How do banks’ review mechanisms work?

In the past two months, I have received several enquiries from the business community regarding rejection of applications for opening business accounts.  I advised the enquirers to try the review mechanisms under which the banks concerned would re-examine the applications.  The feedback so far suggested that some applicants have then succeeded in opening bank accounts, while some were still unsuccessful.  Let me share with you two stories of appeal with very different results.

The first story was about an overseas entrepreneur who approached a retail bank for opening a business account for his trading company in Hong Kong.  After submitting the documents required, the application was turned down by the bank.  Frustrated by the outcome, the entrepreneur approached the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) for assistance.  The bank then explained that the application was rejected because the company’s mode of operation and directorship structure were unclear.  At my advice, the entrepreneur lodged an appeal under the bank’s review mechanism.  After the bank’s re-examination, and with additional documents provided by the entrepreneur to clarify the ownership and control structure of the company, the bank informed him a week later that a business account could be opened for his company.

The second story was about another overseas entrepreneur who established a new company in Hong Kong to sell products sourced from Mainland China to other parts of the world.  The entrepreneur applied to a bank in Hong Kong for opening a business account.  After submitting the documents required, the application was turned down.  The entrepreneur was unhappy and wrote to the HKMA for assistance.  The entrepreneur followed my advice to lodge an appeal under the bank’s review mechanism, and provided to the bank additional information to support his application.  Two weeks later, the bank informed him that it maintained its decision to reject his application because it has confirmed a piece of public news about him which raised concerns about financial crime risk, and in respect of which he was not able to explain.

You may ask why the two seemingly similar cases of appeal under the banks’ review mechanisms have ended up with entirely different results.  Indeed, the review mechanism has no magic in itself, and it does not guarantee a positive outcome.  Nevertheless, the review mechanism is overall useful.  There are two benefits that the review mechanism can bring to the account opening process.  First, for the application itself – the application is further reviewed at a more senior level of the bank and the customer can provide additional documents and information or answer questions that the bank may have to satisfy the customer due diligence requirements.  Second, for the account opening process – banks are given a chance to re-examine the process vigorously: a lot of substantiated appeal cases could be a warning sign to the bank, suggesting that it should review its account opening process to identify areas for improvements and staff training needs to enhance customer experience.  The review mechanisms of a list of banks in Hong Kong are shown on the HKMA webpage:
http://www.hkma.gov.hk/media/eng/doc/other-information/ac-opening/attachment1_review_mechanism.pdf

If you have tried banks’ review mechanisms, please write to us at accountopening@hkma.gov.hk to share your experience.  Your feedback would be useful in helping us to consider appropriate follow-up work.

Last revision date : 26 August 2019

銀行的覆核機制如何運作?

過去兩個月,我從商界收到幾個有關申請開立公司戶口被拒的查詢。我建議查詢者嘗試透過覆核機制要求有關銀行重新審視其申請。截至目前為止,反饋顯示有些申請者在覆核後能成功開設銀行戶口;但亦有申請者仍然未能成功開戶。就此,我希望與你們分享兩個結果截然不同的覆核故事。

第一個故事是關於一個海外企業家嘗試於一家零售銀行為其香港的貿易公司開設公司戶口。在提交所需文件後,有關銀行拒絕了其申請。失望之下,該企業家向香港金融管理局(金管局)尋求協助。銀行其後解釋有關申請不獲接納是因為有關公司的運作模式和董事結構模糊不清。在我的建議下,企業家透過銀行的覆核機制提出上訴。經銀行重新審視,及企業家提供更多文件闡明公司擁有權及控制權結構之後,銀行於一星期後通知企業家可為其公司開戶。

第二個故事是關於另一個海外企業家的經歷。該企業家於香港開設了一家新公司,將購自內地的產品轉售往世界其他地方。當他於一家香港銀行申請開立公司戶口,並提交所需文件後,銀行拒絕了其申請。該企業家不滿意結果,致信金管局尋求協助。其後,他根據我的建議透過有關銀行的覆核機制提出上訴,並向銀行提供更多資料以支持其申請。兩週後,企業家獲有關銀行告知維持拒絕為其開戶的決定,理由是銀行確認了一宗與其有關的公開消息,內容涉及金融罪行,因而引起了銀行對有關風險的顧慮,而該企業家未能就有關報導提供解釋。

或許你們會疑惑,為何在銀行的覆核機制下兩個似乎相類似的上訴個案會得出兩個截然不同的結果。事實上,覆核機制本身並沒有任何神奇之處,亦不保證上訴一定可以成功。儘管如此,整體來說覆核機制是有用的。它為開戶程序帶來的好處有兩個:首先,就開戶申請本身來說,被拒的申請可獲相關銀行較高級別的職員重新檢視,而客戶亦可向銀行提供更多文件和資料或回答銀行提出的問題以符合銀行盡職審查的要求;第二,在開戶流程方面,銀行可以趁此機會積極地檢討其開戶程序,大量上訴得直的個案可被視為對銀行的一個警告信號,提醒銀行應檢視其開戶流程,找出需要改善的地方和員工的培訓需要,從而提升客戶體驗。本港各銀行的覆核機制詳情現載於金管局網頁:銀行覆核機制

若你曾嘗試使用銀行的覆核機制,歡迎用電郵accountopening@hkma.gov.hk聯絡我們,分享你的體驗。你的意見將有助我們擬定適當的跟進工作。

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日