Regulatory Regime for Stored Value Facilities

Licensing of Stored Value Facilities (SVFs)

The issue of the SVFs is subject to a licensing regime administered by the Monetary Authority (MA). The MA may grant an SVF licence to the applicant only if the MA is satisfied that all the minimum criteria applicable to the applicant are fulfilled, and if the SVF licence is granted, the minimum criteria will continue to be fulfilled in relation to the applicant as a licensee.

Explanatory Notes on Licensing for SVFs

The Explanatory Notes on Licensing for Stored Value Facilities intends to provide guidance about the licensing regime established by the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance (PSSVFO), and the policies and approach of the MA in implementing it. Parties applying for an SVF licence are therefore advised to familiarise themselves not only with this note but also with the PSSVFO and the relevant guidelines issued by the MA.

If you have any enquiry regarding application procedure, please write to the HKMA at SVFComplaintEnquiry@hkma.gov.hk or contact the HKMA at 2878 1188.

Supervision of SVF Licensees

Supervisory requirements

The Guideline on Supervision of Stored Value Facility Licensees (Guideline) is issued by the HKMA pursuant to section 54(1A)(b) of the PSSVFO. It aims to set out the high level supervisory principles that the HKMA adopts in assessing whether certain requirements imposed on SVF licensees are complied with. In order to fulfil the relevant statutory obligations or other relevant provisions of the PSSVFO, SVF licensees should strive to adhere to those supervisory principles as set out in the Guideline.

To help licensees in better understanding the standards by which the principles set out in the Guideline should be applied, the HKMA issues the Practice Note on Supervision of Stored Value Facility Licensees to provide additional guidance in respect of specific sections or paragraphs of the Guideline as and when necessary.

SVF licensees are also required to have in place adequate and appropriate systems of controls for anti-money laundering and counter-financing of terrorism (AML/CFT) in order to ensure compliance with relevant statutory requirements. A guideline is also issued by the HKMA pursuant to section 54(1A)(b) of the PSSVFO to provide practical guidance in this regard.

Major regulatory tools

The major tools that the HKMA intends to use in regulating licensees, in general, include:

  • on-site examinations
  • off-site reviews
  • independent assessments
  • review of auditors’ reports
  • meetings with the management of the licensee

Regulatory Action

The MA is empowered to impose sanctions under section 33Q of the PSSVFO. The Guideline on Exercising Power to Order a Pecuniary Penalty is issued under section 54(1E) of the PSSVFO to set out the manner in which the power to order a pecuniary penalty under section 33Q(2)(a) of the PSSVFO is to be exercised.

A Guidance Note provides an overview of how the HKMA considers and recognises cooperation in investigations and enforcement proceedings under the PSSVFO and other ordinances.

Register of SVF licensees

The Register of SVF licensees (the Register) is established and kept by the MA pursuant to the PSSVFO. It contains, in respect of each licensee, the name of the licensee; the address of the principal place of business in Hong Kong of the licensee; the licence number of the licence held by the licensee; and any other particulars of the licensee that the MA considers appropriate.

Enquiries about SVF regulation

If you have any enquiry regarding the regulation of SVF, please write to the HKMA, contact the HKMA at SVFComplaintEnquiry@hkma.gov.hk or 2878 1188.

Complaints about SVF licensees

Click here if you have any enquiry in relation to complaints about SVF Licensees.

Please note that all telephone conversations about enquiries and complaints between you and the HKMA may be recorded.

Other Topics about Stored Value Facilities and Retail Payment Systems
Last revision date : 26 August 2019

儲值支付工具的監管制度

儲值支付工具發牌制度

發行儲值支付工具須受金融管理專員管理的發牌制度規管。金融管理專員必須信納就申請人而適用的最低準則均獲符合,以及如批給該儲值支付工具牌照,該等最低準則均會繼續就申請人(作為持牌人)而獲符合,方可向申請人批給儲值支付工具牌照。

儲值支付工具發牌制度摘要說明

《儲值支付工具發牌制度摘要說明》旨在就《支付系統及儲值支付工具條例》(《條例》)所設立的發牌制度,以及金融管理專員實施該發牌制度的原則與方法提供指引。除參考本摘要說明外,有意申領儲值支付工具牌照的人士還須詳閱《條例》及金融管理專員發出的其他相關指引。

如對申請程序有任何查詢,可郵寄至金管局或電郵: SVFComplaintEnquiry@hkma.gov.hk 或致電:2878 1188聯絡我們。

儲值支付工具持牌人的監管

監管規定

《 儲值支付工具持牌人監管指引》(《指引》) 是金管局根據《條例》第54(1A)(b)條而發出的指引,旨在闡述金管局在評估持牌人是否遵守相關監管要求時所採納的高層次監管原則。持牌人應盡力遵循指引所闡述的原則和要求,務求符合《條例》所列載的相關法定義務或其他有關規定。

為使持牌人更了解應用《指引》所載原則的標準,金管局亦發出了《儲值支付工具持牌人監管的應用說明》,就《指引》的特定章節提供附加指導。

持牌人亦應設有健全和適當的打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的管控制度以符合相關法定規定。為此,金管局亦根據《條例》第54(1A)(b)條發出了相關指引。

主要監管工具

一般來說,金管局擬為規管持牌人而採用的主要工具包括:

  • 現場審查
  • 非現場審查
  • 獨立評估
  • 檢閱核數師報告
  • 與持牌人的管理層會面

監管行動

《條例》第33Q條賦予金融管理專員權力施加制裁。《行使命令繳付罰款權力指引》是根據《條例》第54(1E)條發出的,以列明以何種方式行使根據《條例》第33Q(2)(a)條命令繳付罰款的權力。

金管局發出《指引》概述其在《條例》及其他條例下如何就調查及執法程序中所獲提供的合作予以考慮和肯定。

儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊

金融管理專員根據《條例》設立和備存一份儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊(紀錄冊),載有每名持牌人的名稱、在香港的主要營業地址、所持有的牌照編號,以及在金融管理專員認為適宜的前提下載有該持牌人的其他詳情。

有關監管儲值支付工具的查詢

如對儲值支付工具的監管有任何查詢,可郵寄至金管局或電郵: SVFComplaintEnquiry@hkma.gov.hk 或致電:2878 1188聯絡我們。

有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴

閣下如對投訴儲值支付工具持牌人有任何查詢,請按此處

請注意,所有有關查詢及投訴的電話談話內容可能會被錄音。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日