Account Opening and Maintenance

In recent years, international efforts in combating illegal activities including money laundering, terrorist financing and tax evasion have stepped up significantly. This, coupled with various sanctions regimes, have prompted banks to enhance their anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing (AML/CFT) controls in general, including a more stringent customer due diligence (CDD) process for existing and new customers. Therefore, compared with five or ten years ago, the current account opening process is indeed more complex and requires longer time.

Apart from local requirements, some banks need to also comply with the requirements or standards mandated by their head offices or overseas authorities. The account opening requirements of these banks may therefore vary. If you want to open a bank account, it is worth approaching several banks to compare and select services that suit your needs. This website aims to provide some information and tips on account opening and maintenance in Hong Kong for customers' reference.

Should you have any opinions or queries about account opening, maintenance or updating account information, please contact the HKMA. Telephone: (852) 2878 1133/Email: accountopening@hkma.gov.hk

**Special Arrangement for the Account Opening and Maintenance hotline services of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA)

Due to special work arrangements under the latest circumstances, the hotline of the HKMA’s Account Opening and Maintenance Services will be temporarily suspended until further notice. Members of the public are advised to send their enquiries to accountopening@hkma.gov.hk in the meantime. We will endeavour to respond as soon as practicable. Thank you for your understanding.

Last revision date : 06 February 2020

開戶及維持戶口

國際社會近年大力打擊洗錢、恐怖分子資金籌集和逃稅等不法活動,加上各種形式的制裁行動,促使銀行普遍加強了相關的管控措施,包括對現有客戶及新客戶進行更嚴格的客戶盡職審查。因此與五年前、十年前相比,現時開戶的程序確實複雜了,所需要的時間也較以往長。

除遵守香港的規定外,部分銀行亦須遵守其總部以及海外有關當局的規定或標準而有不同的開戶要求。因此,如要開立銀行戶口,不妨多接觸幾家銀行,比較和選擇合適自己的服務。這個網頁旨在提供一些有關在香港開戶和維持戶口的資訊和貼士,以供參考。

如對銀行開立、維持或更新戶口資料有任何意見或疑問,可聯絡金管局。電話:(852) 2878 1133/電郵:accountopening@hkma.gov.hk

**金管局就開戶及維持戶口服務熱線的特別安排

因應近期的特殊情況下的工作安排,金管局的開戶及維持戶口服務熱線已暫停至另行通知。公眾人士請將查詢電郵至accountopening@hkma.gov.hk。我們會盡快回覆。衷心感謝您的理解。

修訂日期 : 2020年03月22日