Research and Application

The Fintech Facilitation Office acts as an initiator of industry research in identifying potential applications and risks of fintech solutions.

Expand All
Collapse All
  • Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT)

    The HKMA began the research on DLT in 2016 and has published two whitepapers to deliver the results.

  • Trade Finance

    The HKMA facilitated the development of eTradeConnect, a blockchain-based trade finance platform.

  • Cybersecurity Fortification Initiative (CFI)

    The HKMA launched the CFI in December 2016 with a view to raising the cyber resilience of Hong Kong’s banking system.

  • Open Application Programming Interface (API)

    The HKMA published an Open API Framework in July 2018 to facilitate the development and adoption of Open API by the banking sector.

  • HKMA-ASTRI Innovation Hub (Hub)

    The Hub was launched in November 2016 in collaboration with the Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute to provide a neutral ground for innovative collaboration for the fintech industry. The Hub is equipped with hardware, software, and experts to enable banks, stored value facilities operators, fintech firms, and the HKMA to try out and evaluate new fintech solutions, and to conduct Proof-of-Concept trials.

  • Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC)

    In collaboration with the three note-issuing banks, the Hong Kong Interbank Clearing Limited and the R3 consortium, the HKMA conducted a study on CBDC in 2017 with a view to better understanding its feasibility, implications and possible benefits through exploring its use in domestic inter-bank payments, corporate payments at wholesale level and delivery-versus-payment debt securities settlement.

    As a follow-up to the Memorandum of Understanding signed between the HKMA and the Bank of Thailand (BOT) in May 2019, the two authorities initiated Project Inthanon-LionRock to study the application of CBDC to cross-border payments. The project was completed in December 2019 and a distributed ledger technology-based Proof-of-Concept prototype was developed successfully together with ten participating banks from both places. The HKMA and the BOT jointly published a report in January 2020 to present the key findings.

  • Artificial Intelligence (AI)

    The HKMA conducted a survey on AI application in Q3 2019 among the Hong Kong banking industry.  The results have proved valuable for understanding the current AI landscape of retail banks in Hong Kong.  The key survey results on retail banks were summarised in a fact sheet and published in November 2019.

    In December 2019, the HKMA published a report titled “Reshaping Banking with Artificial Intelligence” as part of a series of publications on the study of the opportunities and challenges of applying AI technology in the banking industry.

    Please click this link to view the AI report trailer video.

Last revision date : 24 January 2020

科研應用

金融科技促進辦公室擔當「推動者」角色,推動業界進行研究,識別金融科技方案的潛在應用及風險。

展開全部
全部收起
  • 分布式分類帳技術 (DLT)

    金管局於2016年開展DLT專項研究,並先後發表兩份白皮書,公布研究結果。

  • 貿易融資

    金管局促進以區塊鏈技術搭建,名為「貿易聯動」的貿易融資平台的發展。

  • 網絡防衛計劃

    為提升銀行體系的網絡防衛能力,金管局於2016年12月實施「網絡防衛計劃」

  • 開放應用程式介面 (開放API)

    爲促進銀行業界研發及提供開放API,金管局於2018年7月發布開放API框架。

  • 金管局 ─ 應科院金融科技創新中心

    金管局於2016年11月與香港應用科技研究院成立金融科技創新中心,為金融科技業界提供一個中立場所,讓各方合作共同創新。中心配備軟硬件資源及專家支援,讓銀行、儲值支付工具營運商、金融科技企業及金管局試驗及評估不同的金融科技技術,並進行「概念驗證」測試。

  • 央行數碼貨幣

    金管局聯同3間發鈔銀行、香港銀行同業結算有限公司以及R3聯盟,就央行數碼貨幣於2017年進行研究,希望透過探討數碼貨幣應用於銀行同業間支付、企業間支付,以及以貨銀兩訖方式結算證券等用途,進一步了解其可行性和利弊。

    作為金管局與泰國中央銀行於2019年5月簽訂《諒解備忘錄》的跟進工作,雙方啟動「Inthanon-LionRock項目」,研究CBDC於跨境支付的應用。項目於2019年12月完成。雙方已聯同來自兩地共10間參與銀行成功開發以分布式分類帳技術(Distributed Ledger Technology, DLT)為基礎的概念驗證原型,並在2020年1月聯合發表報告,刊載主要研究結果。

  • 人工智能 (AI)

    金管局於2019年第三季向香港銀行業就人工智能的應用進行了調查。調查結果有助了解香港零售銀行發展人工智能的現況。 有關零售銀行的綜合問卷調查結果於2019年11月以資料便覽形式發布。

    金管局於2019年12月發表題為「Reshaping Banking with Artificial Intelligence」的報告。報告為一系列研究人工智能在銀行業應用的機遇和挑戰的相關刊物之一。

    請按此連結觀看人工智能報告的預告影片。

修訂日期 : 2020年01月24日