Fintech Supervisory Sandbox (FSS)

The Fintech Supervisory Sandbox (FSS), launched by the HKMA in September 2016, allows banks and their partnering technology firms (tech firms) to conduct pilot trials of their fintech initiatives involving a limited number of participating customers without the need to achieve full compliance with the HKMA's supervisory requirements. This arrangement enables banks and tech firms to gather data and user feedback so that they can make refinements to their new initiatives, thereby expediting the launch of new technology products, and reducing the development cost.

FSS 2.0

In the light of the experience obtained in operating the FSS, the HKMA has upgraded the FSS to FSS 2.0. FSS 2.0 has the following new features:

  • A Fintech Supervisory Chatroom (Chatroom) to provide feedback to banks and tech firms at an early stage of their fintech projects ;
  • Tech firms can access the Sandbox by seeking feedback from the HKMA through the Chatroom without going through a bank; and
  • The sandboxes of the HKMA, the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) and the Insurance Authority (IA) are linked up so that there is a single point of entry, if needed, for pilot trials of cross-sector fintech products.

To help develop the Regtech ecosystem, the FSS (including the Chatroom) is also open to Regtech projects or ideas raised by banks or tech firms.

Expand All
Collapse All
  • Operating Principles

    The HKMA has adopted the following principles in operating the FSS:

    • The FSS is available to fintech and other technology initiatives intended to be launched in Hong Kong by banks;
    • The management of a bank that is allowed to use the FSS should ensure that the following safeguards are in place:
      • Boundary – Clear definitions about the scope and phases (if any) of the pilot trial, the timing, and termination arrangements;
      • Customer protection measures – Measures for protecting the interests of customers during the trial, which generally cover the selection of customers who understand the associated risks and voluntarily join the trial, complaint handling, compensation of any financial losses suffered by customers, and arrangements for customers to withdraw from the trial;
      • Risk management controls – Compensating controls for mitigating the risks arising from less than full compliance with supervisory requirements and the risks posed to the bank’s production systems and other customers; and
      • Readiness and monitoring – Readiness of the systems and processes involved in the trial and close monitoring of the trial.
    • The FSS should not be used as a means to bypass applicable supervisory requirements.

    The HKMA has not laid down an exhaustive list of the supervisory requirements that may potentially be relaxed within the FSS environment. Banks and their partnering tech firms intending to access the FSS are advised to get in touch with the HKMA early. The HKMA stands ready to discuss with them individually on the appropriate supervisory flexibility that can be made available within the FSS.

  • Usage of the FSS (Until the end of August 2019)

    Until the end of August 2019, 74 new technology products have been tested in the FSS. Out of these cases, 36 pilot trials have been completed, and the products have subsequently been rolled out. Separately, banks have collaborated with tech firms in 48 trial cases. Banks and their partnering tech firms that use the FSS are able to gather real-life data and user feedback on their new fintech products or services more easily, so that they can make refinements to them as appropriate before the full launch. Hence, the FSS facilitates banks and their partnering tech firms to rollout fintech initiatives earlier, at a lower cost and with better quality upon full product launch. Please refer to the following chart for further details. 

  • Cross-sector Fintech Services

    The HKMA, the SFC and the IA have launched their respective sandboxes. If a firm intends to conduct a pilot trial of a cross-sector fintech product, it may apply to seek access to the sandbox it considers most relevant. The regulator will act as the primary point of contact and assist in liaising with the other regulators for the firm to access the sandboxes concurrently. Below are links to contact points of the sandboxes operated by the SFC and the IA.

  • Cross-border Pilot Testing Arrangement

    The FSS has been linked with similar pilot testing facilities of overseas supervisory authorities. On 1 February 2019, the Global Financial Innovation Network (GFIN), a group of international organisations including the HKMA, invited applications from firms wishing to test innovative financial products, services or business models across more than one jurisdiction. For details, please refer to the link below:

Contact Us

If a firm plans to make use of the FSS for conducting pilot trial of its fintech products, please contact the HKMA through the email address below:

hkma_sandbox@hkma.gov.hk

Last revision date : 24 September 2019

金融科技監管沙盒

金融科技監管沙盒(沙盒)是金管局於2016年9月推出,讓銀行及其夥伴科技公司可在毋需完全符合金管局監管規定的環境下,邀請有限數目的客戶參與金融科技項目的試行。這項安排讓銀行及科技公司可收集數據及用戶意見,以便對新科技產品作出適當修改,從而加快推出產品的速度及減低開發成本。

金融科技監管沙盒2.0

因應運作沙盒的經驗,金管局將沙盒升級,推出沙盒2.0。沙盒2.0新增以下功能:

  • 設立金融科技監管聊天室(聊天室),在金融科技項目開發初期向銀行及科技公司反饋意見;
  • 科技公司毋須經過銀行,可直接通過聊天室與金管局溝通;以及
  • 金管局、證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)及保險業監管局(保監局)的沙盒相互協調運作,為跨界別金融科技項目提供「一點通」切入,按實際需要接通三個監管機構的沙盒。

此外,為協助金融監管和合規科技(Regtech)生態系統的建立,沙盒(包括聊天室)亦會開放予銀行或科技公司所提出的金融監管和合規科技項目或概念。

展開全部
全部收起
  • 運作原則

    金管局按照以下原則運作沙盒:

    • 沙盒可供銀行計劃在香港推出的金融科技或其他科技項目使用;
    • 獲許可使用沙盒的銀行的管理層應確保訂有以下保障措施:
      • 界限:清楚定明試行範圍及階段(如有)、時間及終止安排;
      • 保障客戶措施:在試行期間保障客戶利益的措施,一般包括挑選明白所涉及的風險並自願參與試行的客戶、投訴處理、就客戶蒙受的任何財政損失作出賠償,以及客戶退出試行的安排等範疇的措施;
      • 風險管理措施:推出補充管控措施,以減低因並未完全符合監管規定而引起的風險,以及對銀行的生產系統及其他客戶所構成的風險;以及
      • 準備情況及監察:涉及試行的系統及程序應準備就緒,並須密切監察試行的情況。
    • 銀行不應利用沙盒規避適用的監管規定。

    金管局並未羅列在沙盒環境中可能會有所放寬的所有監管規定。有意使用沙盒的銀行及其夥伴科技公司應及早與金管局聯絡。金管局樂意隨時與銀行及其夥伴科技公司個別討論有關在沙盒環境中,可以在監管方面作出的合適彈性安排。

  • 沙盒的使用情況 (截至2019年8月底)

    截至8月底,共有74項新科技產品使用沙盒進行試行。其中36項試行業已完成,有關產品亦已於其後推出。此外,有48項試行是銀行與科技公司合作進行。銀行及其夥伴科技公司使用沙盒,可以更有效地收集有關其新推出的金融科技產品或服務的實際數據及用戶意見,以便在正式推出前對有關產品或服務作出適當修改。換言之,沙盒有助銀行及其夥伴科技公司更快推出金融科技項目,並能降低成本及提高產品質素。有關詳情,請參閱下表圖。

  • 跨界別金融科技服務

    金管局、證監會及保監局都已分別推出沙盒。任何公司如計劃就跨界別金融科技產品進行試行,可申請使用其認為最適合的沙盒。有關監管機構會作為主要聯絡點,協助該公司聯絡其他監管機構,讓公司同步使用沙盒。證監會及保監局運作的沙盒的聯絡方法如下:

  • 跨境試行測試安排

    沙盒已和海外監管機構類似的試行測試設施聯繫。「全球金融創新網絡」由包括金管局在內的多個國際組織組成,於2019年2月1日邀請有意在多個地區測試其創新金融產品、服務或商業模式的企業申請參與先導跨境測試。詳情請瀏覽以下網址:

聯絡我們

如任何公司有計劃使用金融科技監管沙盒進行試行金融科技產品,可透過以下電郵聯絡我們﹕

hkma_sandbox@hkma.gov.hk

修訂日期 : 2019年09月24日