Role of the HKMA

The HKMA has taken a number of steps to deal with the account opening issue encountered by some corporate customers. Our aim is to maintain a robust AML/CFT regime in Hong Kong which does not undermine access by legitimate businesses and ordinary citizens to basic banking services.

Is the Account Opening Issue Prevalent in Hong Kong?

Based on the comments and information collected by the HKMA, the difficulties faced by overseas small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and start-ups in opening bank accounts do not appear to be an industry-wide issue. The issue is pertinent amongst one or two international banks which are usually the first port of call for many companies seeking to open a bank account. There has been some improvement in the situation after the HKMA issued a circular on “De-risking and Financial Inclusion” to all banks in September 2016.

What has the HKMA Done to Address the Account Opening Issue?

The HKMA attaches great importance to the issue concerning difficulties in opening bank accounts, and has embarked on a series of follow-up work, including:

  • We have engaged various stakeholders including overseas and local chambers of commerce and SME associations to have an in-depth and full understanding of the situation, gathered the details of specific incidents related to difficulties in opening bank accounts, and followed up the cases with banks accordingly.
  • The HKMA issued a circular on “De-risking and Financial Inclusion” to all banks on 8 September 2016, reiterating that banks should adopt a “risk-based” approach in handling account opening applications and conducting ongoing due diligence for existing customers. Banks should also ensure a reasonable and fair treatment of all existing and prospective customers, including:
    • enhancing the transparency of account opening and customer due diligence (CDD) process by setting out clearly the information and documentation required for the CDD process, explaining the rationale for the information requested, assisting customers in taking steps or providing alternatives that can help satisfy the CDD process, and introducing review mechanisms for unsuccessful applicants;
    • maintaining effective communication with customers by, for example, providing interim updates about the progress of their applications, timely feedback of the results of their applications, and where an application is rejected, the reason for rejection as appropriate.
    • Banks should also provide adequate training to their frontline staff to ensure consistent implementation of the relevant measures.
  • The HKMA further issued “Frequently Asked Questions on CDD” on 29 September 2016 and 25 May 2017 to clarify with banks some commonly misinterpreted CDD requirements. These frequently asked questions documents have been consolidated into “Frequently Asked Questions in relation to AML/CFT”, developed by the Hong Kong Association of Banks with input from the HKMA, issued on 31 October 2018 and 26 July 2019.
  • The HKMA also issued Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing - Address Verification Requirements on 11 October 2017 to inform banks that the address verification requirements currently set out in the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (for Authorized Institutions) would be formally removed tentatively in 2018. Subsequently, the Guideline was revised in October 2018 and banks are only required to collect the address information of the customers.
  • With the concerted efforts of the HKMA and the banking industry, tiered account services that aim to enhance customer experience – “Simple Bank Accounts” (or “SBAs”) – have been launched in April 2019 to provide an additional option for business customers which require only basic banking services. With narrower service scope, the risks involved in SBAs would be relatively lower and hence less extensive CDD measures to be carried out at account opening.
  • We have set up a task force to handle comments and queries regarding account opening and maintenance, and have developed a dedicated page on the HKMA website for communication with stakeholders.
  • The HKMA engaged a service provider to undertake a mystery shopping programme (MSP) in 2018, focusing on the customer interface aspect of the account opening processes of 20 retail banks for SMEs and ethnic minority customers. The MSP complements the HKMA’s supervisory activities in assessing the effectiveness of banks’ improvement measures and practices on the ground. The HKMA issued a circular on 14 June 2019 to share with the banking industry the observations identified and require further improvements by banks in some areas. The HKMA has commenced the follow-up work with the concerned banks on the observations of the MSP.
  • As part of the follow-up work in relation to the HKMA circular on “De-risking and Financial Inclusion” issued on 8 September 2016, the HKMA conducted a thematic review between late 2017 and 2018 on banks’ application of AML/CFT measures when on-boarding SMEs customers. The HKMA issued a circular on 14 June 2019 to share key observations and good practices identified from the review with the industry.

What Does it Mean by Banks Applying a “Risk-based” Approach in Account Opening?

“Risk-based” means that banks should differentiate the risk levels of individual customers in accordance with their backgrounds and circumstances, and apply proportionate risk-mitigating and CDD measures, rather than simply adopting a “one-size-fits-all” approach to all the customers in the approval process.

Opinions or Queries

If you have any opinions or queries about account opening or updating of account information, please contact the HKMA.

Telephone:

(852) 2878 1133

Email:

accountopening@hkma.gov.hk

Last revision date : 12 September 2019

金管局角色

面對部分企業開戶困難,金管局已採取多項措施應對。我們的目標是香港既要維持穩健的制度去打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集,同時又不會影響正當企業及普羅市民獲得基本銀行服務。

香港開戶困難的問題普遍嗎?

根據金管局收集的意見和資料,海外中小企和初創企業開戶困難的情況,主要集中在一、兩家較常被企業首先考慮開戶的國際銀行,而非反映全港所有銀行的情況。金管局在2016年9月向全港銀行發出《「迴避風險」與普及金融》指引後,情況已經有所改善。

針對開戶困難問題,金管局過去做了甚麼工作?

金管局非常重視開戶困難的問題,並展開一連串的跟進工作,包括:

  • 我們接觸了為數眾多的海外和本地商會、中小企協會等,深入及全面地了解開戶困難的情況,收集關於開戶問題個案的具體詳情,並就個案與銀行跟進。
  • 2016年9月8日,金管局向全港銀行發出《「迴避風險」與普及金融》指引,重申銀行應採用「風險為本」方法處理開戶申請和對現有客戶進行盡職審查。金管局又要求銀行應以合理及公平的方式對待所有現有客戶和準客戶,包括:
    • 提高開戶過程及盡職審查的透明度,清楚列明客戶盡職審查所需的資料及文件,向客戶解釋要求提供有關資料的理由,盡力協助客戶採取或提供其他有助符合客戶盡職審查程序的方法,並為未能成功開戶的申請者提供適當的覆核機制;
    • 與客戶保持有效溝通,例如通知客戶有關開戶申請進度,適時告知其申請結果,以及若申請被拒時,按合適的情況向客戶提供拒絕開戶的理由。
    • 銀行也須為前線員工提供充足培訓,以確保員工能夠貫徹執行銀行的有關措施。
  • 金管局分別於2016年9月29日及2017年5月25日發出「常見問題」形式的文件,向銀行澄清一些有關客戶盡職審查常被錯誤詮譯的規定。這些常見問題已併入2018年10月31日及2019年7月26日發出的由香港銀行公會制定並獲金管局提供意見的「有關打擊洗錢∕恐怖分子資金籌集的常見問題」
  • 金管局於2017年10月11日發出(《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》-核實地址規定)通告,通知銀行載於《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引(認可機構適用)》的核實地址規定暫定於2018年正式被刪除。隨後該指引於2018年10月修訂後,銀行只須收集客戶的地址資料。
  • 經過金管局與銀行業界的深入研究和積極推動,一項提升客戶體驗的分層帳戶服務──「簡易帳戶」經已於2019年4月出台,讓一些只需要基本銀行服務的企業客戶有更靈活的選擇。「簡易帳戶」是由傳統存款戶口分間出來的一層戶口,重點提供基本的銀行戶口服務,而服務範圍較傳統戶口有所收窄。由於「簡易帳戶」涉及的風險相對較低,開戶時的客戶盡職審查措施亦相對精簡。
  • 我們已成立專責小組處理開戶和維持戶口的意見和疑問,並在金管局網站開設專頁與持份者溝通。
  • 金管局於2018年聘用服務供應商進行喬裝客戶檢查計劃,集中檢視香港二十間零售銀行在中小企及少數族裔客戶開戶程序方面的客戶互動環節,以配合在評估認可機構改善措施及實際執行成效的監管工作。金管局於2019年6月14日發出通告及相關報告,與業界分享該計劃觀察所得結果及要求銀行就該計劃觀察所得事項採取適當行動。金管局並已開始就該計劃觀察所得事項向有關銀行作出跟進。
  • 跟進金管局於2016年9月8日發出的《「迴避風險」與普及金融》指引,金管局在2017年底至2018年期間,就銀行如何對中小企客戶類別開戶過程中實施打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的措施進行專題評估,並於2019年6月14日發出通告,與業界分享評估期間識別到的事項及良好處理方法。

銀行要以「風險為本」處理客戶開戶,究竟是甚麼意思?

「風險為本」是指銀行因應客戶不同的背景去區分風險程度,並按此採取相應的緩減風險和盡職審查措施,而非簡單地對所有客戶採取「一刀切」式的批核程序。

意見或疑問?

如對銀行開立戶口或更新戶口資料有任何意見或疑問,可聯絡金管局。

電話:(852) 2878 1133
電郵:accountopening@hkma.gov.hk

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日