Reproduction of Hong Kong Currency Notes

Applications to the HKMA

Under section 103 of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200 of the Laws of Hong Kong), a person who, without the consent in writing of the Monetary Authority, reproduces on any substance whatsoever, and whether or not to the correct scale, any Hong Kong currency note or any part of a Hong Kong currency note, commits an offence.  The above provision applies to any Hong Kong currency note which has been lawfully issued in Hong Kong, despite that the note may no longer be in day to day circulation.

In the light that there have been cases of counterfeit notes being accepted by the public as genuine notes, the HKMA and the Police have put in place appropriate approval procedures for reproduction of Hong Kong currency notes to guard against the passing of counterfeit notes into circulation.

Applications for reproduction of Hong Kong currency notes may be divided into two categories: (1) production of stage money; (2) for other purposes e.g. advertisement, educational or instructional purposes etc..  These will be given approval after consultation with the Police, provided that the applicants undertake to comply with the stipulated conditions.  The approval will be copied to the Police for record (and monitoring of management and storage etc. in the case of stage money).

Since section 103 of the Crimes Ordinance applies to Hong Kong currency notes only, the HKMA is not empowered to process applications for reproduction of foreign currency.  Those who wish to reproduce currency notes of other countries should study the laws and regulations of the respective countries and assess the legal risks, including ss.96-102 of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200 of the Laws of Hong Kong).  If in doubt, please seek independent legal advice.

Unless the electronic images of currency notes are to be reproduced into a physical form, approval by the HKMA is not required for the filming of currency notes for viewing on mobile phones and electronic screens, as such electronic images cannot be passed as currency notes.  Nor is approval required for making of electronic or print images of currency notes by the media for news reporting purposes.

Please send your applications and enquiries to the HKMA by: –

  • email: publicenquiry@hkma.gov.hk;
  • fax: 2878 2010; or
  • post: 55/F, Two International Finance Centre, 8 Finance Street, Central, Hong Kong (Attn: Public Enquiry Service)

Intellectual Property Rights Issues

Before reproducing Hong Kong currency notes, applicants should directly liaise with the concerned note-issuing banks or the Information Services Department of the HKSAR Government (for the Government $10 notes), for consent to use their currency note images.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

複製香港流通紙幣

向金管局提出的申請

《香港法例》第200章《刑事罪行條例》第103條規定,任何人未經金融管理專員書面同意而在任何物質上,以正確或不正確的比例複製任何香港流通紙幣或其任何部分,即屬犯罪。以上條文適用於所有曾在香港合法發行的紙幣,包括不再普遍使用的紙幣。

由於曾有市民誤收偽鈔而蒙受金錢損失,金管局與警方已為複製香港流通紙幣的申請制訂了適當的審批程序,防止偽鈔流入市面。

申請複製紙幣用途可分為兩類:(1)製作道具鈔票;(2)其他用途例如廣告製作、教學或指引用途等。只要申請人承諾遵從有關的條款,金管局在諮詢警方之後,將會批准其申請。書面批准會抄送警方存檔(及跟進有關道具鈔票的管理及貯存等)。

《刑事罪行條例》第103條只適用於香港流通紙幣,金管局無權處理複製外幣的申請。如欲複製外幣,請留意有關地區的法律法規,並自行評估有關法律風險,包括《香港法例》第200章《刑事罪行條例》第96-102條。如有疑問,請諮詢獨立法律意見。

拍攝鈔票在手機和電子螢幕顯示,不會被當作鈔票使用,因此毋須向金管局申請,除非這些電子影像會用於複製實物。而傳媒因報道新聞而複製電子本或印本,亦毋須申請。

申請人可以透過以下方式向金管局提交申請或查詢:

  • 電郵:publicenquiry@hkma.gov.hk
  • 傳真:2878 2010
  • 郵寄:中環金融街8號國際金融中心2期55樓(香港金融管理局公眾查詢服務組收)

知識產權事宜

在複製香港流通紙幣前,申請人應直接聯絡相關發鈔銀行或特區政府新聞處(就特區政府發行的十元鈔票),取得它們的同意方可使用其鈔票圖像。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日