The Northbound Scheme

  • Operational arrangements
    FIND OUT MORE

    Eligible investors in Hong Kong and Macao may invest in eligible investment products distributed by Mainland banks via the designated channel under the Northbound Scheme. Cross-boundary fund remittances are mainly undertaken by banks in Hong Kong and Macao and distribution of investment products on the Mainland is undertaken by banks in the Mainland.

    Each investor should open only one Hong Kong bank account with cross-boundary remittance function (“dedicated remittance account”) and one Mainland bank account with investment function (“dedicated investment account”) at all times. The relevant banks in the two places will pair the two accounts with each other, and the flow of funds between the accounts will be subject to closed-loop management.

    For eligible banks in Hong Kong, they may partner with one or more Mainland banks to embark on Northbound Scheme activities. However, Hong Kong investors should choose only one Mainland partner bank to open a dedicated investment account. (If investors already maintain an account with investment function with the Mainland partner bank, they may designate the account as the dedicated investment account).

    All cross-boundary remittances between the dedicated remittance account and the dedicated investment account should be conducted in renminbi via the Cross-border Interbank Payment System (CIPS) and subject to quota management. The funds will also be subject to closed-loop funds flow management, that is, to ensure that the dedicated remittance account is the only source of investment principal and the only account to which funds are remitted back via the same route under the Northbound Scheme. In addition, dedicated remittance accounts should only be used for remittance purpose under the Northbound Scheme and should not be used for the provision of any other services of the Hong Kong banks. If investors would like to withdraw their principal and investment proceeds, they can remit such funds from the dedicated investment account to the dedicated remittance account according to the arrangements above.

    Operational arrangements of the Northbound Scheme:

    Operational arrangements of the Northbound Scheme

  • Account opening and investment process
    FIND OUT MORE

    Eligible Hong Kong investors who are interested in participating in the Northbound Scheme are required to:

    1. Open a new bank account with remittance function with an eligible Hong Kong bank as the “dedicated remittance account”;
    2. Open an account with investment function with one of the Mainland banks partnering with the eligible Hong Kong bank as the “dedicated investment account”. If the investor already has an account with investment function with the Mainland partner bank, the investor may instead designate the relevant account as the “dedicated investment account” under the Northbound Scheme;
    3. The relevant banks in both places will pair the dedicated remittance account in Hong Kong with the dedicated investment account on the Mainland;
    4. Remit renminbi funds to the dedicated investment account on the Mainland via the dedicated remittance account in Hong Kong. The investor may use his/her own renminbi funds to invest or exchange for renminbi funds in Hong Kong’s offshore market;
    5. Purchase eligible investment products distributed by the Mainland partner bank via the dedicated investment account.

    Account opening and investment process of Northbound Scheme

    Investors may apply for a new dedicated remittance account with a Hong Kong bank under the Northbound Scheme according to the prevailing arrangements. For dedicated investment accounts with Mainland banks, investors may open a new dedicated investment account with a Mainland bank according to prevailing Mainland regulations or designate an existing renminbi account as the dedicated investment account under the Northbound Scheme. If an investor chooses to open a dedicated investment account with the relevant Mainland partner bank in person, he/she may submit information via the online channels provided by the relevant Mainland partner bank, or be assisted by the relevant Hong Kong bank to fill in and transfer the required account opening documents to the relevant Mainland partner bank beforehand. The investor can then travel to the Mainland to complete the account opening procedures after preliminary approval by the relevant Mainland partner bank.

    After the successful opening of a dedicated remittance account and a dedicated investment account, investors may exchange for renminbi in Hong Kong (or use their own renminbi funds) for remittance to the dedicated investment account via the dedicated remittance account for investment purpose. Hong Kong investors may seek further information from participating Hong Kong and Mainland banks of the Northbound Scheme on the operation of the Northbound Scheme and the products and/or services offered by individual banks under the Northbound Scheme. In general, Hong Kong investors may log onto the online or mobile platform of the Mainland partner banks to browse further product information under the Northbound Scheme and give instructions to trade eligible investment products.

    Investors should be aware that they may maintain only one dedicated remittance account in Hong Kong and one dedicated investment account on the Mainland at all times. If a Hong Kong bank or a Mainland partner bank becomes aware that an investor has more than one dedicated remittance or more than one investment account, the banks will take follow-up actions regarding the non-compliance, including but not limited to suspension of the investor from engaging in the Northbound Scheme; disposal of the products held by the investor and termination of his/her dedicated investment account and dedicated remittance account; or allowing the investor to hold the products until redemption at maturity while forbidding investment in any new products.

  • Eligible investors and investment products
    FIND OUT MORE

    Eligible investors in Hong Kong under the Northbound Scheme should:

    • Hold a Hong Kong Identity Card (including both permanent and non-permanent residents;
    • Invest in their personal capacity (but not as joint-name or corporate customers); and
    • Be assessed by Hong Kong banks as not being a vulnerable customer1.

    Eligible investment products under the Northbound Scheme include:

    • Public fixed income wealth management products (which primarily invest in bonds and deposits) and equity wealth management products (which primarily invest in equities) issued by Mainland wealth management firms and being assessed by the issuers as products with risk rating of “R1” to “R3” (excluding wealth management products for the purpose of cash management);
    • Public securities investment funds (excluding listed funds) being assessed by Mainland public fund managers and Mainland distributing banks as products with risk rating of “R1” to “R3”

    For reference:

     


    1 Vulnerable customer refers to a customer whose ability to understand the associated risks of his/her investment and withstand the potential losses of the investment is limited. In determining whether a customer is a vulnerable customer, banks will take a holistic view of the circumstances of the customer, including the level of financial sophistication (e.g. investment experience), the state of mind (e.g. ability to make investment decision) and the level of wealth.

     

    • The aggregate quota under the Northbound Scheme is RMB 150 billion, shared by Hong Kong and Macao. The individual investor quota is RMB 1 million.
    • The usage of both the aggregate quota and the individual investor quota is calculated on a net cross-boundary remittance basis:

      Usage of the aggregate quota under the Northbound Scheme = Cumulative remittances to the Mainland under the Northbound Scheme – Cumulative remittances from the Mainland under the Northbound Scheme
    • For example, a “Northbound Scheme” investor remits RMB 0.8 million to the Mainland to purchase investment products. Then the usage of his/her individual investor quota will be RMB 0.8 million. If the investor subsequently sells part of the investment and remits some of the gains and principal, say RMB 0.2 million, back to Hong Kong, his or her individual investor quota usage will be RMB 0.6 million (i.e. RMB 0.8 million - RMB 0.2 million = RMB 0.6 million).
    • When the usage of the aggregate quota or the individual investor quota under the Northbound Scheme reaches its upper limit, the investor will no longer be able to remit funds to the Mainland from Hong Kong under the Northbound Scheme. However, remittances from the Mainland back to Hong Kong will not be affected, and investors can continue to invest with funds already remitted to the dedicated investment account.

    Cross-boundary renminbi remittance to the Mainland under the Northbound Scheme is not subject to the daily maximum quota per person for individual Hong Kong residents’ inward remittance to bank accounts under the same name on the Mainland. For details, please refer to the Implementation Arrangements for the Cross-boundary Wealth Management Connect Pilot Scheme in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area announced by the HKMA.

    Northbound Scheme quota

  • Investor protection
    FIND OUT MORE

    The transactions carried out by Northbound Scheme investors via their dedicated investment accounts with Mainland banks are subject to the protection of the Mainland laws and regulations and regulatory regime.

    • Prior to opening the dedicated remittance/investment account, investors should have a thorough understanding of the following:
    • Prior to making an investment decision, investors should:
    • For the initial stage, the product scope under the Northbound Scheme mainly covers relatively simple investment products of low- to-medium risk. In order to strengthen information disclosure to investors, the relevant Mainland banks will:
      • Conduct due diligence on the investment products they distribute under the Northbound Scheme and assess the risk ratings of these investment products according to the relevant supervisory requirements.
      • Provide adequate product information to potential investors to enable them to make informed investment decisions.
      • Assess the risk tolerance level of investors and ensure that the risk profile of investors matches the risk ratings of investment products. Specifically, banks should only sell investment products with risk ratings that match the risk profile of investors. However, upon request by an investor, a bank may sell a public securities investment fund with a risk rating that is higher than the investor’s risk tolerance level to him/her after issuing a special warning to the investor and confirmation by the investor.
    • Generally speaking, Hong Kong banks and the Mainland partner banks will not proactively conduct cross-boundary solicitation or make cross-boundary recommendation. Investors may make enquiries about the investment services and individual investment products to a Mainland partner bank directly or request the Mainland partner bank to provide them with related information in order to enable them to make informed investment decisions. However, if an investor chooses to visit a Mainland bank in person to make an investment, the Mainland bank concerned may conduct solicitation or make recommendation.
  • Complaint handling mechanism
    FIND OUT MORE

    Complaints about investment products and selling process

    • Hong Kong investors may lodge complaints about Northbound Scheme investment products and services with the relevant Mainland banks. Hong Kong banks will also assist investors in referring such complaints to the Mainland partner banks for follow-up.

    Complaints about cross-boundary fund remittances

    • For complaints about cross-boundary fund remittances, Hong Kong investors may lodge the complaint with the relevant Hong Kong banks.

    Should Hong Kong investors consider that the relevant Hong Kong banks have failed to duly handle their complaints, they may lodge a complaint with the HKMA. For complaints involving Hong Kong banks, please refer to the following information: https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/smart-consumers/complaints/complaints-about-banks/. For complaints involving Mainland banks, Hong Kong investors may lodge their complaints with the following regulatory authorities according to the principle of territorial administration:

    • Complaints involving account opening, cross-boundary remittances, quota management may be filed to the Guangzhou branch or Shenzhen Central Sub-branch of the PBoC;
    • Complaints involving wealth management products may be filed to the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (CBIRC) Guangdong Office or Shenzhen Office;
    • Complaints involving fund products may be filed to the CSRC Guangdong Office or Shenzhen Office.

    To lodge complaints involving Mainland banks, please refer to the relevant webpage of the Guangzhou branch of the PBoC (available in Chinese only).

  • List of Hong Kong and Mainland banks participating in the Northbound Scheme
    FIND OUT MORE

    Eligible Hong Kong banks under the Northbound Scheme are registered institutions registered under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”) for carrying on Type 1 regulated activity (dealing in securities), and engaging in retail banking or private banking business. Eligible Mainland banks are financial institutions of the Mainland banking industry in the GBA which meet the criteria set by the Mainland regulatory authorities (available in Chinese only).

    Banks intending to participate in the Northbound Scheme should notify and submit assessments of their business readiness to the relevant supervisory authorities in accordance with the principle of territorial administration.

    As the Cross-boundary WMC is in the initial stage of its launch, banks interested in participating in the Northbound Scheme are undertaking the related preparatory work. This webpage will be updated after the banks have formally launched their Northbound Scheme activities in collaboration with their Mainland partner banks.

Last revision date : 11 October 2021

北向通

  • 運作安排
    了解更多

    港澳合資格投資者可通過北向通指定管道,投資內地銀行銷售的合資格投資產品。當中資金跨境匯款主要由港澳銀行負責,內地投資產品的銷售由內地銀行負責。

    每名投資者在任何時候只能開立一個有跨境匯款功能的香港賬戶(匯款專戶)一個有投資功能的內地賬戶(投資專戶),兩地銀行會將兩個賬戶配對,賬戶間資金流動進行閉環管理。

    就香港而言,合資格銀行可與一家或多家內地銀行合作開展北向通業務,但香港投資者需選定其中一家內地伙伴銀行開立投資專戶(若投資者已在該內地伙伴銀行持有具投資功能的賬戶,亦可把該賬戶指定爲投資專戶)。

    所有在匯款專戶和投資專戶之間的跨境匯款須使用人民幣通過人民幣跨境支付系統(CIPS)進行,並受額度管理。資金亦會實施閉環管理,即確保匯款專戶是投資專戶內北向通投資本金來源的唯一賬戶和北向通資金原路匯回的唯一賬戶,而匯款專戶亦只能用作北向通下的匯款用途,不能作爲香港銀行的其他服務用途。投資者如欲提取本金及投資收益,可按上述安排從投資專戶匯款至匯款專戶。​​

    北向通的運作安排:

    北向通的運作安排

  • 開戶及投資流程
    了解更多

    合資格的香港投資者如欲參與北向通,需要:

    1. 在合資格香港銀行開立一個有跨境匯款功能的新銀行賬戶作「匯款專戶」;
    2. 選擇該香港銀行合作的一家內地伙伴銀行開設一個有投資功能的賬戶作「投資專戶」。若已在該內地伙伴銀行持有具投資功能的賬戶,亦可把該賬戶指定為北向通「投資專戶」;
    3. 兩地的銀行會將香港的匯款專戶與在內地的投資專戶配對;
    4. 透過在香港的匯款專戶把人民幣資金匯款到內地的投資專戶。投資者可使用自有人民幣資金投資,或在香港的離岸市場換取人民幣資金;
    5. 透過投資專戶購買內地銀行銷售的合資格投資產品。

    北向通開戶及投資流程

    投資者可以按照現行安排,在香港銀行申請新開立北向通下的匯款專戶。就內地銀行投資專戶方面,投資者可按內地現行制度規定在內地銀行新開立北向通下的投資專戶,或指定已有人民幣賬戶作爲投資專戶。若投資者選擇親身前往有關的內地伙伴銀行開立投資專戶,可事先於內地銀行提供的網上渠道提交資料,或由香港銀行協助填寫所需的開戶文件以及向內地銀行轉交相關文件,待內地銀行完成初步審批後,投資者才前往內地辦理所需手續。

    在成功開通匯款專戶及投資專戶後,投資者可以在香港兌換人民幣(或使用自有人民幣)經匯款專戶匯至投資專戶,以進行投資。香港投資者可向參與北向通的香港及內地銀行進一步了解北向通的運作及個別銀行所提供的北向通產品及/或服務。一般而言,香港投資者經登入程序進入內地伙伴銀行的網上平台或手機平台,可進一步瀏覽北向通下的產品資料,及進行買賣合資格投資產品等指示。

    投資者應留意在任何時候只能持有一個香港的匯款專戶和一個內地的投資專戶。如投資者被香港銀行或內地伙伴銀行發現擁有多於一個匯款專戶或投資專戶,銀行會按有關違規情況跟進,包括但不限於暫停投資者參與北向通、出售該投資者持有的產品並註銷投資專戶和匯款專戶、容許繼續持有資產直至到期贖回但不能再投資新產品等。

  • 合資格投資者及投資產品
    了解更多

    北向通的香港合資格投資者須:

    • 持有香港身份證的香港居民(包括永久性和非永久性居民);
    • 個人名義作投資(不接受以聯名形式或公司客戶作投資);及
    • 經香港銀行評估為不屬於弱勢社群客戶1

    北向通的合資格投資產品包括:

    • 內地理財公司發行,並經發行人和內地代銷銀行評定為“一級”至“三級”風險的固定收益類(主要投資於債券和存款)及權益類(主要投資於股票)公募理財產品(現金管理類理財產品除外);及
    • 經內地公募基金管理人和內地代銷銀行評定為“R1”至“R3” 風險的公開募集證券投資基金(不包括上市基金)

    參考資料:

     


    1 弱勢社群客戶指的是對了解投資所涉風險及承受潛在損失的能力較低的客戶。銀行在判斷客戶是否屬於弱勢社群時,會全面考慮該客戶的情況,包括管理財務的成熟程度(如投資經驗)、思維和心理狀態(如作出投資決定的能力),以及財富水平。 

     

  • 額度
    了解更多
    • 北向通的總額度為1,500億元人民幣,由港澳兩地共用。個人額度為100萬元人民幣。
    • 總額度和個人額度使用量均以跨境匯款淨額計算:

      北向通額度使用量 = 北向通流入內地的資金計總額 - 北向通由內地流出的資金計總額
    • 舉例說,某「北向通」投資者從香港匯款80萬人民幣到內地購買投資產品,其投資者個人額度用量將為80萬;如果該投資者後來退出部份投資,並將部分收益及本金(以20萬人民幣爲例)匯回香港,該投資者個人額度用量則會變成60萬人民幣(即80萬 - 20萬)。
    • 當北向通總額度或個人額度使用量達到上限時,投資者將不能通過北向通從香港匯款至內地。但是,從內地匯返回香港的匯款則不受影響,投資者亦可繼續用已匯至投資專戶的款項進行投資。

    北向通跨境匯人民幣到內地,不計入香港居民個人向內地同名銀行賬戶匯入匯款每人每日最高限額。詳情請參閲金管局公佈的粵港澳大灣區跨境理財通業務試點實施細則

    北向通額度

  • 投資者保障
    了解更多

    北向通投資者在內地銀行投資專戶的交易受內地法例法規和監管制度的保障。

    • 在開立匯款/投資專戶前,投資者應了解下列事項:
    • 在作出投資決定前,投資者應:
    • 北向通初階段的產品範圍主要涵蓋低至中風險、相對簡單的投資產品。為加強對投資者的訊息披露,有關內地銀行會:
      • 就其銷售的北向通投資產品進行盡職審查,按相關監管要求評估投資產品的風險級别。
      • 向對產品有興趣的投資者提供充分的產品資料,讓投資者可作出有根據投資決定。
      • 對投資者進行風險承受能力評估,並做好投資者風險和投資產品風險匹配。具體而言,銀行只能向投資者出售風險級別匹配的投資產品;另外,在投資者主動要求的情況下,銀行做出特別警示並經投資者確認後,可出售風險高於其承受能力的公開募集證券投資基金。
    • 一般而言,香港銀行及內地伙伴銀行不會主動向投資者就投資產品作出跨境招攬或建議。投資者可向內地伙伴銀行查詢該銀行提供的投資服務及個別投資產品,或要求該銀行提供相關資料,以作出投資決定。但若投資者親身到內地銀行進行投資,內地銀行可向其作岀招攬或建議。
  • 投訴機制
    了解更多

    有關投資產品和銷售過程的投訴

    • 香港投資者可向相關內地銀行作出有關北向通投資產品和服務的投訴。香港銀行亦會協助轉介此類投訴至內地伙伴銀行跟進。

    有關跨境匯款的投訴

    • 有關北向通跨境匯款的投訴,香港投資者可向相關香港銀行作出投訴。

    若香港投資者認爲香港銀行沒有恰當處理其相關投訴,可以向金管局就該銀行作出投訴。就香港銀行作出投訴,請參閱: https://www.hkma.gov.hk/chi/smart-consumers/complaints/complaints-about-banks/

    若涉及內地銀行,香港投資者可根據屬地管理原則向以下監管機構作出投訴:

    • 賬戶開立、跨境匯款、額度管理等方面的投訴,可向人民銀行廣州分行或深圳市中心支行提交;
    • 涉及理財產品方面的投訴,可向廣東銀保監局或深圳銀保監局提交;
    • 涉及基金產品方面的投訴,可向廣東證監局或深圳證監局提交。

    就內地銀行作出投訴,請參閲人民銀行廣州分行相關網頁

  • 參與北向通的香港及內地銀行的名單
    了解更多

    合資格參與北向通的香港銀行指經營零售銀行或私人銀行業務,並根據《證券及期貨條例》註冊為可進行第一類(證券交易)受規管活動的註冊機構。合資格的內地銀行指符合內地監管機構所訂明的條件的大灣區內地銀行業金融機構。

    有意開展北向通業務的銀行,應按照屬地原則,向相關監管機構提交業務準備情況評估及通報。

    直至2021年10月18日,共有16家可開展北向通業務的香港銀行。可開展北向通業務的香港銀行及其內地伙伴銀行的名單如下:

    銀行

    (以筆劃排序)

    內地伙銀行 (註)

    上海浦東發展銀行股份有限公司

    上海浦東發展銀行股份有限公司

    中信銀行(國際)有限公司

    中信銀行股份有限公司

    中國工商銀行(亞洲)有限公司

    中國工商銀行股份有限公司

    中國建設銀行(亞洲)股份有限公司

    中國建設銀行股份有限公司

    中國民生銀行股份有限公司

    中國民生銀行股份有限公司

    中國農業銀行股份有限公司

    中國農業銀行股份有限公司

    中國銀行(香港)有限公司

    中國銀行股份有限公司

    交通銀行(香港)有限公司

    交通銀行股份有限公司

    招商永隆銀行有限公司

    招商銀行股份有限公司

    花旗銀行(香港)有限公司

    廣發銀行股份有限公司

    南洋商業銀行有限公司

    南洋商業銀行(中國)有限公司

    恒生銀行有限公司

    恒生銀行(中國)有限公司

    香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司

    滙豐銀行(中國)有限公司

    渣打銀行(香港)有限公司

    渣打銀行(中國)有限公司

    華僑永亨銀行有限公司

    平安銀行股份有限公司

    興業銀行股份有限公司

    興業銀行股份有限公司

    投資者若對銀行提供的服務或產品有任何疑問,請直接聯絡銀行查詢。

     

    註:合資格內地銀行的名單以內地相關監管機構公布為凖。有關合資格內地銀行的詳情,可參閱內地相關監管機構的網站︰中國人民銀行廣州分行中國人民銀行深圳市中心支行

修訂日期 : 2021年10月18日