Systemically Important Authorized Institutions (SIBs)

Systemically Important Authorized Institutions (SIBs) are banks whose impact, in the event of distress or failure, could cause significant disruption to the financial system and ultimately, the broader economy. In recognition of the additional risks posed by SIBs, they are subject to specifically tailored regulatory and supervisory measures, including capital surcharges in the form of higher loss absorbency (HLA) capital buffers; more intensive supervision (particularly in areas such as risk management and governance) and prioritised recovery and resolution planning.

The Monetary Authority is empowered under the Banking (Capital) Rules to designate authorized institutions (AIs) incorporated in Hong Kong as global systemically important AIs (G-SIBs) or domestic systemically important AIs (D-SIBs) (collectively as SIBs) and to determine the associated HLA requirements. The assessment methodology to identify G-SIBs adopts the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision’s (BCBS) G-SIB framework. Currently there is no G-SIB headquartered and incorporated in Hong Kong.

The D-SIB framework in Hong Kong is based on the four assessment criteria drawn from the BCBS’s D-SIB framework, namely size, interconnectedness, substitutability and complexity. The identification of D-SIBs locally consists of a two-step process. The first step is to draw up a preliminary indicative list of D-SIBs based on the quantitative scores calculated using the factors and a set of indicators. The second step involves the exercise of supervisory judgement to serve as a complement to the quantitative assessment process.

Four Assessment Criteria of D-SIB Framework

Graphic of Four Assessment Criteria of D-SIB Framework

HLA requirements must be met with Common Equity Tier 1 capital. Depending on the systemic importance of the AI designated as a D-SIB or G-SIB, the HLA requirement ranges from 1% to 3.5% of an AI’s total risk-weighted assets (as calculated under the Banking (Capital) Rules).

The HLA requirement, together with the Countercyclical Capital Buffer (if applicable), takes effect as an extension of the Basel III Capital Conservation Buffer. Accordingly, if and when a SIB’s Common Equity Tier 1 capital ratio falls within the extended buffer range, the SIB will be subject to restrictions on the discretionary distributions it may make (including by way of dividend, share buyback, discretionary coupon payments on capital instruments and discretionary bonus payments to staff) according to a specified scale as set out in section 3H(1) of the Banking (Capital) Rules. The effect of this is that SIBs will be required to retain earnings in order to bolster their regulatory capital.

Guidance

Notes for Reference of Document(s):
X-X-N / X-N = SPM Module Code, CIR = Circulars, N.N / N.N.N = Guideline No, FAQ = Frequently Asked Questions
 

Ref Document Issue Date
CA-B-2 Systemically Important Banks 18 Feb 2015

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

具系統重要性銀行(SIB)

具系統重要性銀行(SIB)是指一旦陷入困境或倒閉所產生的影響,會對金融體系以至更廣泛的經濟造成重大干擾的銀行。為針對SIB所帶來的額外風險,SIB會受制於特定的監管措施,包括額外資本要求(即較高吸收虧損能力緩衝資本(HLA)資本要求)、加強監管力度(尤其對風險管理及管治等範疇),以及優先進行恢復及處置規劃。

金融管理專員《銀行業(資本)規則》授權指定在香港註冊成立的認可機構為具全球系統重要性銀行(G-SIB)或具本地系統重要性銀行(D-SIB)(統稱為SIB),並決定相關的HLA資本要求。識別G-SIB的評估方法採納巴塞爾銀行監管委員會(巴塞爾委員會)的G-SIB框架。目前並沒有於香港設立總部及註冊成立的G-SIB。

香港D-SIB框架是以巴塞爾委員會D-SIB框架的四項評估準則為基礎,即規模、關連性、可替代性及複雜程度。本地D-SIB的識別方法分為兩個步驟。第一個步驟是根據相關因素及指標計算而得的計量得分,擬備一份D-SIB的初步參考名單。第二個步驟涉及運用監管判斷,以補足計量評估程序。

D-SIB框架的四項評估準則

D-SIB框架的四項評估準則圖示

HLA資本要求須以普通股權一級資本來滿足達到。視乎被指定為D-SIB或G-SIB的認可機構的系統重要性而定,適用的HLA資本要求由認可機構的總風險加權資產數額(根據《銀行業(資本)規則》計算)的1%至3.5%不等。

HLA資本要求連同逆周期緩衝資本(如適用)以延展《巴塞爾協定三》防護緩衝資本的方式實施。因此,一旦SIB的普通股權一級資本比率降至緩衝資本的延展範圍內,該SIB可作出的酌情分派(包括股息、股份回購、就資本票據酌情派息及向職員酌情發放花紅)會根據《銀行業(資本)規則》第3H(1)條所載的指定比例受到限制。此舉的效果是使SIB保留盈利,以提高監管資本。

指引

文件的檔號註解:
X-X-N / X-N = 《監管政策手冊》單元,CIR = 通告,N.N / N.N.N = 指引編號,FAQ = 常見問題

檔號 文件 發出日期
CA-B-2 具系統重要性銀行 2015年02月18日

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日