Debt Securities Settlement System

Central Moneymarkets Unit

The Central Moneymarkets Unit (CMU) was established in 1990 to provide computerised clearing and settlement facilities for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes. In December 1993, the HKMA extended the service to other Hong Kong dollar debt securities. The CMU offers an efficient, safe and convenient clearing and custodian system for Hong Kong dollar debt instruments. Since December 1994, the CMU has been linked with other regional and international systems. This helps promote Hong Kong dollar debt securities to overseas investors who can use the links to participate in the Hong Kong dollar debt market.

The CMU service was further extended to non-Hong Kong dollar debt securities in January 1996. In December 1996, a seamless interface between the CMU and the Hong Kong dollar RTGS interbank payment system was established. This enables the CMU system to provide real-time and end-of-day Delivery versus Payment (DvP) services to its members. The CMU was further linked to the US dollar, euro and Renminbi RTGS systems in December 2000, April 2003 and March 2006 respectively to provide real time DvP capability for debt securities, and also intraday and overnight repo facilities for the US dollar, euro and Renminbi payment systems in Hong Kong.

CMU Website

The CMU Website , formerly known as Bond Price Bulletin, was revamped and re-launched in July 2022 to provide the industry and public with a quick and convenient means of searching for useful bond market information as well as CMU services updates. The enhanced CMU Website also supports Securities Search and Member Search to facilitate efficient daily operation of CMU participants.

Main Scope of Services

In addition to providing CMU members with securities transfer services, the CMU offers the following services:

  • Collateral Management System
    • Automatic Repo Facility (both intraday and overnight) in Hong Kong dollar, US dollar, euro and renminbi
    • Collateralised Lending Service in support of primary bond issuance
    • Bank-to-bank repo service
  • Securities Lending Service
    • Securities Lending Programme for debt securities issued by the private sector
  • Market Making Arrangement for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
  • Issuance Programme for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
  • Arranger, custodian, agent and operator of notes issued by HKSAR Government
  • Real time DvP for all CMU securities denominated in Hong Kong dollar, US dollar, euro and renminbi
  • Cross-border DvP Settlement via regional central securities depositories (CSDs) and international central securities depositories (ICSDs)
  • Other custodial services
    • Paying agent
    • Securities lodgement
    • Allotment by tendering
  • Corporate action service
  • Fund order routing and settlement service

Settlement Finality

The settlement of transactions made through the CMU system is final and irrevocable. This finality is protected from insolvency laws and other laws by the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance.

Collateralised Lending Service in Support of Primary Bond Issuance

The collateralised lending service was introduced on 1 April 2022 to support liquidity need on primary bond issuance for CMU participants. This service is free of charge for intraday lending and covers HK dollar, US dollar, euro and renminbi. The borrowing limit is up to the size of primary bond issuance in the form of repo arrangement.

CMU Tendering Platform

Besides providing clearing and settlement services for secondary market debt securities transactions, the CMU also provides a tendering platform for issuers to issue debt securities in Hong Kong through tendering. The Ministry of Finance of the People’s Republic of China (CMOF) issued RMB sovereign bonds in Hong Kong using CMU’s tendering platform for the first time in November 2010. Since then, CMOF has been using this CMU service every year for its RMB sovereign bond issuances in Hong Kong. Starting from November 2018, the People’s Bank of China (PBoC) has also been using CMU’s tendering platform for the issuance of PBoC bills in Hong Kong.

Using Exchange Fund Bills/Notes as Margin Collateral for Trading of Stock Options and Futures

In order to assist liquidity management by market participants in the stock options and futures exchange, the CMU has developed infrastructure to enable the SEHK Options Clearing House Limited and the Hong Kong Futures Exchange Clearing Corporation Limited to use Exchange Fund paper as common margin collateral for the trading of stock options and futures. With the approval of the HKMA, the SEHK Options Clearing House Limited and the Hong Kong Futures Exchange Clearing Corporation Limited became Recognised Dealers of Exchange Fund paper in March 1999.

CMU Fund Order Routing and Settlement Service

Launched in August 2009, the CMU Fund Order Routing and Settlement Service provides CMU Members, who may also be investment fund distributors, custodians, managers and institutional investors in Hong Kong and the region, with a standardised platform for processing investment fund transactions. The scope of operation of the service includes:

  • handling of investment funds subscription, redemption and switching orders
  • generation of corresponding confirmation and payment instructions
  • provision of regular reports
  • provision of investment funds custodian service
  • operation gate way for the cross border Mutual Recognition of Funds scheme

Disclosure Framework for CMU System

The Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) (formerly known as Committee on Payments and Settlement Systems (CPSS)) of the Bank for International Settlements and the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) jointly issued a disclosure framework and assessment methodology in April 2012 for their principles for financial market infrastructures (PFMIs), which is the latest international standards for financial market infrastructures (FMIs).

The disclosure framework (DF) is intended to promote consistent and comprehensive public disclosure by FMIs in line with the requirements of the PFMIs. The CMU is subject to the DF, and the disclosure report of the CMU is completed according to the disclosure template outlined in the DF.

The above information are as of last business day.

*These information are updated 4 times every business day on the CMU Website. Please click here to visit the CMU Website and obtain the latest information.

Last revision date : 01 February 2023

債務工具結算系統

債務工具中央結算系統

債務工具中央結算系統(CMU系統)於1990年設立,為外匯基金票據及債券提供電腦化結算交收服務。1993年12月,金管局將這項服務推擴至其他港元債券,為港元債券提供高效率、安全及方便的結算託管系統。自1994年12月起,CMU系統逐步與區內及國際系統建立聯網,藉此讓海外投資者參與港元債券市場,有助向海外投資者推廣港元債券。

CMU系統在1996年1月將服務進一步推擴至非港元債券,並於1996年12月與港元即時支付結算系統(RTGS系統)聯網,為系統成員提供即時及日終貨銀兩訖(DvP)結算服務。其後,CMU系統又分別於2000年12月、2003年4月及2006年3月與美元、歐元及人民幣RTGS系統聯網,為債券提供即時DvP結算服務,並為香港的美元、歐元及人民幣支付結算系統提供即日及隔夜回購設施。

CMU網站

CMU網站(原債券報價網站)已於 2022 年 7 月進行優化並重新推出,以為業界和公眾提供快速便捷的方式來查閲債券市場資訊和 CMU 服務資料。 優化後的 CMU 網站還提供債務工具和會員搜索服務,協助 CMU 參與者提高日常運作效率。

主要服務範圍

CMU系統除了為其成員提供證券轉撥服務外,其服務範圍亦包括以下各項:

  • 抵押品管理系統
    • 港元、美元、歐元及人民幣的自動回購機制(即日及隔夜)
    • 支持債券一級發行的抵押貸款服務
    • 銀行與銀行之間之回購服務
  • 證券借貸服務
    • 為私營機構發行的債券提供證券借貸計劃
  • 外匯基金票據及債券的市場莊家制度
  • 外匯基金票據及債券發行計劃
  • 作為政府債券及公營機構發行的債券的經辦人、託管人、代理及營運機構
  • 為存放於CMU系統的所有港元、美元、歐元及人民幣債券提供即時及日終DvP結算服務
  • 透過區內中央證券託管機構及國際中央證券託管機構進行跨境DvP結算交收
  • 其他託管服務
    • 支付代理
    • 債券存放
    • 投標配發
  • 企業行動服務
  • 投資基金指令傳遞及交收服務

交收終局性

經CMU系統進行交收的債券是最終及不可撤回的。《支付系統及儲值支付工具條例》已為這項交收終局性提供保障,使其免受破產法例或其他法例影響。

支持債券一級發行的抵押貸款服務

於 2022 年 4 月 1 日推出的抵押貸款服務針對CMU 參與者於一級市場債券發行時產生的流動性需求提供支持。 此服務涵蓋港元、美元、歐元及人民幣貸款,而且免除即日回購服務的收費。 借款額上限為債券發行規模,以回購形式安排。

CMU債券投標平台

除了為二級市場債券交易提供結算交收服務,CMU亦提供債券投標平台讓發行人以招標方式在香港發行債券。2010年11月,中華人民共和國財政部(“財政部”)首次採用CMU債券投標平台在香港發行人民幣國債。自此,財政部每年都採用此CMU服務在香港發行人民幣國債。從2018年11月起,中國人民銀行亦透過CMU的債券投標平台在香港發行人民幣央行票據。

以外匯基金票據/債券作為股票期權及期貨的保證金抵押品

為加強市場人士在股票期權與期貨交易方面的流動資金管理,CMU系統設立機制,讓聯交所期權結算所有限公司及香港期貨結算有限公司,可運用外匯基金票據及債券作為買賣股票期權及期貨的通用保證金抵押品。經金管局批准後,聯交所期權結算所有限公司及香港期貨結算有限公司於1999年3月成為外匯基金票據及債券的認可交易商。

CMU系統基金指令傳遞及交收服務

CMU系統基金指令傳遞及交收服務在2009年8月推出,為香港及區內作為投資基金分銷商、託管人、經理人及機構投資者的CMU系統成員提供一個統一的平台,以處理投資基金交易。服務的運作範圍包括:

  • 處理投資基金的認購、贖回及轉換指令
  • 編製相應的確認及付款指示
  • 提供定期報表
  • 提供投資基金結算及託管服務
  • 跨境基金互認安排的操作窗口

CMU 系統的披露框架

國際結算銀行轄下的支付及金融基建委員會(前身為支付及市場基建委員會)與國際證券事務監察委員會組織已就其金融市場基建原則於2012年4月聯合發出一套披露框架及評估方法(英文版本),作為適用於金融市場基建的最新國際標準。

披露框架(英文版本)旨在促進金融市場基建進行貫徹及全面的公開披露,以符合金融市場基建原則的要求(英文版本)。CMU須遵守該披露框架,有關CMU的披露報告亦按照披露框架所載披露範本完成。

修訂日期 : 2022年08月19日