Pre-approved Principal Payment Holiday Scheme for corporate customers

In light of the challenges brought about by the COVID-19 outbreak to the economy and operations of corporates, the HKMA together with the Banking Sector SME Lending Coordination Mechanism announced on 17 April 2020 the launch of a Pre-approved Principal Payment Holiday Scheme for eligible corporate customers (the Scheme) on 1 May 2020.  Under the Scheme, banks in Hong Kong will offer principal payment holidays to covered corporate borrowers on a pre-approval basis.The Scheme has been extended twice in November 2020 and May 2021, for 6 months each time, to end-October 2021.

Launch Date

1 May 2020

Am I an eligible customer for the Scheme?

Covered borrowers are corporate borrowers which:

  1. have, on an entity basis, an annual sales turnover of HK$800 million or less, based on their latest financial statements;
  2. with no outstanding loan payments payable to the bank which have been overdue for more than 30 days at the Launch Date; and
  3. are not in the process of ceasing operations or declaring bankruptcy or liquidation.

The HKMA requests all banks to participate in the Scheme. Customers may contact their banks to enquire about their eligibility.

Contact list of banks

What are the payments covered under the Scheme?

  • All loan principal payments, including mortgages, vehicle loans and trade facilities, of eligible customers falling due within a 6-month period between 1 May 2020 and 31 October 2020 will be pre-approved for deferment. Principal payments of loans will generally be deferred by 6 months.
    • Under the announcement on 2 September 2020, all loan principal payments of eligible customers falling due between November 2020 and April 2021, irrespective of whether or not a loan has been on a principal payment holiday, will generally be deferred by six months.
    • Under the announcement on 4 March 2021, all principal payments of loans falling due between May and October 2021, irrespective of whether or not a loan has been on a principal payment holiday, will generally be deferred by another six months.1
  • For trade facilities, given their short-term nature, the principal repayment will be deferred by 90 days.
    • Under the deferment arrangement announced on 5 August 2020, trade facilities both currently subject to the Scheme as well as those drawn between 1 May 2020 and 31 July 2020 by eligible customers with no outstanding payments overdue for more than 30 days as at 1 August 2020 and falling due before 31 October 2020 will be covered.
    • Under the announcement on 2 September 2020, the repayments of trade facilities falling due between 1 November 2020 and 30 April 2021 will be deferred by 90 days.
    • Under the announcement on 29 January 2021, the repayments of trade facilities falling due between 1 February and 30 April 2021 as well as those drawn down from November 2020 to end-January 2021 will be deferred by another 90 days.
    • Under the announcement on 4 Mar 2021, the repayments of trade facilities falling due between 1 May and 31 October 2021 will be deferred by another 90 days.2
    • Under the announcement on 15 July 2021, the repayments of trade facilities falling due between August and October 2021 as well as those drawn down from May to end-July 2021 will be deferred by another 90 days.2
  • For revolving facilities (e.g. corporate credit cards and overdraft lines) with facility limits that are due for review from the Launch Date of the Scheme to 31 October 2021, the bank should not adjust downward the existing facility limits within 6 months from the review dates.
  • Syndicated loans or loans used to financing purchases of shares or other financial assets are not covered.
  • For facilities which are self-liquidating in nature, banks may require the loan to be settled when the underlying payment has been received by the customer.

How to apply?

Eligible customers do not need to apply for the Scheme. Banks will inform eligible customers of the pre-approval under the Scheme and eligible borrowers are only requested to contact the bank within 14 days of the bank’s notice to confirm the detailed arrangements of the deferment.

In regards to the extension of principal payment holidays announced on 5 August 2020, 2 September 2020, 29 January 2021, 4 March 2021 and 15 July 2021 banks will not issue individual notifications to eligible customers regarding the extension of the Scheme. Corporate customers in need of relief are requested to contact their banks.  Banks will handle each eligible customer’s case on a "pre-approved" basis. Banks may request customers (especially those who have been granted multiple extensions of payment holidays) to provide up-to-date business and financial information to better understand their needs when processing their cases.

Enquiries or feedback

For any enquiries or feedback for the Scheme, you may contact the HKMA's dedicated email account: ppphs@hkma.gov.hk or enquiry hotline: (852)2878 1199.

 


1 For loans which have been extended for 540 days or more cumulatively since first being drawn down, banks can adopt a flexible approach and consider, on a case-by-case basis and subject to prudent risk management principles, whether other forms of relief are more suitable to help the customers ride out the current difficulties.

2 For trade loans which have been extended for 270 days or more cumulatively since first being drawn down, banks can adopt a flexible approach and consider, on a case-by-case basis and subject to prudent risk management principles, whether other forms of relief are more suitable to help the customers ride out the current difficulties.

Last revision date : 16 July 2021

企業客戶「預先批核還息不還本」計劃

面對2019新型冠狀病毒疫情對企業營運和經濟造成重大影響,金管局於2020年4月17日聯同「銀行業中小企貸款協調機制」(協調機制)宣布於2020年5月1日推出「預先批核還息不還本」安排予合資格企業客戶。銀行會向合資格的企業借款人提供「預先批核還息不還本」安排。計劃在2020年11月, 2021年5月及2021年11月分別延長6個月至2022年4月底。

推出日期

2020年5月1日

我是否合資格客户?

企業借款人須符合以下條件:

  1. 借款人本身的年度營業額在8億港元或以下(以最近期財務報表為準);
  2. 在計劃推出日期時並無在銀行有逾期多於30日的欠款;及
  3. 尚未停止營運或宣布破產/清盤。

金管局已發信要求所有銀行參與這計劃,企業客户可向相關銀行查詢是否合資格客户。

銀行查詢熱缐

計劃涵蓋那些還款?

  • 計劃涵蓋所有企業貸款,包括物業貸款、汽車貸款及貿易融資貸款等。合資格客戶於2020年5月1日至10月31日6個月期間的所有貸款本金還款獲自動延期,一般貸款的本金還款延期6個月。
    • 按照2020年9月2日宣布的延期安排,合資格客戶於2020年11月至2021年4月間到期的所有貸款本金還款,不論是否早前已獲展期的貸款,一般都可延期6個月。
    • 按照2021年3月4日的延期安排,合資格企業客戶於2021年5月至10月期間的貸款本金還款,不論是否早前已獲展期的貸款,一般都可再獲延長6個月。1
    • 按照2021年9月21日的延期安排,合資格企業客戶於2021年11月至2022年4 月期間的貸款本金還款,不論是否早前已獲展期的貸款,一般都可再獲延長6個月。1
  • 貿易融資貸款因應其短期性質,本金還款延期90天。
    • 按照2020年8月5日宣布的延期安排,在2020年8月1日時沒有逾期還款多於30天的企業客戶,其所有已獲計劃下延長還款期的貿易融資貸款及在2020年5月至7月底期間新取用而於2020年10底或之前到期的貿易融資貸款同樣可以要求延長90天
    • 按照2020年9月2日的公佈,2020年11月至2021年4月期間到期的貿易融資貸款亦可以要求延長90天
    • 按照2021年1月29日的公佈,合資格客戶於2021年2月1日至4月30日期間到期以及2020年11月至2021年1月底新取用的貿易融資貸款的本金還款期可再次獲延長90天
    • 按照2021年3月4日的公佈,合資格客戶於2021年5月1日至10月31日期間到期的貿易融資貸款再次獲延長90天2
    • 按照2021年7月15日的公佈,合資格客戶於2021年8月至10月期間到期以及2021年5月至7月底新取用的貿易融資貸款的本金還款期可再次獲延長90天。2
    • 按照2021年9月21日的公佈,合資格客戶於2021年11月1日至2022年4月30日期間到期的貿易融資貸款再次獲延長90天。2
  • 若循環貸款(例如企業信用卡和透支額度)在2021年11月1日至2022年4月30日到期進行檢討,銀行不應在檢討日6個月內削減現有信貸額度
  • 計劃並不涵蓋銀團貸款及股票或其他金融產品融資貸款
  • 如貿易融資貸款屬自償性貸款,銀行可要求客戶當收到相關款項後於延期還款期間償還貸款。

怎樣申請

合資格客戶毋須遞交申請,銀行會通知合資格客戶,而客戶只需在接獲通知14天內聯絡銀行,確認貸款延期細節。

就2020年8月5日、2020年9月2日、2021年1月29日、2021年3月4日、2021年7月15日及2021年9月21日公佈的延期安排,銀行不會為延長安排向合資格客戶發出個別通知,有需要的企業客戶可以聯絡銀行,銀行將以預先批核原則處理每名合資格客戶的個案。為了更全面了解客戶的需要,銀行在處理過程中,可能會邀請客戶(特別是早前已獲多次展期的客戶)提供最新的營運及財務資料。

查詢或意見

如對此計劃有任何查詢或意見,請聯絡香港金管局的專用電郵:ppphs@hkma.gov.hk 或查詢熱線:(852) 2878 1199。

 


1 如果同一筆貸款自原貸款日起連續展期540天或以上,銀行可以彈性為客戶提供不同的信貸支援方案,確保有需要客戶在符合審慎風險原則下繼續得到適切的援助。

2 如果同一筆貿易交易的貸款自原貸款日起連續展期270天或以上,銀行可以彈性為客戶提供不同的信貸支援方案,確保有需要客戶在符合審慎風險原則下繼續得到適切的援助。

修訂日期 : 2021年10月11日