Key Functions

Monetary Stability
Linked Exchange Rate System
Interest Rate Adjustment Mechanism
Liquidity Support to Banks
EFAC Currency Board
Sub-Committee
Transparency of Currency Board Operations
Notes & Coins of
Hong Kong
Notes
Coins
Milestones of Monetary Reform
History of Hong Kong's Exchange Rate System
Banking Stability
Banking Policy & Supervision
The Three-tier Banking System
Regulatory Framework
Advisory Committees
Supervisory
Co-operation
Electronic Banking & Technology Risk Management
Regulation of the Issue of Multi-purpose Stored Value Cards
Regulation of Money Brokers
Consumer Corner
HKMA’s Work in Relation to Strengthening Financial Consumer Protection
Frequently Asked Questions
Complaints about Banks
Internet Banking
Security Controls for ATM Services
Guide to Authorization
Supervisory Policy Manual
Oversight of Financial
Market Infrastructures
Basel III
Resolution
Review of the HKMA's Work on Banking Stability
Sharing of Mortgage Data
International Financial Centre
International & Regional Financial Co-operation
International & Regional Financial Co-operation
Participation in Multilateral Agencies & International Forums
Co-operation with Other Central Banks
Application of the "One Country, Two Systems" Principle
Renminbi Business in Hong Kong
Debt-market Development
Exchange Fund Bills & Notes
Government Bond Programme
Important Policy Initiatives Affecting The EFBN Programme & Other Hong Kong Dollar Debt Instruments
Infrastructure
Financial Infrastructure in Hong Kong
Payment Systems
CMU
OTC Derivatives Trade Repository
System Links
International
Co-operation
Pan-Asian CSD Alliance
Useful Links
Exchange Fund
History
Management
Transparency
31.2314

Participation in Multilateral Agencies & International Forums

The HKMA participates actively in multilateral institutions and international forums to keep Hong Kong in the forefront of financial and monetary developments. Participation in these international forums enables the HKMA to keep close track of developments in international monetary systems and financial markets. With the growing integration of international financial markets, such information is vital for the maintenance of monetary and financial stability in Hong Kong.

Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Hong Kong has been a member of the ADB in its own right since 1969. Hong Kong subscribes to the ADB's General Capital Increases and contributes to the replenishments of the Asian Development Fund.

The HKMA is responsible for coordinating matters relating to Hong Kong's participation in the ADB. HKMA officials attend ADB's Annual Meetings and contribute to discussions on policy issues of common interest. Under the name "Hong Kong, China", the HKMA has continued to participate actively in ADB's activities after 1 July 1997.

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Hong Kong is a member of APEC, and HKMA representatives attend the APEC meetings for finance and central bank officials. The HKMA was the co-ordinator of the APEC Collaborative Initiative on Development of Domestic Bond Market, which produced the Compendium of Sound Practices - Guidelines to Facilitate the Development of Domestic Bond Markets in APEC Member Economies in September 1999.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank Group

Hong Kong is not a member of the IMF or the World Bank. Hong Kong participates in the activities of the two organisations as part of the People's Republic of China Delegation.

As in the case of the ADB, the HKMA co-ordinates matters relating to Hong Kong's contact with the two organisations. These include attending their joint Annual Meetings, co-ordinating the IMF's Article IV Consultation on Hong Kong and participating in the exchange of information.

In January 1997, the HKMA joined the New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB), which is a standby credit facility provided to the IMF to forestall or cope with an impairment of the international monetary system or to deal with an exceptional threat to the stability of the system. The HKMA's participation in the NAB underscores the status of Hong Kong as an international financial centre and provides Hong Kong with an additional channel of information on likely sources of financial instability.

The HKMA is committed to improving transparency and public access to Hong Kong's economic data by meeting standards expected of a leading international financial centre. Accordingly, Hong Kong subscribed to the IMF Special Data Dissemination Standard (SDDS) in October 1996. Hong Kong has complied with the enhanced SDDS on international reserves and foreign currency liquidity (Excel File, 1.69MB) since May 2000.

Hong Kong has participated in the IMF pilot project for the voluntary release of Article IV Staff Report and Selected Issues Paper. The first Article IV reports on Hong Kong was published in March 2000 and Hong Kong has continued to participate in the voluntary publication of the Article IV reports since then (for details of the latest Staff Report and Selected Issues Paper, please see relevant pages on the websites of the IMF and Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region).

In September 2000, the Sub-Office of the IMF's Resident Representative Office in China commenced operation in Hong Kong. The Sub-Office is responsible for gathering information on financial and monetary developments in Asia and analysing their impact on Hong Kong. In the same month, the International Finance Corporation, the private sector arm of the World Bank Group, established an office in Hong Kong as its regional headquarters for East Asia and the Pacific.

Bank for International Settlements (BIS)

On 11 July 1998, the BIS opened its Representative Office for Asia and the Pacific in Hong Kong, underlying the strategic location of Hong Kong in the region and the attractions in telecommunication and financial infrastructure that Hong Kong can offer as an international financial centre. The Representative Office is the first overseas office of the BIS and it serves as a regional centre for the activities of the BIS in Asia. .

In November 1996, the HKMA formally became a member of the BIS. The fact that both the HKMA and the People's Bank of China (PBoC) have been admitted to the organisation in their own right serves as an important recognition of the "One Country, Two Systems" Principle.

Long before the HKMA formally became a member of the BIS, Hong Kong was already a strong supporter of BIS activities. Starting from 1979, the former Office of the Commissioner of Banking (OCB) began to contribute banking data to the BIS for compilation of international banking statistics. Hong Kong follows the standards of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, ensuring that the banking practices are in line with international standards.

The HKMA participates in the Annual Meetings of the BIS, its special meetings on global financial topics as well as committees and working groups.

Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS)

In June 2009, Hong Kong joined the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS), the leading international forum for co-operation on banking supervisory matters, as a member. Hong Kong has contributed to initiatives such as enhancing Basel II and formulating the Basel III rules endorsed by the G-20 leaders in November 2010.

Executives' Meeting of East Asia and Pacific Central Banks (EMEAP)

The HKMA actively participates in EMEAP. The deputy governors of EMEAP meet twice annually, while the first meeting of Governors was held in Tokyo in July 1996 and has been held once a year subsequently. The HKMA hosted the 4th EMEAP Governors' Meeting in July 1999 and the 14th EMEAP Governors' Meeting in July 2009.

Three working groups have been established by EMEAP to strengthen co-operation among regional central banks and monetary authorities in specific areas such as payment systems, financial market development and banking supervision. The Monetary and Financial Stability Committee (MFSC) was established in 2007 to enhance the macro-monitoring and crisis management mechanisms of EMEAP. The HKMA has assumed chairmanship of the Working Group on Banking Supervision since mid-2006, and has participated in the other two working groups and MFSC as members.

Financial Stability Board (FSB)

Hong Kong is a member of the FSB, formerly the Financial Stability Forum (FSF). The FSF, which was established by the G7, first convened in April 1999 with a view to reducing vulnerability and safeguard the smooth functioning of financial markets through enhanced information exchange and co-operation in financial supervision and surveillance. Hong Kong's inclusion in the FSF, together with four other non-G7 economies (Australia, the Netherlands, Singapore and Switzerland) is a recognition of its status as a systemically important financial centre. The HKMA regularly attends meetings of the FSF to exchange views on potential vulnerabilities in the international financial system.

In April 2009, the FSF was re-established as the FSB with an expanded membership and broadened mandate. The structure of the FSB consists of a Chairperson, a Steering Committee, a Plenary, and a Secretariat. Under this structure, three Standing Committees on: (a) Assessment of Vulnerabilities;, (b) Supervisory and Regulatory Cooperation; and (c) Standards Implementation; were established to carry out the work of the FSB. Hong Kong is a member of the Plenary meeting and participates in all three Standing Committees.

Group of Twenty (G20)

The G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors was established in 1999 to bring together systemically important developed and developing economies to discuss key issues in the global economy.

The G20 plays an active role in global efforts to promote international financial market reform. The first G20 Summit on Financial Markets and the World Economy was held in November 2008, and an action plan for reforming and strengthening the international financial system was set out in the Summit Declaration. Further recommendations to strengthen the financial system were made at the London Summit in April 2009. Hong Kong participates in various G20 meetings as a member of the People's Republic of China's delegation and monitors closely the latest developments in implementing G20 recommendations both at home and abroad.

Other Central Banking Forums

HKMA representatives participate and give lecture in courses organised by SEACEN (South East Asian Central Banks) and SEANZA (South East Asia, New Zealand and Australia), and they attend other central banking forums, including the SEANZA Forum of Banking Supervisors.

Last revision date: 30 June 2014
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Consumer Corner
Complaints about Banks
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites and Phishing E-mails
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of AIs & LROs
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers

主要職能

貨幣穩定
聯繫匯率制度
利率調節機制
向銀行提供流動資金支持
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的貨幣發行委員會
貨幣發行局運作的透明度
香港的紙幣與硬幣
紙幣
硬幣
硬幣收集計劃
貨幣改革的里程
香港匯率制度的興替
銀行體系的穩定
銀行政策與監管
銀行三級發牌制度
監管制度
銀行監管的主要條例
諮詢委員會
與其他監管機構合作
貨幣經紀的監管
實施國際監管標準
資本
槓桿比率
逆周期緩衝資本(CCyB)
具系統重要性銀行(SIB)
流動性
風險承擔限額
披露
實施其他國際監管標準
諮詢
處置機制
處置框架
處置標準
處置規劃
處置執行
處置刊物
消費者資訊專區
金管局在加強保障金融服務消費者方面的工作
消費者教育推廣計劃
常見問題
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
網上銀行
櫃員機服務的保安措施
認可指引
監管政策手冊
銀行專業資歷架構
監察金融市場基建
共用按揭資料
打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集
與打擊洗錢∕恐怖分子資金籌集相關的通告
與制裁相關的通告及最新資料
國際金融中心
國際及區內金融合作
國際及區內金融合作
參與多邊組織及國際論壇
與其他中央銀行的合作
實行「一國兩制」原則
香港人民幣業務
基建融資促進辦公室
債務市場發展
外匯基金票據及債券
政府債券計劃
影響外匯基金票據及債券發行的措施
基礎設施
香港的金融基建
支付系統
債務工具中央結算系統
場外衍生工具交易資料儲存庫
系統聯網
國際合作
亞洲區債券結算系統聯盟
零售支付發展
參考資料
儲值支付工具及零售支付系統的監管制度
儲值支付工具的監管
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
零售支付系統的監管制度
金融科技促進辦公室
深港金融科技創新獎
金融科技監管沙盒
銀行專業資歷架構
外匯基金
歷史
管理
透明度
171.8761

參與多邊組織及國際論壇

金管局積極參與多邊組織及國際論壇,使香港在金融與貨幣發展方面保持先驅位置。透過參與這些國際組織或論壇,金管局能迅速掌握國際貨幣制度與金融市場的新趨勢。鑑於國際金融市場漸趨一體化,這類資訊對維繫香港的貨幣與金融穩定極為重要。

亞洲開發銀行(亞行)

香港從1969年起即以本身名義成為亞行成員,除參與亞行的「全面股本增加」外,亦在亞洲開發基金補充資金時作出貢獻。

金管局負責處理香港參與亞行的有關事務,並派員出席亞行年會及參與討論成員共同關心的政策事項。1997年7月1日以後,金管局以「中國香港」名義繼續積極參與亞行的活動。

亞太經濟合作組織(亞太經合組織)

香港是亞太經合組織成員,並由金管局派代表出席亞太經合組織為金融及中央銀行官員而設的會議。金管局曾負責統籌亞太經合組織轄下的發展本地債券市場合作計劃,該合作計劃於1999年9月編製了一本《穩健執行手法概要─促進亞太經合組織成員經濟體系中本地債券市場發展的方針》。

國際貨幣基金組織(基金組織)世界銀行集團

香港不是基金組織或世界銀行的成員,而是以中華人民共和國代表團成員的身分參與這兩個組織。

與亞行方面的安排一樣,金管局負責統籌有關香港與基金組織及世界銀行集團的聯繫,包括出席其聯合年會、統籌基金組織根據《基金組織協定》第四條就香港經濟情況進行的諮詢,以及參與資訊交流。

在1997年1月,金管局參與新借款安排。這是向基金組織提供備用資金的安排,以便基金組織預防或應付損害國際貨幣體系的危機,或處理影響國際貨幣體系的穩定的嚴峻威脅。金管局參與新借款安排,突顯了香港的國際金融中心地位,並為香港提供額外的資訊渠道,以得悉可能威脅金融穩定的問題。

金管局不斷提高香港經濟數據的透明度,以達到作為主要國際金融中心的應有標準。香港在1996年10月實施 基金組織的公布數據特殊標準,並自2000年5月起按照強化的公布數據特殊標準,發放有關國際儲備及外幣流動資金的數字(Excel 檔案,4.73MB)。

香港參與了自願公布第四條評審員報告及專題研究報告的基金組織試驗計劃。香港在2000年3月首次公布基金組織就香港進行的第四條磋商的報告,並自此繼續自願參與公布有關報告的計劃(最新的評審員報告及專題研究報告詳細內容請參閱基金組織香港特別行政區政府財經事務及庫務局相關網頁。)

基金組織駐華代表處香港分處於2000年9月啟用,負責收集有關亞洲金融與貨幣發展趨勢的資料,並分析該等發展趨勢對香港的影響。同月,世界銀行集團屬下的私營機構國際金融公司在香港設立辦事處,作為其於東亞及太平洋地區的總部。

國際結算銀行

1998年7月11日,國際結算銀行設於香港的亞太區代辦處正式開幕,彰顯了香港在亞太區的策略地位,以及香港作為國際金融中心在提供通訊和金融基礎設施方面的優勢。代辦處是國際結算銀行首個海外辦事處,亦是國際結算銀行在亞洲的活動的地區協調中心。

金管局在1996年11月正式成為國際結算銀行的成員。金管局與中國人民銀行各以本身名義加入國際結算銀行,確認「一國兩制」原則的落實。

遠在金管局正式成為國際結算銀行成員以前,香港已積極支持國際結算銀行的活動。前銀行業監理處(銀監處)自1979年起已向國際結算銀行提供香港銀行體系的數據,以供編製國際銀行體系的統計資料。香港奉行巴塞爾銀行監管委員會的標準,以確保香港銀行業的營運方式符合國際標準。

金管局參與國際結算銀行的周年會議、有關世界性金融事項的特別會議,以及多個委員會與工作小組。

巴塞爾銀行監管委員會(巴塞爾委員會)

金管局於2009年6月成為銀行業監管合作的主要國際組織──巴塞爾委員會──的成員。香港參與該委員會的不同項目,包括按照二十國集團在2010年11月認可的規則優化《資本協定二》及制定《資本協定三》的工作。

東亞及太平洋地區中央銀行會議

金管局積極參與東亞及太平洋地區中央銀行會議。各央行的副行長每年舉行兩次會議,而首屆行長會議於1996年7月在東京舉行,其後每年舉行一次行長會議。金管局分別在1999年7月及2009年7月主辦第4屆及第14屆行長級會議。

東亞及太平洋地區中央銀行會議成立了3個工作小組,以加強區內的中央銀行與貨幣管理機構在支付系統、金融市場發展及銀行監管等具體環節上的合作。其轄下的貨幣金融穩定委員會於2007年成立,以加強該組織的宏觀經濟監察及風險管理安排。金管局自2006年中起出任銀行業監管工作小組的主席,並且是其他兩個工作小組及貨幣金融穩定委員會的成員。

金融穩定委員會

香港是金融穩定委員會(前為金融穩定論壇)的成員。該論壇是由七大工業國在1999年4月成立,目的是透過加強在金融監管及監察方面的訊息交流和合作,減少金融市場受衝擊的機會及致力保持其運作暢順。香港以非七大工業國成員身分(還有澳洲、荷蘭、新加坡及瑞士)加入該論壇,反映香港在全球金融體系中享有的重要地位。金管局定期參加金融穩定論壇會議,並就國際金融體系的潛在風險與其他成員交換意見。

於2009年4月,金融穩定論壇改組為金融穩定委員會,成員有所增加,其宗旨亦擴展至更廣的範疇。金融穩定委員會的新架構包括主席、督導委員會、全體會議及秘書處。設有3個常設委員會,以協助執行其工作,這些委員會包括:(a)風險評估委員會、(b)監管合作委員會,以及(c)標準執行委員會。香港是全體會議成員之一,並參與全部3個常設委員會。

二十國集團

二十國集團財長及中央銀行行長會議於1999年成立,目的是集合在全球金融體系中有重要地位的發展及發展中經濟體系,以討論全球經濟中的重要事項。

二十國集團一直積極參與推動改革國際金融市場的全球行動。第1屆二十國集團金融市場及全球經濟高峰會在2008年11月舉行,有關的峰會宣言列載了改革及加強國際金融體系的行動計劃。此外,在2009年4月舉行的倫敦高峰會上,二十國集團提出了鞏固金融體系的進一步建議。世界各地現正實施這些行動及建議。香港以中國人民共和國代表團成員的身分參與該集團的不同會議,並密切監察本港及海外實施二十國集團建議的最新發展。

其他中央銀行組織

金管局派代表以學員及講師身分參與東南亞中央銀行組織(SEACEN)及東南亞新西蘭澳洲中央銀行組織(SEANZA) 舉辦的課程,另亦出席其他中央銀行組織,其中包括SEANZA舉辦的銀行監管機構會議。

修訂日期: 2014年6月30日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊