Key Functions

Monetary Stability
Linked Exchange Rate System
Interest Rate Adjustment Mechanism
Liquidity Support to Banks
EFAC Currency Board
Sub-Committee
Transparency of Currency Board Operations
Notes & Coins of
Hong Kong
Notes
Coins
Coin Collection Programme
Milestones of Monetary Reform
History of Hong Kong's Exchange Rate System
Banking Stability
Banking Policy & Supervision
The Three-tier Banking System
Regulatory Framework
Advisory Committees
Supervisory
Co-operation
Regulation of Money Brokers
Consumer Corner
HKMA’s Work in Relation to Strengthening Financial Consumer Protection
Consumer Education Programme
Frequently Asked Questions
Complaints about Banks
Internet Banking
Security Controls for ATM Services
Guide to Authorization
Supervisory Policy Manual
Enhanced Competency Framework for Banking Practitioners
Oversight of Financial
Market Infrastructures
Basel III
Other Basel Committee Standards
Exposure Limits
Systemically Important Authorized Institutions (SIBs)
Resolution
Review of the HKMA's Work on Banking Stability
Sharing of Mortgage Data
Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT)
AML/CFT-related Circulars
Sanctions-related Notices and Updates
Countercyclical Capital Buffer (CCyB)
International Financial Centre
International & Regional Financial Co-operation
International & Regional Financial Co-operation
Participation in Multilateral Agencies & International Forums
Co-operation with Other Central Banks
Application of the "One Country, Two Systems" Principle
Renminbi Business in Hong Kong
Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office (IFFO)
Debt-market Development
Exchange Fund Bills & Notes
Government Bond Programme
Important Policy Initiatives Affecting The EFBN Programme & Other Hong Kong Dollar Debt Instruments
Infrastructure
Financial Infrastructure in Hong Kong
Payment Systems
CMU
OTC Derivatives Trade Repository
System Links
International
Co-operation
Pan-Asian CSD Alliance
Retail Payment Development
Useful Links
Regulatory Regime for Stored Value Facilities (SVF) and Retail Payment Systems (RPS)
Regulation of Stored Value Facilities (SVF)
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Regulation of Retail Payment Systems (RPS)
Fintech Facilitation Office (FFO)
Enhanced Competency Framework for Banking Practitioners
Exchange Fund
History
Management
Transparency
93.7799

Payment Systems

Interbank fund transfers are made through payment systems that are essential components of the financial infrastructure. Hong Kong's payment systems allow interbank transfers in the Hong Kong dollar, US dollar, euro, and renminbi. Hong Kong Interbank Clearing Limited (HKICL) is the operator of the payment systems, providing banks with various interbank clearing and settlement services.

Hong Kong Dollar RTGS System

Introduced in 1996, the Hong Kong dollar Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) system (also known as Hong Kong dollar Clearing House Automated Transfer System (CHATS)) enables safe and efficient settlement of interbank payments denominated in the Hong Kong dollar. Interbank payments are settled continuously on a deal-by-deal basis across the book of the HKMA without netting. In addition to settling large-value payments between banks, the system also handles bulk clearing and settlement of cheques, stock market-related payments and other small-value bulk electronic payments, such as EPS, auto-credit and auto-debit transactions, and automatic teller machine transfers. Besides providing interbank payment services, payments arising from the HKMA's monetary operations are also conducted through the Hong Kong dollar RTGS system.

The Hong Kong dollar RTGS system has a single-tier membership structure. With the Exchange Fund Ordinance providing the legal basis for access to the system, licensed banks in Hong Kong are required to join the system and maintain Hong Kong dollar settlement accounts with the HKMA. Restricted licence banks in Hong Kong may also apply to the HKMA for access to the system, and applications will be assessed against the access criteria set out in the HKMA circulars “Access to the Real Time Gross Settlement System” issued on 29 December 1999 and 19 May 2000. As an on-going effort of the HKMA to eliminate settlement risks for foreign exchange transactions, with the Financial Secretary’s approval, the HKMA allowed the CLS Bank International to have limited access to the system in late 2004 to facilitate the inclusion of the Hong Kong dollar in the foreign exchange transactions to be settled through the Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) system on a payment-versus-payment basis.

Disclosure Framework for Hong Kong Dollar RTGS System

The Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) of the Bank for International Settlements and the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) have jointly issued a disclosure framework and assessment methodology (http://www.bis.org/publ/cpss106.pdf) for their principles for financial market infrastructures (PFMIs), which is the new international standards for financial market infrastructures (FMIs).

The disclosure framework (DF) (PDF File, 349KB) is intended to promote consistent and comprehensive public disclosure by FMIs in line with the requirements of the PFMIs (http://www.bis.org/publ/cpss101a.pdf).  The HKD RTGS system is subject to the DF, and the disclosure report of HKD RTGS system is completed according to the disclosure template outlined in the DF.

US Dollar RTGS System

The US dollar RTGS system (also known as US dollar CHATS) was launched in August 2000 with The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation as its settlement institution. The US dollar RTGS system not only processes US dollar interbank payments on an RTGS basis, but also handles US dollar bulk clearing and settlement of cheques and stock market-related payments.

Banks in Hong Kong are entitled to access the system and can apply for direct membership through the settlement institution or indirect membership by settling their payments through direct members. Participation of other financial institutions has to be approved by the HKMA and the settlement institution on a case-by-case basis.

Euro RTGS System

The euro RTGS system (also known as Euro CHATS) was launched in April 2003 with the Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited as its settlement institution.

Banks in Hong Kong are entitled to access the system and can apply for direct membership through the settlement institution or indirect membership by settling their payments through direct members. Participation of other financial institutions has to be approved by the HKMA and the settlement institution on a case-by-case basis.

Renminbi RTGS System

The renminbi RTGS system (also known as renminbi CHATS) was upgraded from the Renminbi Settlement System in June 2007 with the Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited as its Clearing Bank. The Clearing Bank maintains a settlement account with the People's Bank of China and is a member of China's National Advanced Payment System (CNAPS). The renminbi RTGS system in Hong Kong can be regarded as a technical extension of CNAPS in Mainland China, but governed by Hong Kong laws. The renminbi RTGS system not only processes renminbi interbank payments on an RTGS basis, but also handles renminbi bulk clearing and settlement of payment items similar to those handled by the Hong Kong dollar RTGS system.

Banks in Hong Kong and elsewhere can join the system directly by opening renminbi settlement accounts with the Clearing Bank. Non-local banks and financial institutions can also choose to join the system indirectly by settling their payments through direct members in Hong Kong. While banks in Hong Kong can apply to the Clearing Bank for direct access to the system, participation of other financial institutions has to be approved by the HKMA and the Clearing Bank on a case-by-case basis.

Participants of Hong Kong's Payment Systems

The following lists are available on the HKICL website:

Features of the Payment Systems

RTGS
Prior to the introduction of the RTGS system in 1996, banks settled payments among themselves by way of position netting. Such position netting was not obligatory and not supported by a formal legal framework as in the case of obligation netting. A bank paid (or received) only the net difference of the payments payable to (or receivable from) all the other banks participating in the system at the end of each business day. Position netting exposed banks to systemic risk because the failure of one bank to pay the amount due at the end of the day might expose other banks to unexpected payment obligations, triggering a chain of defaults.

In an RTGS system, large-value interbank payments are settled on a continuous, deal-by-deal basis through the banks' settlement accounts with the settlement institution of the system. As these payments are settled one by one during the day, systemic settlement risks arising from end-of-day netting are eliminated.

As opposed to position netting, RTGS requires banks to have more intraday liquidity to settle payments during the day. Banks in Hong Kong can obtain interest-free intraday liquidity through intraday repurchase agreements with the HKMA using Exchange Fund Bills and Notes.

Payment-versus-payment (PvP)
PvP is a mechanism for settling a foreign exchange transaction where payments in the two currencies involved are settled simultaneously. The Hong Kong dollar, US dollar, euro and renminbi RTGS systems in Hong Kong are interlinked to enable banks to settle US dollar/Hong Kong dollar, US dollar/renminbi, euro/US dollar, euro/Hong Kong dollar, euro/renminbi and renminibi/Hong Kong dollar foreign exchange transactions on a PvP basis. PvP greatly improves settlement efficiency and eliminates settlement risk arising from time lags in transactions and from time-zone differences.

Settlement Finality
The settlement of transactions made through the Hong Kong dollar, US dollar, euro and renminbi RTGS systems is final and irrevocable. This finality is protected from insolvency laws and other laws by the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance.

Liquidity-saving Tools
The HKMA has introduced a number of improvements to the RTGS systems over the years to smooth payment flows and enable banks to use liquidity more efficiently. They include:

Last revision date: 27 May 2016
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Account Opening
Consumer Corner
Consumer Education Programme
Complaints about Banks
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites, Phishing E-mails and Similar Scams
Be Careful of Bogus Phone Calls and SMS Messages
Authenticate the Callers and Bank Hotline Numbers
Register of AIs & LROs
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of SVF Licensees
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Photo Gallery

主要職能

貨幣穩定
聯繫匯率制度
利率調節機制
向銀行提供流動資金支持
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的貨幣發行委員會
貨幣發行局運作的透明度
香港的紙幣與硬幣
紙幣
硬幣
硬幣收集計劃
貨幣改革的里程
香港匯率制度的興替
銀行體系的穩定
銀行政策與監管
銀行三級發牌制度
監管制度
銀行監管的主要條例
諮詢委員會
與其他監管機構合作
貨幣經紀的監管
實施國際監管標準
資本
槓桿比率
逆周期緩衝資本(CCyB)
具系統重要性銀行(SIB)
流動性
風險承擔限額
披露
實施其他國際監管標準
諮詢
處置機制
處置框架
處置標準
處置規劃
處置執行
處置刊物
消費者資訊專區
金管局在加強保障金融服務消費者方面的工作
消費者教育推廣計劃
常見問題
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
網上銀行
櫃員機服務的保安措施
認可指引
監管政策手冊
銀行專業資歷架構
監察金融市場基建
共用按揭資料
打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集
與打擊洗錢∕恐怖分子資金籌集相關的通告
與制裁相關的通告及最新資料
國際金融中心
國際及區內金融合作
國際及區內金融合作
參與多邊組織及國際論壇
與其他中央銀行的合作
實行「一國兩制」原則
香港人民幣業務
基建融資促進辦公室
債務市場發展
外匯基金票據及債券
政府債券計劃
影響外匯基金票據及債券發行的措施
基礎設施
香港的金融基建
支付系統
債務工具中央結算系統
場外衍生工具交易資料儲存庫
系統聯網
國際合作
亞洲區債券結算系統聯盟
零售支付發展
參考資料
儲值支付工具及零售支付系統的監管制度
儲值支付工具的監管
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
零售支付系統的監管
金融科技促進辦公室
金融科技監管沙盒
銀行專業資歷架構
外匯基金
歷史
管理
透明度
62.4849

支付系統

支付系統是金融基建不可缺少的組成部分,用作進行銀行同業資金轉撥。香港的支付系統可進行港元、美元、歐元及人民幣的銀行同業資金轉撥。這些支付系統由香港銀行同業結算有限公司運作,提供各種銀行同業結算及交收服務。

港元 RTGS 系統

港元即時支付結算系統(RTGS系統)(又稱港元結算所自動轉帳系統)於1996年推出,讓港元銀行同業支付交易以安全及高效率的方式交收。銀行同業支付交易在金管局所設的帳冊上以持續方式逐筆交收,而不是淨額處理。除交收銀行之間的大額支付項目外,該系統亦處理批量結算及交收,包括支票、股票相關支付項目及其他小額批量電子支付項目,如「易辦事」、自動記帳與扣帳交易,以及自動櫃員機轉帳。除提供銀行同業支付服務外,港元RTGS系統亦處理金管局的貨幣操作涉及的支付程序。

港元RTGS系統採取單層式成員制。根據《外匯基金條例》,香港持牌銀行必須加入港元RTGS系統,並於金管局開設港元交收戶口。香港有限制牌照銀行亦可向金管局申請使用該系統,有關申請將依照金管局於1999年12月29日2000年5月19日「使用即時支付結算系統」通告(英文版本)內所載的使用準則審理。金管局一直致力消除外匯交易的交收風險,並於2004年底在財政司司長批准下容許CLS Bank International有限度地使用該系統,藉此使港元納入Continuous Linked Settlement系統的貨幣行列之中,使其可與相關貨幣進行外匯交易同步交收。

港元 RTGS 系統的披露框架

國際結算銀行轄下的支付及金融基建委員會與國際證券事務監察委員會組織已就其金融市場基建原則聯合發出一套披露框架及評估方法(http://www.bis.org/publ/cpss106.pdf),作為適用於金融市場基建的新國際標準。

披露框架(英文版本, PDF 檔案, 229KB)旨在促進金融市場基建進行貫徹及全面的公開披露,以符合金融市場基建原則的要求(http://www.bis.org/publ/cpss101a.pdf)。港元即時支付結算系統須遵守該披露框架,有關港元即時支付結算系統的披露報告亦按照披露框架所載披露範本完成。 

美元 RTGS 系統

美元RTGS系統(又稱美元結算所自動轉帳系統)在2000年8月推出,結算機構為香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司。美元RTGS系統不僅以即時支付結算的方式處理美元銀行同業支付交易,亦處理美元支票及股票相關支付的批量結算及交收。

香港銀行有權使用該系統,並可向結算機構申請成為直接成員,亦可透過由直接成員交收其支付項目的方式申請成為間接成員。其他金融機構若擬參與,須經金管局及結算機構審批。

歐元 RTGS 系統

歐元RTGS系統(又稱歐元結算所自動轉帳系統)於2003年4月推出,由渣打銀行(香港)有限公司擔任結算機構。

香港銀行有權使用該系統,並可向結算機構申請成為直接成員,亦可透過由直接成員交收其支付項目的方式申請成為間接成員。其他金融機構若擬參與,須經金管局及結算機構審批。

人民幣 RTGS 系統

人民幣RTGS系統(又稱人民幣結算所自動轉帳系統)於2007年6月透過提升人民幣交收系統的功能而成,由中國銀行(香港)有限公司擔任清算行。清算行於中國人民銀行設有交收帳戶,並為中國國家現代化支付系統的成員。因此從技術層面而言香港的人民幣RTGS系統可視為中國國家現代化支付系統的延伸,但受香港法例監管。人民幣RTGS系統不但以即時支付結算方式處理銀行同業人民幣支付項目,亦處理人民幣批量結算及交收支付項目,功能類似港元RTGS系統。

香港及境外銀行均可於清算行開設人民幣交收戶口,以直接加入該系統。境外銀行及金融機構亦可選擇透過香港的直接成員交收其支付項目,藉此間接加入該系統。香港銀行可向清算行申請直接加入該系統,其他金融機構若擬參與則須經金管局及清算行審批。

香港支付系統的參與機構

下述名單載於香港銀行同業結算有限公司網站

支付系統的特點

即時支付結算
在1996年推出RTGS系統前,銀行須透過淨額方式交收彼此間的支付交易。然而,這種淨額方式並不是強制性的,亦並非如債務淨額處理般有正式的法律制度支持。每間銀行在每個營業日結束時只向參與系統的所有其他銀行支付(或收取)所欠的(或應收的)淨數。淨額交收安排令銀行面對系統性風險,因為若一間銀行於營業日結束時未能支付有關數額,其他銀行便可能面對突如其來的支付責任,以致觸發連鎖式的違約事件。

在RTGS系統下,大額銀行同業支付交易持續透過銀行在結算機構所設的交收戶口逐筆處理。由於這些支付交易於營業時間內逐筆交收,因日終淨額交收引起的系統性交收風險得以消除。

與淨額交收相比,即時支付結算令銀行需要準備較多流動資金以應付日間的交收需要。本港銀行可憑外匯基金票據及債券與金管局進行即日回購協議,以獲取即日的免息流動資金。

外匯交易同步交收
「外匯交易同步交收」是為外匯交易提供交收服務的機制,涉及的兩種貨幣的支付程序於同一時間完成。本港的港元、美元、歐元及人民幣RTGS系統互為相連,讓銀行可以以同步交收方式交收美元與港元、美元與人民幣、歐元與美元、歐元與港元、歐元與人民幣,以及人民幣與港元的外匯交易。同步交收服務大大提高交收效率,並消除因交易時差及不同時區所引起的交收風險。

交收終局性
經港元、美元、歐元及人民幣RTGS系統進行的交易交收是最終及不可撤回的。《支付系統及儲值支付工具條例》已為這項交收終局性提供保障,使其免受破產法例或其他法例影響。

節省流動資金的工具
過去多年來,金管局推出多項優化RTGS系統的措施,使支付流程更暢順,以及讓銀行更有效率地運用流動資金。這些措施包括:

修訂日期: 2017年5月26日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊