Hong Kong Dollar Liquidity Facilities

Since the global financial crisis in 2008, regulatory reforms have been developed at the global level and implemented in Hong Kong to improve the resilience of banks and reduce systemic risk.  However, central bank liquidity remains a crucial tool in the financial stability toolkit.

Over the past few years, a comprehensive cross-sectoral resolution regime, with a broad range of powers and a statutory framework for the recognition of cross-border resolution actions, has been introduced in Hong Kong.  The Financial Institutions (Resolution) Ordinance (FIRO) establishes a resolution framework in Hong Kong that is in line with the Financial Stability Board’s “Key Attributes of Effective Resolution Regimes for Financial Institutions”, with a view to ensuring that a failing bank can be resolved in an orderly manner where warranted, and that the costs of failure are redirected from taxpayers to certain creditors and shareholders of the non-viable bank.  The provisions that the FIRO makes for funding in resolution are an important part of implementing the regime, and the HKMA has developed a new facility as part of its Liquidity Facilities Framework, namely the Resolution Facility, which may be deployed in the context of a resolution where circumstances so warrant.

The HKMA is taking the opportunity presented by the introduction of the new Resolution Facility to communicate and restate the framework for provision of liquidity, incorporating certain refinements to the prior arrangements where appropriate, so as to foster a better understanding on the part of the market and the general public of the different facilities through which the HKMA makes temporary HKD liquidity (i.e. not in the nature of capital support) available to banks to maintain integrity and stability of the monetary and financial systems in Hong Kong.

Liquidity Facilities Framework

All liquidity shall be provided in ways consistent with the Linked Exchange Rate System, which is underpinned by the Currency Board arrangements.  While the framework is designed to balance the competing demands of clarity and flexibility, it is recognised that no single approach can cover all eventualities, and the HKMA may adapt the framework or establish new facilities as it considers appropriate at the relevant time.

Settlement Facilities

The objective of the two Settlement Facilities (Intraday Repo and Discount Window) is to facilitate smooth operation of the interbank payment system and thus preserve systemic stability.  In their normal day-to-day operations, banks may access the facilities to make adjustments to their liquidity positions, defined to be the balances in their clearing accounts with the HKMA.  They may use their holdings of Exchange Fund Paper as collateral to obtain intraday or overnight HKD liquidity through the Intraday Repo and the Discount Window respectively.  These standing facilities are meant to facilitate banks in meeting their settlement obligations in case of need in order to ensure the smooth functioning of the interbank payment system.

Standby Liquidity Facilities

The objective of the Standby Liquidity Facilities (including term repo and FX swap) is to make term liquidity available to banks to enable them to manage any unexpected liquidity tightness which they may encounter.  Liquidity is normally available at a term of up to one month and may be rolled over, subject to re-pricing at maturity.  The HKMA determines pricing by reference to market rates.

HKD Liquidity is provided under these facilities against standard collateral (USD or other major currencies (via an FX swap) and/or certain liquid securities denominated in HKD, USD or other major currencies (via a term repo)).  See “HKMA Liquidity Facilities Framework for Banks: Operational Note” for further details.

Contingent Term Facility

The Contingent Term Facility makes reference to the guiding principles of the previous Lender of Last Resort arrangements.  It may be made available, at the discretion of the HKMA, to a bank facing extraordinary liquidity stress that cannot be overcome through other means (for example, market funding) where (i) access to the Settlement Facilities and/or the Standby Liquidity Facilities is not applicable or otherwise not sufficient; and (ii) the HKMA considers that the liquidity stress situation of the bank could of itself, or through the spreading of contagion or through the undermining of public confidence, threaten or damage systemic stability in Hong Kong.  The HKMA will consider each application on a case-by-case basis, taking into account the prevailing circumstances.  While the Contingent Term Facility is not subject to a limit on the maximum amount of liquidity that may be made available, it should be adequately collateralised.  A wide spectrum of collateral will be considered for the purpose of providing liquidity under the Contingent Term Facility (see “HKMA Liquidity Facilities Framework for Banks: Operational Note” for further details), but the terms of assistance and acceptable collateral will be set by the HKMA on a case-by-case basis having regard to the particular circumstances of the applicant bank.

The Contingent Term Facility provides the necessary flexibility for the HKMA to respond adequately to extraordinary liquidity stress situations and enables the HKMA to plan for the most severe stress scenarios.

Resolution Facility

The Resolution Facility provides for the scenario in which resolution powers under the FIRO are exercised by the Monetary Authority as Resolution Authority.  The Resolution Facility may be made available, at the discretion of the HKMA, having regard to systemic stability, for the purpose of ensuring that a bank which has (or whose holding company has) gone into resolution in Hong Kong has sufficient liquidity to meet its obligations, until such time as the bank is able to transition back to market-based funding.  Like the Contingent Term Facility, the terms on which liquidity is provided under the Resolution Facility will be set by the HKMA on a case-by-case basis.

The Resolution Facility is distinct from the Contingent Term Facility in two ways. First, the Resolution Facility will be available only where resolution has been initiated under the FIRO.  Second, any losses arising from assistance provided under the Resolution Facility may ultimately be recovered pursuant to the levy arrangements which may be imposed under the FIRO.

Disclosure by the HKMA

The HKMA does not disclose information about usage of the facilities, unless exceptional circumstances pertain where there is a strong case for doing so to maintain monetary and financial stability.  However, should usage of the facilities result in an increase in the Aggregate Balance, the amount of the increase will be reflected in the regular updates of interbank liquidity on the HKMA website and on the HKMA pages of the major financial information outlets according to the established practice.

Note: In this framework, “banks” refers to licensed banks, restricted licence banks and deposit-taking companies.

Last revision date : 10 September 2019

港元流動資金安排

2008年全球金融危機以來,多項全球性的監管改革已在香港陸續推行,藉此增強銀行承受衝擊的能力及降低系統性風險。然而,央行提供的流動資金仍然是維持金融穩定的其中一項主要工具。

過去幾年,香港引入全面的跨界別處置機制,該機制包含一系列權力及一套確認跨境處置行動的法定架構。香港根據《金融機構(處置機制)條例》(《處置條例》)確立的處置架構符合金融穩定理事會頒布的《金融機構有效處置機制的主要元素》,藉此可以確保在必要時能以有序方式處置瀕臨倒閉的銀行,以及確保倒閉的成本由有關銀行的某些債權人及股東,而非納稅人來承擔。《處置條例》載明的處置資金條文是實施處置機制的重要一環,就此金管局在「流動資金安排架構」之下制定一項新的「處置資金安排」,按需要在處置程序中予以運用。

金管局籍著推出全新處置資金安排的機會,重新闡明及整合為銀行提供流動資金的架構,並適當引入若干措施以優化原有的安排,旨在讓市場及社會大衆更清楚了解金管局為維繫香港貨幣及金融體系穩定健全而用以向銀行提供臨時性港元流動資金(即並非資本支援性質) 的各種安排。

流動資金安排架構

所有提供流動資金予銀行的方式都應符合以貨幣發行局制度為基礎的聯繫匯率制度。金管局在設計架構時力求在清晰與彈性之間取得平衡,但明白並沒有一刀切的方法可應對所有情況,因此可能會在適當時間調整此架構或設立新安排。

交收資金安排

兩項交收資金安排(包括即日回購交易及貼現窗)的目的是促進銀行同業支付系統暢順運作,從而確保系統性穩定。銀行在日常業務過程中可透過有關安排調整流動資金狀況(即銀行在金管局的結算戶口結餘)。銀行可使用所持有的外匯基金票據及債券作為抵押品,分別透過即日回購交易及貼現窗獲取即日及隔夜港元流動資金。這些常設資金安排旨在協助有需要的銀行履行交收責任,從而確保銀行同業支付系統運作暢順。

備用流動資金安排

備用流動資金安排(包括有期回購交易及外匯掉期)的目的是為突然面對流動資金緊絀情況的銀行提供有期流動資金。資金期限一般為1個月或以內,並可續期,但金管局可於到期時參照市場利率而重訂息率。

銀行如要透過備用流動資金安排獲取港元資金,必須提交合標準的抵押品(外匯掉期交易抵押品為美元或其他主要貨幣,有期回購交易則為若干以港元、美元或其他主要貨幣計值的流動證券)。詳見「金管局為銀行提供的流動資金安排架構:運作擇要」

應急有期資金安排

應急有期資金安排參照過去的「最後貸款人」安排的指導原則制定。金管局會在以下兩個情況下,酌情決定向無法透過其他方法(例如市場資金)應付異常巨大的流動資金壓力的銀行提供流動資金:(i)交收資金安排及/或備用流動資金安排並不適用或並不足夠;以及(ii)金管局認為有關銀行面對的流動資金壓力本身、或因連鎖影響、或因公眾信心減弱,會威脅或損害香港的系統性穩定。金管局會因應當時形勢,按情況逐一考慮個別申請。雖然應急有期資金安排並未為可提供的流動資金款額設定上限,但銀行須提交足夠抵押品。金管局根據應急有期資金安排提供流動資金時,會考慮接受多種抵押品(詳見「金管局為銀行提供的流動資金安排架構:運作擇要」),但仍會因應申請銀行的具體情況逐一決定提供協助的條款及可接受的抵押品。

應急有期資金安排賦予金管局所需的靈活性,讓金管局有足夠能力應對異常巨大的流動資金壓力情況,以及就最嚴峻的壓力情況作出規劃。

處置資金安排

處置資金安排於金融管理專員作為處置機制當局在行使其在《處置條例》下的處置權力的情況下適用。金管局在考慮到系統性穩定的前提下,可酌情決定在處置資金安排下向銀行提供流動資金,以確保已於香港進入處置程序的銀行(或其控權公司)有足夠流動資金履行財務責任,直至有關銀行回復至可於市場獲取所需資金。與應急有期資金安排一樣,金管局會按個別情況逐一設定根據處置資金安排提供流動資金的條款。

處置資金安排與應急有期資金安排有兩點不同之處。第一,處置資金安排只會在已根據《處置條例》啟動處置程序的情況下適用。第二,在處置資金安排下提供協助而引致的任何損失,最終可根據在《處置條例》下施加的徵費安排追討。

金管局的披露安排

除非在特殊情況下有充分理由支持作出披露有助維持貨幣及金融穩定,金管局不會披露有關使用各項流動資金安排的資料。然而,若使用流動資金安排引致銀行體系總結餘增加,所增加的數額會按照既定做法在金管局網站內有關銀行同業流動資金水平的定期更新資料內反映,亦會透過主要金融資訊渠道的相關金管局頁面披露。

註:在本架構內,「銀行」泛指持牌銀行、有限制牌照銀行及接受存款公司。

修訂日期 : 2019年09月10日