Key Information

inSight
Speeches
Speeches by Speaker
Norman T.L. Chan
Peter Pang
Eddie Yue
Arthur Yuen
Raymond Li
Edmond Lau
Esmond Lee
Meena Datwani
Vincent W.S. Lee
James Lau
Joseph Yam
Y K Choi
William Ryback
David Carse
Tony Latter
Andrew Sheng
Hans Genberg
Simon Topping
Michael Taylor
The Honourable Donald Tsang
Chen Yuan
Dai Xianglong
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Ernest Patrikis
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Press Releases
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
Press Releases by Category
Bogus Voice Message Phone Calls
Banking in Hong Kong
Fraudulent Websites, E-mails and Telephone System, and other fraud cases
Granting of Banking Licences
Exchange Fund
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments for Allotted Amount under non-competitive tender
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments of Application Amount under non-competitive tender
Tender of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tender Results of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tentative Issuance Schedule for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Appointments and Departures
HKMA Pay Review
HKMA Publications
Speeches
The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation
Hong Kong Note Printing Limited
Hong Kong Institute for Monetary Research
Exchange Fund Investment Limited
Others
Hong Kong Financial Infrastructure
International Relations
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Monetary Policy
Notes and Coins
Renminbi business
Credit Card Lending Survey
Monetary Statistics
Residential Mortgage Survey
Year 2000
Others
Guidelines and Circulars
Guidelines
Circulars
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
421.9001

insight

Infrastructure Investment – a Timeless Form of Investment

(Translation)

  1. Hong Kong’s equity market has been booming recently. Knowing that I manage investments at the HKMA, a friend asked during dinner if I had any “hot picks”. I told him that our investment objective is not to engage in speculation. When I was about to illustrate how we are seeking opportunity in long-term investment frontiers, my friend showed no signs of enthusiasm and switched topics immediately. While there was nothing I could do about that, I decided to reach a wider audience at inSight and share with our readers an investment area that is becoming more popular these days – infrastructure.
  2. From the Xianyang courier route of the Qin Dynasty to all the roads that led to Rome, infrastructure can be regarded as one of the oldest asset classes. Infrastructure investment and operation were usually done by governments in the past. While there was private sector participation, the scale had been far smaller than their investments in other asset classes. However, infrastructure has gradually become a hot topic in the investment arena in recent years for it can bring about long-term and stable return. In this article, I would like to discuss the background of this development and the characteristics of infrastructure investment. I would also briefly touch on the Exchange Fund’s participation in this area.

Strong demand from around the globe

  1. Infrastructure generally refers to basic facilities, such as energy and power, transportation, water supply and sewage treatment that are essential to economic development and people’s livelihood. In addition to long investment period and huge capital requirement, infrastructure projects usually involve issues such as the development of large parcels of land and the relocation of residents. Therefore, investment in as well as construction and operation of infrastructure were primarily conducted or led by public sector entities in the past. The main reason that made infrastructure investment a hot topic within the investor community recently is the supply and demand gap between investable opportunities and available capital. In some advanced economies, infrastructure was built several decades to a hundred years ago and is becoming obsolete. Readers who frequently travel to Europe or the US may notice that the quality of infrastructure in some of their cities is even worse than that of some developing countries. This has created a knock-on effect and has been slowing down economic and social development. The infrastructure in these cities is badly in need of redevelopment or refurbishment. The most notable example is the US. Both the Republican and Democratic Parties realise the importance of investing in infrastructure. The Trump administration has promised to introduce a US$1 trillion rebuilding plan to rejuvenate the nation with world-class infrastructure.
  2. There is also strong demand for infrastructure development in developing countries, albeit for different reasons. Some of these countries’ social and economic development is still in its infancy. They require investment in basic infrastructure projects to unleash their growth potential. Some other developing countries, such as those in Southeast Asia, have experienced rapid economic growth in recent years and find that their infrastructure (such as power supply) cannot keep up with the growing needs and may even become bottlenecks for further enhancements to productivity. Without improvements, economic growth will be stifled.
  3. The abundant supply of infrastructure projects leads to demand for capital. According to projections made by a renowned consultancy, countries from around the world need to make as much as US$49 trillion on infrastructure investment from 2016 to 2030 in order to maintain stable economic growth. Of this amount, around 60% needs to be invested in emerging markets. Should investment in infrastructure projects be maintained at the current level, it is expected that there would be a funding gap of over US$5 trillion in the coming 15 years. At the same time, according to an estimate by the Asian Development Bank, the total amount of infrastructure investment in Asia alone will be over US$20 trillion from 2016 to 2030.
  4. Where will the money come from? Traditionally, infrastructure projects are funded by public sector entities such as governments and international development agencies (e.g. World Bank, Asian Development Bank). However, the huge funding gap, coupled with the fact that public finances in many countries are already under pressure, will make it difficult for the public sector to further allocate large sums of capital towards infrastructure spending. Moreover, based on past experience, the public sector has much to learn from the private sector in commercial viability assessment, budget control, operation flexibility and so on. As a result, the Public-Private Partnerships (PPP) model, which brings together investors through multiple channels, has become a common approach adopted by governments to stimulate infrastructure investments. Yet, are investors interested?

Steady return attracts public and private sector investors alike

  1. Spurred by a strong global demand for infrastructure investment, participation by public sector and private sector institutional investors as well as multilateral organisations on this front has become increasingly active. A number of large private equity fund managers are ready to invest in or have already committed actual funds to various infrastructure projects. Since its establishment within the HKMA in mid-2016, the Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office (IFFO) has brought together numerous sovereign funds, international development agencies, large-scale pension funds, insurance companies and other major investors from around the world within the span of a year. These players all share optimism about the prospects of infrastructure investment.
  2. Astute investors are only drawn to true gems. What is it in infrastructure investments that attract them?

    Firstly, investors are looking for high-quality investment opportunities amid ample liquidity in the current market environment. As I have mentioned in an inSight article published in January this year, “Exchange Fund: Looking Ahead – A Combination of Prudent and Proactive Approaches to Achieve Long-Term Growth",

    “The investment return of the Long-Term Growth Portfolio has been satisfactory. However, with more and more investors joining the alternative asset bandwagon, quality investment opportunities have become more difficult to come by. This has in turn exerted pressure on the return. Therefore, we are actively exploring new frontiers, which include industries that can counter inflationary pressures, have a low correlation with traditional asset return, offer good potential for growth, and provide a continuous cash flow, e.g. infrastructure. ”

    While the above subject is the Exchange Fund, the quest is in fact shared by many investors.
  1. Another attractive attribute of infrastructure investment is the stable return and cash flow that it offers, especially PPP projects which enable participants to lock in long-term return and cash flow usually through long-term operating contracts awarded by governments. Moreover, as infrastructure constitutes an essential part of people’s livelihood, its return is less affected by economic cycles. For institutional investors awash with capital, such as insurance companies, sovereign funds and pension funds, the characteristics of infrastructure investment are very much in line with their own stable and long-term investment strategy.
  1. Of course, infrastructure investments carry specific risks, including commercial viability, political and economic risks of relevant jurisdictions, as well as environmental and sustainability concerns. Therefore, appropriate arrangements and measures must be in place for stakeholders to assess, mitigate and avert those risks.
  1. Infrastructure investment projects are characterised by a very long investment horizon, easily spanning ten or twenty years, and involve huge upfront capital outlays. For projects requiring multi-billion US dollar investment, only world-class institutions with strong financial standing have the capacity to participate. Further, they will usually line up with other institutional investors to share the risks. Many private sector institutions aspire to team up with some international organisations to take part in these projects, partly taking advantage of the multi-governmental backing that these organisations have, which helps mitigate the political and economic risks. It is also because these international organisations will properly address environmental protection, sustainability, procurement procedures and other governance aspects of investment projects to meet the generally higher standards of today's world. Following close exchanges with many infrastructure stakeholders at the IFFO platform, a reference term sheet has been developed through reaching a consensus on the mitigation measures for various risks associated with infrastructure investment.

Long-term growth at acceptable risk levels

  1. Following our in-depth research on infrastructure investment and concept crystallisation on the IFFO platform, the Exchange Fund is now ready to embark on this area of investment. As with other types of investment, we will as always be prudent when making any investments in infrastructure. In particular, we will take the following measures:

    (I)

    Infrastructure investment will form only a part of the Long-Term Growth Portfolio of the Exchange Fund.

    (II)

    Each investment must be commercially viable, carefully examined in preparatory studies and must undergo rigorous due diligence. Priority will also be accorded to jurisdictions with proper governance and environmental protection framework.

    (III)

    Appropriate measures will be taken to avoid undue concentration in a particular region, investment type, investment horizon and other attributes.

    (IV)

    We will seek to partner up with like-minded world-class investors to give full play of our respective professional expertise.

  1. In summary, our infrastructure investment strategy is to seek long-term growth within acceptable risk levels. There has been good progress so far in our search for suitable investment projects, with some projects coming close to fruition. I look forward to sharing with you some good news shortly.

 

Eddie Yue
Deputy Chief Executive
Director of Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office
Hong Kong Monetary Authority

19 September 2017

Last revision date: 20 September 2017
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Account Opening
Consumer Corner
Consumer Education Programme
Complaints about Banks
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites, Phishing E-mails and Similar Scams
Be Careful of Bogus Phone Calls and SMS Messages
Authenticate the Callers and Bank Hotline Numbers
Register of AIs & LROs
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of SVF Licensees
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Photo Gallery

主要資訊

匯思
演講辭
演講辭講者
陳德霖
彭醒棠
余偉文
阮國恒
李樹培
李令翔
劉應彬
李建英
戴敏娜
劉怡翔
任志剛
蔡耀君
韋柏康
簡達恆
黎定得
沈聯濤
甘博文
唐培新
戴樂賢
曾蔭權
陳元
戴相龍
周小川
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
新聞稿
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
新聞稿類別
香港的銀行
偽冒語音訊息來電
偽冒語音訊息來電
欺詐網站 、電郵、電話系統及其他騙案
獲授銀行牌照
就最近經非競爭性投標配發的外匯基金債券的應付金額
即將舉行的外匯基金債券的非競爭性投標申請金額
外匯基金票據及債券投標
外匯基金票據及債券投標結果
外匯基金票據及債券的暫定發行時間表
委任及離任
金管局薪酬檢討
金管局出版的刊物
演講辭
香港按揭證券有限公司
香港印鈔有限公司
香港金融研究中心
外匯基金投資有限公司
香港金融研究中心
香港的金融基礎設施
與國際的聯繫
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
貨幣政策
紙幣與硬幣
人民幣業務
信用卡貸款調查結果
貨幣統計數字
住宅按揭統計調查結果
電腦二千年問題
其他
指引及通告
指引
通告
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
499.925

匯思

古老但時興的基建投資

  1. 近日香港股市暢旺,有朋友知道我在金管局負責投資工作,飯局上問有什麼「心水」。我回答說我們的投資宗旨是「不短炒」,剛打算介紹我們如何在長線投資領域尋找新機會,朋友馬上「轉台」,真無奈。於是我決定轉移陣地,在《匯思》與讀者分享近期一個漸熱的投資領域:基建。
  2. 由秦朝的咸陽驛道到通羅馬的條條大路,基建可以算是最古老的資產類別之一,過往多由政府投資運作,私營機構固然有參與,但規模遠小於其他資產類別的投資。近年來,基建被視為一種能夠提供長線而穩定回報的資產,逐漸成為投資界的新興熱點領域。我想借此文分析這個發展趨勢的背景、基建投資的特點,以及淺談外匯基金的參與。

全球各國需求殷切 

  1. 基建一般指為了經濟發展和社會大眾日常生活所需而提供的基礎設施,例如電力和能源、海陸空交通運輸設施、供水排污等,由於基建項目投資期長、投資額大,且往往涉及大面積的土地開發和居民安置等問題,過往多由公營部門負責或主導項目的投資、興建和營運。基建投資成為受關注的課題甚至漸受投資界垂青,主要還是項目和資金之間的供求關係。部分發達國家的基建設施已有數十甚至上百年歷史,但日久失修,經常旅遊的讀者也許注意到,歐美國家的一些城市設施甚至落後於一些發展中地區,某程度上拖慢了經濟和社會發展,有重建或翻新的需要。最明顯的例子莫過於美國,不論是共和黨還是民主黨,都意識到投資基建的重要性。特朗普政府揚言推出一萬億美元重建方案,在美國重塑世界一流的基建設施。
  2. 發展中國家對基礎建設的需求同樣殷切,雖然原因不盡相同。有些國家的社會經濟發展仍處於起步階段,需要一些初始的基建投資以釋放其增長潛力;但亦有些發展中國家,例如東南亞地區在近年經濟起飛後,發現原有的基建設施(例如電力供應)不敷應用,甚至成為進一步提升生產力的瓶頸,若不加以改善的話,將會窒礙整體經濟的發展。
  3. 基建項目供應不缺,從另一面看就是對資金的需求。據知名的顧問機構推算,從2016至2030 年,全球各國需投資高達49萬億美元於基建項目以保持穩定的經濟增長,其中六成投資總額需投放至新興市場。假如基建項目的投資維持在現有水平,未來15年的融資缺口預期將超過5萬億美元。另外,亞洲開發銀行(Asian Development Bank)就預計,單是亞洲基建發展在2016年至2030年內,投資總額將超過20萬億美元。
  4. 錢從何來?傳統上基建項目多由公營部門如政府或國際性開發組織(世界銀行、亞洲開發銀行等)負責出資。但面對龐大的資金缺口,加上許多國家的公共財政也承受巨大壓力,公營部門實在難以再撥出大量預算投入基建項目。再者,根據過往的經驗,公營部門對於項目的經濟效益評估、成本控制、營運的靈活度等都有很多值得向私營部門取經的空間。基於這些原因,多渠道引入投資方,更廣泛地採用公私營夥伴合作模式(Public-Private Partnerships, PPP),已成為各地政府撬動基建項目的槓桿。問題是,資金方有投資意欲嗎?

回報穩定 公私營機構態度積極 

  1. 有鑑於全球基建投資的強勁需求,不論是公營或私營的機構投資者還是多邊機構,對基建投資的參與日趨積極,多家大型私募基金正部署或已經投入真金白銀到基建項目。金管局在去年中成立基建融資促進辦公室(IFFO),一呼百應,短短一年間已匯聚了全球主要的主權基金、國際性開發機構、大型退休基金、保險公司等投資方,他們都看好基建投資的前景。
  2. 精明的投資者無寶不落,基建投資對他們有何誘因?

    首先是在資金泛濫的大勢中尋找優質的投資機會。我在今年1月《匯思》文章「外匯基金前瞻篇──穩健進取、長期增值」提及:

    「『長期增長組合』自設立以來投資回報理想,但隨着愈來愈多投資者在另類資產尋寶,優質的投資機會日見僧多粥少,對回報率也構成壓力。因此我們正積極探索新的投資領域,包括能夠抗衡通脹壓力、與傳統資產回報有低相關性、具增長潛力並持續提供現金流的行業,例如基礎建設。」

    說的是外匯基金,但其實是許多投資方的寫照。
  1. 基建投資另一吸引之處在於提供穩定的回報和現金流,尤其是PPP項目通常都獲得政府的長期營運合約,讓參與者能夠鎖定長線回報及現金流。而且,基建是民生所需,回報較少受經濟周期的影響。對於坐擁大量資金的機構投資者,例如保險公司、主權基金、退休基金等,基建投資的特點符合他們穩定而長線的投資策略。
  1. 當然,基建投資有一些特定的風險,包括商業效益、投資地的政經風險,以及對於環保和可持續性的關注。因此,這類投資必須採取相應的安排和措施去評估、減少、防範風險。
  1. 基建投資項目的特點在於非常長線,投資看十年、二十年是等閒事;而且前期資本開支極高,一個項目總投資規模動輒以十億甚至百億美元計,能夠入場投資的必是財力雄厚的國際級機構,且通常會透過多個機構投資者參與去分擔風險。很多私營機構希望夥拍一些國際組織進行投資,一方面因為這些組織有多國政府作後盾,有助減低政經風險。另一方面,這些組織在投資時要充分考慮環保、可持續性、項目本身的管治如採購程序等,能夠符合當今社會較高的標準。事實上,IFFO成立以來,經過與眾多基建投融資持份者的密切交流,圍繞如何管控基建投資的各種風險形成了基本共識,訂立了一套共同的參考標準。

長期增值 風險可控

  1. 可以說,經過對基建投資課題深入的前期研究和IFFO平台的醞釀,外匯基金已經為投資這個領域作了充足的準備。一如其他類別的投資,在投資基建時我們會謹守一貫的審慎原則,具體而言,會採取以下一些措施︰

    一、

    基建投資只佔外匯基金長期增長組合的一部分。

    二、

    每項投資都必須是商業上可行,並會做足前期研究工作,進行嚴謹的盡職審查,我們亦會優先考慮能有合適管治和環境保護安排的地區。

    三、

    避免風險過度集中,會按地區、類別、投資年期等採取適當策略去分散風險。

    四、

    夥拍志同道合的國際級投資者一同參與,各自發揮專業的優勢。

  1. 總括而言,我們的基建投資策略是長期增值、風險可控。在物色投資項目方面,目前進展良好,個別項目已到了瓜熟蒂落的階段,我期望短期內會有好消息公布。

 

香港金融管理局
副總裁、
基建融資促進辦公室主任
余偉文

2017年9月19日

     
修訂日期: 2017年9月19日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
其他語言資料(印尼語, हिन्दी, नेपाली, ਪੰਜਾਬੀ, 他加祿語, ไทย, اردو)
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊