Advisory Committees

The Exchange Fund Advisory Committee

Pursuant to Section 3(1) of the Exchange Fund Ordinance, the Financial Secretary's control of the Fund shall be exercised in consultation with an Exchange Fund Advisory Committee of which the Financial Secretary shall be ex officio chairman and of which the other members shall be appointed by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The role of the Committee is to advise the Financial Secretary as controller of the Exchange Fund on general policy relating to its deployment. The members sit on the Committee in a personal capacity. The Committee meets regularly and on other occasions when particular advice is being sought.





Chairman

The Hon. Donald TSANG, JP# THE FINANCIAL SECRETARY

Members

Mr Joseph YAM, JP
THE MONETARY AUTHORITY

Mr David ELDON+

CHAIRMAN

THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI BANKING

CORPORATION LIMITED

Mr E Mervyn DAVIES, JP+ GROUP EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR STANDARD CHARTERED BANK

Mr Marvin CHEUNG Kin Tung, JP+

SENIOR PARTNER

KPMG

Dr The Hon. David LI Kwok Po, LLD, IP*

CHAIRMAN AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE THE BANK OF EAST ASIA LIMITED

Dr James Z M KUNG

CHAIRMAN

CHEKIANG FIRST BANK LIMITED

Mr LIANG Xiaoting+

DIRECTOR BANK OF CHINA

The Hon. Antony LEUNG Kam Chung, GBS, JP#

CHAIRMAN, ASIA PACIFIC
THE CHASE MANHATTAN BANK

Professor Richard Y C WONG, SBS

DIRECTOR, SCHOOL OF BUSINESS UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Secretary

Mr Arthur YUEN (UNTIL 22.4.99)

Mr Christopher MUNN

(FROM 23.4.99)

The Exchange Fund Advisory Committee Sub-Committee on Currency Board Operations

Chairman

Mr Joseph YAM, JP
THE MONETARY AUTHORITY

Members

Mr David CARSE, JP DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

HONG KONG MONETARY AUTHORITY

Mr Norman CHAN, SBS, JP DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

HONG KONG MONETARY AUTHORITY

Mr Tony LATTER, JP DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

HONG KONG MONETARY AUTHORITY

Mr Marvin CHEUNG Kin Tung, JP

SENIOR PARTNER

KPMG

Dr The Hon. David LI Kwok Po, LLD, JP*

CHAIRMAN AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE THE BANK OF EAST ASIA LIMITED

Mr John GREENWOOD

GROUP CHIEF ECONOMIST

INVESCO ASSET MANAGEMENT LIMITED

Professor TSANG Shu-ki

DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS

HONG KONG BAPTIST UNIVERSITY

Professor Richard Y C WONG, SBS

DIRECTOR, SCHOOL OF BUSINESS UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Mr LIANG Xiaoting

DIRECTOR BANK OF CHINA

Secretary

Mr Arthur YUEN (UNTIL 22.4.99)

Mr Christopher MUNN

(FROM 23.4.99)



The Banking Advisory Committee

Chairman

The Hon. Donald TSANG, JP# THE FINANCIAL SECRETARY

Ex Officio Member

Mr Joseph YAM, JP THE MONETARY AUTHORITY

Members

Mr LIU Jinbao REPRESENTING BANK OF CHINA

Mr E Mervyn DAVIES, JP REPRESENTING STANDARD CHARTERED BANK

Mr Raymond OR REPRESENTING THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI **BANKING CORPORATION LIMITED (FROM 1.1.00)**

Mr Didier BALME

Professor Edward CHEN, JP (FROM 1.12.99)

Mr Patrick FUNG

Mrs Angelina LEE (FROM 5.1.00)

Dr The Hon. David LI, LLD, JP*

Mr Yasufumi MIYAZAKI (FROM 1.12.99)

Mr Samuel TSIEN (FROM 1.12.99)

Mr David WONG, JP

Mr Raymond YUNG

Mr Christopher LANGLEY REPRESENTING THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI BANKING CORPORATION LIMITED (UNTIL 31.12.99)

Mr Roderick CHALMERS (UNTIL 30.11.99)

Mr James HULIHAN, Jr (UNTIL 30.11.99)

Mr Robert KOTEWALL, SC (UNTIL 30.11.99)

Mr Takeshi TANIMURA (UNTIL 26.4.99)

Secretary Mr Vincent LEE



The Deposit-Taking Companies Advisory Committee

Chairman

The Hon. Donald TSANG, JP# THE FINANCIAL SECRETARY

Ex Officio Member

Mr Joseph YAM, JP
THE MONETARY AUTHORITY

Members

Mr Andrew SHENG, SBS
REPRESENTING THE SECURITIES AND FUTURES
COMMISSION

Mr Peter NG

REPRESENTING THE HONG KONG ASSOCIATION OF RESTRICTED LICENCE BANKS AND DEPOSIT-TAKING COMPANIES

Mr Stephen CASWELL

Mr Jackson CHEUNG (FROM 31.5.99)

Mr M Mark HOPKINSON (FROM 31.3.99)

Mr Shigeyasu KASAMATSU (FROM 27.10.99)

The Hon. Eric LI, JP*

Mr MOK Wai-kin

Mr Paul MUTHER

Mr Steven NICHOLS

Mr Randolph SULLIVAN

Mr TAN Yoke-Kong

Mr Ian BOYCE (UNTIL 30.3.99)

Mr Corky JUNG (UNTIL 14.4.99)

Mr Takehiro SAKURAI (UNTIL 17.6.99)

Secretary
Mr Vincent LEE

- # Member of the Executive Council
- * Member of the Legislative Council
- + Member of the Audit Sub-Committee of the Exchange Fund Advisory Committee. This Sub-Committee is chaired by Mr Marvin CHEUNG.

