易名為《外匯基金條例》)設立。自成立以來,外匯基金一直持有支持香港紙幣發行的儲備。

  • 1976
    外匯基金擴大

    外匯基金的作用在1976年擴大,硬幣發行基金(作為支持政府發行硬幣)的資產和政府一般收入帳目的大部分外幣資產均轉撥到外匯基金。

  • 1976
    財政儲備轉撥至外匯基金

    政府在1976年開始將其財政儲備轉撥到外匯基金。這項安排能避免財政儲備承擔來自外幣資產投資的匯兌風險,以及集中政府金融資產的管理。財政儲備並非永久撥作外匯基金之用,而是在有需要時付還予政府一般收入帳目,用作滿足一般收入帳目的用途。

  • 1978
    外匯基金與硬幣發行基金合併

    1978年12月31日,硬幣發行基金併入外匯基金。

  • 1993
    首次投資外國股票

    外匯基金於1993年上半年開始投資美國投票,也是外匯基金首次持有外國股票。

  • 1998
    積極管理財政儲備

    1998年4月1日以前,財政儲備是以港元存款的形式存放於外匯基金,以減低市場風險。由於官方儲備大幅增加,政府當局決定以較積極的方式管理存放於外匯基金的財政儲備,爭取較高的長期實質回報。因此,由1998年4月1日起,以往作為港元存款存入外匯基金的財政儲備改為以積極方式管理,其回報率與整體外匯基金的回報掛鈎。

  • 1998
    重組外匯基金的組成部分

    在1998年9月初,貨幣基礎的定義獲重新釐定,除原來的負債證明書、流通硬幣及銀行在金管局持有的結算總結餘外,更加入外匯基金票據及債券。此外,為增加貨幣發行局制度運作的透明度,當局也決定將外匯基金資產負債表中某些資產及負債劃定為與貨幣發行局運作有關的資產及負債,並為此設立支持組合。該支持組合持有短期及高流動性的美元證券,為貨幣基礎提供十足支持。因此,外匯基金的組成部分也相應地重組為支持組合及投資組合。

  • 1998
    土地基金儲備併入外匯基金

    1998年11月1日,約2,114億港元的土地基金資產存入外匯基金,並按與其他存放於外匯基金的財政儲備款項相同的方式來管理。

  • 1998
    購入香港股票組合

    在政府於1998年8月的入市行動中,外匯基金購入大量香港股票。外匯基金投資有限公司於1998年10月14日成立,以管理8月入市時所購入的香港股票組合及由土地基金撥入外匯基金的香港股票。此外,除保留一部分撥作長期投資組合外,外匯基金投資有限公司亦負責將該批股票售回私人市場。

    1999年4月,外匯基金投資有限公司制定了一項出售計劃,推出與恒生指數掛鈎的單位信託 — 「盈富基金」。自盈富基金在香港證券交易所上市以來,一直交投活躍。

    從2003年1月起,原來由外匯基金投資有限公司管理的香港股票組合,改由金管局管理。金管局將該組合的管理工作完全交由外聘基金經理負責。

  • 2007
    與政府的派息安排

    自2007年4月1日起,財政司司長就存放於外匯基金的財政儲備引入新的派息安排,按每年1月就該年釐訂的固定息率計算。該息率為外匯基金投資組合過往六年的平均年度回報率或三年期外匯基金票據(自2016年1月1日由三年期政府債券取代)過往一年的平均年度收益率(下限為0%),以較高者為準。

  • 2008 - 現在
    加強投資組合多元化

    為能更妥善管理風險及提高中長期回報,金管局以審慎及循序漸進方式將外匯基金的部分資產分散投資至較多元化的資產類別,包括新興巿場及內地債券與股票、私募股權及海外房地產。新興巿場及內地債券與股票由投資組合持有,私募股權及海外房地產則由長期增長組合持有。

  • 2009
    接受政府基金及法定組織的存款

    外匯基金開始接受政府基金及法定組織的存款,利率一般與投資組合的表現掛鈎。

  • 2016
    成立未來基金

    未來基金於2016年1月1日成立並存放在外匯基金,為期十年。未來基金存款包括來自土地基金結餘的首筆資金,以及經財政司司長指示從政府一般收入帳目轉撥的恆常注資。未來基金的存款分為兩部分,一部分與投資組合的表現掛鈎,而另一部分則與長期增長組合的​​表現掛鈎。未來基金的利息按每年釐定的綜合息率計算;該綜合息率是2007年與政府的收費安排下的息率和長期增長組合的年度回報率的加權平均值。

  • 2018
    成立外匯基金投資辦公室

    隨着外匯基金的投資規模持續擴大和更趨多元複雜,金管局於2018年8月1日成立外匯基金投資辦公室,履行外匯基金的投資及相關風險管理職能。外匯基金投資辦公室是金管局的一部分。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日