Notes

Notes in Circulation

Hong Kong dollar notes in everyday circulation are $10, $20, $50, $100, $500 and $1,000. The $20, $50, $100, $500 and $1,000 notes are issued by the three note-issuing banks. The Government has been issuing the $10 paper notes since 2002 in response to continuing public demand and the $10 polymer notes since 2007. The $10 notes issued by two note-issuing banks in the 1990s remain legal tender, but are no longer printed.

The total value of notes in circulation in Hong Kong can be found in Monthly Statistical Bulletin and the Monetary Stability chapter of the Annual Report.

Note-issuing Banks

The Government, through the HKMA, has given authorisation to three commercial banks, namely The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, the Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited and the Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited, to issue banknotes in Hong Kong. This authorisation is accompanied by a set of terms and conditions agreed between the Government and these three note-issuing banks. Banknotes are issued by the note-issuing banks, or redeemed, against payment to, or from, the Exchange Fund in US dollars, at a specified rate of US$1 to HK$7.80 under the Linked Exchange Rate System. Banknotes issued by the note-issuing banks are printed in Hong Kong by Hong Kong Note Printing Limited (HKNPL).

Note-Printing

In April 1996, the HKMA on behalf of the Government, acquired the note printing plant in Tai Po, Hong Kong from the De La Rue Group of the UK. The plant has been operating under the name of HKNPL since then. The acquisition enables the Government, through the HKMA, to be directly involved in the production of Hong Kong currency notes, which is in line with the responsibilities conferred upon the Government under the Legal Tender Notes Issue Ordinance and the Basic Law. In March 1997, the Government sold 15 per cent of its shareholding in HKNPL to the China Banknote Printing and Minting Corporation. In October 1997, the Government sold another 30 per cent shareholding, at 10 per cent to each of the three note-issuing banks. The Government continues to exercise management control and maintains a majority stake in HKNPL, with the Chief Executive of the HKMA as the Chairman of the company.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

紙幣

流通紙幣

目前流通的港元紙幣面額分為10元、20元、50元、100元、500元和1,000元。面額20元、50元、100元、500元和1,000元的紙幣由三家發鈔銀行發行。因應公眾需求,政府在2002年發行10元紙質鈔票,並於2007年發行10元塑質鈔票。由兩家發鈔銀行於1990年代發行的10元紙幣,仍然是法定貨幣,但已停止印製。

香港的流通紙幣總值,載於 《金融數據月報》《年報》內「貨幣穩定」一章。

發鈔銀行

政府透過金管局授權三家商業銀行在香港發行銀行紙幣,這三家銀行分別為香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司、中國銀行(香港)有限公司和渣打銀行(香港)有限公司。這項授權附帶一套由政府與三家發鈔銀行協定的條款與條件。發鈔銀行發行銀行紙幣時,必須按照聯繫匯率制度以指定的匯率,即1美元兌7.80港元,向外匯基金交出美元;贖回已發行銀行紙幣時,也必須以相同匯率從外匯基金取回相應美元。發鈔銀行發行的銀行紙幣都是由香港印鈔有限公司(香港印鈔)在香港印製。

印鈔

金管局在1996年4月代表政府從英國德拉魯集團購入位於香港大埔的印鈔廠,並改名為香港印鈔有限公司。在收購後,政府便能透過金管局直接參與印製港元紙幣,符合《法定貨幣紙幣發行條例》及《基本法》賦予政府的責任。1997年3月,政府將香港印鈔的15%股權售予中國印鈔造幣總公司。同年10月,政府再向三家發鈔銀行合共出售香港印鈔30%股權(即每家發鈔銀行10%)。政府仍為香港印鈔的大股東,對該公司行使控制權,並由金管局總裁擔任公司主席。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日