Oversight of Financial Market Infrastructures

Financial market infrastructures (FMIs) that facilitate the clearing, settling or recording of payments, securities, derivatives or other financial transactions constitute an essential foundation for the smooth functioning of an advanced economy, and play a critical role in fostering financial stability. It is therefore important for central banks and monetary authorities to oversee key FMIs to promote their safety and efficiency.

According to Principles for Financial Market Infrastructures (PFMI) issued jointly by the Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) and the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) in April 2012, FMIs include systemically important payment systems, central securities depositories, securities settlement systems, central counterparties, and trade repositories.

On 28 March 2013, the HKMA issued a policy statement - Oversight of Financial Market Infrastructures by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority. The document describes the approach adopted by the HKMA in its oversight of FMIs in Hong Kong under its purview, namely the designated clearing and settlement systems and the OTC Derivatives Trade Repository of the HKMA (HKTR). Amendments will be made to the document from time to time to reflect enhancements made by the HKMA in fine-tuning its oversight framework. The latest version of the document can be found here.

Last revision date : 22 November 2019

監察金融市場基建

金融市場基建有助支付、證券、衍生工具或其他金融交易的結算、交收或紀錄,是確保先進經濟體系暢順運作的重要基石,對促進金融穩定具有關鍵作用。因此中央銀行及貨幣管理當局必須監察重要的金融市場基建,以促進這些基建的安全及效率。

根據國際結算銀行轄下的支付及金融基建委員會及國際證券事務監察委員會組織於2012年4月聯合發出的《金融市場基建的原則》(英文版本),金融市場基建包括具有系統重要性的支付系統、中央證券託管機構、證券交收系統、中央對手方及香港場外衍生工具交易資料儲存庫(交易資料儲存庫)。

2013年3月28日,金管局發表政策聲明:《香港金融管理局對金融市場基建的監察》。該政策聲明說明金管局就其負責監察的香港金融市場基建(即指定結算及交收系統及交易資料儲存庫)所採取的監察方法。金管局會不時進一步修改這政策聲明以反映金管局在微調其金融市場基建監察制度所作的優化措施。最新版本的文檔可以在此處找到。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日