Participation in Multilateral Agencies & International Forums

The HKMA participates actively in multilateral institutions and international forums to keep Hong Kong in the forefront of financial and monetary developments.

Expand All
Collapse All
  • Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB)

    Hong Kong became a member of the AIIB in 2017. AIIB is a multilateral development bank set up to foster sustainable economic development, create wealth and improve infrastructure connectivity in Asia by investing in infrastructure and other productive sectors. The HKMA supports Hong Kong’s participation in AIIB and its activities.

  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

    Hong Kong is a member of APEC, and the HKMA participates in and supports the APEC Finance Ministers’ Process. In 2015, the APEC Finance Ministers launched the Cebu Action Plan (CAP), with the goal of building an APEC community that is more financially integrated, transparent, resilient, and connected. The CAP consists of four action pillars: (i) promoting financial integration; (ii) advancing fiscal reforms and transparency; (iii) enhancing financial resiliency; and (iv) accelerating infrastructure development and financing. The HKMA has and will continue to contribute to Hong Kong’s implementation of the CAP.

  • ASEAN+3 Chiang Mai Initiative Multilateralisation (CMIM)

    The HKMA is one of the participating parties of the Chiang Mai Initiative Multilaterialisation (CMIM) Agreement.  The CMIM is a regional multilateral arrangement established in March 2010 under the aegis of ASEAN+3.  The aim of the CMIM is to provide short-term USD support via currency swaps to participants facing liquidity shortages and/or balance of payments difficulties.  The HKMA works closely with both ASEAN and Plus 3 (i.e. China, Japan and Korea) central banks and finance ministries in driving a range of CMIM-related issues to enhance the design and operational readiness of CMIM, and improve the governance and capabilities of the ASEAN+3 Macroeconomic Research Office (AMRO), the macroeconomic surveillance unit under the CMIM.

  • Bank for International Settlements (BIS)

    The HKMA became a member of the BIS in 1996. The HKMA participates in the BIS bimonthly meetings, as well as in BIS committees including the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, the Committee on the Global Financial System, the Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures, and the Markets Committee.

    The BIS opened its Representative Office for Asia and the Pacific in Hong Kong in 1998, underlying the strategic location of Hong Kong in the region and the attractions that Hong Kong can offer as an international financial centre. The Representative Office is the first overseas office of the BIS and it serves as a regional centre for the activities of the BIS in Asia.

  • Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS)

    In June 2009, the HKMA joined the BCBS, the leading international forum for co-operation on banking supervisory matters. The HKMA has contributed to initiatives such as enhancing Basel II and finalising the Basel III framework. The HKMA is a member of the BCBS and its governing body, the Group of Governors and Heads of Supervision (GHOS) and is represented on various BCBS working groups, including the Policy Development Group (PDG) and the Supervision and Implementation Group (SIG).

  • Executives' Meeting of East Asia and Pacific Central Banks (EMEAP)

    The HKMA actively participates in EMEAP. The deputy governors of EMEAP meet twice annually, while the first meeting of Governors was held in Tokyo in July 1996 and has been held once a year subsequently. The HKMA hosted the 4th EMEAP Governors' Meeting in July 1999 and the 14th EMEAP Governors' Meeting in July 2009.

    The Monetary and Financial Stability Committee (MFSC) was established in 2007 to enhance the macro-monitoring and crisis management mechanisms of EMEAP. Three working groups have been established by EMEAP to strengthen co-operation among regional central banks and monetary authorities in specific areas such as payments and market infrastructures, financial market development and banking supervision. In addition, the IT Directors’ Meeting (ITDM) enables member banks/authorities to exchange information and ideas regarding IT management and development issues such as FinTech and cybersecurity. The HKMA participates in the MFSC, the three working groups and the ITDM as members.

  • Financial Stability Board (FSB)

    Hong Kong is a member of the FSB, formerly the Financial Stability Forum (FSF). The FSF, which was established by the G7, first convened in April 1999 with a view to reducing vulnerability and safeguarding the smooth functioning of financial markets through enhanced information exchange and co-operation in financial supervision and surveillance. Hong Kong's inclusion in the FSF, together with four other non-G7 economies (Australia, the Netherlands, Singapore and Switzerland) is a recognition of its status as a systemically important financial centre.

    In April 2009, the FSF was re-established as the FSB with an expanded membership and broadened mandate. The structure of the FSB consists of a Chairperson, a Plenary, a Steering Committee, and a Secretariat. Under this structure, three Standing Committees on: (a) Assessment of Vulnerabilities; (b) Supervisory and Regulatory Cooperation; and (c) Standards Implementation; were established to carry out the work of the FSB. Hong Kong is a member of the Plenary meeting and participates in all three Standing Committees. The HKMA regularly attends meetings of the FSB to exchange views on potential vulnerabilities in the international financial system.

  • International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank Group

    Hong Kong participates in the activities of the two organisations, IMF and World Bank Group, as part of the People's Republic of China delegation.

    As in the case of the ADB, the HKMA co-ordinates matters relating to Hong Kong's contact with the two organisations. These include attending their joint Annual Meetings, co-ordinating the IMF's Article IV Consultation on Hong Kong and participating in the exchange of information.

    In January 1997, the HKMA joined the New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB), which is a standby credit facility provided to the IMF to forestall or cope with an impairment of the international monetary system or to deal with an exceptional threat to the stability of the system. The HKMA's participation in the NAB underscores the status of Hong Kong as an international financial centre and provides Hong Kong with an additional channel of information on likely sources of financial instability.

    The HKMA is committed to improving transparency and public access to Hong Kong's economic data by meeting standards expected of a leading international financial centre. Accordingly, Hong Kong subscribed to the IMF Special Data Dissemination Standard (SDDS) in October 1996. Hong Kong has complied with the enhanced SDDS on international reserves and foreign currency liquidity since May 2000.

    Hong Kong has participated in the IMF pilot project for the voluntary release of Article IV Staff Report and Selected Issues Paper. The first Article IV reports on Hong Kong was published in March 2000 and Hong Kong has continued to participate in the voluntary publication of the Article IV reports since then (for details of the latest Staff Report and Selected Issues Paper, please see relevant pages on the websites of the IMF and Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region).

    In September 2000, the Sub-Office of the IMF's Resident Representative Office in China commenced operation in Hong Kong. The Sub-Office is responsible for gathering information on financial and monetary developments in Asia and analysing their impact on Hong Kong. In the same month, the International Finance Corporation, the private sector arm of the World Bank Group, established an office in Hong Kong as its regional headquarters for East Asia and the Pacific.

  • Group of Twenty (G20)

    The G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors was established in 1999 to bring together systemically important developed and developing economies to discuss key issues in the global economy.

    The G20 plays an active role in global efforts to promote international financial market reform. The first G20 Summit on Financial Markets and the World Economy was held in November 2008, and an action plan for reforming and strengthening the international financial system was set out in the Summit Declaration. Further recommendations to strengthen the financial system were made at the London Summit in April 2009. In view of the rapid technological advances, the G20 has also been looking into the risks and challenges, as well as opportunities, arising from technological transformation and innovation, including fintech. Hong Kong participates in various G20 meetings as a member of the People's Republic of China's delegation and monitors closely the latest developments in implementing G20 recommendations both at home and abroad.

  • Other Central Banking Forums

    HKMA is a member of SEACEN (South East Asian Central Banks) and SEANZA (South East Asia, New Zealand and Australia), and HKMA representatives also attend other central banking forums, including the SEANZA Forum of Banking Supervisors.

  • Seminars and Conferences Organised by the HKMA

    The HKMA organises training seminars and conferences for central bankers in the region. These activities facilitate the exchange of experience and technical co-operation with other central bankers and international experts in the monetary and banking areas. HKMA staff have also presented papers at international conferences.

Other Topics about International & Regional Financial Co-operation
Last revision date : 26 August 2019

參與多邊組織及國際論壇

金管局積極參與多邊組織及國際論壇,使香港在金融與貨幣發展方面保持先驅位置。

展開全部
全部收起
  • 亞洲基礎設施投資銀行(亞投行)

    香港在2017年成為亞投行的成員。亞投行是一所多邊發展銀行,其宗旨是通過在基礎設施和其他生產性領域的投資,促進經濟可持續發展、創造財富並改善基礎設施互聯互通。金管局支持香港參與亞投行的工作。

  • 亞太經濟合作組織(亞太經合組織)

    香港是亞太經合組織成員,而金管局亦有參與及支持亞太經合組織財政部長進程。亞太經合組織財長在2015年推行宿霧行動綱領以建設一個在金融領域更加融合、透明、有韌力和互聯互通的共同體。宿霧行動綱領包含四個支柱﹕ (一)促進金融一體化; (二) 推進財政改革和提高財政政策透明度; (三)提高金融系統抵禦衝擊的能力; 及(四)加快基礎設施發展和融資。金管局將繼續協助香港落實宿霧行動綱領。

  • 東盟+3清邁倡議多邊化

    金管局為「清邁倡議多邊化」協議簽署方之一。「清邁倡議多邊化」是一個在東盟+3框架下的區域多邊安排,於2010年3月啟用。該安排的目的是為在有需要時向出現流動資金短缺及/或國際收支危機的成員透過貨幣互換提供短期美元資金援助。金管局與東盟+3(即中國、日本和韓國)央行和財政部緊密合作,積極推動「清邁倡議多邊化」相關事宜,包括優化「清邁倡議多邊化」安排的設計及加強可操作性,與加強「清邁倡議多邊化」機制下的宏觀經濟監察機構 - 東盟+3宏觀經濟研究辦公室的管治及運作能力。

  • 國際結算銀行

    金管局在1996年成為國際結算銀行的成員。金管局參與國際結算銀行的雙月例會,以及其下多個委員會,包括巴塞爾銀行監管委員會,全球金融體系委員會,支付及金融基建委員會和市埸委員會。

    國際結算銀行在1998年於香港設立亞太區代辦處,彰顯了香港在亞太區的策略地位,以及香港作為國際金融中心的優勢。代辦處是國際結算銀行首個海外辦事處,亦是國際結算銀行在亞洲的活動的地區協調中心。

  • 巴塞爾銀行監管委員會(巴塞爾委員會)

    金管局於2009年6月加入銀行業監管合作的主要國際組織──巴塞爾委員會。金管局參與該委員會的不同項目,包括按照二十國集團在2010年11月認可的規則優化《資本協定二》及完成制定《資本協定三》的工作。金管局是巴塞爾委員會及其管治機構(即央行行長及監管機構首長集團)的成員,並且參與巴塞爾委員會轄下多個工作小組,包括政策發展小組和監管及實施準則小組。

  • 東亞及太平洋地區中央銀行會議

    金管局積極參與東亞及太平洋地區中央銀行會議(EMEAP)。各央行的副行長每年舉行兩次會議,而首屆行長會議於1996年7月在東京舉行,其後每年舉行一次行長會議。金管局分別在1999年7月及2009年7月主辦第4屆及第14屆行長級會議。

    EMEAP轄下的貨幣金融穩定委員會於2007年成立,以加強該組織的宏觀經濟監察及風險管理安排。EMEAP亦成立了3個工作小組,以加強區內的中央銀行與貨幣管理機構在支付及市場基建、金融市場發展及銀行監管等具體環節上的合作。EMEAP成員亦通過資訊科技總監會議就有關於資訊科技管理和發展的問題(例如金融科技及網絡安全)交換資訊和意見。金管局是貨幣金融穩定委員會、3個工作小組以及資訊科技總監會議的成員。

  • 金融穩定理事會

    香港是金融穩定理事會(前為金融穩定論壇)的成員。

    金融穩定論壇是由七大工業國在1999年4月成立,目的是透過加強在金融監管及監察方面的訊息交流和合作,減少金融市場受衝擊的機會及致力保持其運作暢順。香港以非七大工業國成員身分(還有澳洲、荷蘭、新加坡及瑞士)加入該論壇,反映香港在全球金融體系中享有的重要地位。

    於2009年4月,金融穩定論壇改組為金融穩定理事會,成員有所增加,其宗旨亦擴展至更廣範疇。金融穩定理事會的新架構包括主席、全體會議、督導委員會及秘書處。設有三個常設委員會,以協助執行其工作,這些委員會包括:(a)風險評估委員會、(b)監管合作委員會,以及(c)標準執行委員會。香港是全體會議成員之一,並參與全部三個常設委員會。金管局定期參加金融穩定理事會會議,並就國際金融體系的潛在風險與其他成員交換意見。

  • 國際貨幣基金組織(基金組織)與世界銀行集團(世界銀行)

    香港不是基金組織世界銀行的成員,而是以中華人民共和國代表團成員的身分參與這兩個組織。

    與亞行方面的安排一樣,金管局負責統籌有關香港與基金組織及世界銀行的聯繫,包括出席其聯合年會、統籌基金組織根據《基金組織協定》第四條就香港經濟情況進行的諮詢,以及參與資訊交流。

    在1997年1月,金管局參與新借款安排。這是向基金組織提供備用資金的安排,以便基金組織預防或應付損害國際貨幣體系的危機,或處理影響國際貨幣體系的穩定的嚴峻威脅。金管局參與新借款安排,凸顯了香港的國際金融中心地位,並為香港提供額外的資訊渠道,以得悉可能威脅金融穩定的問題。

    金管局不斷提高香港經濟數據的透明度,以達到作為主要國際金融中心的應有標準。香港在1996年10月實施基金組織的公布數據特殊標準,並自2000年5月起按照強化的公布數據特殊標準,發放有關國際儲備及外幣流動資金的數字

    香港參與了自願公布第四條評審員報告及專題研究報告的基金組織試驗計劃。香港在2000年3月首次公布基金組織就香港進行的第四條磋商的報告,並自此繼續自願參與公布有關報告的計劃(最新的評審員報告及專題研究報告詳細內容請參閱基金組織香港特別行政區政府財經事務及庫務局相關網頁。

    基金組織駐華代表處香港分處於2000年9月啟用,負責收集有關亞洲金融與貨幣發展趨勢的資料,並分析該等發展趨勢對香港的影響。同月,世界銀行屬下專注私營部門發展的國際金融公司在香港設立辦事處,作為其於東亞及太平洋地區的總部。

  • 二十國集團

    二十國集團財長及中央銀行行長會議於1999年成立,目的是集合在全球金融體系中有重要地位的發展及發展中經濟體系,以討論全球經濟中的重要事項。

    二十國集團一直積極參與推動改革國際金融市場的全球行動。第一屆二十國集團金融市場及全球經濟高峰會在2008年11月舉行,有關的峰會宣言列載了改革及加強國際金融體系的行動計劃。此外,在2009年4月舉行的倫敦高峰會上,二十國集團提出了鞏固金融體系的進一步建議。世界各地現正實施這些行動及建議。鑑於科技發展迅速,二十國集團亦著力研究科技轉型及創新(包括金融科技)所帶來的風險、挑戰及機遇。香港以中華人民共和國代表團成員的身分參與該集團的不同會議,並密切監察本港及海外實施二十國集團建議的最新發展。

  • 其他中央銀行組織

    金管局是東南亞中央銀行組織(SEACEN)及東南亞新西蘭澳洲中央銀行組織(SEANZA) 的成員,另金管局代表亦出席其他中央銀行組織,其中包括SEANZA舉辦的銀行監管機構會議。

  • 金管局舉辦的研討會及會議

    金管局在香港為區內中央銀行的人員舉辦研討會和會議,藉此在貨幣及銀行事務上交流經驗,並進行技術合作。金管局人員亦在國際會議上發表文章。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日