Key Information

inSight
Speeches
Speeches by Speaker
Norman T.L. Chan
Peter Pang
Eddie Yue
Arthur Yuen
Raymond Li
Edmond Lau
Esmond Lee
Meena Datwani
James Lau
Joseph Yam
Y K Choi
William Ryback
David Carse
Tony Latter
Andrew Sheng
Hans Genberg
Simon Topping
Michael Taylor
The Honourable Donald Tsang
Chen Yuan
Dai Xianglong
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Ernest Patrikis
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Press Releases
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
Press Releases by Category
Banking in Hong Kong
Fraudulent Websites, E-mails and Telephone System, and other fraud cases
Granting of Banking Licences
Exchange Fund
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments for Allotted Amount under non-competitive tender
Table of Multiples of Notes and Payments of Application Amount under non-competitive tender
Tender of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tender Results of Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Tentative Issuance Schedule for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes
Appointments and Departures
HKMA Pay Review
HKMA Publications
Speeches
The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation
Hong Kong Note Printing Limited
Hong Kong Institute for Monetary Research
Exchange Fund Investment Limited
Others
Hong Kong Financial Infrastructure
International Relations
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Monetary Policy
Notes and Coins
Renminbi business
Credit Card Lending Survey
Monetary Statistics
Residential Mortgage Survey
Year 2000
Others
Guidelines and Circulars
Guidelines
Circulars
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
312.314

insight

Hong Kong as Offshore Renminbi Centre – Past and Prospects

(Translation)

Preface

    It was early summer, June 2003.  On the flight from Hong Kong to Beijing, there were only a handful of passengers. Their faces were covered with surgical masks.  Chang'an Avenue, a hustle and bustle district in Beijing, was apparently not yet fully recovered from the severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS).  In the meeting room at the People’s Bank of China (PBoC), everyone was sweating all over, as the centralised air-conditioning was switched off to prevent spreading of the disease.  I still have in my mind a vivid picture of this visit to Beijing with my colleagues a decade ago.

2. Next week marks the tenth anniversary of the launch of renminbi banking business in Hong Kong.   While conducting currency exchange and investment in renminbi is pretty much a “fact of life” today, all this is not possible without the persistent efforts and hard work of a lot of people over the years. 

2004: Pioneering personal renminbi business in Hong Kong

3. The HKMA first raised with the PBoC the idea of introducing personal renminbi business in Hong Kong as early as November 2001, although substantive discussions only started in February 2002.  All arrangements had to be developed from scratch as the renminbi had never been used and circulated in any banking system outside the Mainland.  It took rounds of discussions among the HKMA, the PBoC and the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE), and the work went on despite the outbreak of SARS in March 2003.  A significant breakthrough was made during the meeting in June 2003, with consensus reached on major issues and the overall framework constructed.  Subsequently, the HKMA continued to iron out the details with the Mainland officials, and in November 2003, the State Council approved the introduction of personal renminbi business in Hong Kong.   That was then followed by three more months of preparatory work around the clock – drafting of legal documents (including the “Clearing Agreement” which is familiar to many), appointment of the Clearing Bank, establishment of payment system linkages and arrangements for cross-border renminbi cashnote delivery – banks in Hong Kong started to offer renminbi deposit-taking, currency exchange, remittance and debit and credit card services to personal accounts on 25 February 2004.

4. The scope of the renminbi business scheme introduced a decade ago was confined to the provision of services to personal customers and retail merchants, because the predominant objective was to facilitate economic and social exchanges between Hong Kong and the Mainland and to channel renminbi cashnotes in Hong Kong back to the Mainland orderly through the banking system.  Some aspects of the scheme were subsequently relaxed in 2005 and Mainland financial institutions were first allowed to issue renminbi bonds in Hong Kong in 2007.  During this initial stage of development, renminbi deposits grew gradually from RMB 12 billion in 2004 to RMB 54 billion in 2009. While the numbers seemed to be modest when we look back today, the underlying cross-border clearing and operational arrangements were indeed ground-breaking.  They not only created a channel for cross-border renminbi transactions through the banking system, but also laid a solid foundation for the burgeoning development of renminbi business in Hong Kong after 2009.

2009: Beginning of the development of Hong Kong as offshore renminbi centre

5. The introduction of the pilot scheme for renminbi cross-border trade settlement in July 2009 was a watershed as renminbi business in Hong Kong moved into its second stage of development.  It expanded from serving personal customers to enterprises and institutions, and transformed from just one-way repatriation of renminbi cashnotes to two-way flows of renminbi, marking a crucial step forward to the internationalisation of renminbi.  With the deepening of the use of renminbi in cross-border trade and investment activities since 2009, there have been more and more bridges linking the onshore and offshore markets, enabling renminbi to be increasingly used, circulated and accumulated in the overseas markets.  These developments have fostered the rapid and maturing growth of Hong Kong as an offshore renminbi business centre (as seen from statistics provided in Annex).  However, the journey was not entirely uneventful.

6. When the renminbi trade settlement pilot scheme was launched in 2009, it only covered five Mainland cities (Shanghai, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai and Dongguan) and many operational arrangements, such as tax rebate for exporters, were not yet in place.  When I first led a Hong Kong Association of Banks delegation to Beijing in November 2009 and called on Vice Premier Wang Qishan, the PBoC and other financial authorities, the discussions focussed much on the development of renminbi cross-border trade settlement.  At the time, banks in Hong Kong were somewhat confused about the requirements for the new businesses in practice, while the cumulative amount of renminbi trade settlement transactions for several months was merely RMB 500 million.  A clear consensus from those meetings was that more work to facilitate the use of renminbi in trade settlement was needed.  In February 2010, the HKMA, having discussed with the PBoC, provided an important elucidation of supervisory principles and operational arrangements regarding renminbi business in Hong Kong, which set out two fundamental principles:  firstly, cross-border flows of renminbi funds into and out of the Mainland should comply with the rules and requirements of the Mainland, while the Mainland authorities and banks are responsible for verifying whether transactions undertaken by Mainland entities are in compliance with relevant rules and requirements;  secondly, with regard to renminbi funds that have flowed into Hong Kong, banks can develop renminbi businesses based on the regulatory requirements and market conditions in Hong Kong, as long as these businesses do not entail the repatriation of renminbi funds to the Mainland.  The Clearing Agreement for renminbi business was then revised accordingly in July that year, providing policy headroom and certainty for Hong Kong banks to further develop a full range of renminbi business.  These principles have remained applicable since then as a clear framework for the development of offshore renminbi business in Hong Kong.

7. In the second half of 2010, renminbi trade settlement activities began to take off.  There were, however, far more payments from the Mainland to Hong Kong than the other way round, because at that time only some 300 Mainland exporters were eligible to receive renminbi payments, while the float of renminbi in the offshore market was limited and expectation of renminbi appreciation was strong.  Against this backdrop, the conversion quota for offshore participating banks to purchase renminbi in Shanghai for trade settlement transactions was depleted in October 2010.  Some Mainland commentators thus queried whether the renminbi trade settlement scheme had become a channel for arbitrage and speculative play on the renminbi.  Some media reports even claimed that trillions of “hot money” was stockpiled in Hong Kong seeking ways to flood into the Mainland.  The circumstances then were rather unsettling for the renminbi trade settlement pilot scheme and the development of offshore renminbi business in Hong Kong. The HKMA, in close liaison with the PBoC, acted swiftly by activating the bilateral currency swap arrangement to alleviate the market tightness caused by the depletion of quota, while the requirements for cross-border renminbi squaring by banks for their clients were also set out more fully.  These measures led to steadier renminbi trade settlement activities, with reduced pressure of one-way purchase of renminbi by enterprises and more balanced payment flows to and from the Mainland.

8. While there is now general acknowledgment and support for Hong Kong’s positioning as an offshore renminbi business centre, this was not unquestioned at the onset.  Some Mainland academics thought that renminbi cross-border trade settlement was a universal policy and should not be taken as a measure to support Hong Kong.  Some others were concerned that rapid development of the offshore renminbi market could undermine Mainland’s financial stability.  The HKMA and the HKSAR Government therefore engaged in a series of discussions with relevant Mainland authorities.  Encouragingly, the Central People’s Government formally expressed support to the development of Hong Kong as an offshore renminbi business centre in the Twelfth Five-Year Plan promulgated in 2011.

9. By 2011, it became apparent to banks and market participants that there were very few uses in the offshore market for the renminbi funds originated from cross-border trade settlement besides keeping them as deposits. Headroom for renminbi lending and developing financial products was also limited.  There were however views on the Mainland that renminbi funds having flowed into Hong Kong and other overseas markets should stay offshore and should not, and did not have a need to, be repatriated back to the Mainland.  But in the absence of an economic or financial system with wide usage of renminbi outside the Mainland, practically it would not be feasible for renminbi funds to be intermediated entirely within the offshore market without any flowing back to the onshore market.  After extensive deliberations, it was then largely accepted that a certain degree of links between offshore and onshore markets is necessary. Ever since, channels for cross-border renminbi direct investments and portfolio investments (including arrangements for investing in the Mainland interbank bond market and the RQFII scheme) have been opened up and expanded over time.

Prospect for renminbi’s internationalisation

10. The internationalisation of renminbi, in my view, is a long and complex journey.  In what form and how quickly it goes very much depend on the policy steps taken by the Mainland on capital account liberalisation.  It is also driven by the dynamics between the evolving policy framework of China’s opening-up reforms and the market responses.  For instance, the scale of renminbi trade settlement activities will be subject to decisions of the trade counterparties based on their own cost and liquidity considerations.  Appreciation of the renminbi may increase the demand for the currency in the offshore market, although it would not be appreciating forever.  To become an international investment or reserve currency, renminbi asset and financial product markets of greater depth and breadth will be necessary for overseas entities to hold renminbi over the longer run.  Such development requires not just enabling policies but also promotion and innovation on the part of financial institutions.  This is a gradual and interdependent process, which cannot be achieved overnight.

11. Although it is difficult to provide a quantitative forecast of the size of the offshore renminbi market, I believe we can make some broad conjecture taking reference to the case of euro and Japanese yen.  Some studies have suggested that some 50%-60% of the euro area’s external trade is settled in euro, and the corresponding estimate for the yen is 30%-40%.  Currently, around 15% of the Mainland’s external trade is settled in renminbi, having risen from 2% in 2010.  As China continues its reform and further liberalisation of capital account and renminbi convertibility, there does not seem to be any particular reason that renminbi in the Mainland’s bilateral trade cannot reach that of the yen or the euro in five to ten years.  This means the percentage of trade settled in renminbi can be expected to rise to 30%-60% in the medium term, representing two to four folds of the current level.  As for the Mainland’s inward direct investments, the use of renminbi has increased from 5% in 2011 to about 20% at present, and it would be a reasonable conjecture that this could rise up to 50% in five to 10 years.

12. The development of the offshore renminbi market is both a prerequisite and an outcome of renminbi’s internationalisation.  The expansion of trade and investment transactions in renminbi will increase the size and liquidity of the offshore renminbi market.  On the other hand, the deepening of the offshore market will provide more incentive and scope for overseas enterprises and financial institutions to conduct business and financial transactions in renminbi.  The scale of the offshore renminbi market is still limited at the moment, with offshore renminbi deposits (around RMB1.5 trillion) only being about 1% of that onshore (around RMB100 trillion), which is much lower than the ratio of 30% of offshore vs onshore US dollar deposits.  Clearly, there is enormous scope and potential for the offshore renminbi market to grow in the foreseeable future.

Looking ahead: Great opportunities for Hong Kong as offshore renminbi centre

13. One may ask whether Hong Kong can maintain its leading position as an offshore renminbi centre as the renminbi’s internationalisation progresses.  While Hong Kong now accounts for 70% of the offshore renminbi deposits and payment transactions globally, I think Hong Kong will not, and should not, hold such a big share forever.  The internationalisation of the renminbi means the wider use and circulation of the currency in different parts of the world.  Businesses and individuals in different time zones have diverse needs.  If the scale of renminbi activities of overseas enterprises and banks remains trivial, they would have little demand for financing and correspondent banking services offered by Hong Kong banks.  In other words, it is unrealistic for one to expect a long-standing monopoly by Hong Kong on the world’s offshore renminbi business.  That would not be an ideal scenario for the renminbi’s internationalisation, nor would it be conducive to Hong Kong’s own sustainable development as an offshore renminbi centre.  After all, the opening up and facilitation of cross-border use of the renminbi is to serve the country’s needs for pursuing financial reforms and economic growth.  Hong Kong can play a leading and catalytic role in this process, and capture the unprecedented business opportunities that arise, thus achieving a win-win outcome for all concerned.

14. As a pioneer Hong Kong has indeed a decade of experience and solid foundation.  But our biggest and unique edge lies in our very close economic and business links with the Mainland.  Some 60% of foreign direct investment into the Mainland is originated from Hong Kong and more than 50% of the Mainland’s overseas direct investment is destined to or intermediated through Hong Kong.  Re-exports and offshore trade transactions conducted through Hong Kong also account for 30% of the Mainland’s external trade.  Supported by these links, Hong Kong’s offshore renminbi market has developed with greater size, depth and breadth, and such intrinsic advantage will not erode simply because of the introduction of renminbi business in other places.  But there is no place for complacency.  Nor can we lose faith in ourselves.   As everyone in Hong Kong keeps up with the efforts to strengthen Hong Kong’s renminbi business links with the Mainland and overseas, thereby entrenching our role as a global hub, I see very flourishing prospects for Hong Kong as an offshore renminbi business centre.

 

Norman T.L. Chan
Chief Executive
Hong Kong Monetary Authority
18 February 2014

 

Annex:

Offshore renminbi business in Hong Kong – Statistics

 

    2013

    2010

  Growth 
   between 2010 
   and 2013

Renminbi deposits (including outstanding certificates of deposit)

1,053.0

321.7

2.3 times

Renminbi trade settlement handled by banks in Hong Kong

(Total amount during the year)

3,841.0

369.2

9.4 times

Issuance of renminbi bonds
(Total amount during the year)

116.6

35.8

2.3 times

Outstanding amount of renminbi bonds

310.0

55.8

4.6 times

Renminbi loans

115.6

1.8

63.2 times

Average daily turnover of the renminbi real time gross settlement system

395.4

5.3

73.6 times

Average daily turnover of offshore renminbi foreign exchange market

(US$ billion equivalent)

20

Less than 1

20.0 times


Figures above are shown in RMB billion at year-end unless otherwise stated.

 

Renminbi deposits in Hong Kong (including outstanding certificates of deposit)

Renminbi deposits in Hong Kong (including outstanding certificates of deposit)

Last revision date: 18 February 2014
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Consumer Corner
Complaints about Banks
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites and Phishing E-mails
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of AIs & LROs
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers

主要資訊

匯思
演講辭
演講辭講者
陳德霖
彭醒棠
余偉文
阮國恒
李樹培
李令翔
劉應彬
李建英
戴敏娜
劉怡翔
任志剛
蔡耀君
韋柏康
簡達恆
黎定得
沈聯濤
甘博文
唐培新
戴樂賢
曾蔭權
陳元
戴相龍
周小川
Don Brash
Jaime Caruana
Andrew Crockett
Mario Draghi
David Eldon
Stanley Fischer
Timothy F. Geithner
Stephen Grenville
Kenneth G. Lay
William McDonough
Glenn Stevens
Jean-Claude Trichet
Tarisa Watanagase
Zeti Akhtar Aziz
新聞稿
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
新聞稿類別
偽冒語音訊息來電
香港的銀行
偽冒語音訊息來電
欺詐網站 、電郵、電話系統及其他騙案
獲授銀行牌照
就最近經非競爭性投標配發的外匯基金債券的應付金額
即將舉行的外匯基金債券的非競爭性投標申請金額
外匯基金票據及債券投標
外匯基金票據及債券投標結果
外匯基金票據及債券的暫定發行時間表
委任及離任
金管局薪酬檢討
金管局出版的刊物
演講辭
香港按揭證券有限公司
香港印鈔有限公司
香港金融研究中心
外匯基金投資有限公司
香港金融研究中心
香港的金融基礎設施
與國際的聯繫
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
貨幣政策
紙幣與硬幣
人民幣業務
信用卡貸款調查結果
貨幣統計數字
住宅按揭統計調查結果
電腦二千年問題
其他
指引及通告
指引
通告
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
453.0835

匯思

香港離岸人民幣中心—回顧與展望

前言

    2003年6月,初夏,香港往北京的航班上疏疏落落坐着幾位戴口罩的客人。往日熙來攘往的長安街似乎還未從沙士的陰霾中完全恢復過來。為防傳染,開會的人民銀行(人行)會議室關掉了中央空調, 當時天氣炎熱,我們都汗流浹背,可謂「身水身汗」。當時我和金管局同事到北京開會的這一幕,至今仍記憶猶新。

2. 下周將是香港銀行開展人民幣業務十周年,今天在香港使用人民幣和投資人民幣資產已是家常便飯,但這背後卻凝聚了很多人的多年心血和努力。

2004年:香港開創個人人民幣業務

3.  早在2001年11月,金管局已經向人行提出在香港開展個人人民幣業務的構思,實質商討則始於2002年2月。由於人民幣從來沒有在內地以外的銀行體系使用和流通,一切安排並無先例,所以金管局與人行和外匯管理局進行了多次交流和討論,即使2003年3月沙士爆發也沒有阻慢雙方的推進工作。結果在2003年6月的那次會議取得重大突破,雙方在主要問題上達成了共識,整體方案基本成形。其後雙方進一步商定每項細節,到2003年11月,國務院批准香港試辦個人人民幣業務。再經過大約三個月日以繼夜緊張、縝密的籌備,擬定相關法律文件(包括大家較熟悉的「清算協議」)、委任清算行、連接支付系統以至人民幣現鈔跨境運送等安排,香港的銀行在2004年2月25日正式開始為個人客戶提供人民幣存款、兌換、匯款以及扣賬卡和信用卡服務。

4. 十年前推出香港人民幣業務旨在便利內地和香港之間的人員往來,引導在香港沉澱的人民幣現鈔通過銀行體系有序回流內地,故服務對象僅限於個人客戶和提供個人消費服務的商戶。其後在2005年放寬了一些業務限制,2007年開始有內地金融機構獲准在香港發行人民幣債券。最初的五年可視為起步階段,人民幣存款餘額從2004年底的120億元人民幣(下同)逐步增加至2009年中的540億元,雖然今天看來業務規模有限,但背後的跨境清算和運作安排卻是開創性的,不但首次開通了人民幣通過銀行體系進行跨境交易和流動的渠道,也為2009年以後的飛躍發展奠定重要的基礎。

2009年:香港開展離岸人民幣中心建設

5. 2009年7月跨境貿易人民幣結算試點的推出,是香港人民幣業務踏入第二個階段的重要分水嶺。這項舉措不僅把香港的人民幣業務由個人擴展至企業和機構,其更重大的戰略意義在於設計理念和發展模式的突破︰從單向的現鈔回流內地轉變為雙向的人民幣資金流動,為人民幣國際化邁出重大的一步。自2009年以來,隨著各類跨境人民幣貿易及投資業務不斷開展和深化,更多連接在岸和離岸市場的橋樑陸續接通,更多人民幣在海外使用、流通和沉澱。這成就了香港作為離岸人民幣業務中心快速和越漸成熟的發展,大家也可以從附表的數據看得出香港各項人民幣貿易和金融交易量都持續提升。然而,過去四年多的發展歷程其實都經過了一些轉折。

6. 2009年推出的人民幣貿易結算試點範圍只包括內地五個城市(上海、廣州、深圳、珠海和東莞),很多配套政策和措施,例如出口商退稅安排,尚未到位。2009年11月我首次率領香港銀行公會代表團訪京,在拜會王岐山副總理和人行等財金部委時,話題都集中在跨境貿易人民幣結算的發展。當時香港很多銀行對新業務的運作仍有不少疑問,試點實施幾個月來累計的貿易結算總額只有5億元。此行各方的共識就是要盡快提供必要的配套措施,方便人民幣貿易結算。在與人行商討後,金管局在2010年2月就監管原則及操作安排作出重要詮釋,釐清兩項基本原則:第一,人民幣資金進出內地的跨境流動須符合內地的法規和要求,而內地企業辦理相關業務是否符合這些法規要求由內地監管當局和銀行負責審核;第二,人民幣流進香港以後,只要不涉及資金回流內地,銀行可按本地法規、監管要求及市場因素發展人民幣業務。同年7月,人行同意對清算協議作出相應修改,為香港銀行開展各種人民幣業務提供更大的政策空間和確定性。這些基本原則至今仍然適用,確立了香港離岸人民幣業務的發展方向。

7. 2010年下半年,人民幣貿易結算安排逐步落實和擴大,業務量開始快速增長。但那時候內地可以收取人民幣的出口企業僅限於300多家,加上離岸人民幣流通量還很少,人民幣升值預期亦偏強,以致由內地支付香港的人民幣遠超回流量,而境外參加行為客戶的貿易結算交易通過清算行在上海購買人民幣的額度在2010年10月底也告用罄。當時內地有論者就質疑人民幣貿易結算安排是否淪為炒賣人民幣的套利渠道,更有媒體報道有十萬億熱錢在香港囤積伺機殺入內地炒作。當時的局面對人民幣貿易結算試驗和香港離岸人民幣業務發展極為不利。就此金管局與人行商討並採取果斷措施,即時啟動貨幣互換安排以減低因為額度用罄引起的市場流動性緊張,其後更進一步具體化銀行為客戶進行跨境平盤的監管要求。這些措施推行後,人民幣貿易結算的運作逐漸理順,企業為跨境貿易結算在內地單向買入人民幣的壓力下降,而進出內地的支付流向也漸趨均衡。

8. 現在大家普遍支持和贊同香港作為離岸人民幣業務中心的定位。但早期有些內地學者認為,人民幣貿易結算是面向全球的政策,不應視為一項支持香港的舉措。也有論者擔心離岸人民幣市場快速發展會影響內地金融穩定。經過金管局和特區政府與內地相關部委多番商討,最後中央在2011年發佈的《十二.五規劃》中明確表示,支持香港發展成為離岸人民幣業務中心。

9. 到了2011年,銀行業和市場人士都反映,通過貿易結算交易而積聚的離岸人民幣資金除存款外出路不多,發展人民幣貸款和其他金融產品的空間也有限。內地有意見則認為流到香港和海外的人民幣資金應繼續在外面流轉和沉澱,不應、亦不需要回流內地。但實際上在海外沒有廣泛使用人民幣的經濟或金融體系,離岸人民幣不可能完全與在岸市場分隔而自我循環使用。這個問題經多方面深入論證,大家基本上明白和接受了離岸與在岸市場之間要有適當的連繫,跨境人民幣直接投資和金融投資的渠道(包括投資內地債市和RQFII等安排)也逐步建立和擴闊。

人民幣國際化的前景

10. 我認為人民幣國際化是個既漫長又複雜的過程,其形態和速度很受內地資本賬開放的步伐影響,亦牽涉到在全面深化改革開放的過程中,政策框架轉變與市場之間的複雜互動。例如,人民幣結算業務量取決於貿易雙方自身利益的考量,包括成本和頭寸的問題,而人民幣升值的預期亦會增加離岸市場對人民幣的需求。不過人民幣不可能無止境地升值,要成為國際上普遍接受的投資或儲值貨幣,必須有具深度和廣度的金融產品和資產市場,才可吸引海外人士長期持有人民幣資產。但金融產品和市場的開發,不但要有足夠的政策空間,還需要金融機構的推動和創新,這是一個環環相扣、循序漸進的過程,不可能一蹴而就。

11. 儘管很難對離岸人民幣市場的規模作出量化估計,但我認為可以參考歐元和日圓的經驗,作出一些假設及推斷。一些研究指出,歐元區的外貿以歐元結算的比例為50%-60%,日圓相應的比例則為30%-40%。中國內地的外貿以人民幣結算的比例,從2010年的2%上升至目前15%左右。當中國繼續深化改革開放,進一步落實放寬資本賬管制和人民幣兌換,我們沒有理由相信中國內地以人民幣支付的雙邊貿易在五到十年內不能達到日圓和歐元的水平,即是可以假設在中期升至30%-60%,這將是現時比例的兩到四倍。此外,外商進入內地的直接投資使用人民幣的比例,已由2011年的5%上升至目前接近20%,我相信未來五到十年能夠升至50%亦是合理的推斷。

12. 離岸人民幣市場的發展,是人民幣國際化的必然條件和結果。人民幣跨境貿易和投資交易的擴大,必會提升離岸人民幣市場資金量和流動性,進而提升離岸企業和金融機構採用人民幣的意願和空間。現時離岸人民幣市場的規模仍然有限,存款額(約為1萬5千億元)只是在岸(100萬億元)的1%左右,遠低於離岸美元存款等於美國本土的大約三成,但可以肯定的是,離岸人民幣市場在可見未來會有非常巨大的增長空間和潛力。

展望香港未來發展:抓緊良機、大有可為

13. 隨著人民幣國際化不斷推進,香港能否繼續保持離岸人民幣業務中心的領先地位?現時香港人民幣存款和支付交易佔全球離岸市場七成,但我認為香港不會、亦不應一直佔有這麼高的份額。人民幣國際化就是要人民幣在全球各地更廣泛使用和流通,而不同時區的企業和個人需求各異。海外企業和銀行的人民幣業務如長期處於很小的規模,對香港銀行提供的融資和代理銀行服務的需求也不會很大。換言之,期望香港長期壟斷離岸業務並不實際,人民幣未能真正國際化,亦不利於香港自身作為離岸人民幣業務中心的持續發展。畢竟,人民幣跨境使用的開放和便利是基於國家金融改革和經濟發展的需要,香港在過程中可以發揮重大的推動和催化作用,並藉此機遇鞏固發展離岸中心,締造雙贏。

14. 香港作為先行者已有十年的經驗和根基,但我們更大並且獨特的優勢在於香港與內地緊密的經貿聯繫。進入內地的外商直接投資有六成源自香港,內地對外直接投資也有五成以上是投資於或取道香港,而通過香港進行的轉口和離岸貿易也佔內地外貿總額的三成。香港離岸人民幣市場因而無論在規模、深度與廣度都會佔優,而這些自身優勢不會因為其他地方開展人民幣業務而削弱。我們不能自滿,但亦不應妄自菲薄。只要香港各界繼續努力不懈,不斷加強香港與內地及海外的人民幣業務聯繫,從而鞏固和提升中心樞紐的功能和作用,香港作為離岸人民幣業務中心將大有可為。

 

香港金融管理局總裁
陳德霖
2014年2月18日

 

附表:

香港離岸人民幣業務數據

 

2013年

(億元) 

2010年

(億元) 

2010至2013年間增幅

人民幣存款(包括存款證餘額)

10,530

3,217

2.3倍

經香港銀行處理的人民幣貿易結算交易

(期內總額)

38,410

3,692

9.4倍

人民幣債券發行量

(期內總額)

1,166

358

2.3倍

未償還人民幣債券餘額

3,100

558

4.6倍

人民幣銀行貸款

1,156

18

63.2倍

香港人民幣實時支付系統每日平均交易量

3,954

53

73.6倍

離岸人民幣外匯市場每日平均交易量

(美元等值)

200

不足10

 20.0倍


除非另有註明,以上為期末數字。

 

香港人民幣存款(包括存款證餘額)香港人民幣存款(包括存款證餘額)

修訂日期: 2014年2月18日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
其他語言資料(印尼語, हिन्दी, नेपाली, ਪੰਜਾਬੀ, 他加祿語, ไทย, اردو)
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊