Key Functions

Monetary Stability
Linked Exchange Rate System
Interest Rate Adjustment Mechanism
Liquidity Support to Banks
EFAC Currency Board
Sub-Committee
Transparency of Currency Board Operations
Notes & Coins of
Hong Kong
Notes
Coins
Coin Collection Programme
Milestones of Monetary Reform
History of Hong Kong's Exchange Rate System
Banking Stability
Banking Policy & Supervision
The Three-tier Banking System
Regulatory & Supervisory Framework
Key Banking Regulations
Advisory Committees
Supervisory
Co-operation
Regulation of Money Brokers
Implementation of International Standards
Capital
Leverage Ratio
Countercyclical Capital Buffer(CCyB)
Systemically Important Authorized Institutions (SIBs)
Liquidity
Exposure Limits
Disclosure
Other International Regulatory Standards
Consultations
Resolution
Resolution Framework
Resolution Standards
Resolution Planning
Resolution Execution
Resolution Publications
Consumer Corner
HKMA’s Work in Relation to Strengthening Financial Consumer Protection
Consumer Education Programme
Frequently Asked Questions
Complaints about Banks
Internet Banking
Security Controls for ATM Services
Guide to Authorization
Supervisory Policy Manual
Enhanced Competency Framework for Banking Practitioners
Oversight of Financial
Market Infrastructures
Sharing of Mortgage Data
Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT)
AML/CFT-related Circulars
Sanctions-related Notices and Updates
International Financial Centre
International & Regional Financial Co-operation
International & Regional Financial Co-operation
Participation in Multilateral Agencies & International Forums
Co-operation with Other Central Banks
Application of the "One Country, Two Systems" Principle
Renminbi Business in Hong Kong
Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office (IFFO)
Debt-market Development
Exchange Fund Bills & Notes
Government Bond Programme
Important Policy Initiatives Affecting The EFBN Programme & Other Hong Kong Dollar Debt Instruments
Infrastructure
Financial Infrastructure in Hong Kong
Payment Systems
CMU
OTC Derivatives Trade Repository
System Links
International
Co-operation
Pan-Asian CSD Alliance
Retail Payment Development
Useful Links
Regulatory Regime for Stored Value Facilities (SVF) and Retail Payment Systems (RPS)
Regulation of Stored Value Facilities (SVF)
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Regulatory Regime for Retail Payment Systems (RPSs)
Fintech Facilitation Office (FFO)
Shenzhen-Hong Kong Fintech Award
Fintech Supervisory Sandbox (FSS)
Enhanced Competency Framework for Banking Practitioners
Exchange Fund
History
Management
Transparency
46.8753

Regulatory & Supervisory Framework

Supervisory Objective

The Banking Ordinance provides the legal framework for banking supervision in Hong Kong. Section 7(1) of the Ordinance provides that the principal function of the Monetary Authority is to "promote the general stability and effective working of the banking system".

Compliance with International Regulatory Standards

The HKMA seeks to establish a regulatory framework in line with international standards, in particular those issued by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and the Financial Stability Board. The objective is to maintain a prudential supervisory system which underpins the general stability and effective working of the banking system, while at the same time providing sufficient flexibility for authorized institutions to take commercial decisions.

Regulatory Requirements

Authorized institutions have to comply with the provisions of the Banking Ordinance which, among other things, require them to maintain adequate liquidity and capital, to submit periodic returns to the HKMA, to adhere to limitations on exposures to any single customer (or group of customers) or to directors and employees, and to seek approval for the appointment of directors and chief executives, and for controllers. Overseas banks which operate in branch form are not required to hold capital in Hong Kong and are thus not subject to capital ratio requirements or to capital-based limits on large exposures.

Supervisory Approach

The HKMA follows international practices as recommended by international standard-setting bodies, such as the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, to supervise authorized institutions.

The HKMA adopts a risk-based supervisory approach based on a policy of "continuous supervision", through on-site examinations, off-site reviews, prudential meetings, co-operation with external auditors and sharing information with other supervisors. This aims at detecting any problems at an early stage. The "CAMEL" rating system helps identify institutions whose weaknesses in financial condition, compliance with laws and regulations, and overall operating soundness require special supervisory attention.

On-site Examination

The HKMA periodically conducts on-site examinations of individual institutions. The coverage of an examination may range from an investigation of specific areas to a comprehensive review of an institution's operations. Thematic examinations of selected institutions allow the HKMA to benchmark the institutions' risk management practices on important business lines and major risk areas. On-site examinations provide a valuable opportunity to assess at first hand how an institution is managed and controlled.

Off-site Review and Prudential Meeting

As on-site examinations are periodic in nature, in order to achieve "continuous supervision," they are supplemented by on-going off-site analyses of the financial condition of individual institutions and the assessment of the quality of their management, including the policies and systems in managing risks. The scope of off-site reviews ranges from regular analysis of statistical returns, covering various aspects of the operations of authorized institutions, to an extensive annual review of the performance and financial position of individual institutions. Annual off-site reviews are usually followed by a prudential meeting with senior management. Frequent contacts are also made with individual institutions at various levels of management as specific issues arise.

Tripartite Meeting with External Auditors

Cooperation with both internal and external auditors of authorized institutions is another important aspect of the supervisory process. Annual tripartite meetings are held with institutions and their external auditors, normally upon the completion of annual audits. Matters discussed typically include the annual audit, adequacy of provisions and compliance with prudential standards and the Banking Ordinance.

Loan Classification System

The HKMA adopts a loan classification system requiring authorized institutions to report their assets every quarter according to a standardised framework. Under the system, loans are classified as Pass, Special Mention, Substandard, Doubtful or Loss, with the latter three categories collectively regarded as "classified assets".

The loan classification system was designed to enhance the HKMA's understanding of the asset quality of individual institutions and to provide an overview of the asset quality of the banking industry as a whole. The system is supplemented by regular reporting on provisions set aside for each category of classified assets and for different sectors in Hong Kong.

Capital Adequacy

The capital adequacy framework for banking supervision in Hong Kong closely follows the international standards published by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision.

Applicable to all locally incorporated authorized institutions, the current framework consists of (i) a series of prescribed minimum capital adequacy ratios (namely, the Common Equity Tier 1 capital ratio, the Tier 1 capital ratio and the Total capital ratio) and capital buffers (the capital conservation buffer, the countercyclical capital buffer and, in the case of any institution designated by the Monetary Authority as a systemically important authorized institution, a higher loss absorbency buffer), (ii) a supervisory review process to set and review individual institution's minimum capital adequacy ratio requirements and (iii) a set of disclosure standards relating to the institution's state of affairs including its profit and loss and its financial resources (covering both capital resources and liquidity resources).

The current framework makes available a number of approaches for authorized institutions of different levels of sophistication to calculate their capital requirements. According to the Banking (Capital) Rules the use of some of the approaches requires the prior approval of the Monetary Authority based on certain specified criteria. Authorized institutions are required to report their capital adequacy ratios based on the appropriate approaches every quarter.

Liquidity

The liquidity framework for banking supervision in Hong Kong also reflects the international standards published by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision as part of its “Basel III” framework. According to the Banking (Liquidity) Rules authorized institutions designated as “category 1 institutions” are required to maintain a Liquidity Coverage Ratio (LCR) in line with the Basel III standard. Other institutions, as “category 2 institutions”, are required to maintain a local Liquidity Maintenance Ratio (LMR). Authorized institutions are also required to have in place effective systems and controls for liquidity risk management under normal and stressed situations.

The HKMA monitors the level and trends of authorized institutions' liquidity positions and their ability to withstand stress liquidity scenarios through reviewing the returns and management reports submitted by them.

Exposure Limits

The current large exposure rules in Hong Kong are set out primarily in section 81 (limitations on advances by AIs) and section 87 (limitations on shareholding by AIs) within Part XV of the Banking Ordinance. These provisions are supplemented by the Supervisory Policy Manual (SPM) module CR-G-8 on “Large Exposures and Risk Concentrations”. With a view to measuring exposures in a manner which better reflects an AI’s economic loss when a counterparty defaults, and to locally implement the “Supervisory framework for measuring and controlling large exposures” issued by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, the HKMA issued a consultation paper on Exposure Limits to the industry in March 2016. Going forward, the HKMA intends to introduce a Banking (Amendment) Bill to seek a power for the HKMA to make rules for setting exposures limits.

Derivatives and Risk Management

The HKMA takes a proactive approach in the supervision of authorized institutions' derivatives activities, focusing on three areas:

  • controls - to ensure that authorized institutions have adequate internal control systems to manage the risks of their derivatives activities;
  • capital - to ensure that authorized institutions have adequate capital to support possible losses in their derivatives business; and
  • capability - to ensure that there is adequate expertise within the HKMA to develop risk management policies and to supervise authorized institutions' derivatives activities.


In line with the international commitment to strengthening surveillance and risk mitigation in respect of derivatives transactions, authorized institutions are required to report information in respect of specified types of over-the-counter (OTC) derivatives transaction to a trade repository operated by the HKMA and to clear specified types of OTC transaction through designated central counterparties. Starting from March 2017, authorized institutions are also required to exchange two-way margin (i.e. both collect and post margin) for derivatives transactions not cleared through a central counterparty and to adopt specified risk mitigation standards such as swift and robust trade confirmation and dispute resolution procedures.

Regulatory Disclosure Standards

The HKMA aims to ensure that the standards for regulatory disclosure in Hong Kong remain in line with those of other leading financial centres. The Banking (Disclosure) Rules take into account the latest disclosure standards released by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, which prescribe quarterly, semi-annual and annual disclosure of specified items, including in the form of standard templates and tables, in order to promote user-relevance and the consistency and comparability of regulatory disclosure among banks and across jurisdictions.

Collection of Financial Information

The Monetary Authority's powers to collect prudential data from authorized institutions on a routine or ad hoc basis are provided by Section 63 of the Banking Ordinance. The same section of the Ordinance also empowers the Monetary Authority to require any holding company or subsidiary or sister company of an authorized institution to submit such information as may be required for the exercise of the Monetary Authority’s functions under the Ordinance.

Submission of returns is normally made each month or quarter.

Last revision date: 26 September 2017
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Account Opening
Consumer Corner
Consumer Education Programme
Complaints about Banks
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites, Phishing E-mails and Similar Scams
Be Careful of Bogus Phone Calls and SMS Messages
Authenticate the Callers and Bank Hotline Numbers
Register of AIs & LROs
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of SVF Licensees
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Photo Gallery

主要職能

貨幣穩定
聯繫匯率制度
利率調節機制
向銀行提供流動資金支持
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的貨幣發行委員會
貨幣發行局運作的透明度
香港的紙幣與硬幣
紙幣
硬幣
硬幣收集計劃
貨幣改革的里程
香港匯率制度的興替
銀行體系的穩定
銀行政策與監管
銀行三級發牌制度
監管制度
銀行監管的主要條例
諮詢委員會
與其他監管機構合作
貨幣經紀的監管
實施國際監管標準
資本
槓桿比率
逆周期緩衝資本(CCyB)
具系統重要性銀行(SIB)
流動性
風險承擔限額
披露
實施其他國際監管標準
諮詢
處置機制
處置框架
處置標準
處置規劃
處置執行
處置刊物
消費者資訊專區
金管局在加強保障金融服務消費者方面的工作
消費者教育推廣計劃
常見問題
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
網上銀行
櫃員機服務的保安措施
認可指引
監管政策手冊
銀行專業資歷架構
監察金融市場基建
共用按揭資料
打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集
與打擊洗錢∕恐怖分子資金籌集相關的通告
與制裁相關的通告及最新資料
國際金融中心
國際及區內金融合作
國際及區內金融合作
參與多邊組織及國際論壇
與其他中央銀行的合作
實行「一國兩制」原則
香港人民幣業務
基建融資促進辦公室
債務市場發展
外匯基金票據及債券
政府債券計劃
影響外匯基金票據及債券發行的措施
基礎設施
香港的金融基建
支付系統
債務工具中央結算系統
場外衍生工具交易資料儲存庫
系統聯網
國際合作
亞洲區債券結算系統聯盟
零售支付發展
參考資料
儲值支付工具及零售支付系統的監管制度
儲值支付工具的監管
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
零售支付系統的監管
金融科技促進辦公室
金融科技監管沙盒
銀行專業資歷架構
外匯基金
歷史
管理
透明度
62.4849

監管制度

監管目標

《銀行業條例》是香港銀行業監管的法律基礎。該條例第7(1)條規定,金融管理專員的主要職能是「促進銀行業體系的整體穩定與有效運作」。

遵守國際監管標準

金管局致力建立一套符合國際標準(特別是巴塞爾銀行監管委員會金融穩定理事會發出的標準)的銀行監管制度,其目標是要維持一套審慎的監管制度,既能鞏固銀行體系的整體穩定及有效運作、又能同時提供足夠靈活性,讓認可機構作出商業決定。

監管規定

認可機構須遵守《銀行業條例》內各項規定,包括:保持充足的流動性資本;向金管局提交定期申報表;遵守有關向任何單一(或單一組別)客戶、董事或僱員放款限度;以及就任命董事、行政總裁及控權人向金管局申請審批。由於以分行形式經營的境外銀行毋須在香港持有資本,有關資本比率規定和以資本基礎釐定的大額貸款限制並不適用於該等銀行。

監管模式

金管局按照國際標準制定組織(例如巴塞爾銀行監管委員會)建議的國際慣例監管認可機構。

金管局採用風險為本監管模式並以「持續監管」政策為基礎,包括進行現場審查非現場審查審慎監管會議、與外聘審計師合作,以及與其他監管機構共享信息,以期及早發現問題所在,防患未然。金管局採納「CAMEL」評級系統,以識別該等在財政狀況、遵行相關法例和規例,以及在整體營運系統方面出現問題而需要金管局特別留意的認可機構。

現場審查

金管局定期對個別機構進行現場審查,審查範圍可以是針對特定業務,以至對機構的運作進行全面的審視。對個別認可機構進行的專題審查,讓金管局就認可機構對重要業務及主要風險範疇的風險管理方法建立基準。現場審查提供一可貴機會,讓金管局直接評估機構的管理與管控方法。

非現場審查及審慎監管會議

由於現場審查每隔一段時間才進行,為達到「持續監管」的目標,除了現場審查外,金管局亦會對每家機構的財政狀況進行持續的非現場分析,以及評估機構的管理素質,包括風險管理的政策和制度。非現場審查的範圍,由定期分析認可機構不同範疇業務的統計資料報表,以至全面審視認可機構全年業績和財政狀況。完成年度非現場審查後,金管局通常會派員與有關認可機構的高層管理人員舉行審慎監管會議。遇有特別事項,金管局亦會與個別認可機構的各級管理人員保持密切聯繫。

與外聘審計師舉行三方聯席會議

與認可機構的內部和外聘核數師合作,是監管過程的另一重要環節。通常年度審計完成後,金管局便會聯同認可機構及其外聘核數師舉行每年一次的三方聯席會議,討論事項一般包括年度審計報告、準備金充足程度,以及遵守審慎標準與《銀行業條例》的情況。

貸款分類制度

金管局實行貸款分類制度,規定認可機構須按照一套標準制度,每季匯報其資產狀況。根據這個制度,資產被劃分為合格、需要關注、次級、呆滯與虧損5類,後3類統稱為「特定分類資產」。

推出貸款分類制度的目的,是增進金管局對個別認可機構資產質素的了解,從而掌握銀行業整體資產質素的情況。此外,認可機構亦須定期匯報就每類「特定分類資產」以及為香港不同行業所提撥的準備金。

資本充足

香港就銀行監管實施的資本充足架構一直緊隨巴塞爾銀行監管委員會提出的國際認可標準。

現行框架適用於所有本地註冊認可機構,內容涵蓋:(i)多項訂明最低資本充足比率(即普通股權一級資本比率、一級資本比率及總資本比率)及緩衝資本(防護緩衝資本、逆周期緩衝資本及(如屬金融管理專員指定為具系統重要性認可機構的機構)較高吸收虧損能力緩衝資本);(ii)監管審查程序以設定及評估個別機構的最低資本充足比率規定;以及(iii)有關機構的業務狀況的一套披露標準,業務狀況包括其盈虧及財政資源(包括資本資源及流動性資源)。

根據現行框架,認可機構可因應業務複雜程度採用不同方法計算資本要求。《銀行業(資本)規則》訂明,採用其中某些計算法須符合若干特定準則,並取得金融管理專員事先批准。認可機構須每季申報按適用計算法得出的資本充足比率。

流動性

香港就銀行監管實施的流動性架構亦符合巴塞爾銀行監管委員會提出作為《巴塞爾協定三》框架一部分的國際標準。根據《銀行業(流動性)規則》,被指定為第1類機構的認可機構須維持與《巴塞爾協定三》 標準一致的流動性覆蓋比率。其他機構為「第2類機構」,須維持本地流動性維持比率。認可機構亦須有有效系統及管控措施,管理在正常及受壓情況下的流動性風險。

金管局透過查閱認可機構提交的申報表及管理報告,監察認可機構的流動性水平及趨勢、以及抵禦流動性壓力情況的能力。

風險承擔限額

香港現行的大額風險承擔規則主要載於《銀行業條例》第XV部第81條(認可機構放款的限度)及第87條(認可機構持有股份的限度),並由《監管政策手冊》單元CR-G-8「大額風險承擔及風險集中」予以補充。在計量風險承擔時為能以更有效的方法反映認可機構因對手方違約所面對的經濟損失,以及在本港實施巴塞爾銀行監管委員會發出的《計量及管控大額風險承擔的監管框架》,金管局已於2016年3月向業界發出有關風險承擔限額的諮詢文件。長遠而言,金管局計劃提出《銀行業(修訂)條例草案》,以授權金管局制定有關大額風險承擔限額的規則。

衍生工具與風險管理

金管局採取積極措施,監管認可機構的衍生工具業務,並集中於三個環節:

  • 監控制度──確保認可機構有足夠的內部監控制度,以管理其衍生工具業務的風險;
  • 資本──確保認可機構有充足資本應付衍生工具業務可能帶來的虧損;以及
  • 能力──確保金管局具備足夠的專門知識,以制定風險管理政策,並監管認可機構的衍生工具業務。

按照國際社會對加強有關衍生工具交易的監察及緩減風險的承諾,認可機構須向金管局轄下的交易資料儲存庫匯報指明類別的場外衍生工具交易資料,並須經指定中央對手方交易結算指明類別的場外衍生工具交易。此外,由2017年3月起,認可機構在交易場外衍生工具時若經非中央對手方結算,須交換雙向保證金(即收取及交出保證金),以及採納指明風險緩解標準,例如迅速及穩健的交易確認及解決爭議程序。

監管披露標準

金管局旨在確保香港的監管披露標準與其他主要金融中心看齊。《銀行業(披露)規則》載入巴塞爾銀行監管委員會發出的最新披露標準;有關標準訂明就指明項目的季度、半年度及周年披露規定,包括標準模版及表格的格式,以加強銀行之間及不同地區之間在監管披露方面的參照性、一致性及可比較性。

收集財務資料

《銀行業條例》第63條授權金融管理專員定期及非定期向認可機構收集資料,以進行審慎監管。該條文亦授權金融管理專員為履行其於《銀行業條例》下的職能,要求認可機構的任何控股公司、附屬公司或關連公司提交資料。

申報表通常每月或每季提交一次。

修訂日期: 2017年9月26日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊