Personal Credit

  • Smart Tips on Personal Credit
    FIND OUT MORE
    • Personal credit record
      • An individual consumer will have a credit record in a centralised consumer credit database once he/she has used a credit product such as credit card, personal loan, car loan, etc, offered by banks and financial institutions. More comprehensive credit information about a consumer in the centralised database helps banks to assess the consumer’s credit quality more accurately.
      • A credit report generally reflects an individual’s credit and repayment record (including default repayment records), bankruptcy and other public records (e.g. litigation for debt recovery), and records of enquiry by banks or financial institutions in the last two years. If a repayment defaults for more than 60 days, the consumer credit database will retain the default record for five full years from the date of full settlement. There is also a credit score ranging from A to J, where A is the highest score.
      • When reviewing applications for personal credit products (e.g. credit cards), banks consider various factors, which normally include the applicants’ credit reports.
    • Implications of a bad credit record
      • A good credit record may lead to a better interest rate and terms. In contrast, a consumer may be subject to a higher interest rate, or get a smaller loan approved, or even his/her loan application may be rejected if his/her credit record is not good.
      • A bad credit record may also have negative impact on non-financial matters of an individual. For example, in the job market, applicants’ credit records are also reviewed by some employers when assessing the applicants’ suitability for certain types of positions (e.g. accounting, credit analysis and approval-related work, etc.). Employers may have doubts about the applicants’ eligibility if their credit records are poor. Bankruptcy record may affect the approval of licence applications for certain professions, e.g. securities brokers, lawyers, etc.
    • As a wise bank customer, you should pay attention to the following smart tips when using personal credit products:
      • Applying for several credit cards or personal loans simultaneously may imply the applicant’s urgent needs for money. This may affect his/her credit score negatively.
      • Always make timely and full repayments for personal credit products. Otherwise, interest on late payments will be imposed and the borrower will be kept being reminded to repay.
      • Note the fees and charges when using personal credit products, e.g.
        • Don’t assume that “zero interest rate” or “full interest waiver” stated in personal loan promotional materials means there is no borrowing cost. Don’t just focus on the “monthly flat rate” and think that the borrowing cost is really low as the monthly interest rate is barely over 0%. Use the Annualised Percentage Rate (APR) to compare personal credit products offered by different banks.
        • If you intend to make an early repayment, check with the lending bank whether early repayment charge and any other fees will be imposed, and then compare this with the amount of interest to be saved before making your decision.
        • Don’t just make minimum payments in settling credit card bills. Beware of the snowball effect of interest accumulation in making minimum payments. If the outstanding balance is not fully repaid on time, new transactions will immediately incur finance change.
  • Smart Tips on Personal Loans
    FIND OUT MORE

    As a prudent bank customer, you should remember the following tips when applying for personal loans: 

    • Dos:
      • Before applying for a personal loan, you should understand thoroughly the terms and conditions, including types of loans, tenor, repayment schedule, monthly repayment amount, interest rate, method of interest calculation, and other related fees and charges. If necessary, you can enquire the bank’s staff or ask them to illustrate how the charges are calculated with reference to a mock loan amount. According to the Code of Banking Practice, in any advertising and promotional material for a banking service that includes a reference to an interest rate, banks should also indicate the annualised percentage rate, where relevant, and other relevant fees and charges; and provide full details of the relevant terms and conditions on request.
      • Compare the personal loan products offered by different banks using the Annualised Percentage Rate (APR). APR is a reference annualised rate that reflects the interest and other related fees and charges (such as handling charges and service charges) charged on a banking product (such as credit cards and personal loans). APR reflects the actual borrowing cost.
      • After borrowing, remember to repay your loan on time to avoid “late payment charges” and additional overdue interest charged by your bank. Late payment records of borrowers are maintained in the consumer credit data bureau. They will directly affect the borrowers’ loan applications in future and the interest rates for the loans.
      • If you intend to make an early repayment, you should check with the bank concerned whether any early repayment charge and any other fees will be imposed, and the amount of principal that you have repaid. Compare the early repayment fees and charges with the amount of interest to be saved before making your decision.
      • If you have difficulty in repaying the loan, you should discuss with your bank promptly and explore other repayment arrangements.
    • Dont's
      • Don’t just rely on the information provided in personal loan promotional materials. Don’t assume that “zero interest rate” or “full interest waiver” means there is no borrowing cost. Don’t just focus on the “monthly flat rate” and think that the borrowing cost is really low as the monthly interest rate is barely over 0%. You should refer to the “annualised percentage rate” which can accurately reflect the actual borrowing cost.
      • Don’t just calculate the repaid portion of principal by simply multiplying the monthly repayment amount by the number of repayments that you have made. Even though the monthly repayment amount is the same throughout the loan tenor, more interest will, in general, be included in earlier repayments, and less on principal. You should ask your bank if you want to know how much principal you have repaid.
      • Think carefully before applying for a loan and avoid over-borrowing. Remember to repay on time after taking out a loan to avoid additional expenses on finance charges.
  • Types of Personal Loans
    FIND OUT MORE

    Personal loans offered by banks are mostly unsecured loans, that is, borrowers are not required to put up any personal assets as collateral for the loan. As such, unsecured loans typically have higher interest rates and shorter tenors than secured loans (such as a mortgage).

    When considering whether to approve a personal loan application, the bank concerned will take into account the applicant’s background, occupation, income, financial condition and credit history. 

    Currently, there are mainly two types of personal loans, namely, instalment loans and revolving loans:

    Instalment Loans

    Interest for the total loan amount will normally be calculated based on a monthly flat rate. The borrower will repay the loan monthly with a fixed amount according to the interest rate, repayment schedule and repayment amount agreed with the bank.

    Revolving Loans

    Interest is calculated on the draw-down amount on a daily basis. The borrower can draw down, in whole or in part, the loan facility and repay, in whole or in part, the borrowed amount any time at his discretion. The available loan amount will automatically increase after each repayment so that the borrower can redraw the loan again. In general, a minimum monthly repayment amount is set for revolving loans. Moreover, banks will review the repayment record of the borrower regularly and may adjust the interest rates and/or loan amount accordingly.

  • What is Rule of 78?
    FIND OUT MORE

    Individual banks use different ways to apportion interest and principal in the monthly repayment amounts. The following example illustrates how the interest is apportioned in each monthly repayment throughout the loan tenor according to the Rule of 78:

    A 12-month loan of HK$200,000 at a monthly flat rate of 0.31%

    Monthly interest = HK$200,000 x 0.31% = HK$620

    Interest for the full term = HK$620 x 12(instalments) = HK$7,440

    Monthly repayment amount = (HK$200,000 + HK$7,440) / 12(monthly payments) = HK$17,287

    Based on the Rule of 78, the amount of interest paid each month =

    Interest for the full term
    x
    Remaining number of monthly payments
    Sum of the number of monthly instalments in the loan
    (For 12 monthly payments, it will be 12+11+…+2+1=78)

    The calculation is as follows:

      Interest Principal Repaid
    The 1st month HK$7,440 x 12 / 78 = HK$1,145 HK$17,287 – HK$1,145 = HK$16,142
    The 2nd month HK$7,440 x 11/ 78 = HK$1,049 HK$17,287 – HK$1,049 = HK$16,238

    .

    .

    .

       
    The 11th month HK$7,440 x 2 / 78 = HK$191 HK$17,287 – HK$191 = HK$17,096
    The 12th month HK$7,440 x 1 / 78 = HK$95 HK$17,287 – HK$95 = HK$17,192

    The above example shows that nearly 30% of the interest for the full term is repaid in the first two monthly payments.

    By the same way, the above rule is also applicable to loans of other repayment periods. For a 24-month loan, the sum of numbers from 1 to 24 is 300 (24+23+22+21+20…+1=300). 24/300ths of the total interest is apportioned as the first month’s interest portion, 23/300ths of the total interest is apportioned as the second month’s interest portion and so on until the 24th month, at which time 1/300th of the total interest is apportioned as the last month’s interest portion.

    Similarly, for a 36-month loan, the sum of numbers from 1 to 36 is 666 (36+35+34+33+32…+1=666). 36/666ths of the total interest is apportioned as the first month’s interest portion, 35/666ths of the total interest is apportioned as the second month’s interest portion and so on until the 36th month, at which time 1/666th of the total interest is apportioned as the last month’s interest portion.

  • Smart Tips on Responsible Borrowing
    FIND OUT MORE

    There are many types of loan products in the market, such as personal loans, tax loans, etc. You should remember the following tips when applying for loan products:

    • Dos:
      • Be responsible and handle personal loan products properly. You should commit to repaying after borrowing.
      • Repay the loan (or for card products, outstanding balance of retail purchase and/or cash advances) on time to avoid late payment charges and additional overdue interest charged by banks.
      • Before applying for any loans, you should have a clear understanding of your financial condition, daily expenses and actual borrowing needs. You should also assess your repayment ability and avoid over-borrowing.
      • Understand the terms clearly before committing to a loan.
      • To borrow or not to borrow? Borrow only if you can repay!
    • Don't:
      • Do not overspend and get yourself in debt. This will affect your credit record.
    • Points to Note:
      • If your repayment defaults for more than 60 days, the consumer credit reporting institution will retain the default record in the database for five full years from the date of full settlement.
      • A good credit record may bring you better interest rate and terms. In contrast, you may be subject to a higher interest rate, or get a smaller loan approved, or even your loan application may be rejected if your credit record is not good.
Education Videos
Responsible Borrowing
Responsible Borrowing
Responsible Borrowing (30-second version)
Responsible Borrowing (30-second version)
Education Drama Series (in Cantonese)
Last revision date : 11 December 2019

個人信貸

  • 「智醒錦囊」- 個人信貸
    了解更多
    • 個人信貸記錄
      • 如消費者曾經使用銀行及財務機構提供的信貸產品,例如信用卡、私人貸款、汽車貸款等,便會有一份他的信貸記錄儲存於個人信貸資料庫內。信貸資料庫讓銀行掌握更充分的信貸資料,從而更準確地評估客戶的信貸質素。
      • 信貸報告一般反映個人的信貸及還款記錄(包括欠款記錄)、破產及其他公眾記錄(例如債務追討),及銀行或財務機構於過去兩年的查詢記錄。如果還款拖欠超過60日,個人信貸資料庫內可保留該等拖欠還款資料,直至由全數清還拖欠款項的日期起計5年屆滿為止。信貸評分由A – J分級,當中以A為最高評級。
      • 在銀行審核個人信貸產品(例如信用卡)申請時所參考的各項因素中,一般都會包括申請人的信貸報告。
    • 不良信貸記錄的影響
      • 良好的信貸記錄可能帶來更優惠的借貸息率和條款。相反,不良的信貸記錄則可能令信貸申請人被收取較高的借貸息率、獲批較低的借貸額,或甚至借貸申請遭拒絕。
      • 不良的信貸記錄對非財務事宜亦可能造成負面影響。例如在職場上,一些僱主於評估求職者是否適合某類工種(例如:會計、有關信貸分析及審批的工作等)時,亦可能會參考其信貸記錄。如求職者信貸記錄欠佳,或會令僱主對其合適程度產生疑慮。如有破產記錄,更有可能影響專業牌照申請(例如:股票經紀、律師等)的審批。
    • 作為一個精明的銀行客戶,在使用個人信貸產品時,要留意
      • 同時向數間銀行或財務機構申請信用卡或私人貸款,可能意味申請人急需借貸,因而有機會對其信貸評分有負面影響。
      • 應經常準時及全數繳付個人信貸產品的還款額。如未能準時清還欠款,借款人會不時被貸款機構追交欠款,亦會被罰息。
      • 注意信貸產品的利息及收費,例如:
        • 不要以為私人貸款產品所宣傳的「零利息」或「全期免息」代表沒有任何借貸成本,亦不應以為「每月平息」只得零點幾個百分比,借貸成本便很低。應以「實際年利率」去比較不同銀行的私人貸款產品。
        • 如準備提前還款,應先向銀行查詢會否收取「提前還款手續費」及其他費用,然後與提前還款可節省的利息作比較,考慮清楚後,才決定是否選擇提前還款。
        • 繳付信用卡帳單時,不應只繳付最低還款額,當心這會令利息滾存,造成雪球效應。若未能全數清還欠款,新簽帳項會即時起息計算。
  • 「智醒錦囊」- 私人貸款
    了解更多

    作為一個謹慎的銀行客戶,在申請私人貸款時,請緊記以下「錦囊」﹕

    • 你應採取的步驟包括:
      • 在申請私人貸款前,應清楚了解貸款的條款及細則,包括貸款的類別、年期、還款期數、每月還款額、利率、利息的計算方法及其他收費。如有需要,可向銀行職員查詢或要求以模擬借貸金額計算相關費用。根據「銀行營運守則」的規定,銀行服務的廣告宣傳資料如提及利率,須在合適情況下列明年利率、其他有關費用及收費,並須應要求提供詳盡的章則及條款。
      • 以「實際年利率」去比較不同銀行的私人貸款產品。實際年利率是按年利率展示出銀行產品(例如信用卡、私人貸款等)所收取的利息加上相關費用(例如貸款手續費、服務費等)的一個參考利率。「實際年利率」能反映實際的借貸成本。
      • 借貸後,緊記準時還款,以免被銀行收取「逾期費用」及額外的逾期還款利息。借款人的逾期還款紀錄會記錄在個人信貸資料庫內,直接影響日後其他借貸的申請和息率。
      • 如果準備提前清還貸款,應向銀行查詢會否收取「提前還款手續費」和其他費用,以及已經清還了多少貸款本金。然後,比較提前還款的費用及可節省的利息,才決定是否提前還款。
      • 當你察覺自己出現還款困難,應積極與銀行商討其他還款安排。
    • 你應該避免的事項包括:
      • 不要被私人貸款產品所宣傳的「零利息」或「全期免息」吸引,以為沒有任何借貸成本,或以為「每月平息」只得零點幾個百分比,借貸成本很低。須參考「實際年利率」,因為它能準確反映實際的借貸成本。
      • 切勿單單以「每月還款金額」乘以「已還款期數」去計算已償還的本金部分。即使每個月還款的金額相同,一般來說前期還款的利息會佔較多,本金就較少。如想了解已償還的本金部分,應向銀行查詢。
      • 在借貸前應審慎考慮,切勿過度借貸。借貸後應緊記準時還款,以避免額外的財務費用支出。
  • 私人貸款產品種類
    了解更多

    銀行提供的私人貸款產品,主要為無抵押貸款,即銀行在批出貸款時,並無要求借款人提供個人資產作為貸款的抵押品。所以,相對有抵押貸款(如樓宇按揭),無抵押貸款通常利息較高,而貸款年期則會較短。

    在批核私人貸款申請時,銀行會考慮申請人的背景、工作、收入、財政狀況及信貸紀錄。

    現時,私人貸款產品主要分為「分期貸款」和「循環貸款」兩類:

    「分期貸款」

    按貸款金額計算全期利息,一般會以「每月平息」計算。借款人按與銀行協定的利息、期數及金額,每月作等額還款。

    「循環貸款」

    按已動用的貸款金額逐日計算利息。借款人可按需要隨時提取全部或部分貸款,及償還全部或部分欠款。每次還款後,可動用的信貸額會自動回升,讓借款人循環使用。在一般情況下,循環貸款都設有每月最低還款額。此外,銀行亦會定期檢討借款人的還款紀錄而調整貸款的利率及/或貸款額。

  • 甚麼是「78法則」?
    了解更多

    個別銀行會以不同的方法分攤每月還款金額中的利息及本金。以下的例子顯示在銀行使用「78法則」下全期利息如何按月攤分:

    借款200,000港元分12個月還款,每月平息率為0.31%

    每月利息 = 200,000港元 x 0.31% = 620港元

    全期利息 = 620港元 x 12(還款期數) = 7,440港元

    每月還款額 = (200,000港元 + 7,440港元) / 12(還款期數) = 17,287港元

    以「78法則」攤分的每月利息 =

    全期利息
    x
    尚餘還款期數
    還款期數總和
    (如12個月即=12+11+…+2+1=78)

    計算如下:

      利息 償還本金
    首月 7,440港元 x 12 / 78 = 1,145港元 17,287港元 - 1,145港元 = 16,142港元
    次月 7,440港元 x 11/ 78 = 1,049港元 17,287港元 - 1,049港元 = 16,238港元

    .

    .

    .

       
    第十一月 7,440港元 x 2 / 78 = 191港元 17,287港元 - 191港元 = 17,096港元
    第十二月 7,440港元 x 1 / 78 = 95港元 17,287港元 - 95港元 = 17,192港元

    以上例子可見,全期約三成的利息已在首兩個月的還款中攤分。

    ​「78法則」同樣適用於其他貸款期。對於 24 個月貸款,從 1 到 24 的總和為 300 (24+23+22+21+20…+1=300)。總利息的24/300作為第一個月的利息攤分,總利息的23/300作為第二個月的利息攤分,如此類推,直到最後第24個月的總利息攤分是1/300。

    同樣地,對於 36 個月貸款,從 1 到36 的總和為 666 (36+35+34+33+32…+1=666)。總利息的36/666作為第一個月的利息攤分,總利息的35/666作為第二個月的利息攤分,如此類推,直到最後總利息的1/666作為第36個月的利息攤分。

  • 「智醒錦囊」- 負責任借貸
    了解更多

    市面上有很多借貸產品,例如私人貸款、稅務貸款等。在使用借貸產品時,請緊記以下「錦囊」﹕

    • 你應採取的步驟包括:
      • 持有正確及負責任的態度,有借有還。
      • 記得按時償還貸款(或信用卡產品、零售購物和/或現金透支的結欠),以免銀行收取逾期還款的收費和額外逾期利息。
      • 在作出借貸決定前,必須清楚了解自己的財政狀況、日常開支及實際貸款需要,評估自己的還款能力,避免過度借貸。
      • 在簽訂任何借貸產品合約前,先清楚了解有關條款。
      • 借定唔借?還得到先好借!
    • 你應該避免的事項包括:
      • 切勿消費過度以致未能負擔債務,損害自己的信貸紀錄。
    • 注意事項:
      • 如果你曾拖欠還款超過60日,個人信貸資料服務機構可保留該等拖欠還款資料於資料庫內,直至由最後清還所拖欠還款的日期起計5年屆滿為止。
      • 良好的信貸紀錄可能為你帶來更優惠的借貸息率和條款。相反,不良的信貸紀錄則可能令你被收取較高的借貸息率、獲批較低的借貸額,或甚至借貸申請遭拒絕。
教育短片
負責任借貸
負責任借貸 (30秒版本)
負責任借貸 (30秒版本)
五個乜水的少年(足本)
五個乜水的少年(足本)
五個乜水的少年(1分鐘版本)
五個乜水的少年(1分鐘版本)
五個乜水的少年(30秒版本)
五個乜水的少年(30秒版本)
修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日