Regulatory & Supervisory Framework

Supervisory Objective

The Banking Ordinance provides the legal framework for banking supervision in Hong Kong. Section 7(1) of the Ordinance provides that the principal function of the Monetary Authority (MA) is to "promote the general stability and effective working of the banking system".

Compliance with International Regulatory Standards

The HKMA seeks to establish a regulatory framework in line with international standards, in particular those issued by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and the Financial Stability Board. The objective is to maintain a prudential supervisory system which underpins the general stability and effective working of the banking system, while at the same time providing sufficient flexibility for authorized institutions to take commercial decisions.

Regulatory Requirements

Authorized institutions have to comply with the provisions of the Banking Ordinance which, among other things, require them to:

  • Maintain adequate capital and liquidity;
  • Submit periodic returns to the HKMA;
  • Adhere to limitations on exposures to any single counterparty (or group of linked counterparties) or to directors and employees; and
  • Seek approval for the appointment of directors and chief executives, and for controllers.

Overseas banks which operate in branch form are not required to hold capital in Hong Kong and are thus not subject to capital ratio requirements or to capital-based limits on large exposures.

Supervisory Approach

The HKMA follows international practices as recommended by international standard-setting bodies, such as the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, to supervise authorized institutions.

The HKMA adopts a risk-based supervisory approach based on a policy of "continuous supervision", through on-site examinations, off-site reviews, prudential meetings, co-operation with external auditors and sharing information with other supervisors, with the aim of detecting any problems at an early stage.

Expand All
Collapse All
  • On-site Examinations

    The HKMA periodically conducts on-site examinations of individual institutions. The coverage of an examination ranges from an investigation of specific areas to a comprehensive review of an institution's operations. The HKMA also selects authorized institutions for thematic examinations to benchmark their risk management practices on important business lines and major risk areas. On-site examinations provide a valuable opportunity to assess at first hand how an institution is managed and controlled.

  • Off-site Reviews

    As on-site examinations are periodic in nature, in order to achieve "continuous supervision", the HKMA also conducts on-going off-site analyses of the financial condition of individual institutions and assessments of the quality of their management, including the policies and systems in managing risks. The scope of off-site reviews ranges from regular analyses of statistical returns, covering various aspects of the operations of authorized institutions, to an extensive annual review of the performance and financial position of individual institutions.

  • Prudential Meetings

    Annual off-site reviews are usually followed by a prudential meeting with the senior management of the authorized institution to discuss prudential issues identified. Frequent contacts are also made with individual institutions at various levels of management as specific issues arise.

  • Co-operation with External Auditors

    Co-operation with both internal and external auditors of authorized institutions is another important aspect of the supervisory process. Annual tripartite meetings are held with institutions and their external auditors, normally upon the completion of annual audits. Matters discussed typically include the annual audit, adequacy of provisions, and compliance with prudential standards and the Banking Ordinance.

  • Sharing of Information with Other Supervisors

    The HKMA maintains close liaison with other local and overseas supervisors to exchange views on matters relating to the relevant authorized institutions.

Supervisory Framework
Expand All
Collapse All
  • “CAMEL” Rating System

    The HKMA adopts the "CAMEL" rating system to assess the financial condition and overall soundness of banks in Hong Kong. “CAMEL” is an internationally recognised framework for assessing the Capital adequacy, Asset quality, Management, Earnings and Liquidity of banks. It can help identify banks whose weaknesses in financial condition, compliance with laws and regulations, risk management systems and overall operating soundness require special supervisory attention.

  • Asset Quality

    The HKMA adopts a loan classification system and requires authorized institutions to report their asset quality every quarter according to a standardised framework. This allows the HKMA to better understand and monitor the asset quality of individual institutions and the banking industry as a whole.

    Loan Classification System

    Loan Category Status
    Pass Loans for which borrowers are current in meeting commitments and for which the full repayment of interest and principal is not in doubt
    Special Mention Loans with which borrowers are experiencing difficulties and which may threaten the authorized institution's position
    Substandard Loans in which borrowers are displaying a definable weakness that is likely to jeopardise repayment
    Doubtful Loans for which collection in full is improbable and the authorized institution expects to sustain a loss of principal and/or interest, taking into account the net realisable value of collateral
    Loss Loans that are considered uncollectable after all collection options (such as the realisation of collateral or the institution of legal proceedings) have been exhausted

    Loans that are classified as substandard, doubtful or loss are collectively known as “classified assets”. Banks are required to report to the HKMA regularly on provisions set aside for each category of classified assets and for different sectors in Hong Kong.

  • Capital Adequacy

    Capital is vital to the operations of banks. Adequate capital helps enhance bank's financial strengths and provides additional buffers to ensure sufficient funds to handle daily operations in the event of an emergency. The higher the capital adequacy ratio of a bank, the higher its resilience. 

    The capital adequacy framework for banking supervision in Hong Kong closely follows the international standards published by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision.

    Applicable to all locally incorporated authorized institutions, the current framework consists of:

    Prescribed Minimum Capital Adequacy Ratios

    • Common Equity Tier 1 capital ratio
    • Tier 1 capital ratio
    • Total capital ratio

    Capital Buffers

    Supervisory Review Process

    • Setting and review of individual institution's minimum capital adequacy ratio requirements

    Disclosure Standards

    • Disclosure related to institution's profit and loss and its financial resources (covering both capital resources and liquidity resources)

    The current framework makes available a number of approaches for authorized institutions of different levels of sophistication to calculate their capital requirements. According to the Banking (Capital) Rules the use of some of the approaches requires the prior approval of the MA based on certain specified criteria. Authorized institutions are required to report their capital adequacy ratios every quarter.

  • Liquidity

    For banks, liquidity is as important as blood circulation in the human body. Once liquidity dries up, banks may face the risk of bankruptcy. Therefore, banks must maintain sufficient liquidity to handle daily operational activities such as cash withdrawal from depositors, interbank clearing, repayment of debts, etc.

    The liquidity framework for banking supervision in Hong Kong reflects the international standards published by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision as part of its “Basel III” framework. 

    Liquidity Standards

    Category 1 Institutions Category 2 Institutions Category 2A Institutions
    • Designated by the MA, mainly those institutions which are internationally active, or sizeable and sophisticated, and more significant in the context of the local banking sector
    • Required to maintain a Liquidity Coverage Ratio (LCR) and a Net Stable Funding Ratio (NSFR) in line with the Basel III standard

    Authorized institutions are required to have in place effective systems and controls for liquidity risk management under normal and stressed situations. The HKMA monitors the levels and trends of authorized institutions' liquidity positions and ability to withstand stress liquidity scenarios through reviewing the returns and management reports submitted by them.

  • Exposure Limits

    The current provisions on exposure limits in Hong Kong are set out primarily in The Banking (Exposure Limits) Rules (Cap. 155S), which contain limits on equity exposure, single counterparty exposure (or group of linked counterparties exposure), connected party exposure and interest in land, etc.

    The Rules are supplemented by The Banking (Exposure limits) Code and the following Supervisory Policy Manual (SPM) modules:

    The Banking (Exposure Limits) Rules (Cap. 155S) came into effect on 1 July 2019. The Rules aim to implement the “Supervisory framework for measuring and controlling large exposures” issued by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision locally, with a grace period of six months for compliance and also replace other exposure limits formerly set out in the Banking Ordinance to keep pace with market developments and contemporary risk management techniques. Under the Rules, there is a grace period of six months for compliance with the single counterparty (or group of linked counterparties) and connected party exposures limits.

  • Derivatives and Risk Management

    The HKMA takes a proactive approach in the supervision of authorized institutions' derivatives activities, focusing on three areas:

    • Controls - to ensure that authorized institutions have adequate internal control systems to manage the risks of derivatives activities;
    • Capital - to ensure that authorized institutions have adequate capital to support possible losses in their derivatives business; and 
    • Capability - to ensure that there is adequate expertise within the HKMA to develop risk management policies and to supervise authorized institutions' derivatives activities. 

    In line with the international commitment to strengthening surveillance and risk mitigation in respect of derivatives transactions, authorized institutions and approved money brokers (where applicable) are required to report information in respect of specified types of over-the-counter (OTC) derivatives transactions to a trade repository (Hong Kong Trade Repository) operated by the HKMA and to clear specified types of OTC transactions through designated central counterparties.

    Starting from March 2017, authorized institutions are also required to exchange two-way margin (i.e. both collect and post margin) for derivatives transactions not cleared through a central counterparty and to adopt specified risk mitigation standards such as swift and robust trade confirmation and dispute resolution procedures.

    The broad regulatory framework for the regulation of the OTC derivatives market in Hong Kong is set out in the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”) with details set out in rules (i.e. subsidiary legislation).  Key information on the regulatory requirements, including the primary legislation, subsidiary legislation covering reporting, clearing & record-keeping obligations, frequently asked questions, guidelines and manuals, public consultations and consultation conclusions etc., can be accessed via the following links to the SFC and HKMA webpages:

     

  • Regulatory Disclosure Standards

    The HKMA aims to ensure that the standards for regulatory disclosure in Hong Kong remain in line with those of other leading financial centres. The Banking (Disclosure) Rules take into account the latest disclosure standards released by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, which prescribe quarterly, semi-annual, and annual disclosure of specified items in the form of standard templates and tables, in order to promote user-relevance and the consistency and comparability of regulatory disclosure among banks and across jurisdictions.

  • Collection of Financial Information

    The Monetary Authority's powers to collect prudential data from authorized institutions on a routine or ad hoc basis are provided by Section 63 of the Banking Ordinance. The same section of the Ordinance also empowers the Monetary Authority to require any holding company or subsidiary or sister company of an authorized institution to submit such information as may be required for the exercise of the Monetary Authority’s functions under the Ordinance.

    Submission of returns is normally made each month or quarter.

Last revision date : 16 October 2019

監管框架

監管目標

《銀行業條例》是香港銀行業監管的法律基礎,當中第7(1)條規定,金融管理專員的主要職能是「促進銀行業體系的整體穩定與有效運作」。

遵守國際監管標準

金管局致力建立一套符合國際標準(特別是巴塞爾銀行監管委員會金融穩定理事會發出的標準)的銀行監管框架,旨在透過維持審慎的監管制度,既能鞏固銀行體系的整體穩定及有效運作,又能同時提供足夠靈活性,讓認可機構作出商業決定。

監管規定

認可機構須遵守《銀行業條例》內各項規定,包括:

  • 保持充足的資本流動性
  • 向金管局提交定期申報表
  • 遵守有關向任何單一對手方(或對手方相連集團)、董事或僱員放款限度;以及
  • 就任命董事、行政總裁及控權人向金管局申請審批。

由於以分行形式經營的境外銀行毋須在香港持有資本,有關資本比率規定和以資本基礎釐定的大額貸款限制並不適用於該等銀行。

監管模式

金管局按照國際標準制定組織(例如巴塞爾銀行監管委員會)建議的國際慣例監管認可機構。

金管局採用的風險為本監管模式,以「持續監管」政策為基礎,透過現場審查非現場審查審慎監管會議、與外聘審計師合作,以及與其他監管機構共享信息,旨在及早發現問題,防患未然。

展開全部
全部收起
  • 現場審查

    金管局定期對個別機構進行現場審查,審查範圍由針對特定業務範疇,以至全面審視機構的運作。此外,金管局亦會挑選個別認可機構進行專題審查,從而評估和對照認可機構之間在重要業務和主要風險範疇內,如何進行風險管理。現場審查提供可貴機會,讓金管局直接評估機構的管理與管控方法。

  • 非現場審查

    由於現場審查每隔一段時間才進行,為達到「持續監管」的目標,金管局亦會對每家機構的財政狀況進行持續的非現場分析,以及評估機構的管理素質,包括風險管理的政策和制度。非現場審查的範圍,由定期分析認可機構各種業務的統計資料報表,以至全面審視認可機構全年業績和財政狀況。

  • 審慎監管會議

    完成年度非現場審查後,金管局通常會派員與有關認可機構的高層管理人員舉行會議,就一些受關注的審慎事項進行商談。遇有特別事項,金管局亦會與個別認可機構的各級管理人員保持密切聯繫。

  • 與外聘審計師合作

    與認可機構的內部和外聘核數師合作,是監管過程的另一重要環節。通常年度審計完成後,金管局便會聯同認可機構及其外聘核數師舉行每年一次的三方聯席會議,討論事項一般包括年度審計報告、準備金充足程度,以及遵守審慎標準與《銀行業條例》的情況。

  • 與其他監管機構分享資訊

    金管局與其他本地及海外監管機構保持緊密聯繫,就有關認可機構的事宜交換意見。

監管框架
展開全部
全部收起
  • CAMEL評級制度

    金管局採用「CAMEL」評級制度評估香港銀行的財務狀況及整體穩健性。CAMEL是一個國際公認的標準,評估銀行資本充足程度(Capital adequacy)、資產質素(Asset quality)、管理(Management)、盈利(Earnings)和流動性(Liquidity)。此制度有助識別該等在財政狀況、遵行相關法例和規例、風險管理制度,以及在整體運作方面出現問題而需要金管局特別留意的認可機構。

  • 資產質素

    金管局實行貸款分類制度,並規定認可機構須按照標準制度,每季匯報其資產質素,讓金管局更了解和掌握個別機構以至銀行業整體的資產質素。

    貸款分類制度

    貸款類別 狀況
    合格 借款人目前有履行還款責任的貸款,同時全數償還利息及本金的機會也不成疑問
    需要關注 借款人正面對困境,可能會影響認可機構收回貸款的本金及利息
    次級 借款人的還款能力正出現明顯問題,有可能影響其償還貸款
    呆滯 已不大可能全數收回的貸款,而且認可機構在考慮過抵押品的可變現淨值後仍預期會蒙受本金和利息的虧損
    虧損 用盡所有追討欠款方法(如變現抵押品或提出法律訴訟)後仍被視為無法收回的貸款

    「次級」、「呆滯」或「虧損」的貸款統稱為「特定分類貸款」。認可機構按每類「特定分類資產」和香港各行各業所提撥的準備金,須定期向金管局匯報。

  • 資本充足程度

    資本是銀行經營的命脈。充足的資本有助加強銀行財務能力,並為銀行提供額外緩衝,一旦面對突發事件,依然有充足資金應付日常營運。銀行的資本充足比率愈高,其抗震能力也愈高。

    香港就銀行監管實施的資本充足框架一直遵循巴塞爾銀行監管委員會提出的國際認可標準。

    現行框架適用於所有本地註冊認可機構,涵蓋:

    訂明最低資本充足比率

    • 普通股權一級資本比率
    • 一級資本比率
    • 總資本比率

    緩衝資本

    監管審查程序

    • 設定和評估個別機構的最低資本充足比率規定

    披露標準

    • 有關機構披露盈虧和財政資源,包括資本資源及流動性資源

    根據現行框架,認可機構可因應業務複雜程度,而採用不同方法計算資本要求。根據《銀行業(資本)規則》,採用特定準則前,必須取得金融管理專員事先批准。此外,認可機構須每季申報資本充足比率。

  • 流動性

    銀行的流動性就如人體的血液循環般重要,一旦流動性出現問題,銀行可能面對倒閉的危機。銀行必須保持充足流動性,以應付存戶提取現金、同業結算、償還債務等日常營運活動。 

    香港就銀行監管實施的流動性框架符合巴塞爾銀行監管委員會提出作為《巴塞爾協定三》框架一部分的國際標準。

    流動性標準

    第1類機構 第2類機構 第2A類機構
    • 由金融管理專員指定,主要是一些活躍於國際、或規模大而且複雜,並在本地銀行體系舉足輕重的機構
    • 須維持與《巴塞爾協定三》標準一致的流動性覆蓋比率(LCR)和穩定資金淨額比率(NSFR)

    認可機構須具備有效系統及管控措施,管理在正常及受壓情況下的流動性風險。金管局透過查閱認可機構提交的申報表及管理報告,監察認可機構的流動性水平及趨勢,以及抵禦流動性壓力情況的能力。

  • 風險承擔限額

    香港現行的風險承擔限度條文主要載於:《銀行業(風險承擔限度)規則》(法例章號155S),當中包括股權風險承擔限度、對單一對手方(或對手方相連集團)的風險承擔限度、對關連一方的風險承擔限度及土地權益的限度等。

    下列各項為規則提供補充:

    經修訂的《銀行業(風險承擔限度)規則》已於2019年7月1日起實施。規則旨在於本港實施巴塞爾銀行監管委員會發出的《計量及管控大額風險承擔的監管框架》(英文版本),亦會取代前載於《銀行業條例》中的其他風險承擔限度,以配合市場發展和現代風險管理技巧。規則就對單一對手方(或對手方相連集團)的風險承擔限度及對關連一方的風險承擔限度設有6個月的遵守寬限期。

  • 衍生工具與風險管理

    金管局採取積極措施,監管認可機構的衍生工具業務,並集中於三個環節:

    • 監控制度 確保認可機構有足夠的內部監控制度,管理衍生工具業務的風險;
    • 資本 確保認可機構有充足資本應付衍生工具業務可能帶來的虧損;以及
    • 能力 確保金管局具備足夠的專門知識,以制定風險管理政策,並監管認可機構的衍生工具業務。

    按照國際社會對加強有關衍生工具交易的監察及風險緩減的承諾,認可機構及核准貨幣經紀(如適用)須向金管局負責營運的交易資料貯存庫(香港交易資料儲存庫)匯報指明類別的場外衍生工具交易資料,並須經指定中央對手方交易結算指明類別的場外衍生工具交易。

    此外,由2017年3月起,認可機構在交易場外衍生工具時若經非中央對手方結算,須交換雙向保證金(即收取及交出保證金),以及採納指明風險緩解標準,例如迅速及穩健的交易確認及解決爭議程序。

    《證券及期貨條例》訂立香港場外衍生工具市場的整體監管框架,詳情載於規則(即附屬法例)。各項監管規定的主要資料,包括主體法例、涵蓋匯報、結算及備存紀錄責任的附屬法例、常見問題、指引、手冊、公眾諮詢及諮詢總結等,可透過以下連結於證監會及金管局網頁查閱:

     

  • 監管披露標準

    金管局旨在確保香港的監管披露標準與其他主要金融中心看齊。《銀行業(披露)規則》載入巴塞爾銀行監管委員會發出的最新披露標準,當中訂明銀行須以標準模版及表格的格式,按季度、半年度及周年披露指明的項目,藉以加強銀行之間及不同地區之間在監管披露方面的參照性、一致性及可比較性。

  • 收集財務資料

    《銀行業條例》第63條授權金融管理專員定期及非定期向認可機構收集資料,以進行審慎監管。該條文亦授權金融管理專員為履行其於《銀行業條例》下的職能,要求認可機構的任何控股公司、附屬公司或關連公司提交資料。

    申報表通常每月或每季提交一次。

修訂日期 : 2019年10月14日