Publications & Research

Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Occasional Papers
Working Papers
China Economic Issues
Research Notes
Research Letters
HKIMR
External Publications
62.4628

Viewpoint

BAUHINIA COINS

The dull and unattractive coins of Hong Kong hardly befit Hong Kong's status as an international financial centre. Joseph Yam explains his role in their design.

I have another confession to make. If readers examine the design of our coins they will find it, at best, unattractive and unremarkable. Those with any artistic sense might even think it repulsive. I am the one to blame for this sorry state. Yes, the coins were designed by me and I am sorry that users have to put up with them every day. But it was the best design that I could come up with during the planning leading to the introduction of the coins in 1993.

There was a good reason for my taking on this responsibility at the time - albeit with the greatest reluctance. The Sino-British Joint Declaration specifies that "Hong Kong currency bearing references inappropriate to the status of Hong Kong as a Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China shall be progressively replaced and withdrawn from circulation". It would obviously have been inappropriate, on the Handover on 1 July 1997, to find the coins of Hong Kong all bearing the portrait of the Queen. And it would not have been possible for all the coins to be changed overnight. Even if we could have managed to mint all the required coins and have them ready for distribution at midnight of 30 June 1997, there would have been so much disruption and inconvenience to everybody. This would hardly have been conducive to a smooth transition.

The practical solution was instead to replace the coins bearing the portrait of the Queen well before the Handover. Herein lay a number of further difficulties. First, coins are considered an important badge of sovereignty. To give up the Queen's portrait well before the actual Handover was not something trivial. Secondly, it would have been equally inappropriate to have designs reflecting Hong Kong's status as a Special Administrative Region introduced for circulation before the Handover. Thirdly, it would have been impossible to have all the coins replaced by 1 July 1997, no matter how early we started. Fourthly, if the coins, and indeed the banknotes as well, had to be demonetised, there might be the risk of undermining confidence in the currency, however remote this possibility might be. Fifthly, the currency had always been a highly sensitive subject requiring the utmost caution in handling.

This therefore was a matter that had to be dealt with in strictest confidence involving the sovereign powers. The Sino-British negotiations on this matter were, thankfully, very smooth. There was a high degree of trust and co-operation in approaching this, as there was in other monetary issues generally. Agreement was arrived at quickly to introduce as soon as possible a politically neutral design that could ride on the monetary "through train". This would enable the old design coins with the portrait of the Queen to be progressively replaced by the new design coins and withdrawn from circulation without the need to force them out of circulation by demonetising them.

The remaining task was to come up with the politically neutral design. But the confidential nature of this matter did not allow the appointment of an artist, and so the task was given to yours truly. I obtained a number of photographs of the bauhinia from the Information Services Department on the pretence that I was designing the logo for the HKMA soon to be established then. For the Chinese characters, I copied the relevant ones myself from a piece of calligraphy I commissioned on a passage containing those characters. It was then a simple scissors and paste job that a primary school child would find easy. (See photographs and calligraphy)

So there you are - coins of a design hardly befitting the status of Hong Kong as an international financial centre. And for this I would like to offer my belated apologies to the people of Hong Kong. My only mitigating circumstance is that the designs have had the approval of the two sovereign states. The withdrawal of the coins with the portrait of the Queen was faster than I had expected because, surprisingly to me, they became very popular collectors' items.

Readers may, however, notice that there was a set of commemorative coins issued for collection as well as circulation on the occasion of the Handover. The designs were of a much higher quality, being the work of Lady Haddon-Cave, who also designed the series of twelve Lunar New Year $1,000 gold coins and the two Queen's visit coins issued during the period from 1975 to 1987. Perhaps it's time to review the designs of our circulation coins soon, if only to make me feel less guilty.

 

Joseph Yam
18 November 1999

 

More information on Notes and Coins can be found here.

Click here for previous articles in this column

Last revision date: 1 August 2011
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Consumer Corner
Complaints about Banks
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites and Phishing E-mails
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of AIs & LROs
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers

刊物與研究資料

年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
研究備忘錄
不定期論文
研究札記
研究概要
中國經濟專題研究
香港金融研究中心
外界出版的研究
93.7316

觀點

洋紫荊硬幣

香港硬幣的設計既不吸引,又沒有特色,與香港的國際金融中心地位實在有點不相稱。任志剛解釋他與這些硬幣設計的關係。

我對一件事情要作出坦白的招認。大家只消看一看手頭上的硬幣,大概都會覺得設計既不吸引,又沒有特色。稍為有點藝術細胞的,甚至會覺得這根本算不上是設計。很抱歉,我得承認弄到如斯田地,都是因為我。我就是那個設計硬幣的人。不過,我亦要補充一點,這個設計已是我策劃在1993年推出這些硬幣時,所能做到最好的了。

我當時是老大不願意擔起這個工作,但由於職責所在,唯有硬著頭皮接過來。《中英聯合聲明》中規定:「凡所帶標誌與中華人民共和國香港特別行政區地位不符的香港貨幣,將逐步更換和退出流通。」假如在1997年7月1日主權移交時在市面流通的硬幣,依然是英女皇頭像設計,那麼便會與中華人民共和國香港特別行政區的地位不符。不過,要在一夜間把所有硬幣更換亦不可能。即使我們能趕及在主權移交前鑄造足夠的硬幣,並準備好在1997年6月30日午夜時分派,亦會帶來諸多不便,對市民造成騷擾,亦對順利過渡毫無益處。

切實可行的解決辦法,就是在主權移交前的早一段時間便開始逐步取代英女皇頭像硬幣。不過,要採用這個辦法,也得先行解決幾個難題。第一,硬幣向來都被視為重要的主權象徵。在真正移交主權前便早早取代英女皇頭像硬幣,絕不是簡單的事。第二,在主權移交前流通的硬幣設計已反映香港的特別行政區地位,亦不恰當。第三,無論我們預早多少時間展開更換硬幣的行動,也沒有可能在1997年7月1日前取代所有英女皇頭像設計硬幣。第四,如果規定所有硬幣以至紙幣都不再為流通貨幣,則有可能損害市場對貨幣的信心。雖然這個可能性極微,但始終「唔怕一萬,只怕萬一」,不能草率了事。第五,貨幣向來都是非常敏感的環節,在處理時要格外謹慎。

因此,這是一件高度機密,牽涉兩個主權國的事情。幸好,中英雙方在此事上衷誠合作,談判過程非常順利,就如在其他有關貨幣的事宜上一樣。結果協議迅速落實,雙方決定盡快推出這款政治上中立的設計,好趕上貨幣「直通車」。這項安排讓英女皇頭像的舊設計硬幣逐步由新設計硬幣取代,而無須硬性規定英女皇硬幣在1997年後不再為流通貨幣。

剩下來的工作,就是要設計一個在政治上中立的標誌。然而,由於這件事情要保密,我們不可能聘請設計師替我們設計,於是任務便落在我身上了。

實際工作應該如何手呢?當時,我假裝要為即將成立的金管局設計標誌,先向政府新聞處取得幾幀洋紫荊的照片;至於硬幣上的中文字,我先人把一段包括了硬幣所需文字的文章用毛筆以書法形式寫下來,然後我親手把有關的字體複印下來。接著,就是做一些小學生也能勝任的美勞剪貼手工。(參閱有關照片書法複印

新設計的硬幣就這樣誕生了,但看起來與香港的國際金融中心地位實在有點不相稱。為此,我要向各位市民道歉,雖然是遲了一點,但希望大家會接受。事件中唯一使我得到一點安慰的,就是這些設計是獲得兩個主權國的接納。而英女皇頭像硬幣的回收過程亦較預期為快,因為出乎我意料之外,洋紫荊硬幣竟成為收藏家的新寵。

大家可能都會知道為了慶祝主權移交,我們也發行了一套紀念硬幣和流通硬幣。這些硬幣全都是夏鼎基夫人的傑作,設計實在精美得多了。事實上,由1975年至1987年間發行的12生肖仟圓紀念金幣,以及為紀念英女皇兩次到訪而發行的硬幣也是她的作品。

為了使我不再那麼內疚,不知現在是否適當時候檢討一下現行流通貨幣的設計呢?

 

任志剛

1999年11月18日

 

此處可參閱有關紙幣和硬幣的進一步資料

此處可參閱本專欄過往的文章。

修訂日期: 2011年8月17日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
其他語言資料(印尼語, हिन्दी, नेपाली, ਪੰਜਾਬੀ, 他加祿語, ไทย, اردو)
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊