Manager Trainee Programme

The HKMA operates a two-year Manager Trainee (MT) Programme. Our aim is to prepare young adults who are interested in central banking work to become our future key management staff and to contribute to the financial stability and prosperity of Hong Kong.

An MT will undergo on-the-job training in two to three different departments in order to gain an understanding of the important role the HKMA plays in maintaining Hong Kong’s monetary and financial stability.

On completion of the Programme with satisfactory performance, an MT will be appointed as a Manager.

Expand All
Collapse All
  • Requirements

    Experience: No formal work experience required. Final-year students or recent graduates of local and overseas universities are welcome to apply

    Education: Holder of a Bachelor’s degree from any discipline with very strong academic results. Business / Finance / Economics major a plus

    Capabilities: Broad general knowledge, high versatility and flexibility, great attention to details, good logical and critical thinking, a sharp and analytical mind

    Communication skills: Excellent command of English and Chinese, strong presentation and communication skills, good Putonghua an advantage

    Team spirit: A good team player, able to work with others to achieve the objectives

    Other requirements: Willing to accept challenges, proactive, interested in and aspired to work in the central banking field

  • Salary

    Monthly fixed pay at $49,000+ plus a lump-sum pay upon Programme completion.

  • Training

    The HKMA offers different professional training and talent development programmes to its staff so as to prepare them to take up various challenges of their work. Our training programmes mainly comprise vertical training in job-specific areas aiming at deepening professional knowledge and horizontal training aiming at enhancing individual capabilities.

  • Mentoring

    The HKMA’s experienced staff will act as mentors and share their experience with the mentees.

  • Career Prospect

    Manager Trainee Career Prospect

  • Application Method

    Please submit your application online.

  • Selection Process

    Selection Process

Sharing from our former MTs/”Oldies”
  • Carmen Chu, Executive Director (Enforcement and AML)
    • Responsible for overseeing the enforcement function including the Complaint Processing Centre of the HKMA as well as the supervision of the anti-money laundering and financial crime risk management by authorized institutions and stored value facility licensees.

    Carmen is among the first batch of the HKMA’s MTs. She was working in the banking industry when she came across the recruitment advertisement. She decided to apply for the post because she was interested in public policy. Moreover, she thought she could put what she had learnt into practice as the courses she took in the university were relevant to the work of the HKMA.

    One might have the impression that the work of a public entity is very boring and tedious. Yet Carmen has a different view. Though she has already been working at the HKMA for many years, she still finds the work very challenging. Her most unforgettable experience is participation in the internationalisation of Renminbi. This policy of financial liberalization was so important that there was no room for mistakes. The regulators in both places have stepped up their communication and cooperation in the process. It took years from policy design and formulation and deliberation to implementation. Despite the seemingly endless process, the outcomes were a great encouragement to Carmen. Since the introduction of renminbi business in 2004, Hong Kong has become the leading offshore renminbi business centre in the world.

    There are many opportunities to go on overseas business trips or station overseas. Carmen was seconded to the World Bank Office in Beijing from 1998 to 1999, responsible for conducting research. She got the opportunity to meet with various Mainland institutions and officials during her time in Beijing, establishing some very valuable personal connections that were conducive to the development of offshore Renminbi business in Hong Kong by the HKMA later.

    In addition, as the HKMA is a member of the Bank for International Settlements, staff will have the opportunity to attend meetings in Basel, taking part in the discussions with senior officials from other central banks and exchanging views on latest global financial market conditions and regulatory developments. Carmen thinks that these are valuable experiences and opportunities that are not available in the private sector. Another unexpected reward from working at the HKMA is the friends from different parts of the world she has made when attending various overseas meetings and events.


    Caption: Carmen (right) attends the opening ceremony of an event under the HKMA’s Consumer Education Programme.

Sharing from other MTs

Sharing from other MTs

Interviews in September 2016
Expand All
Collapse All
  • Why did you join the HKMA’s MT programme?

    Tiffany: I majored in Economics in the university, but I am also very interested in public policy. The chance to work for the HKMA fits both my background and my interest. The HKMA’s functions cover various areas, including maintaining monetary and banking stability, managing the Exchange Fund and developing financial infrastructure. Therefore, the MT programme is quite diversified. One would have a good understanding of the HKMA’s functions and operations after completing the two-year programme which consists of three postings.

    Angela: I was working with a bank before joining the HKMA. While I am interested in the financial field, I also want to serve the community and so the switch to the public sector. One merit of the MT programme is that one gets to understand the HKMA’s work within a relatively short period of time. Through job rotations, one can find out his/her interest and work areas where one’s potential and capabilities are put to the best use.

    Joshua: Thinking hard day in day out to make money for a commercial firm is not really my cup of tea. Instead, I’d like to make better use of my knowledge and effort to serve the society by contributing to the maintenance of our banking and financial stability. The MT programme is attractive as it offers the chance to understand the different functions of the HKMA in addition to the fact that on successful completion of the two-year programme, one will be promoted to be a Manager.

    Bill: I joined an investment bank after graduating from college. But I am always more interested in the public sector, as I hope to serve the community. So I applied for the MT post without hesitation once I spotted the HKMA’s ad.

    Phillip: The HKMA very often acts as the agenda setter regarding most issues. Its role is more pro-active, bringing more job satisfaction.

    Doris: The HKMA’s unique role as the central banking institution in Hong Kong means that we are the policy setter and regulator regarding many financial activities and have the responsibility to act in the best interest of the public and strive to maintain Hong Kong’s status as an IFC. The work is always intellectually challenging, exciting, meaningful and fulfilling.

    Jason: I studied for a finance master's after college, so the chance to join the HKMA and apply what I have learned is very appealing. The rotational MT programme also brings me the invaluable experience of working in multiple divisions that perform vastly different but equally important central banking functions. In addition, the immense satisfaction that comes with serving the community at large draws me to the job.

  • You all had worked with a private company before coming to the HKMA. What is the biggest difference between the two in terms of the working environment?

    Tiffany: The switch from the private sector to the public sector is quite interesting, involving a totally different way of thinking. In an investment bank, we only need to work out how to seek the highest returns and beat our competitors with our projects. We rarely need to consider the possible implications outside of the company. At the HKMA, we have to make more in-depth and comprehensive consideration and analyses. For example, when I was at the Banking Policy Department, our supervisor would remind us that we have to carefully consider the potential implications of our every suggestion to the Supervisory Policy Manual for banks and the financial industry in Hong Kong.

    Bill: We have a stronger sense of job security. In comparison with the private sector, economic cycles and changes in market situations will not have too much impact on us.

    Tiffany: I agree. It’s hard to build a sense of belonging when one always has to worry about being laid off.

    Joshua: This relates to the corporate culture and environment. With commercial firms, colleagues seek to outshine others whereas colleagues at the HKMA have a strong sense of mission - working for the public interest. Moreover, the working environment is more congenial, with a better work-life balance.

    Bill: There are a host of investment banks, consultancies and accountancy firms in Hong Kong. But the HKMA is unique, tasked with unique missions, and often working with special institutions on special projects. This valuable experience may not be available in other companies. For example, while accompanying our senior executives to some meetings overseas, I got the chance to meet with some key figures in the financial industry. In addition, as MTs will be posted to different departments, they will be able to broaden their experiences and meet more colleagues.

    Phillip: I had accompanied our senior executives on an overseas trip following the UK’s referendum on leaving the EU. We met with various financial institutions and learned about the possible impact of Brexit on these institutions. I would also like to point out that as our daily work at the HKMA is quite challenging, we often have the chance to put our strengths to work.

  • How do you adapt yourselves to the different postings?

    Phillip: Each department requires different expertise. But the HKMA has a relatively consistent culture and thinking mode, which, if grasped, can help us adjust more easily when transferred to a new department.

    Doris: The adaptation is indeed quite challenging as each department requires very different skill sets. An MT is expected to learn quickly in each rotation and may sometimes be assigned to work on completely new projects. One of my previous rotations was to the Fintech Facilitation Office, which was set up in March 2016 to facilitate the development of the Fintech ecosystem in Hong Kong. Lacking a tech background, I had very little understanding of the concepts behind technologies such as “Blockchain”, “Artificial Intelligence”, “APIs”, “Digital Currency” and “Cloud Computing” and found it quite hard to pick up the various tasks assigned to me at the beginning. Fortunately, our tech savvy colleagues were all very friendly and approachable. Their support and guidance made the whole transition a lot easier. My supervisors and mentor also played a large part helping me with the adaptation by sharing with me their experience and offering me career advice.

    Jason: MTs at the HKMA work closely with the more experienced colleagues of the divisions they are posted to. As long as one can be proactive and learn from other colleagues on the job, the transition period need not be very tough.

  • In what way does your job serve the community?

    Angela: I am now with the Banking Conduct Department. So I can witness closely how the HKMA seeks to protect the interests of the general public through the supervision of banks. For example, a fitness group closed down recently, causing public concerns about refunds and termination of autopay arrangements. Through explaining the different payment methods and banks’ general approach in handling the issue to the public and taking part in other follow-up work, I have gained a deep sense about the importance of my work to the public. We also work on promoting the spirit of financial inclusion, such as encouraging banks to launch video teller machines and mobile branches. These are all relevant to the daily life of the whole community.

    Doris: Quite a lot actually. Take the Fintech Facilitation Office (FFO) as an example. One of its major roles is to act as a regulatory interface. Almost every day, colleagues in the FFO would meet with different tech firms and start-ups to collect their views and discuss our regulatory stance. The FFO has conducted or co-organised many outreaching activities, thematic seminars, site visits and competitions to bring together market participants and interested parties to exchange innovative Fintech ideas. The FFO has also kick started a number of projects on topics such as Blockchain and Know Your Customer Utility, which when implemented, may cause a huge change to the operation of certain fields, such as trade finance, mortgage valuation and account opening, lifting the current banking standard to a new level.

    Jason: As part of my posting in the Banking Conduct Department, I was involved in the efforts to address difficulties some bank customers had experienced in opening bank accounts. The HKMA was very responsive and set up a special team to address the issue, including the launch of a designated webpage and email account. While helping to maintain the webpage and analyse and respond to the enquiries received, I gained a better understanding of the HKMA's full attention and commitment to this important issue involving general public’s access to basic banking services.

  • Do you have any advice for the potential applicants for the MT post?

    Tiffany: MTs have to be versatile. If you are a fast learner and highly flexible, there are many opportunities in the HKMA. For example, many of the colleagues in the Reserves Management Department come from the private sector with extensive working experience. However, the management will not dismiss the MTs because of their lack of experience. On the other hand, there are plenty of opportunities for the MTs to learn and grow.

    Joshua: Good communication skills are very important. In particular, ability to write accurately and clearly is a must. After all, we are a regulatory authority and proper documentation is essential. Therefore, no matter which department you are working in, writing skill is a prerequisite.

    Doris: Think carefully whether you have the passion to work in the public sector. Being passionate and committed to serving the community is the key to developing a long term career in the HKMA.

    Jason: A genuine interest in local and regional social and economic issues would be very helpful. And in addition to keeping abreast of the news, it is equally important to try to analyse the issues from the perspectives of a policymaker.

Other Topics about Opportunities for Students and Graduates to Join the HKMA
Last revision date : 10 September 2019

金管局見習經理計劃

金管局提供為期兩年的見習經理計劃,旨在培育有志投身中央銀行工作的年青人,成為未來的管理骨幹,為香港的金融穩定和繁榮出力。

見習經理會獲安排在兩至三個不同部門工作,接受在職培訓,以了解金管局在維持貨幣和金融體系穩定的重要角色。

表現理想的見習經理在完成計劃後會獲聘為經理。

展開全部
全部收起
  • 入職條件

    工作經驗:工作經驗不拘,歡迎本地和海外大學的應屆畢業生或近年畢業生申請。

    學歷:擁有任何學科成績優異的學士學位,主修商業、金融或經濟者更佳。

    個人能力:廣博通識,善於應變,靈活性高,心思精密,擁有清晰明辨的邏輯思維,能夠多角度分析思考。

    溝通技巧:中英語文優異,表達及溝通能力強,能操流利普通話者更佳。

    團隊精神:能與他人和睦共處,合作達成工作目標。

    其他:勇於接受挑戰,積極主動,對中央銀行工作有興趣及有抱負。

  • 薪金

    固定月薪由49,000元起,並於完成計劃後獲發一次性酬金。

  • 培訓

    金管局為員工提供不同的專業知識及才能培訓,讓他們好好裝備自己,應付工作的挑戰。培訓大致分為兩類:與職位相關專業知識的縱向培訓;和旨在提升個人能力的橫向培訓。

  • 導師

    由金管局資深員工擔任導師,與見習生分享工作經驗和心得。

  • 晉升前景

    金管局見習經理晉升前景

  • 申請方法
  • 甄選程序

    甄選程序

過來人/「老鬼」的分享
  • 朱立翹,金管局助理總裁(法規及打擊清洗黑錢)
    • 負責金管局的法規執行職能,包括處理對認可機構的投訴,以及監察認可機構和儲值支付工具持牌人就打擊清洗黑錢及金融罪行的風險管理。

    朱立翹(Carmen)是金管局第一屆見習經理,見到招聘廣告時,Carmen正在銀行工作,決定應徵是因為「我對公共政策有興趣,加上我又是修讀相關科目,覺得可以學以致用」。

    外間或會以為公營機構工作刻板,但Carmen卻另有看法,她在金管局工作多年至今,仍然覺得不斷有新挑戰。其中最難忘的是參與人民幣國際化的工作。這個重大的金融開放政策,不容有失,兩地的監管機構亦加強了溝通合作,由政策醞釀、構思、商討到落實數以經年。過程雖然十分漫長,但「見到有成果時,就有份難以言喻的滿足感。」自2004年香港開展人民幣業務以來,已穩執全球人民幣離岸市場的牛耳。

    在金管局工作,有很多海外公幹或外派的機會。Carmen曾經在1998至1999年間借調至世界銀行於北京的辦事處,負責研究工作。駐京期間,她亦開始接觸到不同的內地機構和官員,為日後負責金管局發展香港離岸人民幣業務,建立了寶貴的人脈關係。

    此外,金管局是國際清算銀行的成員之一,員工有機會到巴塞爾出席會議,參與和其他地區的中央銀行高層交流,討論和分享最新國際金融市場情況和監管趨勢。Carmen認為這些機會都是私營企業無法提供,她亦在不同的海外會議或場合,認識到來自世界各地的朋友,也是工作帶來的意外收穫。

    圖片說明:金管局舉行投資者教育活動,朱立翹(右)出席開幕儀式

其他見習經理分享

其他見習經理分享

2016年9月的訪問
展開全部
全部收起
  • 為甚麼選擇金管局MT計劃?

    Tiffany:我讀大學時主修經濟,但對公共政策亦深感興趣,在金管局工作正好結合我的學術背景和興趣。金管局同時扮演不同的角色,包括維持貨幣及銀行體系穩定、管理外匯基金和發展金融基建等,我覺得金管局的MT計劃很多元化,兩年內可以獲調派到三個部門,完成了MT計劃就可以更了解金管局全面的運作。

    Angela:未加入金管局前我在銀行工作,其實我不但對金融方面有興趣,亦希望服務社會,所以就轉做公營機構。MT計劃的優點是可以在最短時間認識金管局的工作,透過在不同部門工作,容易找到自己興趣,並找一個可以發揮自己潛能的地方。

    Joshua:在私營企業工作,日日要想如何為公司賺錢不是我的興趣,我想將自己的知識和能力去服務社會,貢獻銀行和金融穩定。而MT計劃吸引的地方,除了是兩年完成計劃後有晉升的機會,也有較多機會去認識金管局不同範疇的職能。

    Bill:大學畢業後我在一間投資銀行工作,自己一直有興趣加入公營機構,希望可以服務社會,所以見到金管局MT計劃的廣告就投考。

    Phillip:在很多議題上,金管局往往是agenda setter(議題設定者),扮演積極角色,在工作上能夠獲得更大的滿足感。

    Doris:金管局作為香港的央行機構,角色獨特,負責制定很多金融活動的決策和監管工作,並且須以符合最大公眾利益,以及盡力維持香港的國際金融中心地位為依歸。我們的工作既有意義,亦充滿挑戰,令人得到很大的滿足感。

    Jason:我大學畢業後修讀金融碩士課程,所以對有機會加入金管局學以致用,感到很興奮。MT計劃將同事輪流調派至不同部門,透過讓他們接觸迥然不同但各具挑戰的央行職務,汲取寶貴經驗。此外,在這個崗位上能夠服務社會,對我來說有莫大的滿足感。

  • 加入金管局前,你們都曾在私營企業工作過,覺得與金管局的工作環境最大分別是甚麼?

    Tiffany:由私營轉去公營企業的過程都幾有趣,因為思考方法完全不同。在投資銀行工作時,我只需要盤算自己手頭上的項目如何可以賺取得最高回報和打贏其他競爭對手,很少需要考慮到項目在部門、公司以外的層面會產生甚麼影響。在金管局工作就要求我們要考慮得深入和全面,例如我在銀行政策部工作時,上司會提醒我們必須想清楚,建議寫在《監管政策手冊》內的一字一句,會對香港銀行和金融業帶來甚麼影響。

    Bill:與私營金融公司比較,在金管局工作的感覺會更穩定,相對而言不會太受經濟周期和市場表現影響。

    Tiffany:對,如果每日上班都要擔心公司幾時裁員,就難以建立對公司的歸屬感。

    Joshua:這和公司文化和環境有關,在私營公司同事各自為自己的表現拼搏。在金管局同事的使命感強,大家工作是着眼公眾利益,加上這裡工作環境友善,感覺上work life balance都好一點。

    Bill:香港有很多投資銀行、顧問公司、會計師事務所,但金管局只有一個,定位夠獨特,亦可以接觸到一些特定的機構和事務,在其他機構工作未必可以接觸到。例如我曾經跟高層到外國開會,就有機會接觸到金融界的重量級人物。而且MT輪流在不同部門工作,有機會獲得更豐富的經歷,亦可認識金管局內更多的同事。

    Phillip:我曾經在英國脫歐公投後陪同管理層出差,跟不同金融機構會面,了解脫歐對他們可能產生的影響。另外,我想說我們日常工作面對不少挑戰,讓我們有很大的發揮空間。

  • MT計劃需要輪流調到不同部門工作,該如何適應?

    Phillip:每個部門所需要的專門知識不同,但金管局有相對一貫的文化和思考方法,如果掌握到這個方法,即使調去新部門也較易上手。

    Doris:每個部門要求的技能都有很大分別,因此要適應不同崗位確實相當具挑戰性。MT調至每個崗位後都要上手快,有時或會派我們到全新的項目。我其中一個被調派的崗位便是金融科技促進辦公室。這個部門於2016年3月成立,目的是促進香港金融科技的穩健發展。由於我沒有科技底子,對「區塊鏈」、「人工智能」、「API」、「數碼貨幣」及「雲端計算」等科技的概念認識不多,因此初時對安排的多項工作頗感吃力。幸好部門的專業同事都非常友善,給我不少支持和指引,使我適應上輕鬆得多。此外,上司和導師跟我分享不少經驗和事業發展意見,亦對我有極大幫助。

    Jason:金管局MT與調派部門的資深員工共事。只要保持積極主動,向其他同事學習,適應方面不會太困難。

  • 你覺得你的工作如何能夠服務社會?

    Angela:我在銀行操守部工作,看到金管局如何透過監管銀行去保障市民大眾的利益,例如早前有間健身中心結業,當時公眾關注退款和終止自動轉帳的問題,我和同事負責跟進有關事件,要向公眾解釋不同支付方法和銀行的一般處理手法,令我深刻體會到自己的工作對公眾的重要性。我們的工作也包括推廣普及金融的精神,例如鼓勵銀行推出視像櫃員機、流動分行等,這些都與市民生活息息相關。

    Doris:很多方面。以金融科技促進辦公室(FFO)為例,它其中一項主要職能,是作為監管當局與業界之間的聯繫平台。FFO同事幾乎每日都接觸到不同科技公司和初創企業,收集他們的意見,並且解說我們的監管立場。FFO舉辦或合辦多項外展活動、專題研討會、現場參觀及比賽,匯聚市場參與者和有興趣人士,切磋交流創新金融科技的意念。FFO亦開展了多個以區塊鏈及客戶身分認證等為題的項目;這些計劃日後推出時,可能會帶動貿易融資、按揭估價和開立戶口等銀行業務的運作重大革新,提升現時銀行業標準。

    Jason:我被調派銀行操守部期間,曾參與處理有關部分銀行客戶開戶困難的工作。我發覺原來金管局非常重視這個問題,成立一個專責的小組處理問題,包括推出網站專頁和電郵帳戶。透過協助管理專頁以及分析和回覆查詢,我更深入認識到,其實金管局是非常認真和專業地處理這個涉及公眾使用基本銀行服務的重要事項。

  • 有甚麼建議給有意投考見習生的人?

    Tiffany:MT特質是要多才多藝,如果你學習能力高、適應能力強,在金管局會有很多機會。例如儲備管理部有很多同事都來自私營企業,工作經驗都十分豐富,不過管理層不會因為MT的年資較淺而輕視我們的能力,反而是提供各種機會讓我在很短的時間內學習、進步。

    Joshua:溝通能力十分重要,尤其在寫作方面要非常準確。畢竟我們都是監管機構,要有白紙黑字作紀錄和依據,因此在任何部門工作,都一樣講求文字的能力。

    Doris:應該仔細考慮自己是否熱衷於在公營部門工作。擁有這份熱誠,緊守承諾服務社會,對於能否在金管局長遠發展個人事業非常重要。

    Jason:要對香港以至地區社會經濟事務有濃厚的興趣。除了時刻關心新聞外,盡量以決策當局的角度分析思考接觸到的事項同樣重要。

修訂日期 : 2019年09月10日