Governance Structure

The HKMA is an integral part of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government. In its day-to-day work the HKMA operates with a high degree of autonomy within the relevant statutory powers conferred upon, or delegated to, the Monetary Authority. The autonomy is complemented by a high degree of accountability and transparency.

As Hong Kong’s central banking institution, the HKMA is committed to high standards of corporate governance, in the belief that good governance is crucial in maintaining and safeguarding the trust and confidence of the public in the HKMA to fulfil its statutory mandate. To achieve this commitment, the HKMA:

  • puts in place a well-defined governance structure with a high degree of accountability;
  • exercises robust controls to manage risks and ensure that staff behaviours at all levels and its day-to-day operations are consistent with specified standards; and
  • pursues a policy of transparency and accessibility, and keeps close contacts with stakeholders.

Governance
Expand All
Collapse All
  • Legal Mandate

    The Monetary Authority is appointed under the Exchange Fund Ordinance to assist the Financial Secretary in performing his functions under the Exchange Fund Ordinance and to perform such other functions as are assigned by other Ordinances or by the Financial Secretary. The office of the Monetary Authority is known as the HKMA, and the Monetary Authority is the Chief Executive of the HKMA.

    The powers, functions and responsibilities of the Monetary Authority are set out in the Exchange Fund Ordinance, the Banking Ordinance, the Financial Institutions (Resolution) Ordinance, the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance, the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance, and other relevant Ordinances.

    The division of functions and responsibilities in monetary and financial affairs between the Financial Secretary and the Monetary Authority is set out in an exchange of letters dated 25 June 2003. The exchange of letters discloses delegations made by the Financial Secretary to the Monetary Authority.

  • Accountability

    The HKMA is accountable to the public of Hong Kong through the Financial Secretary, who appoints the Monetary Authority, and through the laws passed by the Legislative Council that set out the Monetary Authority’s powers and responsibilities.

    There is a formal commitment from the Chief Executive of the HKMA to appear before the Panel on Financial Affairs of the Legislative Council three times a year to brief Members and to answer questions on the HKMA’s work. Representatives from the HKMA also attend Legislative Council panel and committee meetings from time to time to explain and discuss particular issues and to assist Members in their scrutiny of draft legislation.

  • The Chief Executive’s Committee

Controls
Expand All
Collapse All
  • Internal Controls

    Operational Controls

    All departments and divisions have ownership and responsibility to assess risks and formulate proper controls of their operational processes to guide the day-to-day operations of the HKMA. This serves as the first line of defence for risk management.


    Organisational Risk Management

    Risk management is also undertaken at the corporate level, with the Risk Committee, chaired by the Chief Executive of the HKMA, being one of the cornerstones of the organisational risk management framework.

    Potential and emerging risks identified by the functional units, and the adequacy of the control measures and mitigating strategies they devise, are reported to and discussed at the Risk Committee, which decides on appropriate follow-up actions.


    Internal Audit

    The Internal Audit Division of the HKMA independently assesses the adequacy and effectiveness of control, risk management and governance processes of different functional units, and advises on areas for improvement.

  • Independent Checks

    Audit Commission

    In accordance with section 7 of the Exchange Fund Ordinance, the Audit Commission of the HKSAR Government audits the financial statements of the Exchange Fund.

    The audited financial statements of the Exchange Fund are included in the HKMA Annual Report.

  • Code of Conduct

    A Code of Conduct, which provides guidance to employees on their ethical and legal responsibilities, is put in place to ensure that staff behaviours are consistent with specified standards at all levels.

Stakeholder Engagement
Expand All
Collapse All
  • Transparency

    Website

    The HKMA’s bilingual website carries a large number of HKMA publications, press releases, speeches and presentations, in addition to special sections on research, statistics, and other topics. It is constantly updated to disseminate latest information in a timely manner. The HKMA also launched the Open Application Programming Interface (Open API) on its website to provide convenient access by the public to the HKMA’s important information.


    Publications

    The HKMA publishes various types of publications to update the public on its work, as well as information and analyses on monetary, banking and economic issues in Hong Kong.

  • Accessibility and Communications

    Public and Consumer Education

    The HKMA maintains an Information Centre and organises public education programmes to promote public understanding of its work as well as monetary and banking matters. The Smart Consumers section on the HKMA’s website provides the public with a wealth of information and smart tips on the use of banking and related products and services.


    Enquiries and Complaints Handling

    The HKMA takes public enquiries and complaints seriously. A dedicated Public Enquiry Service has been set up to handle enquiries received from multiple channels. Procedures on complaints against banks and stored value facility licensees are also set out clearly on the HKMA’s website.


    Media and Social Media

    The HKMA works closely with the media to enhance the transparency and promote public understanding of its policies and work through various forms of press events. Social media platforms are also used to further strengthen its communications with the public in the digital era.


    Industry Guidance and Consultation

    The HKMA maintains close dialogue with and provides guidance to the industry on regulatory standards through circulars, FAQs and other channels. Public consultation is conducted as appropriate before formulating regulations and standards so as to convey the objective of the proposals to, and allow feedback from, the industry.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

管治架構

金管局是香港特別行政區政府架構的一部分。金管局的日常運作,在金融管理專員所獲賦予或轉授的法定權力範圍內高度自主,並輔以高度問責性和透明度。

作為香港的中央銀行機構,金管局一直致力維持高水平的機構管治,並深信良好的管治對維持及維護公眾對金管局就履行其法定職責的信任和信心至為重要。為實踐此承諾,金管局:

  • 建立了一套清晰且具備高問責性的機構管治架構;
  • 實施完善穩健的監控措施以管理風險,和確保所有職級員工的行為及其日常運作均符合指定標準;及
  • 奉行具透明度及保持開放的政策,與各持份者保持緊密聯繫。

管治
展開全部
全部收起
  • 法定授權

    金融管理專員根據《外匯基金條例》委任,以協助財政司司長執行該條例授予的職能,以及執行其他條例及財政司司長所指定的職能。金融管理專員的辦公室稱為金管局,金融管理專員即為金管局的總裁。

    金融管理專員的權力、職能及責任由《外匯基金條例》、《銀行業條例》、《金融機構(處置機制)條例》、《存款保障計劃條例》、《支付系統及儲值支付工具條例》及其他有關條例明文規定。

    財政司司長與金融管理專員於2003年6月25日的互換函件,列載彼此職能與責任的分配,亦披露財政司司長將若干權力轉授金融管理專員。

  • 問責

    金融管理專員由財政司司長委任,因此金管局透過財政司司長向公眾負責;而由於金融管理專員的職權由立法會通過的法律制訂,因此金管局亦透過立法會向公眾負責。

    金管局總裁承諾每年3次向立法會財經事務委員會簡報金管局各項工作和政策,並回答有關查詢。金管局代表亦會不時出席立法會事務委員會和小組委員會闡釋及商討特別事項,並協助議員審閱條例草案。

  • 總裁委員會

監控
展開全部
全部收起
  • 內部監控

    運作監控

    作為風險管理的第一度防線,所有部門和分處均有責任評估風險,並就金管局日常運作的工作流程制定適當的監控措施。


    機構風險管理

    風險管理亦在機構層面進行。由金管局總裁擔任主席的風險委員會,是機構風險管理架構的基石之一。

    風險委員會上報告和商討由各部門識別出來的潛在和新生風險,以及其監控措施和緩解策略是否充足,並由該會定出適當的跟進行動。


    內部審核

    金管局內部審核處獨立評估不同部門的監控措施、風險管理及管治程序是否足夠及具成效,並提出改善建議。

  • 獨立制衡

    審計署

    根據《外匯基金條例》第7條,外匯基金的財務報表由香港特別行政區政府審計署審核。

    經審核的外匯基金財務報表刊載於金管局的年報內。

  • 行為守則

    「行為守則」就員工的道德與法律責任提供指引,以確保所有職級員工的行為均符合指定標準。

與持份者聯繫
展開全部
全部收起
  • 透明度

    網站

    金管局的雙語網站除有專門環節列載經濟研究、統計資料及其他課題外,還載有金管局出版的刊物、新聞稿、演辭及簡報會資料文件。網站不時更新,以便及時傳播最新資訊。金管局亦在其網站推出開放應用程式介面,方便市民獲取金管局的重要資訊。


    刊物

    金管局出版各類刊物,向公眾提供不同題材的資訊,包括其工作以及與香港的貨幣、銀行和經濟有關的資料和分析。

  • 保持開放及溝通

    公眾及消費者教育

    金管局設有資訊中心,並舉辦公眾教育活動,讓公眾更了解金管局的工作,以及貨幣和銀行業的課題。金管局網站上的智醒消費者專欄為公眾提供使用銀行及相關產品和服務的資訊和精明貼士。


    查詢和投訴處理

    金管局極為重視公眾查詢和投訴,並設立專門的公眾查詢服務,處理由不同渠道收到的查詢。而有關投訴銀行及儲值支付工具持牌人的程序,分別在金管局網站上清楚列明。


    媒體及社交媒體

    金管局透過各種形式的公開媒體活動,與傳媒保持緊密聯繫,以提高金管局的透明度,並增進公眾對其政策和工作的了解。金管局亦利用社交媒體平台,加強在數碼化時代與公眾的溝通。


    業界指引及諮詢

    金管局透過通告、常見問題及其他渠道,與業界就監管標準保持密切溝通,並提供指引。在制定法規和標準之前,金管局亦會按需要進行公眾諮詢,以便將建議目的傳達給業界,並徵詢其意見。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日