System Linkages

Hong Kong's financial infrastructure is designed to cater for cross-border as well as domestic economic activities. Links with payment systems and debt securities systems in other economies provide an easily accessible payment and settlement platform for cross-border economic transactions and financial intermediation.

Payment System Linkages

Links with Guangdong (including Shenzhen) - Launched in phases since January 1998, these links cover cross-border RTGS payments in Hong Kong dollars and US dollars, and cheque clearing in Hong Kong dollars, US dollars and renminbi, with Guangdong Province including Shenzhen1. The use of these links, which helps expedite payments and remittances between Hong Kong and Guangdong, has been rising gradually with the increasing economic integration between Hong Kong and the Mainland.

Cross-border payment arrangements with Mainland - Cross-border payment arrangements involving the Mainland's Domestic Foreign Currency Payment System were established in March 2009 to facilitate foreign currency funding and liquidity management of Mainland banks and commercial payments. The cross-border payment arrangements currently cover four currencies - the Hong Kong dollar, US dollar, euro and British pound.

Link with Macau - The one-way joint clearing facility for Hong Kong dollar and US dollar cheques between Hong Kong and Macau was launched in August 2007 and June 2008 respectively, reducing the time required for clearing Hong Kong dollar and US dollar cheques drawn on banks in Hong Kong and presented in Macau from four or five days to two.

Link with Malaysia - A link between the Ringgit RTGS system in Malaysia (the RENTAS system) and the US dollar RTGS system in Hong Kong came into operation in November 2006. The link helps eliminate settlement risk by enabling payment versus payment  (PvP) settlements of foreign exchange transactions in ringgit and US dollars during Malaysian and Hong Kong business hours. This is the first cross-border PvP link between two RTGS systems in the region.

Link with Indonesia - The PvP link between Hong Kong's US dollar RTGS system and Indonesia's Rupiah RTGS system was launched in January 2010. The link helps eliminate settlement risk by enabling PvP settlements of foreign exchange transactions in Rupiah and US dollars during Indonesian and Hong Kong business hours.

Link with Thailand - The PvP link between Hong Kong's US dollar RTGS system and Thailand's Baht RTGS system was launched in July 2014. The link helps eliminate settlement risk by enabling PvP settlements of foreign exchange transactions in Baht and US dollars during Thailand and Hong Kong business hours.

Link with the Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) system - The CLS system, operated by CLS Bank International, is a global clearing and settlement system for cross-border foreign exchange transactions. It removes settlement risk in these transactions by settling them on a PvP basis. The Hong Kong dollar joined the CLS system in 2004.

Regional CHATS - This is an extension of the RTGS systems in Hong Kong in the regional context. Regional payments in the Hong Kong dollar, US dollar, euro and renminbi can use the RTGS platform in Hong Kong to facilitate cross border/cross bank transfers in those currencies.

1Joint clearing for US dollar cheques is currently with Shenzhen only.

Debt Securities Settlement System Linkages

Bond Connect Linkage Service

On 16 May 2017, the People’s Bank of China (PBoC) and the HKMA jointly announced their approval for Mainland and Hong Kong Financial Infrastructure Institutions to collaborate in establishing mutual bond market access between Mainland China and Hong Kong under the scheme known as Bond Connect. Bond Connect is an arrangement that will enable Mainland and overseas investors to trade, settle and hold bonds tradable in the Mainland and Hong Kong bond markets through connection between the Mainland and Hong Kong Financial Infrastructure Institutions.

Bond Connect consists of a trading link and a settlement link. Under the settlement link of Bond Connect, the Central Moneymarkets Unit (CMU) has opened nominee accounts with two Mainland central securities depositories (CSDs), namely the China Government Securities Depository Trust and Clearing Company Limited (CDCC) and Shanghai Clearing House (SHCH), to settle Bond Connect transactions and hold China Interbank Bond Market (CIBM) bonds on behalf of CMU members, whom in turn are providing services directly or indirectly to overseas investors using Bond Connect. Bond Connect is implemented on a phase approach with Northbound Trading as the initial phase. Southbound Trading will also be explored in due course.

Cross-border Links

The CMU has developed a number of external links with regional CSDs and international CSDs. One-way inbound links from Euroclear and Clearstream, the two largest ICSDs in the world, to the CMU were set up in 1994 to allow international investors to hold and settle Hong Kong dollar debt securities through these international networks. The links became two-way in November 2002 (for Euroclear) and January 2003 (for Clearstream) to enable investors in Hong Kong and other parts of Asia to hold and settle Euroclear and Clearstream debt securities directly in a secure DvP environment.

The CMU also established links with CSDs in Australia in December 1997 and South Korea in September 1999. These links, in addition to facilitating cross-border holding and settlement of debt securities in Hong Kong and overseas, also enlarged the investor base, broadened the domestic debt markets, and reduced settlement risk by facilitating DvP settlement for cross-border securities transactions.

The HKMA and the CDCC signed an agreement in April 2004 to establish a link between the CMU and the Government Securities Book-entry System (GSBS) operated by the CCDC. This link enables authorised investors in Mainland China to hold and settle Hong Kong and foreign debt securities lodged in the CMU.

The CMU also established a link with the CSD in Taiwan during December 2012 to facilitate investors in Taiwan to hold and settle Hong Kong and foreign debt securities lodged in the CMU.

Following the launch of Mainland-Hong Kong Mutual Recognition of Funds (MRF) in the second half of 2015, which allows Mainland and Hong Kong recognised funds to be distributed in each other’s market, the CMU has linked up with transfer agents and fund houses in the Mainland including the China Securities Depository and Clearing Corporation Ltd (ChinaClear) to facilitate cross-border investment fund order routing services.

Last revision date : 16 September 2019

系統聯網

本港金融基建的發展一直致力配合本地及跨境經濟活動的需要。與其他地區的支付與債券系統的聯網,已形成方便的支付及交收平台,以處理跨境經濟交易及金融中介活動。

支付系統聯網

與廣東省(包括深圳)聯網 - 自1998年1月起分階段推出,涵蓋與廣東省(包括深圳)1的港元及美元的跨境RTGS支付交易,以及港元、美元及人民幣的支票結算。這些聯網有助加快香港與廣東省之間的支付及匯款程序,隨着中港經濟日漸融合,這些聯網的使用量亦逐步上升。

與內地的跨境支付安排 - 與內地的境內外幣支付系統的跨境支付安排於2009年3月推出,以促進內地銀行的外幣集資及流動資金管理,以及商業支付交易。目前跨境支付安排涵蓋四種貨幣──港元、美元、歐元及英鎊。

與澳門聯網 - 香港與澳門分別在2007年8月及2008年6月建立港元及美元支票的單向聯合結算機制,把由香港銀行付款,並於澳門兌存的港元及美元支票的結算時間由四至五日縮短至兩日。

與馬來西亞聯網 - 馬來西亞的馬幣RTGS系統(RENTAS系統)與香港的美元RTGS系統在2006年11月實現聯網,使馬幣與美元外匯交易得以在馬來西亞及香港營業時間進行同步交收,從而消除交收風險。這是區內首次在兩個RTGS系統之間建立跨境聯網,為兩種貨幣提供外匯交易同步交收服務。

與印尼聯網 - 香港的美元RTGS系統與印尼的印尼盾RTGS系統之間的同步交收聯網於2010年1月啟用,為兩種貨幣的兩個外匯交易進行同步交收,消除交收風險。

與泰國聯網 - 香港的美元RTGS系統與泰國的泰銖RTGS系統之間的同步交收聯網於2014年7月啟用,為兩種貨幣的兩個外匯交易進行同步交收,消除交收風險。

與Continuous Linked Settlement(CLS)系統聯網 - CLS系統由CLS Bank International運作,是處理跨境外匯交易的全球性結算及交收系統。這個系統以同步交收方式交收跨境外匯交易,因此能夠消除交收風險。港元在2004年加入CLS系統。

跨境轉匯服務 - 將香港的RTGS系統往區內擴展。港元、美元、歐元及人民幣的區內支付均可利用香港的RTGS系統平台,以促進這些貨幣的跨境/跨銀行轉撥。

1現時美元支票的聯合結算機制只適用於深圳。

債務工具中央結算系統聯網

債券通聯網服務

2017年5月16日,中國人民銀行與香港金融管理局宣布,准許内地和香港的基礎設施機構就債券通項目展開香港與内地債券市場互聯互通合作。債券通是指境内外投資者通過内地與香港債券市場基礎設施機構連接,買賣、結算交收及持有兩個市場交易流通債券的機制安排。

債券通包括交易通及結算通。根據結算通的安排,金管局CMU已在內地兩間中央證券託管機構(分別是中央國債登記結算有限責任公司及銀行間市場清算所股份有限公司) 開立名義持有人帳戶,從而為CMU成員及其直接或間接服務的債券通境外投資者結算交收債券通交易,並持有有關的內地銀行間債券市場債券。債券通以循序漸進方式實行,初期先開通「北向通」,未來會研究擴展至「南向通」。

跨境聯網

CMU系統與區內中央證券託管機構及國際中央證券託管機構建立聯網。在1994年,CMU系統與全球兩個規模最大的國際中央證券託管機構歐洲結算及明訊建立單向對內聯網,讓國際投資者可透過這些國際結算所機構持有及結算港元債券。這兩項聯網分別在2002年11月(歐洲結算)及2003年1月(明訊)發展至雙向聯網,讓香港及亞洲其他地區的投資者在安全穩妥的環境下以DvP模式直接或間接持有及結算歐洲結算系統及明訊結算系統的債券。

CMU系統亦分別在1997年12月及1999年9月與澳洲及韓國的中央證券託管機構建立聯網。這些聯網除了有效促進在香港及海外跨境持有及交收債券外,更可擴大投資者基礎、擴展本地債券市場,以及透過促進跨境證券交易DvP結算以減低結算風險。

金管局與內地的中央國債登記結算有限責任公司(中央國債登記結算公司)於2004年4月簽訂協議,同意在CMU系統與中央國債登記結算公司負責操作的政府債券簿記系統之間建立聯網。透過這項聯網,內地經批准的投資者可於CMU系統內持有,結算及交收香港及海外的債券。

CMU系統亦於2012年12月與台灣的中央證券託管機構建立聯網,方便台灣投資者於CMU系統內持有,結算及交收香港及海外的債券。

內地與香港基金互認安排(MRF)在2015年下半年推出,允許內地及香港認可的基金在彼此的市場買賣。CMU其後與內地過戶代理及基金公司建立聯網,當中包括中國證券登記結算有限責任公司(中國結算),以便利跨境投資基金訂單的指令傳遞服務。

修訂日期 : 2019年09月16日