Resolution Planning

Having the appropriate set of resolution powers is a necessary, but not in itself a sufficient, condition for orderly resolution. Financial institutions need to be ‘resolvable’, which means that they need to be organised in such a way that it is feasible and credible for the resolution authorities to resolve them in an ‘orderly manner’, i.e. in a way that preserves the continuity of critical financial functions without significant adverse consequences for the financial system and the wider economy, and without exposing taxpayers to losses.

Under the Financial Institutions (Resolution) Ordinance (FIRO), the Monetary Authority (MA), as the resolution authority for banking sector entities which include all authorized institutions (AIs), may conduct resolution planning for individual AIs well in advance of any actual failure. Broadly speaking, resolution planning for an AI involves:

  • gathering information from the AI;
  • setting and operationalising a preferred resolution strategy for the AI;
  • assessing the AI’s resolvability; and
  • addressing impediments to resolution.

Through the resolution planning process, the MA may work with the relevant AI to implement any necessary changes to its legal structure, business operations and/or structure of financial resources necessary for enhancing resolvability so that its preferred resolution strategy can be implemented effectively if needed. The FIRO Code of Practice Chapter RA-2 "The HKMA's Approach to Resolution Planning" provides guidance on the MA's approach to resolution planning for AIs.

As explained in the FIRO Code of Practice chapter LAC-1 “Resolution Planning - LAC requirements”, in normal times, resolution planning is generally expected to be prioritised for any locally-incorporated AI with total consolidated assets of more than HK$150 billion as their non-viability would likely pose a risk to the stability and effective working of the financial system of Hong Kong (including to the continued provision of critical financial functions).

Resolution planning, including resolvability assessments and the relevant actions, is an ongoing process that seeks to ensure that failure of an AI could be managed in an orderly manner in view of the AI’s evolving structure and operations.

Last revision date : 10 September 2019

處置規劃

具備一系列合適的處置權力是有秩序處置的必要條件,但僅此並不足夠。金融機構應符合處置可行性,意思是其組織方式需讓處置機制當局能夠可行及具公信力地有序處置。換言之,能保障關鍵金融功能持續進行,而不會令金融體系及整體經濟受到重大不利影響,也不會令納稅人承受損失。

根據《金融機構(處置機制)條例》(《處置機制條例》)金融管理專員作為銀行界實體(包括所有認可機構)的處置機制當局,可遠在個別認可機構實際倒閉前進行處置規劃。廣泛而言,認可機構的處置規劃涉及:

  • 向認可機構收集資料;
  • 制訂認可機構的首選處置策略及使該策略能夠具體執行;
  • 評估認可機構的處置可行性;及
  • 應對處置的障礙。

透過處置規劃程序,金融管理專員可與相關認可機構合作,按需要推行提高處置可行性所需有關法律架構、業務運作及/或財務資源架構的變動,令首選處置策略能夠有效實施。《處置機制條例》下的《實務守則》篇章RA-2「金管局採取的處置規劃方法」 就金融管理專員對認可機構所採取的處置規劃方法提供指引。

正如《處置機制條例》下的《實務守則》篇章LAC-1「處置規劃──吸收虧損能力規定」所述,在正常時期,一般預期會優先處理綜合資產總額超過1,500億港元的在本地成立為法團的認可機構的處置規劃,原因是這類認可機構一旦不可持續經營,便很有可能對香港金融體系的穩定及有效運作(包括關鍵金融功能的持續提供)構成風險。

處置規劃程序(包括處置可行性評估及相關行動)是持續進行的,力求確保認可機構架構及運作不斷發展變動下,仍能有秩序地處理其倒閉的情況。

修訂日期 : 2019年09月10日