Key Information

inSight
Speeches
Speeches by Speaker
Norman T.L. Chan
Peter Pang
Eddie Yue
Arthur Yuen
Raymond Li
Edmond Lau
Esmond Lee
Meena Datwani
Vincent W.S. Lee
James Lau
Joseph Yam
Y K Choi
William Ryback
David Carse
Tony Latter
Andrew Sheng
Hans Genberg
Simon Topping
Michael Taylor
The Honourable Donald Tsang
Chen Yuan
Dai Xianglong
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Ernest Patrikis
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Press Releases
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
Press Releases by Category
Bogus Voice Message Phone Calls
Banking in Hong Kong
Fraudulent Websites, E-mails and Telephone System, and other fraud cases
Granting of Banking Licences
Exchange Fund
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments for Allotted Amount under non-competitive tender
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments of Application Amount under non-competitive tender
Tender of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tender Results of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tentative Issuance Schedule for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Appointments and Departures
HKMA Pay Review
HKMA Publications
Speeches
The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation
Hong Kong Note Printing Limited
Hong Kong Institute for Monetary Research
Exchange Fund Investment Limited
Others
Hong Kong Financial Infrastructure
International Relations
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Monetary Policy
Notes and Coins
Renminbi business
Credit Card Lending Survey
Monetary Statistics
Residential Mortgage Survey
Year 2000
Others
Guidelines and Circulars
Guidelines
Circulars
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
359.3404

Speeches

HKMA Annual Report 1998

by Joseph Yam, Chief Executive, Hong Kong Monetary Authority

(Presentation to the Legislative Council Panel on Financial Affairs)

3 May 1999

Introduction

Mr Chairman, Honourable Members,

  1. I am most grateful to you for giving me this opportunity to speak to you on the occasion of the publication of the HKMA's Annual Report for 1998. The Report is tabled at this meeting of the Financial Affairs Panel; it is also being distributed to all Members of the Legislative Council this morning. This Report covers the full range of the HKMA's work for the calendar year 1998, in addition to giving an assessment of the economic and banking environment for the year.
  2. I have no need to remind Members that 1998 was, to put it mildly, an eventful year. The Report sets out the many problems and challenges that the HKMA has had to grapple with during the course of the year, and explains what actions and initiatives the HKMA has been taking to address them. You are all familiar with these issues, and you have the details before you. So I do not wish to take up too much time with a long description. My main focus in this presentation will be on the challenges for the HKMA in the coming year, particularly in the light of current economic trends. Before I do that, however, I should like just to highlight the challenges and achievements of the past year, and to touch on an issue that I know is of concern to Members: the question of accountability and transparency.

The year in review

  1. Nineteen-ninety-eight was an extremely tough year for Hong Kong. The Asian financial crisis, and eruptions in other parts of the world, brought continuing instability. The effects on Hong Kong's open and outward-looking economy were severe. GDP declined by 5.1%, the sharpest decline shown in GDP statistics dating back to 1961. The unemployment rate more than doubled, to 5.7% at the end of the year: it has, since then, increased still further. Property and share prices plummeted, though they have since regained some of their lost value. The strains and uncertainties of recession have penetrated into every home and every business. The distress has been all the more acutely felt because the recession appeared with dramatic suddenness after many years of vigorous and uninterrupted growth.
  2. Hong Kong's banking system, quite naturally, came under severe pressure, though it has handled the downward adjustment in asset prices and the volatilities brought on by the financial crisis with remarkable success. A much more disturbing feature of the larger crisis has been the succession of opportunistic attacks on the Hong Kong dollar and on Hong Kong's financial markets. These attacks increased the pains of recession by pushing up interest rates and by corroding confidence in our financial system, both locally and overseas. They reached a climax in the sophisticated assault of early August, which mobilised massive resources in an attempt to play off the currency board system against the stock and futures markets. This attack was unprecedented in scale and organisation. It posed a grave threat to the stability and integrity of our whole financial system. Decisive, albeit controversial, action by the Hong Kong SAR Government ensured that this threat was averted. In combination with other factors, this action helped to ensure stability in our markets for the remainder of the year and beyond.
  3. The HKMA's role in the August operation is well known to Members. For my part, I am fully convinced that what we did was necessary and right for Hong Kong, and that it delivered our financial system from the brink of a profound and very dangerous crisis. The portfolio of shares acquired by the Government as a result of operations has been placed under the management of EFIL, which will draw up plans for disposing the majority of them in a gradual and orderly manner. But so much has been said about this subject that the impression is sometimes given that that is all that the HKMA did in 1998. This is a pity, because we have other solid achievements to place on record. Among the achievements worth singling out are:
    • Effective supervision of the banking system to ensure stability and soundness during a period of intense regional financial crisis and domestic slowdown.
    • A growth of 27.5% in the accumulated surplus of the Exchange Fund during the year, or 15% if the gains from the equity portfolio acquired in August are excluded.
    • Continuing currency stability, within the framework of the linked exchange rate system, against unprecedented speculative attacks, and during a year of currency instability in much of the rest of the region.
    • Substantial improvements to the currency board system, which have made it more resilient, more transparent, and less vulnerable to manipulation than it was before.
    • Increased involvement in regional and global initiatives to promote Hong Kong as an international financial centre and to seek action to repair defects in the international financial architecture. Progress in this field has been slow, but not for lack of any advocacy on Hong Kong's part.
  4. The three broad mandates of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority are to maintain currency stability, to promote the safety and stability of the banking system, and to enhance the efficiency, integrity and development of the financial system. I think that the HKMA can justifiably claim that it has successfully delivered on all of these mandates during 1998, and in the face of considerable difficulties.

Accountability and transparency

  1. Monetary and banking stability is, of course, the result of efforts by the whole of the financial sector, and not just the work of the HKMA. It also depends on international faith in the integrity of our system, and, equally important, on the confidence of the community of Hong Kong. We believe that community support for our monetary and banking policies, and confidence in our financial system are strong. But we also know that confidence cannot be built on blind public faith in a remote monetary authority carrying out its esoteric policies in a quiet and mysterious way: it must be nurtured through explanation, through informed discussion, through a system that is both accountable and transparent. The safety of our banks and the stability of our currency are everybody's business, and the Asian financial crisis has brought this fact home to the people of Hong Kong. Economic hardship has prompted more people to ask more questions about the way Hong Kong manages its monetary and banking systems. Energetic policies, such as the operation in August, have also stimulated debate - some of it heated - over the rights and wrongs of what we are doing.
  2. Quite properly, the Legislative Council has been the focus of much of this debate, not just in its motion debates, but also in the many discussions organised by this panel on a variety of subjects. We have seen more interest in our work from Members during the past year than in any other year since the creation of the HKMA in 1993. I welcome this attention. It gives us the opportunity to enter into productive discussion with those who know and represent the community. It also shows that accountability is alive and well. We might choose to explain this accountability in narrow legal terms, by referring to laws, passed by the Legislative Council, that define and limit our powers and responsibilities, or by setting out the Monetary Authority's accountability, through the Financial Secretary and the SAR Government, to the Legislative Council under Article 64 of the Basic Law. But we also recognise a broader responsibility to the community of Hong Kong, and a duty to promote an understanding of our role and objectives, and to keep ourselves informed of community concerns and open to public debate.
  3. To this end, the HKMA pursues a policy of transparency and accessibility. This policy has two main objectives: to keep the financial industry and the general public as fully informed of the HKMA's work as possible; and to ensure that the HKMA is in touch with, and responsive to, the community that it serves. We have done a great deal over the past year to advance this policy. This applies not just to technical matters, such as the greatly increased transparency of the currency board system or the daily publication, since November, of the size and composition of the Monetary Base and the virtually real-time publication of the Aggregate Balance of the Banking System. It also applies to the information we issue for general public consumption, whether in print, through the press, on the Internet, or in our programmes of educational briefings and seminars.
  4. Of course, considerations of market sensitivity, commercial confidentiality, and statutory restrictions on disclosure of confidential information place some limits on the amount of material we can make public. Given the increasing transparency and the extremely limited discretion over the currency board arrangements, which draws its credibility from a strict rule-based system, a certain constructive ambiguity is also necessary if we are to have the flexibility to deal decisively with sudden crises. Within these limits, we are committed to developing our policy of transparency, and to increasing the quality and comprehensibility, and not just the quantity, of the materials we put out for public consumption.

The challenges of this year

  1. We see it as one of our challenges to seek to maintain public interest in our work, even though it is possible that some of the controversies and concerns that sustained that interest in 1998 will fade away as economic recovery moves closer. This brings me to the prospects for the remainder of this year and beyond. I leave the predictions and forecasts to others in the Government entrusted with this task. But I think it appropriate to say something here about the monetary environment.
  2. Recent months have witnessed the return to a more stable monetary environment in Hong Kong. Speculative pressures on our currency have moderated sharply, allowing a significant decline in interest rates from the peaks last year. As you know, under the linked exchange rate system, our interest rates are closely tied to those in the United States in normal circumstances. In last year's exceptional environment, however, short-term interest rates, in the face of speculative attacks, rose at times to around double those for the US dollar. These spreads have virtually disappeared in recent months, testifying to the failure of those attacks to undermine the longer-term credibility of our exchange rate system. Combined with cuts in US interest rates last autumn, nominal interest rates in Hong Kong now stand at or below pre-crisis levels.
  3. Of course, real interest rates remain high, as prices have come down along with the sharp downturn in economic activity. But I believe that this process of price adjustment, although painful in the short run, demonstrates the flexibility needed to restore our competitiveness in the region, setting the stage for renewed growth in the period ahead. Indeed, asset markets are already responding to signs that the worst of the downturn may be behind us, both here in Hong Kong and in the region as a whole.
  4. Regarding the volume of financial activity in Hong Kong, domestic bank lending declined toward the end of last year, as corporate loan demand fell and banks reassessed risk factors. Yet growth in bank deposits and the money supply recovered at the same time, perhaps reflecting a rise in household savings in a period of uncertainty. Rising deposits and weak loan growth has left the banks well equipped to meet an expansion in loan demand during the recovery phase of the cycle, and market conditions overall seem now more conducive to corporate fund-raising. More generally, the sound position of our financial system as we exit the crisis is virtually unique in the region, and will be a key pillar in ensuring a return to sustained growth.
  5. A number of continuing issues, and new ones on the horizon, will provide the HKMA with a heavy workload in the remainder of this year. These include:
    • The possibility of further attacks on the currency, despite the improved stability in local and world markets: we need to be constantly on our guard for signs of trouble.
    • Further work to improve the currency board system, with the help of the EFAC Sub-Committee on Currency Board Operations: much progress has been made in the past nine months or so, but this is an on-going process, and a number of ideas for refining the system are in the pipeline.
    • The rest of this year will continue to be somewhat difficult for the banking sector - but it remains as a whole in excellent shape to cope with the pressures ahead.
    • One of these pressures is the Year 2000 problem. As this Panelheard a few weeks ago, Hong Kong's banks are internationally recognised as being among the best prepared in the region, if not the world, and work continues on contingency planning and other issues. This has been, and will continue to be in the months ahead, a priority task in the HKMA's supervisory programme.
    • Decisions will also be taken later this year on the recommendations in the Banking Sector Consultancy Study, with the aim of enabling Hong Kong's banking system to make the best out of the opportunities and challenges of the next century, without sacrificing the stability that has seen it through these years of crisis. The views collected in the public consultation exercise will be announced in the next few days.
    • Beyond Hong Kong itself, we shall continue to work with our counterparts overseas to reform the international financial system, so that it too is better able to cope with the kind of stresses and strains that have rocked the region in the past couple of years.
  6. As I have said earlier, monetary and banking issues concern all of us, and stability in the international financial system and in our own are essential to Hong Kong's economic health. We intend to do our best to ensure that the community is kept informed of what we are doing and that the concerns of the community are taken into account. I feel sure that we can look to this Panel, and to the Legislative Council generally, to continue to work with us in this task, and my colleagues and I look forward to many further discussions with Members in the future.
Last revision date: 12 September 2011
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Account Opening
Consumer Corner
Consumer Education Programme
Complaints about Banks
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites, Phishing E-mails and Similar Scams
Be Careful of Bogus Phone Calls and SMS Messages
Authenticate the Callers and Bank Hotline Numbers
Register of AIs & LROs
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of SVF Licensees
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Photo Gallery

主要資訊

匯思
演講辭
演講辭講者
陳德霖
彭醒棠
余偉文
阮國恒
李樹培
李令翔
劉應彬
李建英
戴敏娜
劉怡翔
任志剛
蔡耀君
韋柏康
簡達恆
黎定得
沈聯濤
甘博文
唐培新
戴樂賢
曾蔭權
陳元
戴相龍
周小川
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
新聞稿
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
新聞稿類別
香港的銀行
偽冒語音訊息來電
偽冒語音訊息來電
欺詐網站 、電郵、電話系統及其他騙案
獲授銀行牌照
就最近經非競爭性投標配發的外匯基金債券的應付金額
即將舉行的外匯基金債券的非競爭性投標申請金額
外匯基金票據及債券投標
外匯基金票據及債券投標結果
外匯基金票據及債券的暫定發行時間表
委任及離任
金管局薪酬檢討
金管局出版的刊物
演講辭
香港按揭證券有限公司
香港印鈔有限公司
香港金融研究中心
外匯基金投資有限公司
香港金融研究中心
香港的金融基礎設施
與國際的聯繫
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
貨幣政策
紙幣與硬幣
人民幣業務
信用卡貸款調查結果
貨幣統計數字
住宅按揭統計調查結果
電腦二千年問題
其他
指引及通告
指引
通告
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
499.925

演講辭

《香港金融管理局1998年年報》

講者:香港金融管理局總裁任志剛

(於立法會財經事務委員會)

1999年5月3日

引言

主席先生、各位議員:

  1. 很高興今天有這個機會,趁金管局發表1998年年報時,向委員會介紹金管局的工作。這份年報除了在本會議上提交予財經事務委員會外,亦已於今早分發給立法會全體議員。年報除了報告金管局在1998年內各部門工作情況,亦載有去年本港經濟及銀行業環境的回顧。
  2. 相信各位議員亦會同意,1998年是事故繁多的一年。年報分析了金管局在這年內面對的許多困難和挑戰,並解釋金管局所實施的相應措施和計劃。我相信大家對這些並不陌生,有關的資料亦已在各位前面,所以我不打算花太多時間詳細說明。我今次希望集中談及金管局在未來一年,特別是因應當前經濟環境,所面對的挑戰。但首先我想簡單地講述一下過去一年的挑戰及成果,然後再談一件我知道各位議員非常關心的事項,這就是問責性和透明度的問題。

 

全年回顧

  1. 1998年對香港來說是非常艱鉅的一年。亞洲金融風暴,加上全球其他角落先後出現的危機,使金融市場持續不穩定。香港作為一個開放及外向型的經濟體系,亦無可避免地受到嚴重衝擊。去年,本地生產總值減少了5.1%,是香港自1961年收集統計數字以來錄得最大的跌幅。失業率亦上升超過一倍,達到年底的5.7%,其後更進一步上升。樓宇及股票價格暴跌,最近才止跌回升。經濟衰退所帶來的痛楚及壓力,每個家庭和行業皆已深切體驗。尤其,香港經過了多年持續不斷的增長,在面對這次突如其來的衰退,所承受的痛楚就更顯得尖銳難受。
  2. 在這情況下,香港的銀行體系自然承受了重大的壓力。儘管面對資產價格暴跌,以及金融危機造成的波動,銀行體系在處理這些問題方面依然表現出色。但這場危機令人更感擔心的,就是港元和香港金融市場所承受的一連串投機性的衝擊,這些衝擊導致利率飆升,損害了本地和海外投資者對本港金融體系的信心,亦加劇了經濟衰退的痛楚。到了8月初,我們面對了一次自聯繫匯率推出以來最猛烈及有系統的衝擊,投機者採用了先進的手法,動用了龐大的資源,針對貨幣發行局制度的特點,來衝擊股票和期貨市場。這場衝擊規模之大,以及部署精密的程度,實在前所未見,嚴重地威脅著我們整個金融體系的健全和穩定。香港特區政府採取了果斷的行動,迅速化解了這場危機。雖然這項行動備受爭議,但是連同我們推出的其他措施,卻有助確保我們的市場在年底前,以及踏入新的一年後繼續保持穩定。
  3. 各位議員都清楚知道金管局在8月入市行動中的角色。我本人絕對相信我們所做的,對香港來說是有必要而且也是正確的,同時更將極為嚴峻的金融形勢扭轉過來。政府在入市行動中購入的股票組合,已經交由外匯基金投資有限公司管理,而該公司將會制定計劃,逐步及有秩序地出售所持的大部分股票。由於這次行動在過去一段日子成為了談論的焦點,令人有錯覺,以為金管局在1998年的工作就只有這件。其實我們在其他方面亦都取得了理想成果,在這裏值得特別提出的包括:
    • 第一,金管局有效地監管銀行體系,確保銀行體系在亞洲最嚴峻的金融危機,以及本港經濟放緩的期間,依然保持穩定和健全。
    • 第二,外匯基金累積盈餘增長達到了27.5%,就算不計算8月份購入的本港股票組合的得益,去年的累積盈餘增幅亦達到15%。
    • 第三,雖然本港面對史無前例的投機衝擊,而且亞洲不少地區貨幣反覆不穩,但是我們依然能夠堅守聯繫匯率制度,維持貨幣穩定
    • 第四,我們對貨幣發行局制度推行了重大的改進措施,使這個制度比以前更加靈活,透明度亦更高,同時亦能減少受到操控的機會。
    • 第五,我們更積極地參與亞洲區內及全球性的金融合作活動,以提高香港的國際金融中心地位,並致力彌補國際金融架構不足之處。雖然這方面的工作進展比較慢,但香港會繼續努力,推動有關的發展。
  4. 香港金融管理局的三大工作目標是:維持貨幣穩定;促進銀行體系的安全和穩定性;以及提高金融體系的效率和健全發展。我認為金管局在1998年雖然面對困難的環境,但已成功地達到了這些工作目標。

 

問責性和透明度

  1. 貨幣和銀行穩定是整個金融界共同努力的成果,而不單是金管局的功勞。此外,這亦有賴國際間對本港金融體系的信心,而不可或缺的,就是香港市民的信心。我們相信,社會人士對本港貨幣及銀行政策是支持的,以及對金融體系都有高度的信心。不過,我們明白到,公眾對我們的信心,並不能夠單單依賴他們對我們複雜的工作給予單純的信任。要得到真正的支持,我們必須多作解釋,提供足夠資料讓公眾進行討論,並且維持一個既具問責性又透明的制度。保持銀行業健全,貨幣穩定,其實是大家十分關注的問題,而經過了亞洲金融危機後,香港人已更深切明白這一點。經濟逆轉,亦驅使更多人提出關於香港貨幣及銀行體系監管的問題。一些富爭論性的行動,例如去年8月的市場行動,更進一步激發一些人熱烈的討論。
  2. 自然地,立法會成為這些辯論的一個主要場地,議員不但提出動議辯論,亦參與財經事務委員會對各議題的討論。過去一年,議員對我們工作的關注,比起自1993年金管局成立以來任何一年都熱烈,亦因此使我們有機會與市民的代表進行有建設性的討論。我歡迎這些與議員進行對話的機會,因為這亦可體現我們工作的問責性。若純粹從法律角度來看,金管局只要遵守立法會通過有關界定及限制我們的權責的法律,或根據《基本法》第64條規定,金融管理專員透過財政司司長及特區政府向立法會負責便可。但我們明白到金管局對香港市民其實亦有較廣泛的責任,因此應該增強公眾對我們的功能及目標的了解,並密切留意公眾關注的事項,以開放的態度進行公開討論。
  3. 為達到這個目的,金管局奉行具透明度及保持開放的政策。這項政策有兩大目標:在可能的範圍內使金融界及公眾充分了解金管局的工作;以及確保金管局能夠掌握社會脈搏,並對公眾意見作出適當的回應。在過去一年內,我們做了大量工作,貫徹執行這一項政策,其中所涉及的,有技術性的安排,例如大幅度提高貨幣發行局制度的透明度、由11月開始每日公布貨幣基礎和組成項目的數據,以及幾乎即時公布銀行體系總結餘的最新數據;同時為了進一步提高透明度,我們更向市民大眾提供大量的資料,包括透過傳媒發布的新聞稿,以至利用互聯網提供資料,以及舉辦各類型教育活動、研討會等。
  4. 當然,由於市場敏感性、商業秘密、法律規定限制公布保密資料等因素,我們所能向公眾提供的資料是有某些限制的。此外,由於貨幣發行局制度的透明度已逐漸提高,而且這個制度的運作受到嚴格規範,我們作出酌情決定的空間亦極為有限。因此,我們必須容許在運作上保留少許有建設性的隱晦成分,從而使我們能夠靈活應變,面對突然爆發的危機時能夠採取果斷的行動。在這些限制之下,我們會致力保持具透明度的政策,不但增加向公眾提供的資料的「量」,同時亦兼顧這些資料的「質」,並會盡量令資料易於為大眾所明白。

 

今年的挑戰

  1. 今年金管局面對的其中一項挑戰,是繼續維持公眾對金管局工作的興趣。1998年發生了連串備受爭議和惹人關注的事件,令公眾人士對金管局的工作格外留意。不過,隨著經濟逐漸出現復甦的跡象,這興趣可能會慢慢淡化,因此我們需要在向公眾解釋政策方面加倍努力。提到經濟復甦,相信其他政府部門會提供有關的預測和數據,而我則想借這個機會談一談本地的金融形勢。
  2. 近幾個月來,香港的金融氣候逐步穩定下來。港元的投機壓力已大為減退,利率亦從去年最高位大幅回落。大家也知道,根據聯繫匯率制度,在正常情況下,本港的利率應緊貼美國利率的走勢。不過由於去年情況特殊,面對投機狙擊,本港的短期利率曾經飆升至比美國利率高出幾乎一倍的高位。不過,在最近幾個月,我們再見不到這種情況,證明本港的匯率制度仍然具有公信力,並未因為投機炒賣的活動而受到動搖。加上美國去年秋季調低利率,香港的名義利率已回落到危機爆發前,甚至更低的水平。
  3. 當然,本地物價隨著經濟逆轉而下調,因此本港的實質利率仍然偏高。我相信這種價格調整的過程雖然在短期內會帶來痛苦,但卻表明香港的經濟具備靈活性,有能力在區內恢復競爭力,造就有利條件,讓經濟回復增長動力。事實上,資產市場近期的表現,正好反映出香港以至整個亞洲區可能已經渡過了最艱難的時期。
  4. 至於本港金融業的表現,由於私營機構借貸需求下降,加上銀行重新評估風險因素,所以接近去年底時,本地銀行貸款減少。不過,銀行存款與貨幣供應同告增加,大概是因為面對不明朗的環境,市民普遍會增加儲蓄。存款上升,而貸款增長放緩,使銀行具備有利條件,在經濟復甦來臨時,有充裕資金應付貸款需求增加的情況。此外,目前的市況似乎亦有利私營機構進行融資活動。從一個更廣泛的層面來說,香港經過金融風暴的洗禮,金融體系仍然保持穩健,金融市場仍然保持開放,在區內可算是表現出色,這將會是帶領香港經濟復甦,再次持續增長的重要元素。
  5. 在今年餘下的時間裏,金管局的工作會相當繁重:
    • 首先,雖然本地和全球市場轉趨穩定,但港元仍有可能再次受到狙擊;因此我們要繼續密切注視市場動態,使我們可以及早發現任何可能導致問題的癥兆。
    • 第二,在外匯基金委員會轄下的貨幣發行委員會協助下,我們會繼續改進貨幣發行局制度:我們在過去9個多月裏已經取得理想進展,不過這是一個持續的過程,我們會繼續努力,研究其他的改進措施。
    • 第三,對銀行業來說,今年餘下的時間經營環境仍然會比較困難。所以,在銀行監管工作上,我們會繼續與銀行合作,確保銀行體系整體仍然保持健全。
    • 第四,「千年蟲」問題是銀行業需要面對的壓力之一。正如本委員會在幾星期前所聽到的匯報,國際間已公認香港的銀行在應付「千年蟲」問題方面的準備工夫,在亞洲區內以至全球都是做得最好的,而且有關應急計劃以及其他環節的工作也進行得如火如荼。過去一年,「千年蟲」問題是金管局的首要監管目標之一,在未來幾個月裏,金管局仍然會繼續推動有關的工作。
    • 第五,金管局會在今年較後時間會就「銀行業顧問研究報告」提出的建議作出決定,使香港的銀行體系能夠具備有利條件,充分掌握下一世紀所帶來的機會和挑戰,而又保持過去一貫的穩定性。我們在未來數天將會公布在顧問研究報告的諮詢期間收集到的意見。
    • 最後,除了香港以內的工作,我們亦會與其他地區的政府機構和國際組織繼續合作,改革國際金融架構,確保一旦再發生過去幾年動搖區內經濟金融穩定的事件時,全球金融體系能夠更有效應變。
  6. 正如我較早前提過,金融和銀行業的問題其實影響著每個市民大眾,而國際和香港金融體系的穩定更是與本港經濟發展息息相關。金管局會盡最大努力,讓社會各界充分了解我們的工作,同時亦會盡量照顧到社會人士所關注的問題。我深信財經事務委員會以至整體立法會,都會與我們共同努力,達到以上的目的。而我和金管局的同事都期望在未來一年,有更多機會與各位議員進行溝通和討論。

多謝大家。

修訂日期: 2011年8月1日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
其他語言資料(印尼語, हिन्दी, नेपाली, ਪੰਜਾਬੀ, 他加祿語, ไทย, اردو)
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊