Bank Culture

While considerable efforts have been made globally by banking supervisors and senior management of banks in enhancing governance and risk management framework in recent years, it is increasingly recognised that much more needs to be done to promote a sound culture at all levels of banks. 

In March 2017, the HKMA initiated a bank culture reform through promoting the adoption of a holistic and effective framework for fostering a sound culture within banks, with particular attention given to three pillars, namely governance, incentive systems, and assessment and feedback mechanisms. 

The reform seeks to encourage banks to develop and promote a sound corporate culture that supports prudent risk management and contributes towards incentivising proper staff behaviour that will lead to positive customer outcomes and high ethical standards in the banking industry, so that banks put their safety and soundness as well as the interests of depositors and customers at the centre stage in the pursuit of commercial interests.

 Sound Bank Culture

Following the HKMA’s launch of the bank culture reform in 2017, the HKMA announced in December 2018 supervisory measures for bank culture (namely, self-assessment, focused reviews and culture dialogues) to gauge the progress of bank culture reform in Hong Kong.

Last revision date : 08 October 2019

銀行文化

儘管近年全球各地的銀行業監管機構和銀行高級管理層均致力提升有關管治和風險管理的制度,但各方日益認為在銀行各層面推動良好的文化方面,仍需要作出更大的努力。

金管局於2017年3月推行銀行文化改革,透過鼓勵銀行採納全面及有效的制度,並特別留意管治、獎勵制度,以及評估及意見反映機制這三大支柱,以促進良好的企業文化。

銀行文化改革旨在鼓勵銀行發展和推動良好的企業文化,以支持審慎的風險管理,及促進鼓勵恰當的員工行為,從而為客戶帶來正面的效果及在銀行業內建立嚴格道德操守,使銀行追求商業利益的同時,亦以銀行的安全、穩健,及存戶及客戶利益作為主要考慮。

良好銀行文化

繼2017年推行銀行文化改革後,金管局於2018年12月推出銀行文化的監管措施(包括自我評估、專題評估及銀行文化對話),以了解香港銀行文化改革的進展。

修訂日期 : 2019年10月08日