Complaints about Stored Value Facility Licensees

Choose Stored Value Facility Licensees Carefully

Although Stored Value Facility (SVF) licensees in Hong Kong are subject to the supervision of the HKMA, their mode of operations may vary significantly depending on their business models and customers. SVF users should therefore choose their SVF licensees carefully by comparing, among things, their types and scope of services, terms and conditions, fee structure and redemption policy. If SVF users believe that the nature or level of service provided by an SVF licensee does not meet their expectation, they should consider choosing another SVF licensee that suits them.

Complaint Handling of Stored Value Facility Licensees

There are occasions when SVF users decide to lodge a complaint against an SVF licensee, whether they still use its facility. SVF users may lodge a complaint due to many different reasons, e.g. unsatisfactory customer experience, disputes on fees and charges, or concerns regarding issues like data privacy or payment security. 

The HKMA requires that all SVF licensees should have in place an established and effective complaint handling mechanism to ensure that all complaints received are handled in a reasonable manner. As such, it will be effective for SVF users to lodge a complaint directly with the SVF licensee first in order to have the issues addressed or resolved at an early stage. Many disputes and complaints arise from misunderstandings or expectation gaps, and they can in many cases be resolved after a complainant has communicated with the SVF licensee.  Each SVF licensee has a specific responsible contact to handle complaints. Please refer to the list of SVF licensees’ contact details for handling customer complaints or call the HKMA at 2878 1188 for relevant information.

Nevertheless, not all disputes or complaints can be resolved effectively through the SVF licensee’s complaint handling processes. For example, an SVF user may have grounds to believe that the SVF licensee (i) did not take reasonable steps to handle his or her complaint, (ii) may have breached certain provisions of the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance (PSSVFO), or (iii) may have committed certain misconduct such as misrepresentation. For these cases, complainants can report to the HKMA, which will look into the matter. 

It should nevertheless be noted that the HKMA will not normally interfere with an SVF licensee’s commercial decisions and adjudicate or intervene in a commercial dispute between an SVF licensee and its customers, provided that the relevant terms and conditions have been clearly set out for reference by the SVF users. Through involvement in the handling of dispute between the complainant and the SVF licensee, the HKMA seeks to ensure that (i) SVF licensees did take reasonable steps to handling the complaints they received, (ii) SVF users are fairly protected in accordance with the PSSVFO, and (iii) issues of regulatory concern, if any, will be followed up appropriately. 

Lodging Complaint with the HKMA

You can lodge a complaint about an SVF licensee with the HKMA by completing a complaint form. The complaint form can be downloaded from the HKMA’s website or be sent to you by post, email or fax upon request. 

Please provide sufficient information in the complaint form such that the HKMA can handle your complaint properly and promptly. You can deliver the completed form to the HKMA in person or send it to us by post, email, or fax. The relevant contact information is set out at the end of the complaint form and also below. 

Please note that if a complaint form is not signed or relevant consent is not given, it will not be handled and will be returned to the sender according to the available address specified in the form, regardless of the delivery method. When you submit a completed complaint form to us through email, you may either send a scanned copy of the form with your signature, or a completed form in the editable PDF file format directly without signature. In the latter case, you are required to give your consent by ticking the box in section 5 of the complaint form, to the HKMA to disclose the complaint’s information and your personal data to the licensee and other parties concerned in a prudent manner.

Please also note that all telephone conversations about the complaints between you and the HKMA may be recorded and your information is subject to the disclosure of personal information and data set out in section 5 of the complaint form.

Contact Details
Enquiry Line: (852) 2878 1188
Fax: (852) 2887 2234
E-mail: SVFComplaintEnquiry@hkma.gov.hk
Address: Retail Payment Oversight Division
Hong Kong Monetary Authority
55th Floor
Two International Finance Centre
8 Finance Street
Central
Hong Kong

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴

小心選擇儲值支付工具持牌人

儘管香港的儲值支付工具持牌人受金管局監管,但其營運方式會因應其經營模式及客戶而存在很大分別。因此,儲值支付工具用戶應小心選擇其持牌人,比較不同持牌人提供的服務種類與範圍、章則及條款、收費結構及贖回政策等。若儲值支付工具用戶認為某儲值支付工具持牌人所提供的服務性質或水平並未符合其期望,便應考慮選擇另一家能迎合其需要的儲值支付工具持牌人。

處理有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴

在某些情況下,無論用戶是否有意繼續使用有關儲值支付工具,都會決定對儲值支付工具的持牌人提出投訴。儲值支付工具用戶可能會基於許多不同原因而提出投訴,例如對服務不滿、有關收費的爭議、或有關私隱或支付保安方面的問題。

金管局規定所有儲值支付工具持牌人都須設有有效的投訴處理機制,以確保收到的所有投訴得到合理方式處理。因此儲值支付工具用戶如要投訴,最有效的做法是先直接向儲值支付工具持牌人提出,以及早處理或解決有關問題。許多爭議及投訴都是沿於誤會或實際情況與期望不符而產生,問題往往能夠在投訴人與儲值支付工具持牌人溝通後得到解決。每家儲值支付工具持牌人都設有專人負責處理投訴,有關的聯絡資料載於儲值支付工具持牌人處理客戶投訴的聯絡人名單,亦可致電金管局(2878 1188)索取有關資料。

然而,並非所有爭議或投訴都能透過儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴處理程序有效解決。例如若儲值支付工具用戶有理由相信儲值支付工具持牌人(i)沒有採取合理步驟處理其投訴;(ii)可能違反《支付系統及儲值支付工具條例》(《條例》)的某些規定;或(iii)可能作出某些失當行為(如失實陳述)。在該等情況下,投訴人可向金管局舉報,本局將會跟進。

然而,須注意的是,若儲值支付工具持牌人已清楚列明有關章則及條款供儲值支付工具使用者參考,金管局一般不會干預儲值支付工具持牌人的商業決定,亦不會就儲值支付工具持牌人與客戶的商業爭議作出仲裁或介入有關爭議。金管局參與處理投訴人與儲值支付工具持牌人之間的爭議,目的是確保(i)儲值支付工具持牌人採取合理步驟處理收到的投訴;(ii)儲值支付工具使用者得到《條例》所規定的合理保障;以及(iii)如有監管方面需要關注的事項,得到適當跟進。

向金管局提出投訴

如你要向金管局投訴儲值支付工具持牌人,可填妥投訴表格。投訴表格可從金管局的網站下載,你亦可要求我們以郵寄、電郵或傳真方式發送表格。

請在投訴表格內提供充足資料,讓金管局能妥善及迅速處理你的投訴。你可按表格最後部分所列載的聯絡資料(有關資料亦載於下文),親身或以郵寄、電郵或傳真方式向金管局遞交已填妥的投訴表格。

請注意,如投訴表格並未簽署或作適當同意,無論以任何方式遞交,金管局亦不會受理,並會按照表格內註明的地址退回予寄件人。若以電郵方式向我們遞交填妥的投訴表格,你可遞交附有你簽署的表格的掃描本,或沒有簽署的可編輯PDF檔案格式的表格。如屬後者,你須在投訴表格第5節有關方格內加上「✔」號,以示同意金管局向有關持牌人及其他有關各方以審慎的方式披露有關投訴的資料及你的個人資料。

請注意,你與金管局之間有關投訴的所有電話談話內容可能會被錄音,而你的資料亦受投訴表格第5節的披露個人資料同意書所規限。

聯絡資料
查詢熱線: (852) 2878 1188
傳真: (852) 2887 2234
電郵: SVFComplaintEnquiry@hkma.gov.hk
地址: 零售支付系統監管處
香港金融管理局
香港中環金融街8號
國際金融中心2期55樓

 

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日