About the HKMA

The HKMA
About the HKMA
Advisory Committees
The Exchange Fund Advisory Committee
The EFAC Governance
Sub-Committee
The EFAC Audit
Sub-Committee
The EFAC Currency Board Sub-Committee
The EFAC Investment
Sub-Committee
The EFAC Financial Infrastructure and Market Development Sub-Committee
The Banking Advisory Committee
The Deposit-taking Companies Advisory Committee
The Chief Executive's Committee
Organisation Chart
HKMA-related Organisations
The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation Limited
Hong Kong Note Printing Limited
Hong Kong Institute for Monetary Research
Hong Kong Interbank Clearing Limited
Exchange Fund Investment Limited
Internal Audit
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Working at the HKMA
Recruitment
Graduate Economist Programme
Manager Trainee Programme
Sharing from other MTs
Sharing from our former MTs/”Oldies”
Assistant Managers
Internship
Legislative Council Issues
Links
HKMA-related Organisations
SAR-Government & related Organisations
Central Banks
Multilateral Organisations
Others
The HKMA Information Centre
The HKMA Information Centre
Online Learning
Souvenirs
203.105

Sharing from our former MTs/”Oldies”

Carmen Chu
Executive Director (Banking Conduct)

  • Responsible for the supervision and development of business conduct of authorized institutions, licensing matters, and oversight of financial market infrastructure

Carmen is among the first batch of the HKMA’s MTs. She was working in the banking industry when she came across the recruitment advertisement. She decided to apply for the post because she was interested in public policy. Moreover, she thought she could put what she had learnt into practice as the courses she took in the university were relevant to the work of the HKMA.

One might have the impression that the work of a public entity is very boring and tedious. Yet Carmen has a different view. Though she has already been working at the HKMA for many years, she still finds the work very challenging. Her most unforgettable experience is participation in the internationalisation of Renminbi. This policy of financial liberalization was so important that there was no room for mistakes. The regulators in both places have stepped up their communication and cooperation in the process. It took years from policy design and formulation and deliberation to implementation. Despite the seemingly endless process, the outcomes were a great encouragement to Carmen. Since the introduction of renminbi business in 2004, Hong Kong has become the leading offshore renminbi business centre in the world.

There are many opportunities to go on overseas business trips or station overseas. Carmen was seconded to the World Bank Office in Beijing from 1998 to 1999, responsible for conducting research. She got the opportunity to meet with various Mainland institutions and officials during her time in Beijing, establishing some very valuable personal connections that were conducive to the development of offshore Renminbi business in Hong Kong by the HKMA later.

In addition, as the HKMA is a member of the Bank for International Settlements, staff will have the opportunity to attend meetings in Basel, taking part in the discussions with senior officials from other central banks and exchanging views on latest global financial market conditions and regulatory developments. Carmen thinks that these are valuable experiences and opportunities that are not available in the private sector. Another unexpected reward from working at the HKMA is the friends from different parts of the world she has made when attending various overseas meetings and events.

Carmen (right) attends the opening ceremony of an event under the HKMA’s Consumer Education Programme
Caption: Carmen (right) attends the opening ceremony of an event under the HKMA’s Consumer Education Programme.

 

Vincent Lee
Executive Director (External)

  • Responsible for promoting the development of Hong Kong as an international financial centre, RMB business, and keeping pace with the latest global regulatory developments by participating in various international forums to advance financial stability

Vincent is also among the first batch of the HKMA’s MTs. He admitted that he joined the MT Program because of the competitive remuneration package and had not given much thought to what exactly central banking work was about. Yet he has been with the HKMA for more than 20 years.

Vincent has worked in various departments at the HKMA, including economic research, banking supervision and enforcement. He has also served as the Administrative Assistant to the Chief Executive and was posted to the HKMA’s New York Representative Office. He says, “It is very fulfilling whenever I see the policies which I am involved in have contributed to positive market developments.”

As a regulatory authority in one of the world’s premier financial centers, what qualities does the HKMA expect its MTs to possess? Vincent thinks that the candidates should demonstrate that he/she is able to “boldly hypothesize and carefully verify”. When formulating policies, in addition to regulatory requirements, the HKMA has to take into account the impact on the market. Therefore, the MTs should have an inquiring mind to research and analyse different information. All these will help devise policies that are both effective and acceptable to the market.

Let’s look at the Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office (“IFFO”) which Vincent has participated in its establishment as an example. Just like many others, at first Vincent queried whether Hong Kong could provide the foundation for the facilitation of infrastructure financing. However, after deliberating with various stakeholders and studying the related information and facts carefully, he found that there should be great potential for the development of this highly specialized area of investment.

Then what kind of people is unsuitable for applying for the MT positions? Vincent thinks that there are two kinds of people. First are those who seek short-term returns. “We have to be committed to our society and policy work is very time-consuming and painstaking. We are not focusing on short-term results.” Second are those who sit in ivory towers. “We have to take into account the actual situation in order to find feasible solutions and theories can only get you so far.”

On work-life balance, Vincent is a long distance running enthusiast. He trains in his spare time. Together with other colleagues representing the HKMA, Vincent’s team has once won the champion in the corporate category of an open race. He says, “If I have not joined the HKMA, I would not have become friends with other running and hiking enthusiasts in the Authority.” He has formed a hiking team with some colleagues, organising hiking activities from time to time to share the joy of hiking with other colleagues in the HKMA.

The HKMA Corporate Team, comprised of Vincent (left) and other colleagues, is the Champion of the Men’s category in the Raleigh Challenge - Wilson Trail 2013 “Adventurer — Night Course”.
Caption: The HKMA Corporate Team, comprised of Vincent (left) and other colleagues, is the Champion of the Men’s category in the Raleigh Challenge - Wilson Trail 2013 “Adventurer — Night Course”.

Last revision date: 19 September 2017
ABOUT THE HKMA
The HKMA
Tender Invitations
Careers@HKMA
Legislative Council Issues
Links
The HKMA Information Centre
KEY FUNCTIONS
Monetary Stability
Banking Stability
International Financial Centre
Exchange Fund
PUBLICATIONS & RESEARCH
Annual Report
Half-Yearly Monetary & Financial Stability Report
Quarterly Bulletin
HKMA Background Briefs
Reference Materials
Research
MARKET DATA & STATISTICS
CMU Bond Price Bulletin
Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong
Monthly Statistical Bulletin
Monetary Statistics
KEY INFORMATION
Press Releases
Speeches
Guidelines & Circulars
Forthcoming Events
inSight
OTHER INFORMATION
Account Opening
Consumer Corner
Consumer Education Programme
Complaints about Banks
Complaints about SVF Licensees
Internet Banking
Fraudulent Bank Websites, Phishing E-mails and Similar Scams
Be Careful of Bogus Phone Calls and SMS Messages
Authenticate the Callers and Bank Hotline Numbers
Register of AIs & LROs
Register of Securities Staff of AIs
Register of SVF Licensees
Investment Products Related to Lehman Brothers
Photo Gallery

關於金管局

金管局
金管局
諮詢委員會
外匯基金諮詢委員會
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的管治委員會
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的審核委員會
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的貨幣發行委員會
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的投資委員會
外匯基金諮詢委員會轄下的金融基建及市場發展委員會
銀行業務諮詢委員會
接受存款公司諮詢委員會
總裁委員會
組織架構圖
金管局的關連機構
香港按揭證券有限公司
香港印鈔有限公司
香港金融研究中心
香港銀行同業結算有限公司
外匯基金投資有限公司
內部審核
招標公告
人力資源
在金管局工作
招聘
見習經濟師計劃
見習經理計劃
其他見習經理分享
過來人/「老鬼」的分享
助理經理
實習生
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局的關連機構
特區政府及有關機構
中央銀行
多邊組織
其他
金管局資訊中心
金管局資訊中心
網上學習園地
紀念品
187.4771

過來人/「老鬼」的分享

朱立翹
金管局助理總裁(銀行操守)

  • 負責銀行的業務操守的監管與發展、牌照事務,以及金融市場基建的監察

朱立翹(Carmen)是金管局第一屆見習經理,見到招聘廣告時,Carmen正在銀行工作,決定應徵是因為「我對公共政策有興趣,加上我又是修讀相關科目,覺得可以學以致用」。

外間或會以為公營機構工作刻板,但Carmen卻另有看法,她在金管局工作多年至今,仍然覺得不斷有新挑戰。其中最難忘的是參與人民幣國際化的工作。這個重大的金融開放政策,不容有失,兩地的監管機構亦加強了溝通合作,由政策醞釀、構思、商討到落實數以經年。過程雖然十分漫長,但「見到有成果時,就有份難以言喻的滿足感。」自2004年香港開展人民幣業務以來,已穩執全球人民幣離岸市場的牛耳。

在金管局工作,有很多海外公幹或外派的機會。Carmen曾經在1998至1999年間借調至世界銀行於北京的辦事處,負責研究工作。駐京期間,她亦開始接觸到不同的內地機構和官員,為日後負責金管局發展香港離岸人民幣業務,建立了寶貴的人脈關係。

此外,金管局是國際清算銀行的成員之一,員工有機會到巴塞爾出席會議,參與和其他地區的中央銀行高層交流,討論和分享最新國際金融市場情況和監管趨勢。Carmen認為這些機會都是私營企業無法提供,她亦在不同的海外會議或場合,認識到來自世界各地的朋友,也是工作帶來的意外收穫。

金管局舉行投資者教育活動,朱立翹(右)出席開幕儀式
圖片說明:金管局舉行投資者教育活動,朱立翹(右)出席開幕儀式

李永誠
金管局助理總裁(外事)

  • 負責推動香港國際金融中心發展、人民幣業務,並透過參與多個國際組織,緊貼國際監管發展,以促進金融穩定

李永誠(Vincent)也是金管局第一屆見習經理,他坦言當年申請見習經理計劃是出於薪金吸引,沒有細想過中央銀行工作是怎樣,然而這份工一做就超過廿年。

他在金管局內調任過不同部門,包括經濟研究、銀行監理、法規部,做過總裁助理,亦曾外派金管局在紐約的辦事處,「每當見到自己參與制定的政策令市場正面發展,就有很大滿足感。」

金管局作為世界級金融中心的監管機構,見習經理需要具備甚麼條件?Vincent認為投考人要有「大膽假設、細心求真」精神,因為局方在制定政策時,要兼顧監管的專業需要和對市場影響,因此見習經理要保持好奇心,找不同資料,動腦筋,這樣政策推行時才會順暢。

就以Vincent有份籌備的基建融資促進辦公室(Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office,簡稱IFFO)為例,最初他和其他人一樣,對於香港是否有基礎推行基建融資抱着懷疑的態度,但經過和不同的持份者詳盡交流、細心研究後,就發現這個非常專門的投資領域其實在香港大有可為。

那麼甚麼人不適合在金管局做見習經理?Vincent認為有兩類人,一是追求短期回報的人,「我們要對社會有承擔,政策都是細水長流的工作,不能只追求短線成績」;另一類是象牙塔裡的人,「我們要從實用角度尋找可行解決方案,不能夠太過紙上談兵。」

講到工作與生活平衡,Vincent是長跑愛好者,工餘時間會練跑步。他曾與同事贏過公開比賽的團體組冠軍,「沒有加入金管局,就不可能認識到一班行山、跑步的朋友」。他與同事組成的金管局遠足隊,不時舉辦行山活動,與大家分享行山的樂趣。

李永誠(左)與同事組成金管局組別,奪得2013年雷利衛徑長征的「探險夜征」男子組冠軍
圖片說明:李永誠(左)與同事組成金管局組別,奪得2013年雷利衛徑長征的「探險夜征」男子組冠軍

修訂日期: 2017年9月19日
關於金管局
金管局
招標公告
人力資源
立法會事務
相關網站
金管局資訊中心
主要職能
貨幣穩定
銀行體系穩定
國際金融中心
外匯基金
刊物與研究資料
年報
貨幣與金融穩定情況半年度報告
季報
金管局資料簡介
參考資料
研究資料
市場數據與統計資料
債務工具中央結算系統債券報價網站
香港的經濟及
金融數據
金融數據月報
金融數據
主要資訊
新聞稿
演講辭
指引及通告
最新動向
匯思
小森阿四專欄
其他資訊
開戶難?
消費者資訊專區
消費者教育推廣計劃
有關銀行產品或服務的投訴
有關儲值支付工具持牌人的投訴
網上銀行
欺詐銀行網站、偽冒電郵及類似的詐騙事件
小心偽冒來電及手機短訊 核實來電者身份及銀行熱線號碼
認可機構及本地代表辦事處紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊
(繁體版本)
儲值支付工具持牌人紀錄冊
與雷曼兄弟相關的投資產品
圖片廊