Resolution Framework

The Financial Institutions (Resolution) Ordinance (FIRO), which came into effect on 7 July 2017, establishes the legal basis for a cross-sectoral resolution regime in Hong Kong which is designed to be compliant with the international resolution standards set out in the Financial Stability Board’s (FSB) Key Attributes of Effective Resolution Regimes for Financial Institutions (Key Attributes). Under the FIRO, the Monetary Authority (MA) is the resolution authority for banking sector entities which include all authorized institutions (AIs).

Many financial institutions operate across different sectors. According to the FIRO, the MA is also designated as the lead resolution authority, with lead responsibility for the resolution planning, and, if needed, resolution execution of all of the existing cross-sectoral groups in Hong Kong that include banking sector entities.

The Resolution Office within the HKMA is responsible for the implementation of the resolution regime for AIs. It is operationally independent and has a direct reporting line to the Chief Executive of the HKMA (i.e. the MA).

As the resolution authority for AIs, the MA is responsible for:

  • setting resolution standards for AIs;
  • undertaking ex-ante resolution planning and resolvability assessments for AIs;
  • identifying and requiring AIs to remove impediments to their orderly resolution; and
  • where necessary, executing orderly resolution of any AIs that are likely to fail or that have failed through the use of resolution powers under the FIRO.

The FSB conducted a Peer Review of Hong Kong which covered, among other things, Hong Kong’s resolution regime and published its report in February 2018. The report confirmed that, with the introduction of the resolution regime under the FIRO and associated regulations, Hong Kong has legal powers and safeguards related to resolution that are consistent with the requirements of the Key AttributesThe report also observed that Hong Kong is one of the few FSB jurisdictions with a fully cross-sectoral resolution regime.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

處置框架

金融機構(處置機制)條例》(《處置機制條例》)於2017年7月7日生效,為香港的跨界別處置機制建立法律依據,旨在符合金融穩定理事會發出的《金融機構有效處置機制的主要元素》(「《主要元素》」)(英文版本)內所載的國際處置標準。根據《處置機制條例》,金融管理專員為銀行界實體(包括所有認可機構)的處置機制當局。

不少金融機構的業務往往跨越不同界別。根據《處置機制條例》,金融管理專員同時獲指定為主導處置機制當局,負有主導責任為為香港所有現有銀行界實體所屬的跨界別集團進行處置規劃,並在有需要的情況下執行處置。

金管局的處置機制辦公室負責實施認可機構的處置機制的相關工作。該辦公室獨立運作,並直接向金管局總裁(即金融管理專員)匯報。

作為認可機構的處置機制當局,金融管理專員負責:

  • 訂立認可機構的處置標準;
  • 進行認可機構的事前處置規劃及處置可行性評估;
  • 識別及要求認可機構排除影響其有秩序處置的障礙;及
  • 在必要時透過運用《處置機制條例》下的處置權力,對瀕臨倒閉或已經倒閉的認可機構執行有秩序處置。

金融穩定理事會為香港進行同業審議(英文版本),審議範圍包括香港的處置機制,並於2018年2月發表有關報告,確認香港透過《處置機制條例》及相關規例引入處置機制,已具備符合《主要元素》就處置機制的法定權力及保障措施。報告亦指出香港是少數設有全面跨界別處置機制的金融穩定理事會成員地區之一。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日