Portfolio Segregation

The HKMA manages the Exchange Fund in distinct portfolios in order to meet the specific statutory purposes of the Exchange Fund. Broadly speaking, the Exchange Fund has two major portfolios – the Backing Portfolio and the Investment Portfolio.

  • The Backing Portfolio ensures that the Monetary Base is fully backed by high-quality, highly liquid US dollar-denominated assets, in addition to fulfilling the commitments of Convertibility Undertakings under the Linked Exchange Rate System. The ratio between the assets in the Backing Portfolio and the Monetary Base should be maintained between 105% and 112.5%. Assets will be injected into or transferred out from the backing portfolio when the lower or the upper trigger point is reached. This arrangement enables a higher investment return on excess assets while ensuring sufficient liquid assets in the Backing Portfolio.
  • The Investment Portfolio invests in the bond and equity markets (in both developed and emerging market economies) with a view to preserving the Exchange Fund's value and its long-term purchasing power.

With the aim of diversifying risks and enhancing medium-to-long term returns, the Exchange Fund started investing in private equity and overseas real estate under the Long-Term Growth Portfolio (LTGP) in 2009 in a prudent and incremental manner. The cap for the market value of investments under the LTGP is set at the aggregate of one-third of the accumulated surplus of the Exchange Fund and the portion of the Future Fund and placements by subsidiaries of the Exchange Fund linked to the LTGP.

The Strategic Portfolio was established in 2007 to hold shares in Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited acquired by the Government for the account of the Exchange Fund for strategic purposes. Because of the unique nature of this Portfolio, it is not included in the assessment of the investment performance of the Exchange Fund.

Portfolios of Exchange Fund

The sizes of major assets and liabilities of the Exchange Fund at end-2018 are:

The sizes of major assets and liabilities of the Exchange Fund at end-2018

Other Topics about Investment Management
Last revision date : 26 August 2019

投資組合類別

金管局將外匯基金分為不同的投資組合管理,以符合外匯基金的特定法定目的。外匯基金有兩個主要組合–支持組合投資組合

  • 支持組合持有流通性極高及優質的美元資產,為貨幣基礎提供十足支持,並用以履行聯繫匯率制度下的兌換保證。支持組合資產與貨幣基礎的比率應維持於105%與112.5%之間。當比率觸發上或下限時,金管局便會從支持組合轉出或向其注入資產。這項措施一方面可以提高過剩資產的投資回報,另一方面又可確保支持組合有足夠的流動資產。
  • 投資組合投資於債券和股票市場(包括已發展和新興市場經濟體),以保障資產的價值及長期購買力。

為能更妥善管理風險及提高中長期回報,金管局在2009年開始透過長期增長組合,以審慎及循序漸進的方式投資私募股權及海外房地產。長期增長組合的市值上限為外匯基金累計盈餘的三分之一及未來基金與外匯基金附屬公司存款中與長期增長組合掛鈎部分的總和。

外匯基金在2007年設立策略性資產組合,以持有政府基於策略性目的而為外匯基金帳目購入的香港交易及結算所有限公司股份。由於「策略性資產組合」的性質獨特,因此在評估外匯基金的投資表現時,並沒有包括有關組合。

外匯基金於2018年底的主要資產及負債規模:

外匯基金於2018年底的主要資產及負債規模

修訂日期 : 2019年08月26日