Supervisory Co-operation

Co-operation with Other Supervisory Authorities in Hong Kong

Banks offer a wide range of products and services. Apart from providing traditional deposit and loan services, banks also sell investment, insurance and MPF products to customers. Therefore, the HKMA needs to work closely with other regulators to ensure comprehensive protection of public interests.

Expand All
Collapse All
  • Securities and Futures Commission

    The HKMA and the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) work very closely to ensure that there is an open market for all intermediaries in the securities industry of Hong Kong. The HKMA has entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with the SFC, which elaborates on the legal framework and sets out the operational details relating to the respective roles and responsibilities of the two regulators regarding the securities related activities of authorized institutions. The HKMA and the SFC hold regular meetings under the Memorandum of Understanding to discuss matters of mutual interest. The training programmes of either regulator are also made available to the staff of the other where relevant.

  • Insurance Authority

    The HKMA and the Insurance Authority (IA) entered into a new Memorandum of Understanding which sets out the framework for coordinating the regulation and supervision of entities or financial groups in which the two regulators have a common regulatory interest, and the collaborative arrangements with respect to the regulation and supervision of authorized institutions’ businesses of regulated activities under the Insurance Ordinance. The new Memorandum of Understanding takes effect when the new insurance regime under the Insurance Ordinance comes into operation on 23 September 2019 and supersedes the previous Memorandum of Understanding between the HKMA and the IA.

  • Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board

    The Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board (the Board) is a statutory body established under the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance to administer the Deposit Protection Scheme in Hong Kong. The Scheme provides protection for deposits up to HK$500,000 per depositor per member bank. Sharing the objective of promoting the stability of the banking system, the HKMA and the Board have signed a Memorandum of Understanding. The Board is required by the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance to perform its functions through the HKMA, while the HKMA provides support to the Board on a day-to-day basis.

  • Financial Reporting Council

    The Financial Reporting Council (FRC) is a statutory body established by the Financial Reporting Council Ordinance to investigate into auditing and reporting irregularities in relation to listed entities, and to enquire into non-compliances with relevant accounting requirements in listed entities' financial reports. The Ordinance provides that the FRC shall notify the HKMA where the listed entity that is the subject of investigation or enquiry is an authorized institution or its related company (i.e. controller, subsidiary or fellow subsidiary), and that the investigator or enquirer has to consult the HKMA prior to exercising the relevant powers under the Ordinance for the purpose of such investigation or enquiry. The HKMA and the FRC have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding to elaborate on the mechanisms for communication and information exchange between the two entities, as well as to enhance the ongoing cooperation and mutual assistance.

  • Across supervisory authorities
    • Under the statutory regime for the regulation of Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) intermediaries effective since 1 November 2012, the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority is the lead regulator in respect of regulation of MPF intermediaries whereas the Monetary Authority, the Insurance Authority and the SFC are the frontline regulators of the MPF intermediaries. A Memorandum of Understanding Concerning the Regulation of Regulated Persons with Respect to Registered Schemes under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance has been signed by the four regulators. It sets out certain administrative and operational arrangements among the four regulators regarding the exercise of their respective functions under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance concerning regulation of MPF intermediaries. Meanwhile, the Memorandum of Understanding Concerning the Regulation of MPF Intermediaries updated on 1 January 2004 has ceased to apply since 1 November 2012 except for the handling of complaints concerning the conduct of MPF intermediaries prior to 1 November 2012.
    • The HKMA, Customs and Excise Department, Insurance Authority and SFC have signed a Memorandum of Understanding to set out the framework for co-operation and exchange of information between them concerning implementation of the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (Financial Institutions) Ordinance (Cap. 615).
    • The Financial Dispute Resolution Centre Limited (FDRC) is a non-profit making organisation which provides customers with an independent and affordable avenue, as an alternative to litigation, for resolving monetary disputes with financial institutions. The FDRC administers a financial dispute resolution scheme (the Scheme) by way of “mediation first, arbitration next”. All financial institutions authorized/licensed by the HKMA/SFC are members of the Scheme and agree to abide by the rules and procedures in respect of the Scheme. The HKMA, together with the SFC, has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the FDRC to delineate the respective roles and responsibilities between the FDRC and the two regulators as well as the information sharing arrangements, including the FDRC providing information relating to systemic issues and/or suspected serious misconduct cases to the regulators. The information will assist the HKMA in identifying systemic and/or misconduct issues as soon as practicable, and appropriate supervisory actions can be taken on a timely basis.

Co-operative Arrangements with Supervisory Authorities Outside Hong Kong

As an international financial centre, Hong Kong not only attracts foreign banks to operate in Hong Kong, but local banks are also active in other overseas markets. To enhance the exchange of supervisory information and co-operation, the HKMA has entered into Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) or other formal arrangements with the relevant banking supervisory authorities outside Hong Kong:
 

Jurisdictions Supervisory Authorities Types of Arrangements
Australia Australian Prudential Regulation Authority MoU
Belgium Financial Services and Markets Authority
National Bank of Belgium
Letters on Co-operations and Sharing of Information
Canada The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions MoU
Cambodia National Bank of Cambodia MoU
Mainland China China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission MoU
Denmark The Danish Financial Supervisory Authority MoU
France Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution Letters on Co-operation and Sharing of Information
Germany Bundesanstalt fur Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht MoU
India Reserve Bank of India MoU
Indonesia Bank Indonesia MoU
Japan Financial Services Agency Letters on Co-operations and Sharing of Information
Liechtenstein The Financial Market Authority Liechtenstein MoU
Macau Autoridade Monetaria De Macau MoU
Mauritius Bank of Mauritius MoU
Pakistan State Bank of Pakistan MoU
Philippines Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas MoU
South Africa The South African Reserve Bank MoU
South Korea The Financial Supervisory Commission of Korea MoU
Switzerland Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority MoU
Taiwan Financial Supervisory Commission MoU
Thailand The Bank of Thailand Statement of Co-operation
United Kingdom Financial Conduct Authority
Prudential Regulation Authority
MoU &
Side Letter
United States New York State Department of Financial Services
The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
MoU & 
Statement of Co-operation
Vietnam State Bank of Vietnam MoU

In general, the co-operative arrangements provide the formal framework under which the HKMA and its counterparts agree to:

  • share and exchange, to the extent permitted by law, supervisory information so as to assist in the supervision of banks that operate in both jurisdictions;
  • hold regular meetings and have informal contacts to discuss matters of common interest;
  • consult each other regarding any cross-border establishment or investment by the banks; and
  • keep the supervisory information shared confidential and to restrict the sharing, use and onward disclosure of such information in accordance with the provisions of the arrangements.

The HKMA continues to extend its bilateral co-operation with banking supervisors in other economies, and contact or hold regular meetings with other supervisory authorities to discuss matters of common interest where necessary.

The HKMA has entered into MoU with competent authorities of 30 European Union or European Economic Area jurisdictions respectively (Note 1) concerning consultation, cooperation and the exchange of information related to the supervision of authorized institutions acting as depositaries appointed for alternative investment funds under the Alternative Investment Fund Managers Directive (AIFMD MoU). The AIFMD MoU, as required by the AIFMD (Note 2), are in identical terms and conditions. 

Notes:

  1. The 30 European Union or European Economic Area jurisdictions are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovak Republic, the United Kingdom, Spain and Gibraltar.
  2. AIFMD refers to the Directive 2011/61/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council of 8 June 2011 on Alternative Investment Fund Managers and amending Directives 2003/41/EC and 2009/65/EC and Regulations (EC) No 1060/2009 and (EU) No 1095/2010.

Last revision date : 23 September 2019

與其他監管機構合作

與香港其他監管機構合作

銀行業務多樣化,除了提供傳統的存貸服務外,同時亦向客戶銷售投資、保險和強積金產品,因此金管局有需要與其他監管機構緊密合作,務求更全面保障市民的利益。

展開全部
全部收起
  • 證券及期貨事務監察委員會

    金管局與證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)一直緊密合作,確保參與本港證券業的所有中介人均可在公開的市場環境下運作。金管局與證監會已簽署《諒解備忘錄》(英文版本),就雙方在認可機構的證券有關業務上的角色及責任闡明法律架構,並列出運作細節。金管局與證監會根據《諒解備忘錄》定期開會,商討共同關注的事項。如有需要,兩者舉行的培訓活動均歡迎對方員工參與。

  • 保險業監管局

    金管局與保險業監管局已簽訂新的《諒解備忘錄》(英文版本),載明規管及監督雙方共同關注的機構或金融集團的協調架構,以及有關規管及監督認可機構在《保險業條例》下的受規管活動業務的合作安排。新《諒解備忘錄》將於《保險業條例》下的新保險制度在2019年9月23日實施時生效,並取代金管局與保險業監管局早前的《諒解備忘錄》。

  • 香港存款保障委員會

    香港存款保障委員會(存保會)是根據《存款保障計劃條例》成立的法定機構,負責管理香港存款保障計劃,為每名存戶於每家成員銀行提供最高50萬港元的保障。促進銀行體系穩定是金管局與存保會的共同目標,雙方就互相合作而簽署了《諒解備忘錄》。根據《存款保障計劃條例》,存保會須透過金管局執行職能,由金管局為其日常運作提供協助。

  • 財務匯報局

    財務匯報局是根據《財務匯報局條例》成立的法定機構,負責調查有關上市公司在審計及財務匯報方面的不當行為,以及查訊上市公司財務報告有否違反相關的會計規定。《財務匯報局條例》規定,若被調查或查訊的上市公司屬認可機構或其關連公司(即控權人、附屬公司或同集團附屬公司),則財務匯報局須通知金管局,同時調查人或查訊人為進行調查或查訊而行使該條例下的有關權力前亦須先行諮詢金管局。金管局與財務匯報局已訂立《諒解備忘錄》(英文版本),以詳細說明兩個機構之間的溝通及資訊交流機制,以及加強雙方之間的合作及互助。

  • 跨監管機構
    • 在2012年11月1日起實施的規管強制性公積金(強積金)中介人的法定制度下,強制性公積金計劃管理局是規管強積金中介人的主要監管機構,而金管局、保險業監管局及證監會為強積金中介人的前線監管機構。上述四個規管當局已簽訂《根據《強制性公積金計劃條例》規管註冊計劃的受規管者協議備忘錄》(英文版本)。這份備忘錄訂明上述四個規管當局在根據《強制性公積金計劃條例》規管強積金中介人方面就行使各自的職能所協定的一些行政及運作安排。同時,在2004年1月1日所修訂的《有關監管強制性公積金中介人的諒解備忘錄》(英文版本),除於處理有關強積金中介人於2012年11月1日之前的操守的投訴個案外,已由2012年11月1日起不再適用。
    • 金管局、海關、保險業監管局及證監會已簽訂《諒解備忘錄》(英文版本),以訂明四所機構之間於執行《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集(金融機構)條例》(第615章)上的合作和資料交換。
    • 金融糾紛調解中心有限公司(調解中心)是一所非牟利機構,為客戶提供在法律訴訟以外的一個獨立且費用相宜的途徑,以解決他們與金融機構之間的金錢爭議。調解中心的金融糾紛調解計劃(調解計劃),提供「先調解、後仲裁」的爭議解決程序。所有獲金管局 / 證監會認可 / 發牌的金融機構均是調解計劃的成員,並同意遵守與調解計劃相關的規則與程序。金管局和證監會已經與調解中心一同簽訂《諒解備忘錄》(英文版本),以訂明調解中心與兩家監管機構各自的角色與責任,以及共用資料的安排,包括調解中心向監管機構提供有關系統性問題及/或懷疑涉及嚴重金融機構行為失當個案的資料。有關資料將有助金管局盡快掌握有關的系統性問題及/或涉及金融機構行為失當的情況,並及時採取適當的監管措施。

與境外監管機構的合作安排

香港作為國際金融中心,不但吸引外資銀行在港營運,同時本地銀行亦活躍於其他海外市場。為加強監管信息的交流及合作,金管局與相關境外監管機構訂立了《諒解備忘錄》或其他正式的合作安排:

地區 監管機構 安排形式
澳洲 Australian Prudential Regulation Authority 《諒解備忘錄》
比利時 Financial Services and Markets Authority
National Bank of Belgium
《合作及信息交流函件》
加拿大 The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions 《諒解備忘錄》
柬埔寨 National Bank of Cambodia 《諒解備忘錄》
中國內地 China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission 《諒解備忘錄》
丹麥 The Danish Financial Supervisory Authority 《諒解備忘錄》
法國 Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution 《合作及信息交流函件》
德國 Bundesanstalt fur Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht 《諒解備忘錄》
印度 Reserve Bank of India 《諒解備忘錄》
印尼 Bank Indonesia 《諒解備忘錄》
日本 Financial Services Agency 《合作及信息交流函件》
列支敦士登 The Financial Market Authority Liechtenstein 《諒解備忘錄》
澳門 Autoridade Monetaria De Macau 《諒解備忘錄》
毛里裘斯 Bank of Mauritius 《諒解備忘錄》
巴基斯坦 State Bank of Pakistan 《諒解備忘錄》
菲律賓 Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas 《諒解備忘錄》
南非 The South African Reserve Bank 《諒解備忘錄》
韓國 The Financial Supervisory Commission of Korea 《諒解備忘錄》
瑞士 Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority 《諒解備忘錄》
台灣 Financial Supervisory Commission 《諒解備忘錄》
泰國 The Bank of Thailand 《合作聲明》
英國 Financial Conduct Authority
Prudential Regulation Authority
《諒解備忘錄》及
《附屬函件》
美國 New York State Department of Financial Services
The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and  Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
《諒解備忘錄》及
《合作聲明》
越南 State Bank of Vietnam 《諒解備忘錄》

一般而言,根據合作安排提供的正式架構,金管局與訂約方同意:

  • 在法律允許的情況下,交流及交換監管信息,以協助監管在兩地均有營運的銀行;
  • 定期舉行會議和進行非正式的聯繫,以討論共同關注的事宜;
  • 就銀行的跨境業務或投資諮詢對方意見;及
  • 確保所交流的監管信息保密,以及按照有關安排的規定限制交流、使用及進一步披露有關信息。

金管局會繼續擴展與其他經濟體系的銀行業監管機構的雙邊合作,如有需要,金管局亦會與其他監管機構聯絡或舉行定期會議,以討論共同關注的事項。

金管局根據歐洲議會和歐盟理事會的《另類投資基金經理指令》(Alternative Investment Fund Managers Directive,簡稱AIFMD),就監管作為另類投資基金受託人的認可機構相關的諮詢、合作及信息交換,分別與30個歐盟或歐洲經濟區內不同地區的主管機構註1簽署諒解備忘錄(AIFMD諒解備忘錄)。AIFMD諒解備忘錄是按《另類投資基金經理指令》(AIFMD)規定而簽訂註2,並具有相同的條款和條件。

備註:

  1. 30個歐盟或歐洲經濟區內的地區包括奧地利、比利時、保加利亞、塞浦路斯、捷克共和國、丹麥、愛沙尼亞、芬蘭、法國、德國、希臘、匈牙利、冰島、意大利、愛爾蘭、拉脫維亞、列支敦士登、立陶宛、盧森堡、馬耳他、荷蘭、挪威、波蘭、葡萄牙、羅馬尼亞、瑞典、斯洛伐克共和國、英國、西班牙和直布羅陀。
  2. AIFMD是指歐洲議會和歐盟理事會於2011年6月8日針對另類投資基金經理作出的《指令2011/61/EU》及修訂2003/41/EC及2009/65/EC指令和(EC)第1060/2009及(EU)第1095/2010號規例。

修訂日期 : 2019年09月23日