Risk Management

In carrying out its investment activities, the Exchange Fund assumes various types of risks. The HKMA has established stringent controls and investment guidelines for both internally and externally managed portfolios, and closely monitors compliance with the guidelines and regulations. The relevant risk assessment has also been strengthened to support the Exchange Fund’s increased pace of investment diversification.

Risk Management Framework

The HKMA’s Risk and Compliance Department is responsible for monitoring the risk exposure of the Exchange Fund, assessing compliance of investment activities against established guidelines, reporting and following up on any identified breaches. To ensure good governance, the Risk and Compliance Department is independent of the front office functions and reports directly to the Chief Executive of the HKMA.

Credit Risk

The HKMA has established an internal credit exposure policy, which sets out the credit risk management framework for the investment activities of the Exchange Fund to ensure compliance with the credit requirements of the Exchange Fund.

Market Risk

The market risk of the Exchange Fund is measured and monitored mainly using a Value-at-Risk (VaR) methodology. Stress tests are conducted on a regular basis. The HKMA also regularly monitors the tracking error against the limit endorsed by the Exchange Fund Advisory Committee to prevent the Exchange Fund from taking unduly large market risk with respect to its investment benchmark.

Liquidity Risk

There are various internal investment restrictions to ensure the sufficient liquidity of the Exchange Fund’s assets to meet liabilities and exceptional needs. Currently, the Exchange Fund invests primarily in liquid financial markets and instruments that are readily realisable. 

Operational Risk

The HKMA has formalised an operational risk management framework, which includes identification and monitoring of key risk indicators, and reporting to the management on the operational risk profile.

Long-Term Growth Portfolio (LTGP)

The investment risks of LTGP are managed at the aggregate level through measures such as asset class approval, allocation limit and general partner exposure limit. The cap for the market value of investments under the LTGP is set at the aggregate of one-third of the accumulated surplus of the Exchange Fund and the portion of the Future Fund and placements by subsidiaries of the Exchange Fund linked to the LTGP. Alongside the due diligence performed by the front office, the Risk and Compliance Department performs independent business risk assessment of investment proposals, including track record and reputation of the partners, capability and stability of the investment team, and financials, risk factors and risk mitigants of the investment proposals, etc. Post-investment monitoring is also performed on an ongoing basis to review matters such as ongoing capital calls, risk concentration issues and compliance with investment agreements.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

風險管理

外匯基金在進行投資活動時承擔各類風險,金管局為內部及外聘投資經理所管理的投資組合均訂立嚴格管控措施及投資指引,並密切監察對指引及法規的遵守情況。為配合外匯基金加快多元化投資的步伐,有關的風險評估亦相應加強。

風險管理框架

金管局的風險管理及監察部負責監察外匯基金的風險承擔、審查投資活動有否遵守既定指引,匯報並跟進任何違規情況。為確保良好的管治,風險管理及監察部獨立於前線投資部門,並直接向金管局總裁匯報。

信用風險

金管局制定了內部信用風險政策,訂明外匯基金投資活動的信用風險管理制度,以確保投資產品符合外匯基金的信用風險要求。

市場風險

金管局主要運用風險值(VaR)方法,計算及監察外匯基金的市場風險,並定期進行壓力測試。金管局亦會根據外匯基金諮詢委員會認可的追蹤誤差限額作定期監察實際追蹤誤差,以防止外匯基金相對其投資基準承擔過度的市場風險。

流動性風險

外匯基金設有各項內部的投資限制,以確保外匯基金資產有足夠的流動性應付債務和特殊需要。現時外匯基金主要投資於流動性高的金融市場及隨時可出售的金融工具。

業務運作風險

金管局制定了業務運作風險管理架構,主要元素包括識別及監察關鍵風險指標,並就業務運作風險狀況向管理層匯報。

長期增長組合

長期增長組合的投資風險是透過資產類別核准、配置限額及專責合夥人風險承擔限額等措施在總體水平予以管理。長期增長組合的市值上限為外匯基金累計盈餘的三分之一及未來基金與外匯基金附屬公司存款中與長期增長組合掛鈎部分的總和。除了前線投資部門對投資建議進行盡職調查之外,風險管理及監察部亦進行獨立業務風險評估,包括投資夥伴的往績及聲譽、其投資團隊的能力及穩定性、與投資建議的財務狀況、風險因素及風險緩解措施等;並對投資項目進行後續監察,如檢視恒常的注資要求、風險集中及投資恊議的遵守情況。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日