Fintech

Financial technology, or fintech, is driving innovation in financial services globally and changing the nature of commerce and end-user expectations for financial services. While the term fintech may carry different meanings, it is now commonly considered to cover the application of artificial intelligence, blockchain, cloud computing, and big data in areas such as payments, clearing and settlement, deposits, lending and capital raising, insurance, investment management, and market support.

In light of the rapid technological advancement, it is important to understand the benefits and risks brought by fintech, and to support its healthy development. It is also crucial for the banking sector to maintain a high level of cybersecurity and data security to maintain public confidence in the banking system and new financial services.

The HKMA puts great efforts in striking a right balance between retaining appropriate flexibility for innovations and ensuring that customer interests are properly safeguarded during the course of fintech development. The Fintech Facilitation Office (FFO), established by the HKMA in 2016, facilitates the healthy development of the fintech ecosystem in Hong Kong and promotes Hong Kong as a fintech hub in Asia. Among other things, the FFO acts as

  • a platform for exchanging ideas of innovative fintech initiatives among key stakeholders and conducting outreaching activities;
  • an interface between market participants and regulators within the HKMA to help improve the industry’s understanding about the parts of the regulatory landscape which are relevant to them;
  • an initiator of industry research in potential application and risks of fintech solutions; and
  • a facilitator to nurture talents to meet the growing needs of the fintech industry in Hong Kong.

To promote a closer dialogue between the FFO and market participants / interested parties, a dedicated email account (fintech@hkma.gov.hk) has been set up. We hope that we can hear your views, or help you better understand the regulatory landscape for the banking and payment services in Hong Kong.

HKMA’s Fintech Initiatives

This video introduces the work of the FFO and the seven Smart Banking initiatives launched by the HKMA.

Last revision date : 06 November 2019

金融科技

金融科技(financial technology,又稱fintech)帶動全球金融服務不斷創新,亦正改變營商模式及用戶對金融服務的期望。雖然金融科技有多個不同含義,但現今一般涵蓋人工智能、區塊鏈、雲端運算和大數據在支付、結算及交收、存款、借貸及集資、保險、投資管理及市場支援方面等的應用。

鑒於科技的迅速發展,我們有必要了解金融科技所帶來的好處與風險,並促進其穩健發展。銀行界的網絡保安及數據保安措施亦必須嚴密可靠,以維持公眾對銀行系統及新型金融服務的信心。

在金融科技發展過程中,金管局致力維持創新所需要的靈活性,同時確保消費者權益得到妥善保障。有見及此,金管局於2016年成立了金融科技促進辦公室(FFO),以促進香港金融科技業的穩健發展,並推動香港成為亞洲區的金融科技樞紐。FFO會擔當:

  • 「平台」角色,讓主要持份者交流創新金融科技項目,以及舉辦外展活動;
  • 「橋樑」角色,成為市場人士與金管局內的監管人員之間的聯繫人,以增進業界對監管制度中與其相關的部分的了解;
  • 「推動者」角色,推動業界研究金融科技方案的潛在應用及風險;以及
  • 「促進者」角色,培育新一代金融科技專才。

為了與市場人士及有關各方建立更緊密的溝通,FFO已設立專用電郵帳戶(fintech@hkma.gov.hk) 。我們期待收到閣下寶貴的意見,亦非常樂意協助閣下更深入了解有關香港銀行業及支付服務業的監管制度。

金管局的金融科技舉措

此短片介紹金融科技促進辦公室的工作以及金管局推出的七項推動智慧銀行的舉措。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日