History of Note-issuing Banks in Hong Kong

Hong Kong’s currency notes are issued by commercial banks, except for $10 notes, which are issued by the Government.  Currently, there are three note-issuing banks in Hong Kong, namely The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, the Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited and the Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited.  In Hong Kong’s history, there have been eight note-issuing banks in total.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019