Key Information

inSight
Speeches
Speeches by Speaker
Norman T.L. Chan
Peter Pang
Eddie Yue
Arthur Yuen
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Raymond Li
Edmond Lau
Esmond Lee
Meena Datwani
Vincent W.S. Lee
James Lau
Joseph Yam
Y K Choi
William Ryback
David Carse
Tony Latter
Andrew Sheng
Hans Genberg
Simon Topping
Michael Taylor
The Honourable Donald Tsang
Chen Yuan
Dai Xianglong
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Ernest Patrikis
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Carmen Chu
Press Releases
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
Press Releases by Category
Bogus Voice Message Phone Calls
Banking in Hong Kong
Fraudulent Websites, E-mails and Telephone System, and other fraud cases
Granting of Banking Licences
Exchange Fund
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments for Allotted Amount under non-competitive tender
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments of Application Amount under non-competitive tender
Tender of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tender Results of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tentative Issuance Schedule for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Appointments and Departures
HKMA Pay Review
HKMA Publications
Speeches
The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation
Hong Kong Note Printing Limited
Hong Kong Institute for Monetary Research
Exchange Fund Investment Limited
Others
Hong Kong Financial Infrastructure
International Relations
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Monetary Policy
Notes and Coins
Renminbi business
Credit Card Lending Survey
Monetary Statistics
Residential Mortgage Survey
Year 2000
Others
Guidelines and Circulars
Guidelines
Circulars
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
296.881

insight

Exchange Fund’s Investment in Infrastructure – Creating Value by Adopting a Gradual and Prudent Approach

(Translation)

The HKMA Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office (IFFO) held the second Investors and Debt Financing Roundtables last week (25-26 October).  The Roundtables were well attended by representatives of key stakeholders such as institutional investors, multilateral financial institutions, debt financiers and infrastructure project operators.  The main themes of the Roundtables were equity and debt financing of infrastructure investment, with particular focus on emerging markets.

During the past two years or so, IFFO has brought together many prominent stakeholders and laid a solid foundation for promoting Hong Kong as a platform for infrastructure investment and financing.  Meanwhile, the Exchange Fund has also recently started investing in infrastructure projects under its Long-Term Growth Portfolio (LTGP).  In the inSight article “Infrastructure Investment – a Timeless Form of Investment” published last year, I had discussed the reasons why long-term institutional investors are attracted to infrastructure investment.  This article discusses the Exchange Fund’s objectives and considerations when investing in infrastructure projects, and explains how we manage the associated risks.  I hope this will help the public better understand the Exchange Fund’s approach to this important subject.

The Exchange Fund started investing in private equity and real estate (commonly known as “alternative assets”) under the LTGP in 2009, with the aim to diversify its portfolio, spread the investment risks associated with “traditional assets” (primarily bonds and equities), and enhance long-term return.  The LTGP has worked as intended during the past decade, achieving a decent internal rate of return of 13.7% at end-2017 on a since-inception annualised basis.

Since the LTGP comprises assets with lower liquidity, the size of LTGP has been capped at one-third of the Accumulated Surplus of the Exchange Fund to ensure that the Fund has sufficient liquidity for maintaining monetary and financial stability.  In 2016, the Government established the HK$220 billion Future Fund and entrusted its management to the HKMA.  As around half of the Future Fund’s capital is placed with the LTGP, the total amount of capital available for investment under the LTGP has increased correspondingly.  At the end of 2017, the total market value of investments under the LTGP reached HK$235.6 billion (with HK$157.2 billion in private equity and HK$78.4 billion in real estate), or about 5.9% of the Exchange Fund’s total assets.

Diversification into infrastructure to enhance resilience to adverse shocks

Although the US interest rates are on a rising path, the relatively low interest rate environment around the world is unlikely to reverse substantially in the foreseeable future.  This has not only resulted in lofty valuations of traditional assets, but also led to strong competition for alternative assets by investors.  Should the LTGP only invest in private equity and real estate, it will inevitably overlook some other alternative asset classes that offer great potential.  It is therefore important for us to continue broadening the spectrum of asset classes.

Infrastructure is an attractive alternative asset class that generates relatively stable cash flows with low loss ratios.  As infrastructure is essential to economic development and people’s livelihood, its returns are less affected by economic cycles and have lower correlation with those of traditional assets.  At a time when the valuations of most traditional assets are stretched, the inclusion of infrastructure investment in the portfolio will serve as a hedge, enhancing resilience to adverse economic shocks and reducing volatility of the overall return.  Furthermore, the returns of many infrastructure investments are inflation-linked due to franchise arrangement or contract protection, which would help reduce inflation risk.

When making investment decisions, one should consider not only the returns, but also risks.  That is why professional investors will combine these two factors and look at “risk-adjusted returns”, which, simply put, are returns net of risks.  Some may think that infrastructure investment is risky, but empirical data show that infrastructure investment in general outperforms traditional assets on a risk-adjusted basis.

Because of the attractive attributes mentioned above, many medium- and long-term institutional investors, such as sovereign wealth funds, pension funds and insurance companies, have been increasing their allocation to infrastructure in recent years.  These investors, like the Exchange Fund, all seek to achieve stable long-term returns.  According to a study by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), infrastructure accounted for around 10% of the alternative asset portfolio of pension funds in 2016.  In addition, it is increasingly common for long-term investors to treat infrastructure as a separate asset class in their portfolios.

Increasing infrastructure investment in a gradual and prudent manner

After thorough research and preparatory work, the Exchange Fund has begun investing in this asset class in recent years by allocating a small portion of the LTGP to infrastructure projects.  Starting off with developed markets where we are more familiar with, we have invested in a renewable energy project in Northern Europe by partnering with renowned global investors.  As the infrastructure space in developed markets has become increasingly crowded with declining returns, we have started looking into emerging markets as well.  Recently, we have invested in another renewable energy project in South America in partnership with a company with sound track record in emerging market investments.

A multi-pronged approach to manage risks

Undoubtedly, infrastructure investment carries risks that are different from those usually involved in bonds or equities.  The political, regulatory and currency risks associated with emerging market projects are also generally higher than those in developed markets. Therefore, when investing in infrastructure projects, we have been very prudent and adopt a multi-pronged approach to assess, mitigate and contain the associated risks by implementing various risk management measures that are commensurate with the projects concerned.  These include:

       i. Appropriate allocation – The Exchange Fund’s total infrastructure investments (including commitments) amounts to about US$2.2 billion currently, accounting for only a small portion of the LTGP.
  ii. Diversified portfolio – We seek to build a diversified portfolio of infrastructure investment across different regions (both developed and emerging markets), sectors (e.g. transportation, renewable energy), capital structures (both debt and equity investments) and partners to avoid undue concentration.
  iii. Due diligence – Before committing to an investment, we must conduct rigorous due diligence, including assessing carefully its financial conditions, growth potential, exit mechanism, risks and other factors, to ensure that the project is commercially viable.   Priority is accorded to jurisdictions with proper governance and environmental protection framework.  Citing the aforementioned project in South America as an example, our investment and risk management teams had to travel across continents to conduct on-site inspection and obtain first-hand information.
  iv. Selection of partners – We seek to partner with reputable and experienced institutional investors and asset managers to capitalise on their broad and deep expertise.  These include international organisations and leading industry operators.  We will also ensure that our partners have good integrity and governance standards and are trust-worthy long-term partners of the Exchange Fund.
  v. External advisors – We engage external advisors to provide independent and professional opinions on tax, legal, regulatory, and environmental issues.
  vi. Stress testing – We conduct stress testing on projects’ financial assumptions and models to ensure the projects remain resilient amid unfavourable market conditions.
  vii. Risk mitigation measures – We assess if appropriate risk mitigation measures should be adopted for the projects, such as arranging insurance against political risk, and currency hedging against foreign exchange risk.  At the negotiation stage of legal documentation, we will also secure the requisite governance rights in the projects, including their funding arrangements, operating budget, investment and operation strategies, senior personnel appointments, etc., and ensure we have the participation rights in devising asset disposal plans.
  viii. Reference checks – We conduct reference checks with peer investors as external validation of individual partners’ capability and project viability.
  ix. Post-investment monitoring – Post-investment monitoring is as important as pre-deal due diligence.  We will maintain regular contact with our partners and closely monitor the progress of the projects to identify any potential issues at an early stage.
  x. Stringent gate-keeping – The most important thing is that we will strictly adhere to the above requirements and processes when selecting the projects.  We will turn down a project if it fails any of the above requirements, no matter how promising the returns could be.


There have been some recent discussions on whether the Exchange Fund should invest in the “Belt and Road” regions, or co-operate with Mainland state-owned enterprises (SOEs).  Let’s take an objective look.  There are more than 80 jurisdictions along the “Belt and Road”, covering both developed and emerging markets.  Many of them have strong demand for infrastructure development, and some are viewed by seasoned investors with much optimism.  It would only be natural that the Exchange Fund ends up investing in projects located in some of these countries.  On the other hand, some Mainland SOEs have ample expertise and experience in investing in, constructing and operating overseas infrastructure projects, making them partners of choice for major institutional investors.  While the Exchange Fund has yet to partner with any SOE in infrastructure investment, we should not rule out such possibility.  When assessing a potential investment in infrastructure project, we look at its commercial viability, reasonableness of returns and the prospect of proper risk management.  Every single project, regardless of its location or business partnership, must go through the established mechanism and processes that underpin our robust, professional and objective due diligence and risk management.  We are here to create value – assess and select investment projects with prudence and a discerning eye, yet do not tie our own hands and pass up good opportunities.

Safeguarding the wealth of Hong Kong people is of the essence in managing the Exchange Fund.  We will continue to adhere to the investment principle of ensuring “Capital Preservation First, Long-Term Growth Next”.  While remaining prudent, we will also be flexible and proactive in managing the Exchange Fund with a view to achieving a better long-term return.

  

Eddie Yue
Deputy Chief Executive
Hong Kong Monetary Authority

29 October 2018

Last revision date: 29 October 2018
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Information in Other Languages (Bahasa Indonesia, हिन्दी, नेपाली, ਪੰਜਾਬੀ, Tagalog, ไทย, اردو)
Account Opening
Consumer Corner
Consumer Education Programme
Complaints about Banks
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites, Phishing E-mails and Similar Scams
Be Careful of Bogus Phone Calls and SMS Messages
Authenticate the Callers and Bank Hotline Numbers
Register of AIs & LROs
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of SVF Licensees
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Photo Gallery

主要資訊

匯思
演講辭
演講辭講者
陳德霖
彭醒棠
余偉文
阮國恒
李樹培
李令翔
劉應彬
李建英
戴敏娜
劉怡翔
任志剛
蔡耀君
韋柏康
簡達恆
黎定得
沈聯濤
甘博文
唐培新
戴樂賢
曾蔭權
陳元
戴相龍
周小川
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
新聞稿
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
新聞稿類別
偽冒語音訊息來電
香港的銀行
偽冒語音訊息來電
欺詐網站 、電郵、電話系統及其他騙案
獲授銀行牌照
就最近經非競爭性投標配發的外匯基金債券的應付金額
即將舉行的外匯基金債券的非競爭性投標申請金額
外匯基金票據及債券投標
外匯基金票據及債券投標結果
外匯基金票據及債券的暫定發行時間表
委任及離任
金管局薪酬檢討
金管局出版的刊物
演講辭
香港按揭證券有限公司
香港印鈔有限公司
香港金融研究中心
外匯基金投資有限公司
香港金融研究中心
香港的金融基礎設施
與國際的聯繫
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
貨幣政策
紙幣與硬幣
人民幣業務
信用卡貸款調查結果
貨幣統計數字
住宅按揭統計調查結果
電腦二千年問題
其他
指引及通告
指引
通告
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
500.0349

匯思

穩步開拓 創造價值──外匯基金基建投資

金管局基建融資促進辦公室(IFFO)上周一連兩日(10月25及26日)舉行第二次基建投融資圓桌會議。與會代表來自機構投資者、多邊金融機構、債券投資者、基建項目經營者等持份者,分別以股權和債權投資基建為主題,重點探討新興市場基建投資。

IFFO成立兩年多以來,已匯聚了很多重量級的持份者,為促進香港作為基建投融資平台做了很多扎實的工作。與此同時,外匯基金近年也開始透過「長期增長組合」進行基建項目投資,去年我在匯思《古老但時興的基建投資》一文中分析了基建投資近年受到不少長線的機構投資者青睞追捧的原因,此文我將進一步闡述外匯基金投資基建項目的目的、考慮,以及如何做好風險管控,希望讓社會各界對此有更深入的了解。

外匯基金於2009年開始透過「長期增長組合」投資私募股權和房地產(一般稱為「另類資產」),令外匯基金資產更多元化,分散傳統資產(主要為債券和股票)的投資風險,提高外匯基金的長線回報。事實上,「長期增長組合」在過去十年間發揮了預期的作用,由成立至2017年底的內部回報率以年率計為13.7%,投資回報相當不俗。

「長期增長組合」的流動性較低,故該組合的投資上限設定為外匯基金累計盈餘三分之一,以確保外匯基金有充裕流動性作為維持貨幣金融穩定的重要屏障。及後,政府於2016年設立2,200億港元「未來基金」並交由金管局管理,其中約有50%投放在長期增長組合,令該組合可供投資的資金相應增加。2017年底,「長期增長組合」總市值為2,356億港元(私募股權1,572億港元,房地產資產784億港元),佔外匯基金資產總值約5.9%。

多元投資 逆境抗震

雖然美聯儲已步入加息進程,但環球利率相對較低的現象在可見將來仍難以逆轉,這不但造成傳統資產估值偏高,另類資產也出現僧多粥少的情況。假如「長期增長組合」投資只局限於私募股權和房地產,將無可避免錯失一些有潛力、效益好的投資領域和項目,因此我們有需要不斷開拓更多元的投資領域。

基建投資是一個具吸引力的另類資產板塊,原因在於其提供較穩定的現金流、虧損比例亦較低。基建是經濟社會民生所需,其回報受經濟周期的影響較小,與傳統資產回報率的關連性亦較低,尤其是現時大部分傳統資產估值偏高,在資產組合中加入基建投資可發揮對沖作用,增加經濟逆境時的抗震能力,減低整體回報波動。此外,部分基建投資受到專營條款或合約保障,收益可按通脹水平調整,能有效減低通脹風險。

任何投資必須同時考慮回報和風險,所以專業投資者會將兩者結合,看所謂風險調整回報(risk-adjusted returns),簡單而言就是將風險因素剔除後的收益。有意見以為基建投資風險大,但其實客觀數據顯示,基建項目的風險調整回報較一般傳統資產優勝。

受以上優點吸引,眾多與外匯基金一樣着眼於穩健回報的中、長線機構投資者如主權基金、退休基金和保險公司等,近年紛紛加大力度投資基建項目。據經濟合作與發展組織(OECD)研究顯示,2016年退休基金的另類資產組合當中,基建投資約佔一成。此外,長線投資者也逐漸視基建投資為獨立的資產類別。

循序漸進 力求穩健

經過一段時間的研究醞釀,外匯基金近年開始小試牛刀,投放少量資金於基建項目。我們先從較熟悉的已發展市場入手,夥拍其他國際知名投資者,投資北歐的一項可再生能源項目。然而,鑑於不少資金近年追逐已發展市場的基建投資而令回報率有所下降,我們也開始放眼新興市場。最近外匯基金就與一家擅長於新興市場投資的公司共同投資南美洲另一項再生能源項目。

多管齊下 管控風險

誠然,基建投資的風險有異於一般債券或股票投資,而新興市場項目面對的政治、監管和貨幣風險,一般較已發展市場為高,因此在投資基建時我們謹守一貫的審慎原則,通過多管齊下的方式,針對個別項目的特點而採取相應的風險管控措施,以評估、減少和防範潛在風險,這包括:

       i.

比重適當:外匯基金目前的基建投資總額(包括已承諾的投資額)約22億美元,只佔「長期增長組合」的小部分;

  ii.

組合多元:基建投資組合多元化,涵蓋不同地區(新興市場和已發展市場)、不同領域(如運輸、再生能源等)、不同資本結構(債權和股權投資),以及不同合作夥伴,以分散風險;

  iii.

盡職審查:投資任何項目前,我們都必定進行嚴謹的盡職審查,充分評估投資項目的財務狀況、升值潛力、退出機制、風險因素等,以確保項目是商業上可行的,並優先考慮有合適管治和環保安排的地區。盡職審查要做得到位徹底,以上文提過的南美洲項目為例,我們負責投資和風險管理的同事會到當地進行實地考察,以取得第一手資料;

  iv.

合作夥伴:外匯基金會與擁有良好聲譽和豐富經驗的機構投資者及資產管理公司合作,包括國際組織和行內的龍頭經營者,善用他們廣泛而深入的專業知識。我們亦會確保合作夥伴有良好的誠信和管治,是值得信賴的長期合作夥伴;

  v.

外部顧問:外匯基金會聘請外部顧問,就稅務、法律、監管和環境問題提供獨立和專業的意見; 

  vi.

抗震測試:我們會為項目的財務假設和模型進行壓力測試,以確保項目能夠抵禦市場震盪和逆境;

  vii.

風險緩解:我們會評估是否須為項目採取適當的風險緩解措施,例如購買針對政治風險的保險、對沖外匯風險等。在擬定相關法律文件的談判中,我們亦會確保有合適的管治權安排,包括項目資金安排、營運預算、投資營運策略、高管任命等,並確保擁有參與制定資產出售的權利; 

  viii.

借鑑同業:我們還會與其他投資方交換訊息,深入了解和驗證合作夥伴的能力和項目的可行性; 

  ix.

後續監察: 除了投資前進行盡職審查,落實投資後的後續監察工作同樣重要。我們會與合作夥伴保持聯繫,密切留意項目進度,以及早發現潛在問題;

  x.

嚴格把關: 最為關鍵的是,在選取項目時,我們必須嚴格遵守、執行以上的各項要求和流程,不容半分馬虎,即使遇到回報吸引的項目,如果過不了關,就要摒諸門外。 


近日有社會人士關注外匯基金會否在「一帶一路」沿線地區投資,或會否與內地國企合作,我認為我們應該客觀地看這兩個問題。「一帶一路」沿線80多個國家地區,當中包括已發展地區和新興市場,也是對基建設施需求殷切的地區,不少更是國際投資者看好的地區,故此我們有機會投資於這些地區是很正常的事。外匯基金目前尚未與任何國企合作投資基建項目,但它們有不少是在海外基建項目擁有成功投資、建設和營運經驗的企業,也是很多國際投資者希望夥拍的對象,自然是我們的潛在合作夥伴。正如上文闡釋,「長期增長組合」投資的着眼點在於個別項目商業上是否可行、投資回報是否合理、風險是否可控。每個潛在項目,不論位於何地、合作企業是何性質,都必須通過嚴格、專業、客觀的盡職審查和風險管理機制和程序。我們固然要審慎選項、嚴格把關,但也不宜不必要地自我設限,錯失良機。

穩守港人財富是管理外匯基金的應有之義,我們會一如既往地恪守「保本先行、長期增值」的投資原則,力保穩健之餘,靈活進取,希望為外匯基金爭取較好的長期回報。

 

香港金融管理局
副總裁
余偉文

2018年10月29日

修訂日期: 2018年10月29日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
其他語言資料(印尼語, हिन्दी, नेपाली, ਪੰਜਾਬੀ, 他加祿語, ไทย, اردو)
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊