Consumer Protection

Apart from prudential supervision, the HKMA attaches great importance to supervision of banks’ business practices and conduct to protect the interests of bank customers. The key framework for the HKMA’s work on enhancing consumer protection is outlined below.

Expand All
Collapse All
  • Promoting Fair Treatment of Customers

    Consumer confidence and trust are the cornerstone for sustainable development of banks, which in turn promotes banking stability. To earn and keep customers’ confidence and trust, banks should treat customers fairly at all stages of their relationship with them. Over the past few years, the HKMA has been engaging the banking industry on various initiatives to promote a stronger corporate culture among banks of treating their consumers fairly. 

    The HKMA has worked with the industry in developing the Treat Customers Fairly (TCF) Charter which all the retail banks in Hong Kong have signed up on 28 October 2013, demonstrating the industry’s commitment not only to treating customers fairly but fostering a stronger culture towards upholding fair treatment of customers at all levels of banks and at all stages of their relationship with customers.

    The promotion of a strong corporate culture to ensure fair treatment of customers has been extended to the private wealth management industry: On 8 June 2017, the HKMA and the Private Wealth Management Association (PWMA) jointly announced the commitment of all PWMA member institutions to implement the Treat Customers Fairly Charter for Private Wealth Management Industry

    Both Charters incorporate five high-level TCF principles, having drawn from good practices locally and overseas and from the G20 High-Level Principles on Financial Consumer Protection. To assist implementation of the two Charters, the HKMA has collaborated with the industry in providing practical examples of measures.

  • Enhancing Disclosure and Transparency

    Banks should provide consumers with key information that informs the consumers of the fundamental benefits, risks and terms of the products. The Code of Banking Practice (CoBP) is intended to increase transparency in the provision of banking services so as to enhance customers’ understanding of the services provided by banks. Under the CoBP, banks should make readily available to customers written terms and conditions of a banking service, including fees and charges, penalties and relevant interest rates, and the customers’ liabilities and obligations in the use of the banking service. All financial promotional materials should be fair, reasonable and not misleading. All banks are required to fully comply with all the provisions of the Code.

    Banks are required to engage an independent internal party to conduct regular self-assessments on their compliance with the CoBP and report the results to the HKMA. The HKMA also conducts on-site examinations of banks to monitor their compliance with the CoBP.

  • Promoting Financial Consumer Education

    The HKMA puts great emphasis on financial consumer education. Through disseminating various smart and safety tips, the HKMA seeks to educate the public to be smart and responsible in the use of banking and other financial products and services.

    From time to time, the HKMA also publishes inSight articles to enhance consumers’ awareness of their rights and obligations as well as their understanding of the key features and risks of certain financial products.

    In addition, the HKMA works closely with other relevant stakeholders, such as Hong Kong Association of Banks, Consumer Council, Investor and Financial Education Council (IFEC) * and Education Bureau, to promote financial literacy in Hong Kong.

    * Careful attention should be paid to the Liability Statement section on the homepage of the IFEC website when referring to information using this link.

  • Enhancing Protection of Consumer Data and Privacy

    The HKMA expects banks to comply with the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (PDPO) in the collection, use and holding of customer personal data. They should also comply with any relevant codes of practice issued or approved by the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data giving practical guidance on compliance with the PDPO.

  • Enhancing Investor Protection

    In light of growing diversity of wealth management products with varying complexity and risks as well as the special trust in banks by their customers, there is an increasing need to enhance protection for bank customers, especially retail customers who may have limited knowledge in wealth management products. Coupled with the growing public expectation for better protection of bank customers, the HKMA has required banks to implement a number of enhanced measures on top of the measures introduced by other financial regulators (e.g. audio recording of sale process involving complex products or risk-mismatch, physical segregation between investment activities and deposit-taking activities, and pre-investment cooling-off period for certain investment products). These enhanced measures are mostly targeted at retail customers in order to accord protection to them. Taking into account the level of sophistication and investment needs of private banking customers and corporate banking customers, the HKMA adopts a more measured approach on conduct supervision while maintaining investor protection.

    At the same time, the HKMA formulates policies and issues circulars or guidelines governing banks’ sale of investment, insurance, and Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) products to customers.

    The HKMA’s supervisory approach includes on-site examinations of banks (mainly focusing on regulatory compliance, internal controls and management supervision), off-site surveillance (including analysing banks’ regular and ad hoc returns and surveys), and conducting from time to time mystery shopping of banks’ sale of investment and insurance products. The HKMA monitors remedial actions taken by the banks on issues of supervisory concerns or non-compliance identified in the supervisory process.

  • Participation in International Forums on Enhancing Financial Consumer Protection

    Following the global financial crisis, international efforts have intensified to enhance financial consumer protection policies. The development of high-level principles on financial consumer protection was in response to a call from the G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors for the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the Financial Stability Board and other relevant international organisations to develop common principles to assist G20 countries and other interested economies to enhance financial consumer protection. The development of these principles is led by the OECD, which has formed a task force for this purpose. The HKMA is a member of this task force and has been participating actively in providing comments on the drawing up of these principles. The ten High-level Principles on Financial Consumer Protection have been published by the OECD.

  • Enhanced Deposit Protection

    The Deposit Protection Scheme (DPS) in Hong Kong was introduced in 2006 under the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance for protecting depositors in Hong Kong. It is administered by an independent statutory body - Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board (the Board). The day-to-day operation of the Board is undertaken by the HKMA. Both the Board and the HKMA are financial safety net players in Hong Kong. They share a common objective of promoting stability of Hong Kong’s banking system.

    All licensed banks, unless exempted by the Board, are required to participate in the DPS and the current compensation limit is HK$500,000 per depositor per member bank. Deposits held by an individual or a company which are placed with Hong Kong offices of member banks, whether denominated in Hong Kong dollar, Renminbi or any other currency, are protected.

    For further information about the DPS, please visit the website of the Board or call the Board’s hotline (852) 1831 831.

Last revision date : 22 November 2019

消費者保障

除審慎監管外,金管局亦十分重視監管銀行的經營手法及操守,以保障銀行客戶的利益。有關加強保障消費者方面的工作框架,概述如下。

展開全部
全部收起
  • 促進公平對待客戶

    消費者信心和信任是支持銀行業持續發展的重要支柱,而銀行業的持續發展將有助促進銀行體系穩定。要建立及維持客戶的信心和信任,銀行應在與客戶業務交往的整個過程中公平對待客戶。近年金管局致力與銀行業界合作推動有助強化業界公平待客企業文化的各項措施。

    金管局已聯同業界制訂為銀行而設的《公平待客約章》,本港全部零售銀行已於2013年10月28日簽署,表明業界不但承諾公平待客,還會強化銀行內各階層與客戶業務交往的整個過程中的公平待客文化。

    推動良好企業文化及公平待客亦已推廣至私人財富管理行業。金管局聯同私人財富管理公會於2017年6月8日公布所有私人財富管理公會成員機構承諾履行《私人財富管理行業公平待客約章》

    兩份約章列出五項高層次原則,參考了本地與海外良好的經營手法及二十國集團的《保障金融消費者的高層次原則》。為協助實踐兩份約章的原則,金管局與業界合作提供相關措施的實例。

  • 加強資料披露及提高透明度

    銀行應向消費者提供重要資料,讓他們能了解產品的基本好處、風險及條款。《銀行營運守則》旨在提高銀行服務的透明度,從而讓客戶更能了解銀行所提供的服務。根據該守則,銀行應備有服務的書面章則及條款以供客戶查閱,其中應包括客戶使用該服務的費用、收費、罰則及有關的利率,以及客戶因使用該服務而須負上的責任和義務。所有宣傳資料亦應公正、合理、不含誤導成分。所有銀行都須全面遵守《守則》所有條文。

    銀行須指派獨立內部單位就其遵守《銀行營運守則》的情況定期進行自我評估,並向金管局匯報評估結果。金管局亦會對銀行進行現場審查,以監察它們遵守該守則的情況。

  • 促進對金融服務消費者的教育

    金管局一向致力推動金融服務消費者教育,透過宣傳各種精明和安全貼士,教導市民如何精明及負責任地使用銀行及其他金融產品及服務。

    金管局定期刊載匯思文章,以幫助消費者認識自己的權利與義務,以及了解個別投資產品的特點與風險。

    此外,金管局與其他相關的持份者緊密合作,包括香港銀行公會消費者委員會投資者及理財教育委員會*及教育局,共同提升香港市民的金融知識水平。

    * 當利用本連結參考資料時,請先詳細閱讀投資者及理財教育委員會網站主頁內的免責聲明。

  • 加強對消費者的資料及私隱的保障

    金管局預期銀行在收集、使用及保存客戶的個人資料方面遵守《個人資料(私隱)條例》。銀行亦須遵守個人資料私隱專員為了就遵守該條例作出實際指引而發布或批准的任何相關實務守則。

  • 加強保障投資者

    鑑於財富管理產品日趨多元化且複雜程度與風險各異,以及客戶對銀行特別信賴,加強保障銀行客戶日益重要,尤其是對財富管理產品認識有限的零售客戶。加上公眾對加強保障銀行客戶的期望日益提高,金管局已要求銀行除了執行其他金融監管機構制定的措施外,亦要實施多項優化措施(例如為涉及複雜性產品或風險錯配的銷售過程錄音、分隔辦理投資業務與存款業務的地方,以及就某些投資產品設立落單冷靜期等)。這些優化措施大部分為零售客戶而設,藉以為他們提供保障。考慮到私人銀行客戶和企業銀行客戶對投資的認識程度和需要,金管局在操守監管方面採取了較為務實的方法,而又維持對投資者的保障。

    同時,金管局制定政策,並發出通告或指引,以規管銀行向客戶銷售投資、保險及強制性公積金產品。

    金管局的監管模式包括對銀行進行現場審查(審查的焦點主要集中於它們遵守監管規定的情況、其內部管控制度,以及管理層的監督情況),和非現場審查(包括分析銀行提交的定期及非定期申報表及調查問卷),並不時進行喬裝客戶檢查,以了解銀行銷售投資及保險產品的情況。金管局還會監察銀行因應金管局在監管過程發現的須關注事項或違規情況而採取的補救行動。

  • 參與加強保障金融服務消費者的國際組織

    在環球金融危機爆發後,國際組織都努力加強保障金融服務消費者的政策。保障金融服務消費者的高層次原則的制定,是回應二十國組織財長及央行行長對經濟合作及發展組織(經合組織)、金融穩定委員會及其他有關國際組織的訴求,制定一致原則以協助二十國組織成員國及其他有關經濟體系加強保障金融服務消費者。經合組織特別成立了專責小組,領導制定有關原則的工作。金管局是該專責小組的成員之一,一直積極參與該小組的工作,為擬備原則提供意見。經合組織已發出十項「保障金融服務消費者的高層次原則」(英文版本)。

  • 優化存款保障

    香港的存款保障計劃於2006年根據《存款保障計劃條例》成立,為香港的存款人提供保障。該計劃由獨立法定機構香港存款保障委員會管理,而委員會的日常運作由金管局負責執行。該委員會與金管局共同維持金融安全網,促進香港銀行體系的穩定。

    除已獲香港存款保障委員會豁免,所有持牌銀行都必須參與存款保障計劃。現時的補償上限是每間成員銀行每名存款人50萬港元。由個人或公司持有及存放於成員銀行在香港辦事處的港元、人民幣或其他外幣的存款,都受到保障。

    如需更多有關存保計劃資料,請瀏覽該委員會的網站或於辦公時間內致電該會熱線(852) 1831 831。

修訂日期 : 2019年11月06日