Green and Sustainable Banking

Climate change is one of the major risks threatening the well-being of mankind. How the banking and financial system operates will clearly have an impact on the way in which climate risk is managed or reduced. The HKMA is committed to promoting green and sustainable finance in order to address climate risk.

In particular, the HKMA adopts a three-phased approach to promote green and sustainable banking:

  • Phase I – developing a common framework to assess the “Greenness Baseline” of individual banks. The HKMA will also collaborate with relevant international bodies to provide technical support to banks in Hong Kong to better understand the green principles and methodology in undertaking the baseline assessment;
  • Phase II – engaging the industry and other relevant stakeholders in a consultation on the supervisory expectation or requirement on Green and Sustainable Banking, with a view to setting tangible deliverables for promoting the green and sustainable developments of the Hong Kong banking industry;
  • Phase III – after setting the targets, implement, monitor and evaluate banks’ progress in this regard.

The HKMA is also actively participating in international forums to support global development of green finance. As a member of the Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS), the HKMA participates in the Network’s working groups to explore how to incorporate climate risk and other green and sustainable factors in the supervisory framework and macro surveillance work.

Last revision date : 14 October 2019

綠色及可持續銀行

氣候變化是影響人類福祉的主要風險之一。銀行和金融體系如何運作,顯然對氣候變化風險的管理和緩解方式有影響。金管局致力推廣綠色及可持續金融以應對氣候變化風險。

金管局將會分三階段推動綠色及可持續的銀行業發展:

  • I階段:與業界建立一個共同框架,評估銀行目前的「綠色」基準(Greenness Baseline)。金管局亦會與國際組織合作,為本港銀行提供技術支援,掌握進行「綠色體檢」的原則和方法;
  • II階段:就綠色及可持續銀行的監管期望或要求諮詢業界及其他持份者,以訂立一套提升香港銀行業的綠色和可持續發展的具體目標;
  • III階段:確立目標後,落實、審視及評估銀行在這方面的進度。

金管局亦積極參與國際論壇,以支持全球發展綠色金融。作為央行與監管機構綠色金融網絡(NGFS)的成員,金管局參與該網絡的工作小組,探討如何將氣候風險以及其他綠色和可持續因素納入監管架構及宏觀監察工作。

修訂日期 : 2019年10月17日