Responsible Investment

As the investment manager of the Exchange Fund, we believe that the concept of responsible investment (RI) is highly relevant to our investment work.

Our Beliefs

The HKMA sees RI as an investment approach that takes into account the impact of various environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors on the long-term investment returns and their sustainability.

We believe that, by putting an appropriate emphasis on RI and sustainable long-term performance, we can better achieve the investment objectives of the Exchange Fund, and reduce risks associated with ESG-related matters of our underlying investments.

Our Responsible Investment Journey


1 Focusing Capital on the Long Term (FCLTGlobal)
2 Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI)
3 Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS)
4 Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD)

Our Guiding Principle and Framework for RI

The Exchange Fund Advisory Committee endorses the guiding principle and overall framework for RI of the Exchange Fund.

Our guiding principle is that priority will generally be given to ESG investments if the long-term risk-adjusted return is comparable to other investments.

We adopt as appropriate the following three-pronged approach in our investment processes that underpins our beliefs as a responsible long-term investor:

  • Integration
    FIND OUT MORE
    • We incorporate ESG factors into our investment analysis to identify risks and opportunities, as we believe that these factors can materially affect the long-term value of our investments. We select and appoint external managers that share our RI beliefs. We also communicate our RI beliefs to all our external managers and expect them to align in such a way that the overall sustainable long-term economic performance is attainable.

      Our implementation

      Public market investments:

      • We have included ESG factors in the selection, appointment and monitoring of our external managers.
      • We have invested in ESG-themed equity mandates by adopting ESG equities index as benchmark for passive portfolios, and explored active ESG mandates managed by external managers.
      • We have incorporated ESG factors in our credit risk analysis of our bond portfolio.
      • We have since 2015 invested and continuously expanded the holding of green, social and sustainability bonds.
      • We have invested in a green bond fund managed by an international organisation.
      • Further to investment in the Managed Co-Lending Portfolio Programme (MCPP) run by the International Finance Corporation on sustainable projects in emerging markets, we participated in the MCPP One Planet program focusing on climate-smart investment aligned with the Paris Agreement in emerging markets.

      Private market investments:

      • We have examined ESG policies and practices of our general partners. ESG evaluation is conducted as a mandatory part of due diligence of all Long-Term Growth Portfolio investments.
      • We continue to source projects with sustainable features. For instance, we have:
        • started investing in renewables since 2013 for direct/co-investments in energy sector;
        • invested in private equity funds that focus on energy transition and global decarbonisation, and
        • for our real estate portfolio, invested in (i) green buildings and (ii) warehouses with green and sustainable features. Green accreditation is a predominant factor for real estate investments.
  • Active Ownership
    FIND OUT MORE
    • We exercise shareholder rights in our public equity holdings in a manner that helps safeguard the long-term value of our investments. We believe that responsible corporate behaviour guided by ESG factors will help create shareholder value in the long term. We expect our asset managers to help us discharge our ownership responsibilities in the underlying investments by adopting active ownership through exercising voting rights and engaging with the corporates concerned.

      Our implementation

      • We have required our external managers of Hong Kong equities and China active equities portfolios to comply with the Principles of Responsible Ownership issued by the Securities and Futures Commission in 2016 on a “comply-or-explain” basis. Our external managers of developed market equities portfolios need to adhere to generally accepted international ESG standards.
      • We have required our external managers to exercise voting rights and engage with investee companies (see Sustainability Report in the 2021 Annual Report for the case study illustrating how the HKMA practises RI with external managers).
  • Collaboration
    FIND OUT MORE
    • We seek to join hands with like-minded investors, regulators and international organisations to promote good practices for managing investments for the long term.

      Our implementation

      • We are one of the earliest central bank signatories of the PRI , the world’s leading proponent of RI. We participate in formulating ESG best practices and encouraging other investors to adopt RI.
      • We are a member of FCLTGlobal, a not-for-profit organisation that works to foster a longer-term focus in business and investment decision-making through workshops and research studies. Being a member, we contribute to the workshops and discussion to promote long-termism.
      • We are a supporter of the TCFD, which has developed four recommendations on climate-related financial disclosures relating to governance, strategy, risk management and metrics and targets. Refer to Sustainability Report in the 2021 Annual Report for our disclosures based on TCFD recommendations.
      • We are a member of the NGFS, whose members contribute to the development of environment and climate risk management in the financial sector, as well as to mobilise mainstream finance to support the transition towards a sustainable economy.
HKMA’s Statement supporting the NGFS Glasgow Declaration
  • We, as the manager of the Exchange Fund, will continue to support responsible investment and adopt the above guiding principle.
  • Underpinned by the guiding principle, we will continue to incorporate ESG factors into investment processes for both public and private market investments, exercise active ownership via external managers, and collaborate with like-minded investors and international organisations to promote good ESG practices.
  • We will continue expanding ESG investments covering green, social and sustainability bonds, ESG-themed equity mandates and projects with green and sustainable features.
  • We will implement climate-related disclosure aligned with the TCFD recommendations no later than 2025.

Last revision date : 28 June 2022

負責任投資

作為負責外匯基金投資管理的機構,我們相信負責任投資的理念與投資管理工作息息相關。
 

信念

金管局視負責任投資為一種顧及環境、社會及管治(ESG)因素對長期投資回報及其可持續性有影響的投資方式。

我們相信,透過適度強調負責任投資及考慮各項投資的可持續長期表現,將更有效達致外匯基金的投資目標,並且減低投資活動涉及的ESG相關風險。

負責任投資旅程


1 Focusing Capital on the Long Term (FCLTGlobal)
2 負責任投資原則 (Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI))
3 央行與監管機構綠色金融網絡 (Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS))
4 氣候相關財務資訊披露工作小組 (Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD))

負責任投資的指導性原則及框架

外匯基金諮詢委員會為外匯基金定下負責任投資的指導性原則及整體框架。

我們的指導性原則是,當ESG投資與其他投資項目的經風險調整長期收益相若時,一般會優先考慮ESG投資。

作為負責任的長期投資者,我們會因應情況在投資管理過程中運用以下三管齊下的方法:

  • 融入
    了解更多
    • 我們相信ESG因素會對投資項目的長期價值帶來重大影響,因此我們將ESG因素融入投資分析程序,以辨察風險及物色良機。我們選拔及聘任認同我們的負責任投資理念的外聘投資經理,亦會向所有外聘投資經理傳達我們的負責任投資理念,期望他們會與我們的理念一致,以達致整體可持續的長期經濟表現。

      落實情況

      公開市場投資:

      • 我們已將ESG因素納入外聘投資經理的甄選、聘任及監察標準中。
      • 我們已採納ESG股票指數作為被動式投資組合的投資基準,在股票投資中建立以ESG為主題的委託投資管理,亦研究以ESG為題的主動式委託投資組合。
      • 我們已將ESG因素納入債券投資的信用風險分析的其中一環。
      • 我們自2015年起投資並一直擴大綠色、社會責任及可持續債券的持有量。
      • 我們已投資於由一個國際組織管理的綠色債券基金。
      • 繼投資於國際金融公司聚焦新興市場可持續項目的「聯合貸款組合管理計劃」(MCPP)後,我們再參與「MCPP One Planet」項目,為新興市場提供符合《巴黎協定》的氣候相關投資。

      私募市場投資:

      • 我們會檢視專責合夥人的ESG政策及具體措施。ESG評估是外匯基金長期增長組合盡職調查中的必要評估項目。
      • 我們會繼續物色具可持續特點的投資項目。舉例來說,我們:
        • 自2013年起已經以直接 / 合作投資方式投資於可再生能源項目、
        • 已投資於以能源轉型及全球減碳為主題的私募基金,及
        • 在房地產投資組合方面,已投資於(i)綠色建築物,及(ii)具有綠色及可持續特點的倉庫。綠色認證亦為房地產投資的重要考慮因素。
  • 主動行使資產擁有權
    了解更多
    • 我們就所持有的上市公司股票適當地行使股東權利,以維護投資的長期價值。我們相信,顧及ESG因素的負責任企業行為,將有助創造長線的股東利益。我們期望外聘投資經理透過行使投票權及與相關企業溝通時,主動行使資產擁有權,藉以協助金管局履行對投資項目的擁有權責任。

      落實情

      • 我們規定負責管理香港股票組合及中國股票主動投資組合的外聘投資經理須承諾遵守證券及期貨事務監察委員會於2016年頒布的《負責任的擁有權原則》,若未能遵守則須作出解釋。而負責管理已發展市場股票組合的外聘投資經理則須要恪守公認的國際ESG標準。
      • 我們要求外聘投資經理對所持有的股票行使投票權,並與獲投資公司溝通 (2021年年報內可持續發展報告中的例子說明金管局如何與外聘投資經理實踐負責任投資)。
  • 合作
    了解更多
    • 我們致力與理念相近的投資者、監管機構及國際組織合作,推動良好的長期投資管理手法。

      落實情

      • 我們是PRI這負責任投資的全球倡導者的首批中央銀行簽署人之一。我們會參與制定ESG最佳作業手法,並推動其他投資者採納負責任的投資方法。
      • 我們是FCLTGlobal的成員。FCLTGlobal為非牟利機構,旨在透過舉辦工作坊及研究,推動以長遠目標為本的業務及投資決策。金管局作為成員之一,會參與有關工作坊及討論,以促進對長遠效益的推廣。
      • 我們是TCFD的支持者。該小組就氣候相關財務資訊披露制定了四項建議,包括管治、策略、風險管理及指標與目標。有關金管局根據TCFD的建議作出的披露,請參閱於2021年年報內的可持續發展報告
      • 我們是NGFS的成員。該網絡的成員合力推動金融行業的環境及氣候風險管理的發展,並鼓勵主流金融領域支持過渡至可持續的經濟模式。
金管局支持NGFS《格拉斯哥宣言》的聲明
  • 作為負責外匯基金投資管理的機構,我們將採取上述的指導性原則繼續支持負責任投資。
  • 基於上述的指導性原則,我們將繼續把ESG因素併入公開市場及私募市場的投資管理過程中,透過外聘投資經理主動行使資產擁有權,並與理念相近的投資者及國際組織合作,推廣良好的ESG作業方法。
  • 我們將繼續擴大ESG投資的規模,涵蓋綠色、社會責任及可持續債券、以ESG為主題的股票投資,以及具有綠色及可持續特點的項目。
  • 我們將會在2025年或之前按照TCFD的建議,披露氣候相關資料。

修訂日期 : 2022年06月24日