Mortgages

  • Smart Tips on Mortgages
    FIND OUT MORE

    Buying a home is an important life event. You should pay attention to the following when applying for a mortgage:

    • Before applying for a mortgage from a bank, you should understand thoroughly the terms and conditions, including tenor, repayment schedule, monthly repayment amount, interest rate, method of interest calculation, and other related charges. You might consider asking the bank to illustrate how the monthly repayment amount and other charges are calculated with reference to a mock loan amount.

    • When choosing a mortgage plan, you should carefully assess your affordability. In addition to the down payment and monthly repayment, you should take into account other expenses, such as mortgage administration fees, legal fees, insurance fees, valuation report fees, etc.

    • Banks decide on the mortgage loan amount based on a number of factors, such as the borrower's repayment ability, and the final approved mortgage loan amount may not be the same as the amount requested by the borrower. Before you pay a deposit on the property, you should take a conservative approach in estimating the amount of mortgage loan you can obtain from a bank so as to avoid having insufficient funding to complete the purchase.

    • Some non-bank institutions (such as property developers and finance companies) may offer mortgage plans with high loan-to-value (LTV) ratios or other promotion schemes to first-hand property buyers. Potential buyers should fully understand the terms and conditions of such mortgage loans. Even though the mortgage promotion schemes for the initial period may look attractive, the mortgage rate and repayment amount of some of these schemes may increase significantly after the initial years of repayment. Potential buyers should take into account any changes (e.g. change in mortgage interest rate) that may occur throughout the entire loan period and carefully assess their repayment ability so as to make shrewd and prudent decisions.

    • When choosing a mortgage tenor, you should consider your financial condition and repayment ability. In general, the longer the tenor is, the lower the monthly repayment amount but the higher the total interest expense. On the contrary, the shorter the tenor is, the higher the monthly repayment amount but the lower the total interest expense.

    • Mortgage interest rates are mostly calculated with reference to Hong Kong Interbank Offered Rate (HIBOR) or Prime rate (P), both of which are floating interest rates. HIBOR fluctuates more, and mortgage interest rate calculated with reference to HIBOR is usually subject to a cap. Prime rate is relatively stable, but the Prime rate offered by each bank can be different. Borrowers should check the effective mortgage interest rates when shopping around for the best value plan.

  • Latest Prudential Measures
    FIND OUT MORE

    The HKMA has introduced various rounds of macro-prudential measures since October 2009 to enhance the risk management of banks in conducting property mortgage lending business and strengthen the resilience of the banking sector against any possible downturn in the property market. The measures included:

    1. tightening the maximum loan-to-value (LTV) ratio for property mortgage loans, which may pose higher risks to banks, such as:
      • mortgage loans for applicants with one or more pre-existing mortgages
      • mortgage loans for applicants whose income is mainly derived from outside of Hong Kong
      • mortgage loans for applicants based on their net worth for borrowing
      • mortgage loans for non-self-use residential properties
      • mortgage loans for commercial and industrial properties
    2. requiring banks to apply more prudent criteria to assess the repayment ability of mortgage applicants;
    3. limiting the maximum loan tenor for all new property mortgage loans to 30 years and car park mortgage loans to 15 years;
    4. requiring banks using Internal Ratings-Based Approach to calculate capital charges for credit risk to apply risk weight floors for their residential mortgage loans.

    Please refer to the attached table regarding the details of the LTV ratio cap and debt servicing ratio limit for property mortgage loans.

  • Mortgage Insurance Programme
    FIND OUT MORE

    The Mortgage Insurance Programme (MIP) was launched by The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation Limited (HKMC). HKMC Insurance Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the HKMC, provides mortgage insurance to banks and enables them to provide mortgage loans with higher LTV ratio without incurring additional credit risk.  The down payment burden of the homebuyers can therefore be reduced.

    Please refer to the HKMC website for more information.

Mortgage Repayment Calculator

The Mortgage Repayment Calculator aims to calculate, based on the figures you input into the Calculator, the monthly mortgage repayment amount and its ratio to monthly income (i.e. the debt servicing ratio), as well as how a change in the mortgage interest rate would affect the repayment amount. Please keep in mind that the calculation results are estimates for reference only. In calculating the debt servicing ratio of a mortgage applicant, a bank will take into account the mortgage instalment as well as other debt repayments of the applicant. 


(1) Scenario
Mortgage loan Note 1 (HK$):
Mortgage interest rate Note 2 (% p.a.)
Loan tenor (years)
Monthly income (HK$):
(2) Stress Test Assumption
Increase in mortgage interest rate (percentage point)

    Calculation Results (1) Under Given Scenario (2) Under Stress Test (3) Difference
    [(2) – (1)]
    Monthly mortgage repayment amount (HK$)
    Debt servicing ratio
    (% for (1) and (2); percentage points for (3))

    Note 1: Banks will consider a variety of factors when assessing a mortgage loan application. The mortgage loan amount approved by banks may not be the same as the amount requested by applicants.

    Note 2: Currently, the following formulae are commonly used for calculating mortgage interest rates. They are for reference only. Please refer to the mortgage interest rate or calculation formula set out in the terms of your mortgage.

    • HIBOR-based mortgage plans: Interest rate being Hong Kong Interbank Offered Rate (HIBOR) plus a certain percentage point, or the interest rate cap under the plan (if any), whichever is lower;
    • Prime-based mortgage plans: Interest rate being the prime rate of the relevant bank minus a certain percentage point.

    Note 3: The above results are rounded to nearest Hong Kong dollar.

    Disclaimer: The results generated by the Mortgage Repayment Calculator (“Calculator”) are for reference only, and no reliance should be placed by any person on such results for any purposes. The Calculator only takes into account the figures as inputted, and not any other factors, such as the financial condition and repayment ability of the person or the terms of a mortgage (such as legal fees, service charges, rebates, etc.), which might affect the results if they are taken into account in the loan approval process. A bank would take into account all relevant factors (not only mortgage repayment) when assessing a mortgage loan application. The results generated by the Calculator do not in any way represent or reflect the amount of mortgage loans that the bank will approve.

    Last revision date : 18 October 2019

按揭

  • 「智醒錦囊」- 按揭
    了解更多

    置業是人生大事,在申請按揭時,你應注意以下事項:

    • 在向銀行申請按揭前,應清楚了解貸款的條款及細則,包括供款年期、供款期數、每月供款額、利率、利息的計算方法及其他收費。你可考慮向銀行職員要求以模擬借貸金額計算供款額及其他費用。

    • 選擇按揭計劃時,應仔細計算自己的負擔能力,除了首期和每月供款金額外,也應計算其他開支,例如按揭行政費、律師費、保險費用、估價報告費用等。

    • 銀行基於多項因素考慮批出按揭貸款金額,例如借款人的還款能力等,銀行最終批核結果未必與申請的金額一致。在支付物業訂金前,你宜保守估算可能從銀行獲得的按揭貸款金額,以免落訂後失去預算。

    • 一些非銀行機構(如地產發展商和財務公司)或向一手物業買家提供「高成數按揭計劃」或其他優惠。準買家應清楚瞭解條款細節,除了考慮短期優惠外,也應該考慮在整個還款期內可能出現的變數,部分「高成數按揭計劃」在供款數年後,按揭利率會大幅提高,供款金額因而顯著增加。買家應小心評估自身還款能力,作出精明和審慎的決定。

    • 選擇按揭年期時,你應全盤考慮自己的財務狀況和供款能力。一般而言,若供款年期愈長,每月供款愈低,全期利息開支愈高;反之按揭年期愈短,每月供款愈高,全期利息開支愈低。

    • 按揭利率多以香港銀行同業拆息(HIBOR)或最優惠利率(P)為定價参考,兩者均為浮動息率。HIBOR變動較多,以HIBOR計算的按揭利率亦多設有上限;P的變動較少,但各家銀行提供的P頗為不同。借款人宜查詢實質按揭利率以比較按揭計劃的價格。

  • 最新審慎監管措施
    了解更多

    金管局自2009年10月起推出多輪逆周期宏觀審慎監管措施,提升銀行物業按揭貸款業務的風險管理及銀行體系的抗震能力,減低在樓市周期逆轉時的影響。有關措施包括:

    (一)收緊對銀行可能帶來較高風險的按揭貸款的最高按揭成數,例如:

    • 有就其他按揭物業作出借貸或擔保的申請人的按揭貸款
    • 主要收入來自香港以外地區的申請人的按揭貸款
    • 以資產淨值為依據所批出的按揭貸款
    • 非自住宅物業的按揭貸款
    • 工商物業的按揭貸款

    (二)要求銀行審慎地為按揭借款人進行還款能力評估;

    (三)限制所有新造物業的最長還款年期為30年及車位按揭貸款的最長還款年期為15年;

    (四)要求採用「內評法」計算資本充足比率的銀行就其住宅按揭貸款的「風險權重」設定下限。

    有關按揭物業貸款的按揭成數和「供款與入息比率」措施的詳情,請參閱附表

  • 按揭保險計劃
    了解更多

    按揭保險計劃由香港按揭證券有限公司推出,其全資附屬公司香港按證保險有限公司為銀行提供按揭保險,使銀行可以提供高成數的按揭貸款而毋須承擔額外的風險。只要申請個案符合相關條件(例如樓價上限及貸款額上限等),銀行可以提供最高達八成按揭貸款,即置業人士的首期負擔可以低至物業價格的兩成,減輕置業人士的首期負擔。

    詳情可瀏覽香港按揭證券有限公司網頁

按揭供款計算機

「按揭供款計算機」旨在根據你所輸入的數字計算每月按揭供款、其佔每月收入的比率即「供款與入息比率」),以及按揭利率的變化將如何影響供款。請注意,計算結果均為估算值以供參考。銀行在計算按揭申請人「供款與入息比率」時,會考慮按揭供款及其他債務供款。


(1) 設定情況
按揭銀碼 註一 (港元):
按揭年利率 註二 (厘)
還款年期 (年)
每月收入 (港元):
(2) 壓力測試假設
按揭年利率升幅 (百分點)

    計算結果 (1) 設定情況下 (2) 壓力測試下 (3) 相差
    [(2) – (1)]
    每月按揭供款 (港元)
    供款與入息比率
    ((1)和(2)為%,(3)為百分點)

    註一:銀行在審批按揭申請時會考慮不同因素。銀行批出的按揭貸款金額未必與申請人所申請的按揭銀碼相同。

    註二:以下為現時常用的按揭利率計算公式,只作參考之用。請參閱按揭計劃條款中的按揭利率或計算公式。

    • 香港銀行同業拆息按揭計劃(H按):利率為香港銀行同業拆息加某個百分點,或計劃中的鎖息上限(如有),以較低者為準;
    • 最優惠利率按揭計劃(P按):利率為相關銀行的最優惠利率減某個百分點。

    註三:以上結果以四捨五入計至港元個位數。

    免責聲明:按揭供款計算機(「計算機」)計算的結果只供參考,任何人士不應依賴該結果作其他用途。計算機只根據輸入計算機的數字計算結果,而並無把任何其他在銀行貸款審批過程中納入考慮後,而可能會影響結果的因素計算在內,例如個人財務狀況和還款能力或按揭條款(如律師費、手續費、回贈等)。銀行在審批按揭貸款申請時會考慮所有相關因素(不僅是按揭供款)。計算機計算的結果並不代表或反映銀行對按揭貸款的批額。

    修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日