Open Application Programming Interface (API) for the Banking Sector

Application programming interface (API) is a computer programming approach for facilitating exchange of information and executing instructions between different computer systems. Open APIs refer to APIs that allow third party access to systems of an organisation.

Open API allows financial institutions to open up their internal IT systems and data for programmatic access by third-party service providers (TSPs) or their counterparts in an open and documented manner. Effective implementation of Open API enables, for example, information of different banks’ products and services to be aggregated under the same website / application for comparison and financial planning by users with ease. New service providers may also make use of the open information to offer unique products and new customer experience.

This webpage provides information on Open API for the banking sector. For information about the HKMA’s APIs, which provide financial data and important information published on HKMA’s website, please visit the HKMA’s Open API portal.

Open API Framework for the Hong Kong Banking Sector

The formulation of the Open API Framework is one of the seven initiatives announced by the HKMA in September 2017 to prepare Hong Kong to move into a new era of Smart Banking. Following a public consultation, the HKMA published the Open API Framework for the Hong Kong Banking Sector on 18 July 2018.

The Framework takes a risk-based principle and a four-phase approach to implement various Open API functions, and recommends prevailing international technical and security standards to ensure fast and safe adoption. It also lays out detailed expectations on how banks should onboard and maintain relationship with TSPs in a manner that ensures consumer protection. The HKMA believes that the Framework will serve as an important guide for the banking industry in Hong Kong to adopt APIs effectively and strike a good balance between innovation and risks.

What is Open API?

This video gives a brief overview of what Open API is.

Last revision date : 06 November 2019

銀行業開放應用程式介面 (開放API)

應用程式介面(API)是一種用於促進在不同電腦系統之間信息交換和執行指令的途徑。開放API允許第三方通過API連接一個機構的内部系統。

金融機構可使用開放API將其內部系統及資料開放,讓第三方服務提供者能夠有系統地以程式讀取。例如實施開放 API之後,不同銀行的產品和服務資料能匯合到同一個網站/應用程式上,方便用家比較和進行財務規劃。新的服務提供者也可利用已開放的資料,提供獨特的產品和嶄新的用戶體驗。

此網頁只提供有關銀行業開放 API的資訊。如想查找金管局網站就金融數據和重要資訊提供的API,請瀏覽金管局開放API專頁

銀行業開放API框架

金管局於2017年9月公布七項舉措,推動香港邁向智慧銀行新紀元。制定開放API框架為其中一項舉措。金管局進行公開諮詢後,於2018年7月18日發布了香港銀行業開放API框架

開放API框架採用風險為本原則,並分四個階段落實各項開放API的功能。框架除了建議使用國際慣用的技術和保安標準,以確保安全及加快實施步伐之外,亦闡述了銀行應如何與第三方服務提供者開展和保持合作,以確保消費者得到充分的保障。金管局相信開放API框架將為香港銀行業有效落實API提供重要指引,並在創新與風險之間取得適當平衡。

甚麼是開放API?

開放API的介紹短片

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日