Forward-looking Hub for New Businesses

Hong Kong is a forward-looking hub for businesses to capture new opportunities, such as those arising from the Belt & Road Initiative, Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Bay Area, fintech, infrastructure investments and financing and green finance.

Belt and Road Initiative

The Belt & Road Initiative (BRI) builds connectivity, requires major investment and brings business opportunities. Thanks to its international expertise, experience and network, Hong Kong is the ideal platform for BRI investment.

Belt and Road Initiative

Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Bay Area (or Greater Bay Area)

The Greater Bay Area (GBA) comprises Hong Kong, Macao and nine Mainland cities along the Pearl River Delta. The combined GDP of the region amounted to US$1.5 trillion with a total population of 70 million. The initiative aims to ease the flow of factors of production, including people, goods, and money, across the Area with a view to fostering deeper economic and financial collaboration. GBA boasts the economically most vibrant and outward looking region in China with a budding innovative technology sector and Hong Kong as a mature and leading international financial centre. There is a lot of potential for Hong Kong's financial services sector to take advantage of the vast market and pilot liberalisation initiatives while servicing the burgeoning economic development in the Area.

Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Bay Area (or Greater Bay Area)

Fintech

Fintech is driving innovation in financial services globally and changing the nature of commerce and end-user expectations for payments and financial services.  Against this background, the HKMA set up the Fintech Facilitation Office (FFO) in 2016 to facilitate the healthy development of the fintech ecosystem in Hong Kong and to promote Hong Kong as a fintech hub in Asia.

Please click here or visit FFO website for details of the relevant initiatives implemented over the years.

Infrastructure Investments and Financing

A growing number of companies have been looking into investments in infrastructure and related projects, which has been given further impetus by the BRI. This creates enormous opportunities in infrastructure financing.  Hong Kong, being an international financial centre and China’s global financial centre, is uniquely positioned to facilitate the linkage between the significant funding needs of infrastructure projects especially in the emerging market economies and the vast pool of global capital that seeks to invest. 

It is against this background that the HKMA established the Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office (IFFO) in 2016 to facilitate investments and financing of sustainable infrastructure and green development by working with a cluster of key stakeholders, including multilateral development banks, financiers, investors, project owners, and professional service providers.

The functions of IFFO are to:

  • provide a platform for information exchange and experience sharing;
  • build capacity and knowledge;
  • promote market and product development; and
  • facilitate investment and financing flows.

For more information, please visit the IFFO website.

Green Finance

Green finance has become a hot topic among the investment community.  Having a deep, liquid bond market, Hong Kong is well positioned to grasp the opportunities brought about by green and sustainable finance.  In particular, a number of initiatives have been launched to promote the development of the green bond market in Hong Kong, including the Government Green Bond Programme and Pilot Bond Grant Scheme.

To further support and promote Hong Kong’s green finance development, the HKMA unveiled three sets of measures in May 2019, including:

1) a three-phased approach to develop a supervisory framework for promoting Green and Sustainable Banking;

2) responsible investment by the Exchange Fund, particularly that the HKMA will adopt a principle that priority can be given to Green and Environmental, Social, and Governance investments if the long term return is comparable to other investments on a risk-adjusted basis; and

3) launch of the Centre for Green Finance (CGF) under IFFO, to serve as a platform for technical support and experience sharing for the green development of the Hong Kong banking and finance industry.

Please click here for further details of Hong Kong’s bond market development.

Other Topics about Hong Kong as an International Financial Centre
Last revision date : 14 October 2019

具前瞻性的創新平台

香港是一個具前瞻性的創新業務中心,坐擁優勢,盡握一帶一路、粵港澳大灣區、金融科技、基建投資及融資,以及綠色金融所帶來的機遇。

「一帶一路」倡議

「一帶一路」倡議建立聯繫、需要大量投資,帶來龐大商機。香港擁有國際專業、經驗和網絡,是「一帶一路」投資的理想平台。

「一帶一路」倡議

粵港澳大灣區(大灣區)

大灣區包括香港、澳門,以及珠三角九個內地城市。大灣區的本地生產總值(GDP)達1.5萬億美元,總人口約7,000萬。大灣區發展旨在便利人員、貨物、資金等經濟要素的自由流動,從而促進並深化經濟金融合作。大灣區是中國最具經濟活力、開放程度最高的地區,擁有嶄露頭角的創新科技產業,以及成熟領先的國際金融中心──香港。大灣區有很大的發展空間,既為香港的金融服務業提供龐大市場,並有條件先行先試開放政策,以服務區內蓬勃發展的實體經濟。

粵港澳大灣區(大灣區)

金融科技

金融科技推動着全球金融服務創新,並改變商業性質和用戶對支付和金融服務的期望。有見及此,金管局於2016年成立金融科技促進辦公室(FFO),以促進香港金融科技業的穩健發展,並推動香港成為亞洲區的金融科技樞紐。

請按此處或瀏覽FFO網站,了解金管局落實金融科技舉措的詳情。

基建投資及融資

隨着愈來愈多的機構尋找基礎建設和相關項目的投資,不但為「一帶一路」倡議增添動力,亦為基建融資創造了龐大的機遇。香港作為國際金融中心和中國的全球金融中心,具有獨特的橋樑角色,可為特別在新興市場經濟體的基建項目尋找龐大資金,同時為巨大的全球資本池尋找投資基建項目。

金管局在2016年成立基建融資促進辦公室(IFFO),透過匯聚主要持份者,包括多邊開發銀行、融資者、投資者、項目持有人,以及專業服務供應者,共同促進可持續基建和綠色發展的投資及融資。

IFFO的職能是:

  • 提供一個資訊交流和經驗分享的平台;
  • 提升技能和知識;
  • 推廣市場及產品發展;及
  • 促進投資及融資活動。

如欲查閱更多相關資料,請瀏覽IFFO網站

綠色金融

綠色金融成為投資界的熱門話題。香港的債券市場成交活躍、資金充裕,具備優勢把握綠色和可持續金融所帶來的機遇。 香港已推出多項推動綠色債券市場發展的措施,包括政府綠色債券計劃和債券資助先導計劃。

為進一步支持和推進香港的綠色金融發展,金管局於2019年5月推出了三項舉措,包括:

1) 分三階段建立綠色及可持續銀行業的監管框架;

2) 外匯基金負責任投資,特別是金管局會採取以下原則:當綠色和ESG(環境、社會及管治)投資與其他投資項目的長線收益(經風險調整後)相若時,會優先考慮ESG投資。

3) 在金管局基建融資促進辦公室(IFFO)下成立綠色金融中心(CGF),為香港銀行及金融業綠色發展提供技術支援及經驗分享平台。

請按此處了解香港債券市場的更多詳情。

修訂日期 : 2019年10月14日